??!
1 photo
Husqvarna 200 Series

Husqvarna 200 Series

TS 242, TS 246, TS 238
2.7 from 41 reviews

Reviews

2.7

41 reviews
5
(8)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(16)
  • Build Quality
    2.4 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (5)
  • Safety
    3.8 (5)
  • Hill / Slope Performance
    3.0 (5)
  • Turning
    3.6 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.0 (5)
Previous
Next
Jim

JimGippsland, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great solid mower

published

Used on steep inclines and over large debris for 7 years. Only issue was air locking of petrol tank. Clutch now needs service. Great machine to mow regular and irregular areas.

Purchased in January 2012 for A$4,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers

Nice engine, nice plastic body shell, worse than 1980 models

published

Purchased in November 2018 for A$6,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
jazton

jaztonPerth, WA

Rubbish

published

Waist of money backfired in 15 mins wouldnt start again and cheap spindles needed replacement after accidentally small rock.
Now there is a recall for the fuel system cheap machine in my veiw

Purchased in September 2016 for A$3,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Husqvarna 200 Series compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
IanF

IanFCentral, SA

Worth moving to the country.

published

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Marco

MarcoPerth, WA

Don't touch these

published

Quick release system is useless, very easily damaged, mine has been ripped off twice and spindle has been damaged
Always having problems starting it....
To much of a pain in the head.... absolute junk and thats all after only 3 years old with 65 hours on the clock
Husqvarna should be charged by Consumer Affairs for selling these as mowers.

Purchased in November 2016 for A$3,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers

Yep, never again.

published

I've had my ts242 for a couple of years now, only about 60hrs on the clock. Always seems to have something going wrong with it. My acre block is not the easiest to mow, but today I hit a small clump of dirt and broke the alloy belt housing that attaches to the mowing deck. This is the THIRD TIME. It just has no strength. Also, the blade indicator light keeps coming on and also not engaging when I can't see anything wrong with it. Always clean it out and give it a bit of a wash. It just seems to be a piece of junk, thinking about swapping to a John Deere, but after reading the reviews, they don't seem to be much better. May as well cut my lawn with scissors.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Ian S

Ian SGippsland, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Moved from victa VRX to TS 246

published

last year i decided to move to the Husqvarna TS 246 after years of issues with a Victa(still have) issues again :-

exhaust muffler fell off after 5 hour
front wheel fell off at 10 hours
Recall for fuel line issue which Husqvarna would not pay for return to dealer
Changing security code - dealer cant help, had to contact Husqvarna
uneven idle @ 50 hours - check all used same petrol in the car - solution use 98 octane
blade cover fall off weekly

conclusion high maintennce like Victa

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Ian S
Ian S

Further issues - quick release cover came off then damage to blade quick release and blades, ok after fitting spare parts - better quality and fitted correctly. and only runs well 95/98 octane fuels

Grass catcher

published

I find the mower ok however I paid $900 for the grass catcher and it is absolutely useless. What a waste of money... picks up a handful of grass and leaves the rest in chunks on the lawn. I will be contacting manufacturer to see what they have to say

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Husqvarna mower

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Husqvarna 200 Series compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bear

BearYangan

Absolutely pathetic. I purchased a 138, when it was less than 3 months old with 12 hours on meter

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Country consumer

Country consumerNorthern Region, NSW

Good mower if used with care

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Major problem at 16hours

published

Both spindles had to be replaced at 16 Hours, also had starting problems when new the choke needed fixing, apart from this the mower is fine. I find the code method to switch on the ignition a waste of time. The mower is comfortable to use and very good at cutting the grass. So far I am reasonably happy.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
noel

noelbellbrook nsw

great mower with a few problems

published

have ts24 replacing lth21 42 more speed more talk a great mower apart from one problem the new quick blade release in the first few hours of mowing cap came off chewed up by blades next mow the other one came off yesterday removed blades fore sharpening the brackets that hold blads on were very hard to undo because of the buildup of hard dirt had to use the wd spray the blade holders are hinged with two cotter pins on one side they went awol don't know how the blade stayed on pretty scary thought still on the original blades there is a bit of wear through not being protected by the caps i think the idea of a quick release system is a good one but it needs much improvement i think there should be a recall it is dangerous

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Markus

MarkusCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Had issues with drive & reverse in under a week

published

Not that impressed with mower, Had mower back twice to dealer as mower wouldn’t reverse within 2hrs old! firstly was told it needed purging, was in dealership for two weeks, second time different dealership they had to replace the diff at a substantial cost, luckily mower is still under warranty. Mower still squeals when driving! Not happy with that but motor starts 1st time every time.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Brian

BrianChilders

Too clever

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Husqvarna 200 Series compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alvin Chua

Alvin ChuaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Broke down after using for 13 hours.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
shirley

shirleySYDNEY

  • 7 reviews

Good pruduct

published

The nice price mower i could find with the features it has. Great all round mower. Smooth operation. Nice big fuel tank. 5 year warranty when purchased with 5 litres of engine oil. Powerful Husqvarna 200 Series Engine. I also thought the 24 months interest free deal was something to consider when purchasing one.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Phil J

Phil JCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Does what I need it to do

published

After much researching I bought the TS 242 despite some of the reviews on here. It came with poly trailer, cover and bottle of oil and was the best value mower I could find by far. It's perfect for my needs and I've had no problems with it at all (touch wood) aside from accidently starting it with the oil cap off. It only gets used 4 or 5 times each summer but it's over some pretty rough and step ground, it's handled everything so far without issues.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Rocket

Rocketperth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Value For Money

published

The cheapest mower i could find with the features it has. Great all round mower. Smooth operation. Nice big fuel tank. 5 year warranty when purchased with 5 litres of engine oil. Powerful Kawasaki Engine. I'm impressed with the features and priced well at $3799. I also thought the 36 months interest free deal was something to consider when purchasing one.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Steve

Steve

  • 3 reviews

crap

published

regretfully purchased this piece of rubbish 9 months ago. Tyrs are as thin as paper and I am continually getting them repaired. Engine has no power, blades are crap and overall a great disappointment. will never purchase anything from this company again - ever!

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Stephen H.

Stephen H.asked

TS 242

My 242 hit a small root and caused the blade to split the stone guard. The mowing mechanism now makes a dreadful noise when engaged. Can the the guard be welded apor will it have to be replaced? If so, approximately how much would this cost?

No answers
Willem V.

Willem V.asked

TS 242

Are the 242 and 342 ts now of a better quality now and are the spindles protected with a shearing devise in case of hitting an obstacle.? When a starting switch is accidentilly left on does the hour meter continues to count or does the meter only count when the engine is running? Which is important!
Looking forward to your reply WVB

No answers
Ashley H.

Ashley H.asked

200 Series

What is the EE fault and how can I fix it?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.