??!
6 photos
Husqvarna 100 Series

Husqvarna 100 Series

TS 138, TC 130, TS 142T, etc...
3.1 from 12 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.1

12 reviews
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Product is used
  • Hill / Slope Performance
    3.0 (1)
  • Safety
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    1.5 (2)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.0 (1)
  • Turning
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Elephant

ElephantSydney Surrounds, NSW

Awful problems with transmission belt

published

I've had this machine less than a year and two transmission belts already. We have a cutting season of 3-4 months of which 1 month both last year and this is spent getting a new belt. Awful reliability. I had a Castlegarden for 10 years and never even serviced it. So much for modern technology. Built to fail I think.

Purchased in July 2018 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Functionality
Safety
Noise Level
See all answers
Anthony

AnthonyWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great tractor couldn’t ask for better mower

published

Purchased this mower in 2016 had done 80 hrs in that time. Best investment, only ever had one issue with the gear box not engaging into reverse which was fixed under warranty. Just a build up of dust and not greased property when put together. Runs and cuts as it should. Has awesome turning circle, only ever run on premium fuel. Great on fuel. Love the cup holder

Purchased in March 2016 at Aussie mower centre Hervey Bay for A$3,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Safety
Noise Level
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Turning
See all answers
Chocoholic

ChocoholicFar North Queensland, QLD

Design flawed

published

The baffle on the bottom of this mower has a major design flaw, in that the leading bolt hole is only 3-sided, so any branch, stone, or uneven ground that this leading edge hits.... it pops the baffle out of the bolt, which then hits the blade, folding the baffle up in the blade, damaging the baffle and the blade. I don’t know why this hole couldn’t have been a full hole like around the rest of the baffle, so it can be secured properly. I spend more time taking the baffle off and hammering it flat again, and refitting it, than I do mowing the lawn

Purchased in March 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Chocoholic
Chocoholic
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Husqvarna 100 Series compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rob S

Rob SPerth

Design Flaws

published

The transmission failed within the first year. Replaced under warrantee. Within 2.5 years the transmission failed again. This time the drive bearings also failed. Machine only has a total of 55 hours on it. Husqvarna don't want to know about it. The dealer admits there is a design flaw with the transmission and that Husqvarna knew about it and so the latest models now have a different transmission. Husqvarna say you shouldn't have bought a light weight bottom end residential mower - but this wasn't the advice we received at point of sale.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Len H

Len HNorthern Region, NSW

Initially happy, but now have problem

published

I was very happy with overall unit, and bought the Mulching kit and catcher. The catcher shute kept bouncing away from the housing, but I drilled a hole in the metal guide, and put in a quick release clip which held it firmly in place. The gearbox gave up a few months ago, and after the dealer replaced it, it failed again after about 12 hours of use.
The latest model has a different gearbox, and I have been informed by the dealer that I have to blow out the debris from the gearbox after every use. It does not seem to help.
The first gearbox was replaced under warranty, and I am hoping that there is still a warranty on the gearbox.
Apart from that problem, it is a great mower.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Len H
Len H

Problem sorted. Dealer found linkage error, and removed small part resting on rotater, Unit now works perfectly. 5 out of 5 now. Len H.

andrew

andrewSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great piece of machinery at an affordable price

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
woody35

woody35Hervey Bay

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does a great job

published

Purchased 3 months ago when on special for $2799. Lot of mower for that price. Replaced my 20 year old Murray and cuts a lot better. Only problem is the chute is a bit cumbersome. I have the mulcher kit and have removed the chute. No problems to date. Very happy with the purchase

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Kristy

Kristy

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Love it

published

Great ride on mower. Easy to operate and comfortable. Had no issues so far. We had same model previously but wore it out after 8 years (it still went though). The newer model has changed a few features but Still looks the same and only little things. I love it - makes mowing ok.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
KAR

KARDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hope we get 20+ years out of this mower

published

We have just had to replace our Greenfield mower after 20+ years and settled on a Husqvarna TS 138 only used it once so far just a little disappointed with the deflector chute it is very wide making it harder to cut close to trees.
The 38 inch cut is a bonus and after I get used to using it will shorten my mowing time.
So at this point in time I think this mower will give me more time to put my feet up and admire my garden.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Husqvarna 100 Series compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Lemon

published

TS 138 less than 12 months old, broken springs in transmission (warranty fix) leaking rear axle seals (warranty fix) fan on top of engine exploded on startup another warranty job. Never buy one of these lemons again.

