?
? !
7 photos
Hoover Ultra Light

Hoover Ultra Light

3.1 from 103 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Exceptionally poor quality product!

published

Exceptionally poor quality product! This vacuum completely does not suck. I have a one bedroom apartment, and it stopes sucking after half a room is done. I empty the bin and it continues to suck hardly anything. You have to go over and over the same spot about 5 times and only 60% of the dust gets collected. Very disappointing.

Purchased in November 2020 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brissie B180

Brissie B180Brisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Second battery just died...

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
4 comments
Brissie B180
Brissie B180
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Brissie B180
Brissie B180
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Bought mine May last yr and still perfect

published

Bought mine from Godfreys and it is still perfect. I read somewhere that removing the rubber bit inside is better as it tends to stop the dirt and interfere with the suction. So I took mine off and the suction has been great. Battery last long and I love the light. I also bought the extra head that swivels, so much better too.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Light compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

When it runs it's acceptable

published

Purchased from Godfreys on sale and 14 months later the battery now fails. I get maybe 5-10 minutes out of it then goes to maybe 10 second intervals. Press the trigger, works for 10 seconds, stops. Give it a few seconds, press the trigger, works for 10 seconds etc.
Pretty ordinary that the high tech battery lasted just over a year. Replacement battery is around $110 and they have to order in. I was quite happy with overall performance and didn't suffer the dropping the dirt back out that some other reviewers experienced. Dirt does get stuck in the canister though and you need like a stick or ruler to pull it out.
Still, wouldn't buy another one now

Purchased in October 2019 for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Disappointing rubbish

published

Only had this for ultralight for 8 months and use regularly. Why design a vacuum cleaner that when you are finished spits out the dust back onto your floor!!! Cleaned after every use and clogs easily as bad design at base of stick into bin. Power rubbish after a while as you end up vacuming the same spot 2 or three times. A waste of money. We bought Hoover as it HAD a good name. Never again.

Purchased in June 2020 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amy

AmyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Doesn’t work

published

Worked ok for a few months, now it barely picks up visible dust. Nozzle gets clogged every use and have to pull it apart and clean before every go. When it turns off drops mess everywhere so have to clean with a dust pan. Absolutely terrible on hardwood floors, shoots mess everywhere.

Purchased in June 2018 at Godfreys for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mc53

mc53Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Not good product

published

This was ok for few months then battery constantly need recharging after doing a few rooms. I went to the expense of purchasing a new battery which was a waste of money . The cleaner would suck up basic stuff and then it would drop what I vacuumed up when I switched it if so then I had to get a brush and pan to clean up the mess it left.

Purchased in October 2019 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
mc53
mc53

Not prepared to spend any more money on it. $100 for battery and spend $50 on a swivel head so far. Will purchase another brand instead.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Poppy

Poppysouth australia

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Light and easy to use

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Godfreys Online Store.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rose

Rose

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

In the bin

published

Bought for the caravan and used approximately 6 times. The battery has now died. New battery appears to cost over half the price of a new vacuum. Was under the impression Hoover were still a top brand obviously not

Purchased in September 2018 at Godfreys for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
4 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Rose
Rose

Thank you the alternative is to purchase a more reliable brand. This machine has been used less than 10 times. My Dyson is now 4 years old used regularly and no problems. That must tell me something

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Light compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DrN

DrNGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rubbish vacuum

published

Head constantly gets clogged up. Very short run time, long charge time, and loses suction strength quickly. A chore to empty. Head stopped working, contacted Hoover and they stated “we do not do vacuums”.
Spend the extra money to buy from a reputable company.

Purchased in January 2020 at Godfreys Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ash

AshThe Mallee, VIC

No suction, leaves mess

published

I received this as a Christmas present from my mum in 2016. It worked ok to start with (approx 1 month) but then lost suction and would leave the mess that I had just cleaned up once I turned it off. Not ideal having to clean up again. I regularly empty the bin, clean filters and brushes. After the disappointment I packed it away, forgot about it and bought a corded vacuum. We recently moved and thought by some chance because the Hoover had a rest it might be ok. Nope, same issues and can’t help but feel my mum has wasted her money and it’s sat in the cupboard for almost 4 years.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter

PeterHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Battery doesn’t last. Chinese built Just over a year old and the battery died. Over 1/2 the price of a new vacuum

published

Used every few days for a year then the battery pack died. Will bin it as a replacement battery is more than half the price of a new vacuum. Wish I could buy Aussie

Purchased in December 2019 for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
unhappyblanco

unhappyblancoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 23 reviews
  • 11 likes

Looks like new died before its time...

