??!
16 photos
Honda Odyssey

Honda Odyssey

RB1, RC1, RB3, R6/RA8
4.0 from 63 reviews

Reviews

(27)
(18)
(11)
(5)
(2)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (5)
  • Handling
    3.8 (5)
  • Braking
    4.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (5)
  • Boot Size
    3.2 (5)
  • Features
    3.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (5)
rummage

rummageSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Disappointing Warranty and Customer Service

published

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Avonia

AvoniaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

10 years still going strong

published

Had our Honda luxury wagon 2006 10 years! Its only had the alternator rebuilt once in that time. Never had any major problems with it and has done over 300,000 kms. The inside his terrible looking as the leather is ripping right off all the seats. But has moved house's, carried friends, children even slept in it.

Purchased in August 2010 at Honda Dealers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jesse L.

Jesse L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Perfect people mover wagon

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Carsales.com.au for $7,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
People Movers

Find out how Honda Odyssey compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matty C.

Matty C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Japanese luxury and reliability

published

Have owned this car just on 10 years now and just hit 330000, had 69000 when I bought it and it hasn't missed a beat, I'm a cleaner and travel all around Brisbane every week, this car works hard, apart from regular servicing brake pads and tyres nothing has ever gone wrong, and I just love the creamy leather interior and wood grain, if I was ever to replace this car it would be with another Odyssey, you really can't beat Japanese reliability.

Purchased in October 2009 at Honda Dealers for $32,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
molek pine

molek pinePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Rattling Noise from exhaust

published

Purchased in December 2013 for $39,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sezz

SezzSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Perfect family car

published

Absolutely the best family car (with young kids) for many reasons. I have 2 car seats for my kids and i love that i can slightly recline the seats for when they fall asleep so their head isn't resting on their knees. The far back seat folds completely back which is so handy to change kids' nappies. The standard model comes with all the extras like sunroof, leather seats, folding side mirrors, window shades and more. The only negative is that the boot isnt automatic and its quite large so it's always a bit of an effort to close it, but even with that minor discomfort i still give it 5 stars. I bought this car brand new in 2015 and have had no issues with it

Purchased in June 2015.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dizzletree

DizzletreeMurwillumbah

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great package, highly reliable.

published
BadgeVTi-L
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Pen67

Pen67Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Very disappointing electronics/console

published

I accidentally left my key and fob in the garage, used push button start and drove to my destination 20 minutes from home with no audio or digital alert from the car. Had to taxi home to get the key! Also the Bluetooth is dysfunctional and the maps is not user friendly. Thermometer is often several degrees incorrect. All are consistent with the manufacturers specs so if you’re after a car with great console features go for a different brand! Otherwise a nice car to drive.

BadgeLuxury
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

good car but a couple of problems

published

So we travel a lot and this car is sooooo reliable. Only two things have become a problem. Firstly the fake leather is rubbish and falls apart on the luxury model i own. Secondly the rear suspension has become so soft that each set of tyres has worn the inside tread out from bottoming out inside the wheel well. Admittedly we have put some heavy loads in the car for long distance travel ie a car fridge, luggage but only two or three people.

BadgeLuxury
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
People Movers

Find out how Honda Odyssey compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Swans

SwansMelboure

  • 2 reviews

Problems I have faced with my Honda odyssey - and my frustrations with the level of customer service

published
BadgeVTi-L
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Alex

AlexNSW, 2122

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Average

published
BadgeVTi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2007
Stoney

StoneyBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for work and family

published

We purchased this car to use for both family and work. With the rear seats folding flat in the back, it gives a very large space to use for transporting work materials. It also works with a mattress so our two small kids sleep there when travelling.
The automatic door is wonderful, making school drop off and pick up super easy from the kiss and ride zone.

BadgeVTi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
cezii

ceziiMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great family car!

published

I had purchased this car to accommodate my growing family and have been very pleased with the overall performance. I have the 7 seater model which is able to fit 3x 0-4yo car seats with great accessibility - this was one of my top requirements when short-listing the vehicles. It is not expensive to maintain and parking is super easy with the 360deg-view cameras. Only downside is there is no automatic door open function to the rear door otherwise great car! Highly recommend to those who want space with a touch of luxury.

