??!
1 photo
Honda Lead 100

Honda Lead 100

3.9 from 16 reviews

See the Best Scooters in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
1

Claire

ClairePerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Barely faster than a 50cc.

published

I bought this because I assumed it would be fast enough on 80km/h roads because it has a 100cc motor. It's top speed is 75km/h and that's with a tailwind. Pretty much anything over 60km/h is a bonus but it does accelerate to 60 reasonably quickly off the lights. Handling is rudimentary so it's probably a good thing that it does go much faster.
The biggest fail on this bike is the fact that you can't fit a full face helmet in the seat compartment. This is why you will see them with gear racks and are pretty much a must unless your the sort of fool that gets around with an open face helmet.

Date PurchasedJul 2011

Fantastic Bike

published

A-Z in 123
The Honda lead is the choice of motorcycle taxis overseas and we can tell why .. 100cc plenty of grunt and top speed of 75kph ..

We use them for our scooter Hire business..

Bad point : body plastics poor and hard to get ..

Good points : fuel economy
Two up comfy for pillion
Easy to ready taco

Date PurchasedMay 2006
Fazz

Fazz

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great run around scooter!

published

Purchased in December 2015.

Bern

Bern

  • 4 reviews

Workhorse

published

This is a great little town bike. The engine is reliable and very economical. The bike handles well for a scooter and the front suspension is very compliant. The wheels would be better with a bigger diameter. The fuel gauge on our bike would not read much above half, even when full. Drum brakes are OK once you make allowances for them.


cashmagic

cashmagicadelaide

fantastic money saver

published

for just over 10 yrs I used a 125 lead for deliveries of coke and fanta etc, I could fit 4x24cans on the floor and sit on one and put another across the top, finally the clutch gave in so I fitted a new clutch and belt and went for a few yrs more, now my new one is 100cc and works great and only costs $11 petrol from Adelaide to the Barossa return and goes uphill at 60kphr top speed on the flat 85kphr-- the footwell is a lot smaller than the old 125cc so I wouldn't do my old deliveri3s with this one.


Vinnie86

Vinnie86AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Honda Lead SCV100 Scooter

published
Date PurchasedJun 2013

Ian Morgan

Ian MorganManchester - UK

Riding Scv100 since 2007

published

A terrific scooter. Starts first time every time. Have done over 40,000 miles on it and has never let me down. Top speed 55 mph with fuel consumption about 90 mpg ( used to be over 100 mpg think my tappets need a adjustment)
Brakes are basic drum but they work. Suspension is the reason it doesn't get a 5/5 it is very basic . Love this scooter it handles like a dream and beats all tariff .
Long journeys it will do 45 mph all day though a bid hard on the butt after 50 miles...... Take care and don't ride on snow or ice if you want to keep in one piece.


chris

chrisbrisbane

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Poor scooter

published

i would star clear from this scooter as it lacks power,grunt,and with only a couple of hp in motor,as the saying goes you get what you pay for!!

November 10th 2014 Update:
my unkle phils scooter has got to be the worst scooter i have dealt with,issue after issue,carbys is now seized the speedo is untrue by 7 kph,the suspension is basic,the tyres are small and basic,the whole scooter is overpriced despite of it being built to a basic price,the whole scoot is basic and has the power of the honda nvs today 50 and lacks power in every aspect of the words,my uncle is stuck with a 100cc honda 2 wheel lemon .

1 comment
chris
chris

i would never touch this scooter......junk.....my old uncle Phil made this big 100cc mistake !!! now his stuck with this junk scooter !!!

AGRO!

