??!
7 photos
Hoover Ultra Light

Hoover Ultra Light

3.2 from 83 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(22)
(18)
(12)
(16)
(15)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (21)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (22)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (22)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (22)
  • Product is used
    • Several times a week (13)
    • Rarely (4)
    • Daily (4)
    • Weekly (3)
    • Monthly (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (22)
  • Pet OwnerYes (7) · No (17)
  • Battery Life
    2.9 (23)
Online4yourmind

Online4yourmindGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Was ok when its working...

published

Purchased in January 2016 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
2 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Online4yourmind
Online4yourmind
Philippa M.

Philippa M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Wish we bought a Dyson.

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
2 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Philippa M.
Philippa M.
Mary H

Mary HHunter Region, NSW

Dust Bin Release button cracked

published

We have had this stick vacuum for a few months and think it's pretty good. Unfortunately the Dust Bin release button has cracked and the bin won't stay in place. I am hoping this can be repaired as a part that is used each time the vacuum is used should not break in such a short time.

Purchased at Godfreys.

Product is used Several times a week
Floor Type Carpet
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Light compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not the best on offer!

published

Purchased March 2019, was fine for almost 6 months, but then seemed to be constantly blocked at the top of the stick with subsequent loss of power and would not pick up. When it was turned off, dirt etc would fall back down the stick on to the floor! If you have the time to regularly clean out the dirt canister and recharge often then maybe 6/10.

Purchased in March 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
3 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Tony
Tony

Thanks for your quick response. I hadn't thought of doing this, but will do so.

Tony
Tony

Battery failed 18 months after I bought from Godfreys

published

Battery doesn't last long and now doesn't work. Took back to store and was told that I need a new battery. Price of battery is nearly the price of a new vacuum cleaner. Not happy with how the staff treated me and will not buy from Godfreys again.

Purchased in March 2017 at Godfreys for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Meg

MegGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Handy vacuum cleaner

published

We have a bulky vacuum cleaner which is hard to take out when kids make a mess so bought this vacuum cleaner to clean up small areas. It is ultra light weight and perfect for cleaning on carpets but battery doesn't stay long enough to clean entire house .

Purchased in January 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $125.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
gmcleod

gmcleod

  • 5 reviews

Fine until you need a new battery.

published

Cheap, light and works very well on our tiled floors. We use it as an interim vac between using the ducted system. The problem occurs when the battery packs up after 2 years and the cost of a new one is the same as a whole new unit. What a scam. In modern times of trying to look after the planet we produce products like this.

Purchased in February 2017 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
J R.

J R.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

GREAT power and battery life

published

I have bought two of these now, love it in nearly every way, battery lasts, good suction on floorboards, carpets and tiles... however it gets easily jammed or blocked, which then causes it to spit out the things it's just sucked up... so frustrating.
unless you have hair and fine dust only in your home, I'd say avoid this one and save your self from constant pulling apart sessions.

Purchased in October 2018 at Godfreys for $150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Dr I.U

Dr I.UGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Not happy

published

It was ok for a few weeks. However not long after purchasing it broke. Also lost a lot of suction power prior to breaking. I dont think I would ever by a cordless battery operated vacuum again. Regardless of brand. I just dont trust they have the strength to give a thorough clean the way a corded vacuum does. Or perhaps my negative experience with the Hoover has turned me off.

Purchased in December 2018 at Godfreys for $129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Light compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gitte

GitteSydney

  • 2 reviews

Save your money - no wonder it's on sale

published

Pro - cheap, light weight and easy to clean.
Cons - waste of money, poor suction even on tiles. Constantly cuts out, lights flash but no explanation on how to resolve all flashing light issues in manual, doesn't hold charge. Returned 3 times and still told no fault detected, the machine
is new and barely been used. Even a test by your Godfrey staff by swapping out the battery with your store demo proves its a battery issue as my vac worked fine, then didn't dies when my old battery was put back in. Yet still I'm told no fault detected.

Purchased in July 2019 for $150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

useless for living in the Mallee

published

I bought this product 17 months ago and should have returned it before warranty was up! It hardly has any suction to it now and what I vacuum is constantly is getting stuck either at the bottom or at the entrance to the filter. It is useless for living out in the vineyard blocks because of the constant dust that comes in. It needs constant cleaning out and the parts are hard to take off to empty the filter. Might be OK in city apartment, but definitely not in the bush! And I paid $299! Total waste of money!

Purchased in May 2018 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers
Thodoris K.

