??!
1 photo
Husqvarna 200 Series

Husqvarna 200 Series

TS 242, TS 246 and TS 238
2.7 from 40 reviews

See the Best Ride-On Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
9
3 star
3
2 star
5
1 star
16

Nice engine, nice plastic body shell, worse than 1980 models

published

Purchased in November 2018 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers

jazton

jaztonPerth, WA

Rubbish

published

Waist of money backfired in 15 mins wouldnt start again and cheap spindles needed replacement after accidentally small rock.
Now there is a recall for the fuel system cheap machine in my veiw

Purchased in September 2016 for $3,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Occasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
IanF

IanFCentral, SA

Worth moving to the country.

published

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Marco

MarcoPerth, WA

Don't touch these

published

Quick release system is useless, very easily damaged, mine has been ripped off twice and spindle has been damaged
Always having problems starting it....
To much of a pain in the head.... absolute junk and thats all after only 3 years old with 65 hours on the clock
Husqvarna should be charged by Consumer Affairs for selling these as mowers.

Purchased in November 2016 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Occasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers

Yep, never again.

published

I've had my ts242 for a couple of years now, only about 60hrs on the clock. Always seems to have something going wrong with it. My acre block is not the easiest to mow, but today I hit a small clump of dirt and broke the alloy belt housing that attaches to the mowing deck. This is the THIRD TIME. It just has no strength. Also, the blade indicator light keeps coming on and also not engaging when I can't see anything wrong with it. Always clean it out and give it a bit of a wash. It just seems to be a piece of junk, thinking about swapping to a John Deere, but after reading the reviews, they don't seem to be much better. May as well cut my lawn with scissors.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Ian S

Ian SGippsland, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Moved from victa VRX to TS 246

published

last year i decided to move to the Husqvarna TS 246 after years of issues with a Victa(still have) issues again :-

exhaust muffler fell off after 5 hour
front wheel fell off at 10 hours
Recall for fuel line issue which Husqvarna would not pay for return to dealer
Changing security code - dealer cant help, had to contact Husqvarna
uneven idle @ 50 hours - check all used same petrol in the car - solution use 98 octane
blade cover fall off weekly

conclusion high maintennce like Victa

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Ian S
Ian S

Further issues - quick release cover came off then damage to blade quick release and blades, ok after fitting spare parts - better quality and fitted correctly. and only runs well 95/98 octane fuels


Grass catcher

published

I find the mower ok however I paid $900 for the grass catcher and it is absolutely useless. What a waste of money... picks up a handful of grass and leaves the rest in chunks on the lawn. I will be contacting manufacturer to see what they have to say

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Husqvarna mower

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Bear

BearYangan

Absolutely pathetic. I purchased a 138, when it was less than 3 months old with 12 hours on meter

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Country consumer

Country consumerNorthern Region, NSW

Good mower if used with care

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Major problem at 16hours

published

Both spindles had to be replaced at 16 Hours, also had starting problems when new the choke needed fixing, apart from this the mower is fine. I find the code method to switch on the ignition a waste of time. The mower is comfortable to use and very good at cutting the grass. So far I am reasonably happy.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

noel

noelbellbrook nsw

great mower with a few problems

published

have ts24 replacing lth21 42 more speed more talk a great mower apart from one problem the new quick blade release in the first few hours of mowing cap came off chewed up by blades next mow the other one came off yesterday removed blades fore sharpening the brackets that hold blads on were very hard to undo because of the buildup of hard dirt had to use the wd spray the blade holders are hinged with two cotter pins on one side they went awol don't know how the blade stayed on pretty scary thought still on the original blades there is a bit of wear through not being protected by the caps i think the idea of a quick release system is a good one but it needs much improvement i think there should be a recall it is dangerous

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Had issues with drive & reverse in under a week

published

Not that impressed with mower, Had mower back twice to dealer as mower wouldn’t reverse within 2hrs old! firstly was told it needed purging, was in dealership for two weeks, second time different dealership they had to replace the diff at a substantial cost, luckily mower is still under warranty. Mower still squeals when driving! Not happy with that but motor starts 1st time every time.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Brian

BrianChilders

Too clever

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Alvin Chua

Alvin ChuaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Broke down after using for 13 hours.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
shirley

shirleySYDNEY

  • 7 reviews

Good pruduct

published

The nice price mower i could find with the features it has. Great all round mower. Smooth operation. Nice big fuel tank. 5 year warranty when purchased with 5 litres of engine oil. Powerful Husqvarna 200 Series Engine. I also thought the 24 months interest free deal was something to consider when purchasing one.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Phil J

Phil JCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Does what I need it to do

published

After much researching I bought the TS 242 despite some of the reviews on here. It came with poly trailer, cover and bottle of oil and was the best value mower I could find by far. It's perfect for my needs and I've had no problems with it at all (touch wood) aside from accidently starting it with the oil cap off. It only gets used 4 or 5 times each summer but it's over some pretty rough and step ground, it's handled everything so far without issues.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Rocket

Rocketperth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Value For Money

published

The cheapest mower i could find with the features it has. Great all round mower. Smooth operation. Nice big fuel tank. 5 year warranty when purchased with 5 litres of engine oil. Powerful Kawasaki Engine. I'm impressed with the features and priced well at $3799. I also thought the 36 months interest free deal was something to consider when purchasing one.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Steve

Steve

  • 3 reviews

crap

published

regretfully purchased this piece of rubbish 9 months ago. Tyrs are as thin as paper and I am continually getting them repaired. Engine has no power, blades are crap and overall a great disappointment. will never purchase anything from this company again - ever!

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Ryan a

Ryan aAU

  • 26 reviews
  • 8 likes

After moving from city to 10 acres this mower works a treat.

published

Lovely mower, easy to start (no key entry just push buttons in a certain order) cuts well. We have the mulch attachment that we use frequently. Safety feature if you get off the seat it turns off immediately and if you sit back on and start again the cutters (if they were on previously) won't start, you need to stop and start them again. We bought the wagon also and it's handy for moving timber around the property. Very nice mower. Not as expensive as others but we found it still works well.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Peter H.

Peter H.asked

TS 246

details of catcher for this model

No answers

Scott

Scottasked

TS 238

When I go to start it the park brake and deck lights as in cutting symbol flash for about 2minutes which are c&e

1 answer
IanF
IanF

Sorry Scott. I haven't a clue. Perhaps you should ask your dealer.


Frank Wearne

Frank Wearneasked

What is a Husqvarna yth2242DRF ride on mower?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Husqvarna representatives

Details

Husqvarna TS 242

Husqvarna TS 242

2.5
(29)
Husqvarna TS 246

Husqvarna TS 246

3.3
(8)
Husqvarna TS 238
  • Discontinued

Husqvarna TS 238

2.3
(3)
CategoryRide-On MowersRide-On MowersRide-On Mowers
Price (RRP) $4,599.00$4,799.00$5,799.00
Zero Turn NoNo
FeaturesDeck Clean-out Port, Mulching Capability and Side Discharge
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width1,070 mm1,170 mm970 mm
Height of Cut38 mm to 102 mm38 mm to 102 mm38 mm to 102 mm
Number of Blades22
Noise Level 105 dB
Weight281.2 kg
Transmission TypeHydrostaticHydrostatic
Horsepower18 hp16.4 hp
Max Speed6.7 km/hr
Reverse Speed2.54 km/hr
Dimensions 107.3 x 124.4 x 179.1 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Displacement603 cc
BrandKawasakiKawasaki
Engine Type4-Stroke

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.