??!
4 photos
Hoover Vortex Pro Stickvac 5231

Hoover Vortex Pro Stickvac 5231

2.5 from 30 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(9)
(1)
(2)
(3)
(15)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (25)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (24)
  • Ease of Use
    2.9 (24)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.4 (24)
  • Product is used
    • Several times a week (10)
    • Daily (8)
    • Weekly (7)
    • Rarely (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (23)
  • Pet OwnerYes (17) · No (7)
  • Battery Life
    2.5 (22)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Lina

LinaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Buyer Beware!!

published

This was a replacement vacuum from Hoover. Condition of replacement was there is no warranty on vacuum. I thought I would get longer use than one month. When it work it was good. Easy to use and clean. Battery lasted 20 minutes approx. Good on carpet and hard floors. Now it is useless. I do not recommend this at all. Completely disappointed and I will not recommend any Hoover stick vacuum cleaners. Very disappointed that I had to give this review. Buyer beware!!

Purchased in February 2020 at Godfreys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Katie

KatieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Would give it zero if that was an option

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
3 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Katie
Katie
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
John W.

John W.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great suction for price

published

I honestly think this has great bang for buck. The runtime has been realistically portrayed and not misleading . 25 mins to 30 mins on low power is all I need and that boost mode is amazing for 10 minutes . Great box of accessories too !

Purchased in March 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi John,
We are very glad to hear that you are happy with your purchase.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Vortex Pro Stickvac 5231 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ashley

ashleyMurray Mallee, SA

Hover vortex pro... Crap vacuum

published

Doesn't work as described with anything or even pet hair
Battery life is not good got told we could do whole house..
Doesn't suck up anything
Crap design as you empty filter stuff goes everywere.
Has had this for not even a year. Really bad battery time can't even do a 3 bedroom house with hardfloors. Rang up Godfrey's got it in for inspection they said nothing wrong. Have changed filters it's always cleaned out each use and it's still crap. Won't suck anything up not even a bit of dog fur. Kmart $29 vacuums are better. We will never buy one like this again. We will never buy from Godfrey's again. It's just all round a crap vacuum for how much they charge for it. Don't bother.Paid $700

Purchased in March 2019 at Godfreys for $700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
3 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
ashley
ashley

We did that already as it was still under warranty. They said nothing wrong with it !!

Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Frances

FrancesCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Bring back the broom!

published

Blocks up constantly where the narrow tube joins the canister. Blocks up in other places also: the power head; where the power head joins the narrow tube; in the first canister; in the second canister. Is this a joke design?
To unblock it you need: at least half a hour, a screwdriver, a change of clothes, somewhere to wash your hands, a bent coathanger and a dustpan and brush.
To empty it you need: most of the above, plus an ability to do 3D jigsaw puzzles.
Battery doesn’t last very long.
Cannot run it with power head off, so on hard floors items get pushed away..
Has poor suction.
Very light and easy to manoeuvre.

Purchased in August 2019 at Godfreys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Felicity L.

Felicity L.South East Queensland, QLD

Waste of money, should have brought a Dyson.

published

Constantly clogging, the hose has spit in two areas, it's a year old! Flicks dirt out everywhere making a bigger mess. Wiring is coming loose, so only charges when you get it on the charging dock in the right spot. Irritating to empty both the collection bins! The main one ends up just spilling dust and dirt all over my had and the head of the vaccum. Complete waste of money. For 600 dollars I could have brought a Dyson like I intended to but the sales rep conned me into this one. Liar and a shark!

Purchased in September 2018 at Godfreys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

disappointed

published

It is such a bad design, there are so many nooks and crannies that it clogs up continuously. Pushes dirt around instead of sucking it up. Salesman lied. Very Disappointed.

Purchased in May 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Frustrating, messy and not worth the $599

published

I wish I had read these reviews before purchasing the vortex pro, I was showed it sucking up all sorts in the shop and was sold. Fast forward 6 months and its been back to have a new foot and currently back at the shop to sort out the battery.... 7 mins run time on low is ridiculous to vacuum a 4 bedroom house with 2 kids, 2 dogs and 2 cats!!....and dont even get me started on the blocked tubes, i am over un clogging the dam thing every few minutes, its frustrating, messy and not worth the $599 I paid.

Purchased in February 2019 for $599.00.

Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
David

DavidSydney Surrounds, NSW

The worst Vacuum Cleaner I have purchased

published

We purchased this Vacuum cleaner off a retailer who is a very prominent retailer in the vacuum space that does not sell Dyson... mmmm I wonder who that is.
We were told that it rivals the Dyson at half the cost!
How wrong they were....it doesn't even come close!
Continually clogs up and half the time you spend pulling the crap out of the multiple pipes and filters.
Really bad design....think twice about buying one, and don't get sucked into buying one like we did.
Apart from never buying anything else but a Dyson, we will never step foot into one of those stores again and we will tell all our friends and family to do the same.
No one likes being lied to, and in particular doesn't like being ripped off.