AGRO!Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great little machine

published

This little scooter is great for around town. I purchased my scooter 3 years ago 2007 model with low ks and its been fantastic.
I own 2 motorcycle as well but I use the Honda lead as my commuter for work every day rain hail or shine and have never had an issue.
Its cheap and affordable to own the tyres only cost $50 each compared to full on motorcycle tyres that's a bargin.
What I like most about this scooter is just how basic it is with very low maintenances work needed and oil changes are easy as.
Cheap and reliable to own.
none

Reliable value and smartness

published

I ourchased a used Lead about 4 months ago after the dealer recommended it for my need for an automatic, low speed "workhorse" scooter for letterbox deliveries and short distance commuting. It is excellent for this kind of work, and even with heaps of very slow stop/start driving it gives me a bit better than 20kms per litre.
It cruises happily at 60k.p.h. with my 72 kilo weight and 10-20 kilo of luggage, and accelerates magnificently.
Reliability, load carrying capacity (I attached saddlebags) fuel consumption, quietness
Difficulty activating indicator switch when wearing riding gloves, mirror arms could be longer


CP1982

CP1982kingsford

Small great scooter

published

Great Little Scooter

published

Owned a Honda Lead 100 for 4 years and done 10,750kms. Do all my own service. Very easy. Replaced tyres with Pirelli. Really easy to take off the wheels. Had two accidents and replaced all he panels myself. Great Scooter. No problems. Great for getting around town and park it anywhere. If you want to go fast buy a Harley.
Grat Design. Reliable. Economical. Easy to work on.
Won't go past 80kmph. Buy a Harley to go faster like me.

3 comments
Mandaaaaaaz
Mandaaaaaaz

No, if you want to go fast buy a jap bike. Harleys are for cruising & don't go fast or brake well :)

Mandaaaaaaz
Mandaaaaaaz

But thanks for the heads up on the Lead 100 :)

ill bye it my names liam blurton add me on facebook


Good

published

Good value for money. Very cheap to run. Ideal for commuting short distances to work. Small tyres give a bumpy ride.
Cheap, econonical and easy to ride
Ride can be bumpy, can do 80km on flat but slows down quickly when going up hill.
Helmet compartment to small for full helmet. Brakes could be improved.


wwwqi

wwwqi

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

OK

published

I tried bending low a bit while sitting on the scooter and I managed to get up near 80km/hr. Good overall for getting me to and from work which was the main purpose and as a secondary purpose I wanted it to get familiar with the roads and being on a bike and practicing road craft.
Cheap and affordable. Cheap to run. Looks stylish. Good design. Simple and user friendly.
Not enough power. I'm a 72kg male. On a flat road, I max out at 65km/hr. Going downhill I can achieve 90km/hr. Rear view mirrors are a bit low for my liking. (I'm 1.78m)

nightmares

nightmaresAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad

published

Honda arent what they used to be even the dealer i used was second rate. There are a lot of other brands out there dont fall for the power of nightmares
looks good cheap to run
going to cost$1000 to repair dont know when parts available dealer wont trade it says its not worth it
The power of dreams is a nightmare wouldnt go back to the dealer or Honda agian even a simple service was expensive.
Cheap to buy but lookout afterwards

1 comment
crooked nose
crooked nose

Your review is useless. What is the scooter like? What was bad about it?

Good

published

I find the scooter very handy but I was shocked when they charged me $245 to get my scooter serviced. I don't think even a car would cost that much for a normal oil change and inspecting the brakes
Cheap.
I paid $245 for my service. I think that's a lot for a 5 months old scooter.
Can anyone tell me how much did you guys pay for your scooter servicing.

Questions & Answers

Marty H.

Marty H.asked

I recently charged my flat battery for 5 hours without removing the battery terminals. Now when I press the ignition a small black box next to the battery makes a noise but the starter motor won't kick over. I've checked the fuse which is fine. have I cooked something?

No answers

Marty H.

Marty H.asked

Hi, my honda lead had a flat battery so i charged it for 5 hours without removing the battery. Now the starter motor wont kick over. Instead a little black box next to the battery (solenoid?) Makes a noise when i press the ignition. The fuse is intact. Have i burnt something out?

1 answer
Fazz
Fazz

Id replace the solenoid and all the fuses broken or non broken see if that fixes the starter motor issue.

Silly question if you kick start it will it still start?


Marko

Markoasked

Hello today was driving my sccooter honda lead 100cc 2007 to mot centre was 24miles and after a while I stop at junction and turn left and the engine cut out on me it did start up again right away but was wondering why that happen . Thanks

1 answer
Fazz
Fazz

Replace the spark plug? clean the carbie and give it a service.


Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Details

CategoryScooters and Learner Approved Bikes
Engine Capacity100cc

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.