Thodoris K.Sydney, NSW

Save your money for better vacuum cleaner

published

Has no power at all easy to use but better save your money for something else. We have a carpet and do it a terrible job with it very disappointed with my choice

Purchased in November 2018 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Gustavf E.

Gustavf E.Sydney, NSW

Terrible product

published

I bought this vacume from Godfreys about 18 months ago, I've had major problems with it , it was fixed under warranty however now the battery is dead, I hardly use it & Gofreys tell me it's out of warranty. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone

Purchased in April 2018 at Godreys Dee Why for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Anthony L

Anthony LGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

For someone on the go

published

There are 2 types of floors at home but the Hoover easily handles both well. It has enough power to cope with most situations and the handy conversion to a small, hand-held unit is ideal. Portable use is terrific for the car or elsewhere and the handy wall bracket keeps it out of the way.

Purchased in July 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Frank S

Frank SSydney, NSW

Pretty Competitive, compared to other Stick Vacs

published

Bought this a few years back, never really had any problems. I did lose the Vac housing once and had to hunt down Godfreys to get one only for it to be back ordered which took about 3 months before it came in.

The vacuum head has a LED headlight that turns on when vacuuming so you can see under dark places. There is a handy switch that you can switch on so that you don't need to continue to press the button down. Cough cought* Dysons.. Cough

Power and suction is all pretty alright if you have the filter and cannister emptied. Perfect for smaller apartments and homes.

Purchased in May 2017 at godfrey for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Ultra Light compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gerry

GerrySydney, NSW

  • 24 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Does the job - let down by power supply

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Godfreys Online Store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

You Have To Balance Your Expectations On the Life of The Battery For What is Overall Quite A Good Product

published

The battery on my ultra light lasted around 18 months. I had the battery repacked which cost less than a new battery and should now run much better and longer.

Purchased in January 2017 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Jan Thorpe

Jan ThorpeSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Next to USELESS.

published

I bought this Hoover UL upright for my wife for an Xmas present in December 2016. What a waste of money and time it has tuned out to be. I can suck through a straw with more force that this useless piece of crap. If it wasn't for the rotating brush in the head of the stick it would NOT pick up anything!
I contacted Hoover direct to advise them of my problem. Their reply: Go back to Godfreys and trade it in on a more powerful model. No way!!
Would NOT recommend it to anyone

Purchased in December 2016 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kath

KathGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

My portable housekeeper

published

My Hoover Ultralight saves my sanity. Picks up on all surfaces- carpet when the grandkids run in, sand off the caravan floor, pocket tissues. Pops apart, cleans easily, light, flexible.

Purchased in October 2017 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $149.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Goerge H

Goerge HSydney, NSW

terrible

published

i baught one from Geoffrey the battery very bad the brand is faulty all the battery after a while the battery doesn't work geoffrey they are tricky they know it is faulty refuse to honour the warranty and they tell you what can you do ???? they defy you by telling you it is faulty you have to accept it , they tell you call the manager , the manager never answer ,dont deal with them spacial in parramatta

Purchased in April 2019 at the terrible Geoffrey parramatta store for $165.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Emily P.

Emily P.asked

Having issues with dirt being picked up by the vacuum but then not being sucked up into the drum and when the vacuum isn’t running it just falls out the end again. Really frustrating and just cleaned the head too so that can’t be the issue. What could be the issue?

2 answers
Philippa M.
Philippa M.

I have the exact same problem! So frustrating

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Emily,
This is usually caused by a blockage in the head, rod, machine or filter.
We would recommend to check and clean these areas, the filter may also be due for replacement, it is recommended to have the filter replaced every 6-12 month depending on use.
If you are still experiencing issues we would recommend taking the machine into your nearest Godfreys store for further inspection.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Gary Blacklaws

Gary Blacklawsasked

I am charging my vacuum but there nothing happening. Any help?

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi,
I would recommend taking the machine, and proof of purchase, to your nearest Godfreys store to be booked in for further inspection under warranty, just to make sue there are no underlying issues.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Maggaret E

Maggaret Easked

Dirt getting caught in the tube even after filter cleaned

4 answers
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Maggaret E,
the filters may be due for replacement.
Filters do do need to be replaced around every 6-12 months.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Maggaret E
Maggaret E

Where do you buy them and how much are they?

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Maggaret,
The filters can be purchased through your nearest Godfreys store.
The mesh cone filter is $11.95 and the exhaust filter is $9.95.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.