4 photos
Hustler Raptor

Hustler Raptor

FR651V (42"), FR691V (52")
4.2 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Ride-On Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Hustler? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.2
13 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Hill / Slope Performance
    3.6 (7)
  • Safety
    3.9 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (7)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.3 (7)
  • Turning
    4.1 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Rolf in Melbourne
Rolf in MelbourneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent mower

published

We purchased this mower to replace a Greenfield Fastcut 32. We should have purchased a zero turn years ago, it is fantastic. We mow approx 2 acres of paddock rather than lawn and it literally has halved our mowing time and is more comfortable and less tiring to use. Is easy to service and maintain with plenty of manuals and guides available online. Great investment.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Happy Gardener
Happy GardenerSouthwest, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worth the money

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $7,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Ride-On Mowers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Very disappointed with my Raptor SD 54"

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Hustler Raptor compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The deck is a complete junk!!!

published

They had a recall out on a bolt falling out, dealer didn't fix it. Deck fell off and actually tore the cheap metal and horrible welds they used. Over 3k and refused to warranty anything. Never did fix the left/right control to get it straight. Nearly every year this junk needs deck work without ending. Just junk, two years old and scrap other than the motor, which thankfully they didn't make.

Purchased in July 2018 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ryan
RyanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Needs more power

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $7,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Ryan
Ryan
Stuart Mortimer
Stuart MortimerPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews

Hustler Raptor HD 36"

published

Just bought the Hustler 36"....love it....the drive and steering is strong and preceise, the cut is awesome, and it is so much faster than my old lawn tractor. Cant wait to use it in my new mowing business

Purchased in July 2019 at armadale mower world for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Chris
ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome machine

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Stewart's handyman servi
Stewart's handyman serviFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Wrapped with my raptor

published

I make my living mowing lawns, the raptor has cut my time at each property by a lot (I was using a lawn tractor). I keep the blades sharpened for a professional finish and am really pleased with the results
I ended up getting the “sd” as it’s built tougher and has serviceable hydrostatic drives
With the 3 year warranty it was a no brainer.

Purchased in January 2019 for $7,499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Ride-On Mowers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Mark Keenan
Mark KeenanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Tough as nails , best ride on I have used

published

I have been mowing with the Hustler Raptor 42" for well over 2 years now and it has not let me down. It took a little while to get used to the steering but now it is quite intuitive and is fantastic around trees and garden borders. The fabricated heavy duty deck is indicative of the build quality, bits don't fall off, this was an ongoing issue with previous lighter gauged pressed deck ride on mowers I've had in the past. Just be mindful that due to the transmission configuration these mowers are not designed to tow heavy loads

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Hustler Raptor compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Margal
Margal
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best mower I ever had!!!

published

I have own a Hustler Sport for the last 5 years, is the entry model now longer made but replaced by the Raptor. My mowing time for the of my acreage is now 3.5 hours from almost 5. I have replaced the standard seat with a suspension one, is kinder on my back!! It has been a super machine, has given me no trouble at all I have replaced a set of blades and a deck belt in the whole of 5 years. Uses no oil and fuel consumption is also very good. A fantastic machine that I truly recommend!!

Date PurchasedApr 2013
Laurie - Wakerley
Laurie - Wakerley
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Halve your mowing time with a Zero Turn

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
David
DavidHobart
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best thing ever!

published

The Hustler Raptor 42" has been a real time saver for me. I had the old Victa push around mower for a long time so bit the bullet and bought this and now the lawns are mowed so fast its great!! Powerful enough to cut long grass and good around tight spaces. I have had it about 9 months now and spent a lot of time comparing and researching all the models available and decided on this one. So easy to use my 11yo son often mows the lawns. Very comfortable ride and economical so very happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Bantam_Pilot
Bantam_PilotCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 14 likes

Excellent quality ride-on

published

Questions & Answers

jack
jackasked
Raptor

Can I sharpen easily the blades myself? If yes how? Thanks.

2 answers
Happy Gardener
Happy Gardener

Yes you can sharpen your own blades. Raise the deck to it's highest setting to give you access to the bolt which secures the center of the blade, prevent the blade from turning and with a spanner or socket remove the bolt to release the blade. Sharpen as required and replace. Be careful when sharpening the blade especially with a grinder that you don't overheat the blade and remove the temper in the steel. If you remove the temper it will soften the steel and causing it to become dull more quickly and require sharpening more often. Hope this helps.

jack
jack

Thank you Happy Gardener. This is very helpful. Cheers, Jack

Steven g
Steven gasked
Raptor

Machine shut down while i was mowing, wont start no power at key. Has the battery failed.oils and fuel all good.

No answers
Chris S.
Chris S.asked
Raptor

Very loud transmission how to service, I live in the Bush. Thanks Chris.

No answers
See all Hustler Raptor questions

Get an answer from our members

Hustler Raptor

Details

Compare both Hustler Raptor
CategoryRide-On MowersRide-On Mowers
Price (RRP) $6,299.00$6,999.00
Zero Turn YesYes
Power SourcePetrolPetrol
FeaturesSide Discharge
Catcher Type NoneNone
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelSteel
Cutting Width1,066 mm1,321 mm
Height of Cut38.1 mm to 114.3 mm38.1 mm to 114.3 mm
Number of Blades23
Weight229.06 kg236.8 kg
Transmission TypeHydrostaticHydrostatic
Horsepower21.5 hp23 hp
Max Speed10.5 km/hr10.5 km/hr
Reverse Speed6.4 km/hr6.4 km/hr
Dimensions 990 x 1040 x 1854.2 mm990 x 1040 x 1850 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameKawasaki FR651V 4-Stroke 726cc 21.5hpKawasaki FR691V 4-Stroke 726cc 23hp
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke
BrandKawasakiKawasaki
Engine Displacement726 cc726 cc
Compare both Hustler Raptor

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.