Chris

ChrisMelbourne Victoria

Not happy

published

Purchased TS138 brand new. After less than 3 hours use it has been back twice to the dealer.
First time after 1 hour use the engine would not start eventually the dealer replaced the engine block.
Dealer returns the TS138 and after only 30 minutes use we had smoke everywhere and a really rough idle. The dealer to his credit returned took one look at the engine and stated the engine had leaks and he would take the mower away to again replace the engine.
My garden is approx one acre and open to the public yearly so no rough work involved.

Right now l feel ss though l have made a terrible costly mistake and l would love the dealer to take the Husqvarna back and allow me to chose another make. I would even pay for the privilege!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Shannon B

Shannon B

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Only new but loving it so far

published

I bought this after my 30 year old Rover finally became not worth fixing. After 3 months of travel I came back to find 9 inchves of capeweed in the back yard. I live on a 1/3 acre block, long and on a gentle slope front to back. I wasn't expecting any mower to get through the capeweed, let along a 17.5hp single cylinder one but it ploughed through what looked like a cabbage patch. I went around once on height 6 and again on 4. In a few days I'll go again at 2 or 3 and try out the bio clip mulching system. It's only a few hours old and I'll update if anything goes wrong but so far this is a cracking little unit. There's a 5 year warranty available in Australia too which gave me peace of mind.

Questions & Answers

PETER E.

PETER E.asked

TS 138

if you had the choice would you choice be hydrostatic drive

No answers
Michael T.

Michael T.asked

TS 138

What is the best fuel to use 91, or higher octane?

No answers
Stuart. S

Stuart. Sasked

TS 138

My TS138 is about three years old and in that time I am about to put my fourth belt on, this time it broke the front guide off and shattered the belt so much so I could not measure for a new belt. The dealers cannot give me a belt size only a part number. Can anyone help me with the size of the belt I don't want to put an original this time I am going to fit a Kevlar belt.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 5 Husqvarna 100 Series
Husqvarna TC 130

Husqvarna TC 130

No reviews yet
Husqvarna TS 142T

Husqvarna TS 142T

No reviews yet
Husqvarna TS 142TXD

Husqvarna TS 142TXD

No reviews yet
CategoryRide-On MowersRide-On MowersRide-On MowersRide-On Mowers
Price (RRP) A$3,499.00A$4,299.00A$4,699.00A$5,199.00
Zero Turn NoNoNo
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability and Side DischargeDeck Clean-out Port and Mulching CapabilityDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability and Side Discharge
Catcher Type NoneNoneNone
Catcher Capacity200 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelSteelSteel
Cutting Width970 mm760 mm1,070 mm
Height of Cut38 mm to 102 mm38 mm to 102 mm38 mm to 102 mm
Number of Blades212
Noise Level 105 dB105 dB105 dB
Weight180 kg176 kg274 kg
Transmission TypeHydrostaticHydrostaticHydrostatic
Horsepower17 hp17.5 hp26 hp
Max Speed8.4 km/hr9 km/hr6.7 km/hr
Reverse Speed4.7 km/hr4.4 km/hr3.5 km/hr
Dimensions 1016 x 1250 x 1753 mm1000 x 891 x 2220 mm1270 x 1240 x 1780 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameLoncin 17 HP 1-Cylinder 452cc EngineBriggs & Stratton 17.5 HP 1-Cylinder 508cc EngineHusqvarna 26 HP 764cc Engine
Engine Type4-Stroke
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement452 cc508 cc764 cc
Compare all 5 Husqvarna 100 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.