BadgeVTi-L
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Fent

FentPerth

  • 3 reviews

Perfect car for my family (with 2 young kids)

published

Mine is the VTI-L model. I love this car so much as it has the sliding doors and the bird eye camera for easy parking. I do not have to worry about my kids opening the door and damaging other people's car. Very fuel efficient although it does not have much power. It is very spacey inside and you can fold down the very back seat for more boot space

BadgeLuxury
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
aaadri

aaadriAU

  • 4 reviews

Car is ok. Had power window issues since day 1

published

Car is ok. However I had power window issue since day 1. Honda acknowledge the issue however it took them 2 years to apply a workaround to the issue and countless number of time I had to bring the car back to Scotts Honda. In the end I had to settle for no car tint. Would I buy again from Scotts Honda. Definitely NO!

BadgeVTi-L
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
People Movers

Find out how Honda Odyssey compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jay

Jay

  • 8 reviews
  • 17 likes

Interior fabric not durable!!

published

My Honda odyssey, 7 seater model is lovely to drive. However the interior design could have been better. All the seats covers are worn out like never before, I have tried to find a stitcher to repair them but after awhile everything came back to the earlier state. I'm trying to sell it now and can't wait to get rid off it

BadgeVTi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Elissa

ElissaBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable family car

published

I have 5 children and this car is a great car. Amazing on fuel as we drive from brisbane to mackay and it cost about $120 for a 10 hour drive one way. The seats r comfy and its smooth to drive i think the only issue i have is the boot is to small.

BadgeIdk
Engine SizeIdk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Dezza

DezzaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

ODYSSEY - Room for improvement

published
BadgeVTi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Abz

AbzSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good people mover,

published
BadgeVTi-L
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Sherry

SherrySouth Australia

  • 6 reviews

Perfect for families

published

Bought a volvo initially but sold off to exchange for a honda Odyssey due to the spacious interior. Needed a big 7 seater. Family visited over the winter and managed to fit everyone into one car comfortably. All adult size seats w full legroom. Centre row captain seats are amazingly comfortable. Chassis about low though. Have to show down qt abit when going over hump or dip.

BadgeVTi-L
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Aram S.

Aram S.asked

Odyssey RB1 (2004-2009)

I had my odyssey around one year it was running good after I take it too car wash to clean it he done good job but after I left I had check engine light on I took it too dealer they said you have the v-teck solonoied (not sure with spelling) they changed the engine light gone.

Now I have one issue some times the car start late and one day didnt work from the first time I feel the not like before any ideas you can help me with please?

2 answers
Matty C.
Matty C.

The exact same thing happened to mine, my mechanic replaced both the vtec solenoid and the oil pressure switch, they both need to replaced at the same time as they talk to each other, I havnt had a problem since

Aram S.
Aram S.

But my one is good but sometimes running late I dont know what is the problem now?

Andrew R

Andrew Rasked

hi can someone please give infos on how you put roof rack/ rails on your honda odyssey? thanks

No answers
IanNZ

IanNZasked

Odyssey RC1 (2014-2020)

Can someone confirm there is no isofix in the 3rd row/back row? Thanks

2 answers
Dizzletree
Dizzletree

I don't think so. Only in the two outside seats 2nd/middle row. Also be aware the top tether straps from the 2nd/middle row pass over the top of the 3rd row seats. You can easily fit 3 full harness kids seats across the middle row. Also finally, the 3rd row is the least safe in a car crash, it's listed in the handbook as being part of the crumple zone. So I'd consider it for occasional use only.

IanNZ
IanNZ

Hi thanks for the reply. I guess you're referring to the 8 seater version. That's a shame but makes sense given what you mention about the 3rd row being in the crumple zone. Makes the 7 seater option slightly less attractive, as without the 3rd row there are only 4 seats! So most people would be utilizing the 3rd row ( I imagine) with this 7 seater version.
That is strange about the 2nd row anchors. I always thought the anchors were located on the rear of the seat (so no obstruction/intrusion to the 3rd row seats).
Here in NZ the 7 seater is model name is L (or LS from 2018) and is the more expensive version. The 8 seater is the S and has fabric seats.
In Aus I think they are called VTI-L and VTI respectively.

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Other People Movers

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.