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Godfreys for $159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Warren

WarrenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Cracked and broken where the rod joins the dust collector unit.

published

We have had our Ultra Light since October 2019 and it has been good. But, last week when I went to move it the plastic just cracked and broke off where the rod connects to the dust collector unit. I took it to Godfreys today and suggested it has a weakness in that area as I am not a harsh user. It has been submitted for repair but the service person did not think it would be covered by warranty!! It would be expensive to replace the dust collector unit and suggested purchasing a new machine!

Purchased in October 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
9 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Warren
Warren

Great, thanks. Do you need the repair number to ensure that is what Godfrey's do?

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Warren,
Godfreys are our certified repair agents and will follow our pricing and warranty conditions.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shelley R.

Shelley R.South West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great for hard floors

published

We have had this vac for approx 4 months and are so far happy with it. I only use it on hard wood floors to clean up after 2 small children and a dog. I like how it can get under the table and between the chairs easily due to the small head. The light on the front is great for seeing the dirt.

Purchased in February 2020 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Light compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter J.

Peter J.

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

good performer

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Godfreys for $159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
doodaa

doodaaWestern Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Gets used every day.

published

Love this little ultra light. Have a golden retriever who is an inside dog so it gets used everyday on dog hair and dirt. Not great on our mat but excellent on tiles.

Purchased at Hoover.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Another battery problem

published

Have had this vac for less than a couple of years in a holiday unit so hardly gets used, but it now won’t work at all. I assume it’s the battery and would normally just buy another battery to try it. However, given that the batteries are half the price of the whole machine, this seems impractical, especially when there’s no reason to think that another battery would last any longer. I regret having bought this vacuum.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michelle

MichelleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

I enjoy Vacuuming again!

published

I can't believe how many years I suffered with cheap nasty vacuum cleaners that would die after 6 to 12 months. Finally I have found the best ever, the fact it is cordless makes it so easy to start my cleaning, no plugging in, works great, takes a while to recharge but I will never go back to old style. Can be used on carpet and floor and easy to clean and empty. 10 out of 10, thanks Hoover.

Purchased in October 2019 at Godfreys for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Not to be used on any surface ever

published

So if you use it on shagpile it snaps and if it snaps they won't give you a refund or a replacement. So it's less of a functioning vacuum cleaner and more of a free account debit. Thanks Hoover!

Purchased in March 2020 at Godfreys for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Josh P.
Josh P.
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

John Ohalloran

John Ohalloranasked

Where can I buy a new filter please

2 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi John,
Replacement parts for this machine, including filters, can be purchased through your nearest Godfreys store or over the phone with their Customer Service team by calling 1800 815 270.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

John Ohalloran
John Ohalloran

Thank you very much

Bek C

Bek Casked

Hi, my grandmother bought this vacuum under a year ago but it's been on charge all weekend but still won't go... There's a light that flashes green and red... What could this mean? Kind regards Bek

3 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Bek,
It sounds as though there may be an issue with the battery or PCB.
We would recommend taking the machine into your nearest Godfreys store, with proof of purchase, to be booked in for further inspection.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Garry L.
Garry L.

Batteries do die and as the manufacturer has no idea how we use it they have Avery short warranty but one year is not great at all so I’d be taking it back to the store. We got around 3 years out of ours before replacing

Bek C
Bek C

Ok great thank you!

DraNik

DraNikasked

Hi

I would like to know if this vacuum cleaner should be recharged every time we use it even if the battery did not go flat. Or should we use it until it's completely flat and then recharge it. I have found somewhere that it should actually always be on the charger when not in use. Is this true? I would like to know exactly how I should deal with the battery so as to prolong its lifespan as long as possible as they are not cheap to replace. I really like the vacuum cleaner and I would like to look after it properly to have it for a long time.

Thanks

Niki

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi,
The Ultra Light 5221 can be left on the charger between uses, however, it is recommended to run the machine flat every few uses before recharging.
It is also recommended to turn the charger off if the machine is going to be unused for an extended period of time.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

See all Hoover Ultra Light questions

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

Details

CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $199.00
Bin Capacity0.4 L
HEPA FilterNo
TypeCordless
Running Time 20 min
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.