Purchased in July 2018 at Godfreys for $550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Vortex Pro Stickvac 5231 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Poorly designed with no power.

published

First time purchasing a Hoover. I was advised this product rivals Dyson products however, I was extremely disappointed. The suction has no power and the pipes (tubes) are too narrow to suck up reasonable amounts of dust. I've had to constantly unclog and clear the vacuum frequently to be able to use it. I do not recommend people spending +$500 for a product like this. I've emailed Hoover for assistance however, I haven't received a response yet.

  • +1

Purchased in April 2019 at Godfreys for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Michelle

MichelleSydney Surrounds, NSW

DON'T BUY

published

I purchased the Hoover Vortex Pro about 6 months ago, initially it was fantastic, great suction but very soon I realised that after every time I vaccummed I would have to pull the whole thing apart and unblock dust from it, now a few months down the track it has lost suction completely - I have cleaned it thoroughly, done everything I can and it just doesn't work, blocks every time I unblock it...worst purchase and expensive. I had a Dyson for at least 15 years without a problem until I broke a part and couldn't replace it. I decided on a cordless upright - my advice - don't buy one of these get a Dyson :(

Purchased in February 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Kraftie

KraftieAdelaide

  • 15 reviews
  • 3 likes

My up grade from the FreeJet 3in1

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Godfreys for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Family-Guy77

Family-Guy77AU

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Short battery life spoils great little cleaner

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Short battery life

published

When I bought the Hoover Vortex Pro from Godfreys in Westfield Parramatta, the sales guy did not tell me that the battery lasts only 9 minutes on high and 28 minutes on low and I need to charge it again for 4 hours. There is not enough battery life to vacuum a whole house. When I called the customer service they ask me to bring it back to the shop and the sales guy try to get me to upgrade it to a very expensive one! The service is crap.

Purchased in June 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Domestic Goddess

Domestic GoddessGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Don't buy: Easily blocked and a nightmare to clean

published

My Vortex Pro got blocked from the first day - unable to deal with simple dust from 2 rugs. All the dirt got stuck at the hose elbow and in its other internal nooks and crannies. It was a nightmare to clean - the staff member using fine pointed scissors and a Wertheim vacuum. Godfreys refused to refund my money and blamed me for its failings!

Purchased in June 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Vortex Pro Stickvac 5231 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gen

GenCentral West, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Average performance - Hoover Vortex Pro Handstick

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Godfrey's Dubbo for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Dont buy. Gets block. All the time, and battery short life when was working

published

Gets blocks too easy, battery short life..
Dont buy save your money, started good. But once blocked need to take apart, the feeds in hoses are small and small particles can easily get block, finding carpet getting into suck in as well.

Purchased in June 2019 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Paul O.

Paul O.South East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Easily Blocked - Makes a complete mess when emptied

published

When our wonderful Dyson packed in we decided to go for a stick vac. This seemed reasonable. Unfortunately it blocks really easily (we have dogs). It is a process involving screwdrivers to unblock it. Emptying it is a nightmare dust and dirt go everywhere except in the bin. You have to use other components of the vacuum to unblock but if you have no charge left, this is impossible until it recharges. It tends to block after about 3 minutes use. It is a terrible machine and we are really disappointed considering how much money it cost. We recently re-bought a big ball Dyson, adding to the cost of what we'd already paid for this rubbish.

Purchased in February 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
PCochran

PCochranSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Works great... you have 11 minutes to do the house

published

The vacuum is great the the boost is great ... just the battery life is not sufficient
you have 11 min to do the house. If you only have one small room i would get it but if you want to do three rooms it will be of no use. For 600 dollar which we paid at the Godfreys ... we ended up having to purchase another vacuum.

Purchased in April 2018 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Pete

Petecedar grove

  • 8 reviews

Awesome vacuum cleaner

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Frances

Francesasked

How do I get my money back?

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Frances,
We are sorry to hear that your are not happy with your purchase.
Are you experiencing an issue with the machine?
Please feel free to contact us on 1300 360 845 to discuss further.
When contacting us please quote your customer reference number 377877.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Sharon W.

Sharon W.asked

Im having trouble charging in the vacuum

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Sharon,
There may be an issue with the battery.
Please take this machine and charger into your nearest Godfreys Store with your proof of purchase to be inspected.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Sharon W.

Sharon W.asked

My battery is not charging

1 answer
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover

Hi Sharon,
There may be an issue with the battery.
Please take this machine and charger into your nearest Godfreys Store with your proof of purchase to be inspected.
Regards,
The Hoover Team

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.