??!
11 photos
Hyundai Sonata

Hyundai Sonata

NF, EF, LF
4.1 from 25 reviews

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
1

Mr Delicious

Mr DeliciousSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

If youre reading this and doing research, congratulations you have hit the jackpot.

published

Purchased A 2016 LF3 (MY17) Premium. Woooooooowsers in my trousers people.
Have been driving a 15yr old Honda Accord Euro for eternity. Getting in the Sonata is like driving to work in a comfortable space ship. Cant recommend this car enough. I find excuses daily to drive to the shops just so I can drive the car.

Averaging 8.2 L / 100km freeway
10L in Sydney traffic
Quiet like a mouse
Fast as a shoplifter
Comfortable like a cloud. Stinking hot outside, yet I have seat coolers blowing cold air up my bum - you beauty.
After reading every online review about this car I was hesitant. Dont listen to those sooks. The car is amazing.

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mick

MickGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car well built

published

Love my Hyundai being a qualified mechanic there extremely well built great seating position nice car to drive excellent on fuel coming from a commodore.
10 years ago wouldn’t have looked at Hyundai but there a fantastic car now and great warranty as well definitely a car to be considered to Toyota ect

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Is this car a Lemon?

published

Purchased in September 2016 at Keema Cars Brisbane Hyundai dealer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Scott

ScottSouth East Queensland, QLD

Issues with in dash radio / satnav display

published

I purchased this car new in early 2016. Within 6 months I had to bring it in to the local Hyundai Service Centre as the in-car display stopped working. They ended up replacing it with a new display as it was covered by the warranty. I have just been to the service centre again (April 2019) because the display has once more stopped working. I am now being told it will need replacing again and I will have to pay for its new replacement - and its installation, - as the faulty display is outside of its 3 year warranty. NOT IMPRESSED HYUNDAI.

Purchased in May 2016 for $38,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ritchy

RitchySudbury

  • 5 reviews

2014 Hyundai Sonata

published

Best car I have ever owned and I have had a Honda Accord and a Toyota Corolla

This car is problem free. It has good pick up as a manumatic. It is a reliable car that has not let me down.

I drive about 15k per year and do the regular maintenance. It is comfortable and I enjoy taking it out, either on long rides or as a daily commuter.

I am a six footer and don't feel cramped or cut off by the windshield. I just set the cruise control and put on the cool AC and just travel down the road on ECO mode.

Sudbury Hyundai can be expensive so I bought my own brake shoes and rotors and got Canadian Tire to put them on for 500 bucks. A lot better price than the 1,200 Sudbury Hyundai quoted me.

Ritchy Dubé

BadgeGL
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014

Brian

BrianPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

My second Sonata so much room for tall people

published

This 2015 Sonata is the second Sonata I've had, Just so comfortable to drive also very economical to run overall. I'm very tall and I have so much room and not feeling cramped like i am in some other larger vehicles. A lot of features like all newer cars but i'm very impressed with car, i would recommend any model Sonata for everyone.

Badge5 star
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

mrpatto

mrpattoSydney

  • 15 reviews

Excellent sedan!

published

Like everyone else we were looking around for a small SUV vehicle that seems popular these days. After trying numerous vehicles of all makes and models a salesman suggested the Sonata. We took it for a test and fell in love. Great price. Great on fuel and even though I'm a big guy there is still plenty of room and very comfortable for the four of us. Would recommend those looking at the small SUV that they open up their options.

BadgeActive
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

LizzyM

LizzyMAU

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes

Fantastic car

published
BadgeElite
Engine Size2 litre Turbo
Transmission6 speed automatic with paddle shifters
Date PurchasedMay 2017
ADhir

ADhir

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Highly recommended and safe buy.

published
BadgeElite
Engine Size3.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Aranciata-oz

Aranciata-ozSydney

  • 16 reviews

A fantastic alternative to a Camry - reliable, spacious, quiet, powerful.

published
BadgeSLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.4L

Ian

IanCentral West, NSW

  • 18 reviews

2009 Sonata Diesel

published

This is the 2nd Sonata I have owned, The first was a 2001 Gold Sonata Auto V6 2.7ltr <100,000km, I picked up for $1000 as a replacement car while my GWX240 was being repaired. I kinda feel in love, was nice to drive, run well, lots of power, Soooo I brought a 2009 Hyundai Sonata Elite Diesel to go to uni and back (130,000km per year). Less than 100,000km when brought and the car has been problem free. Electrics are more than fair, engine is smooth, Car is very quiet at local speeds and at 130km on freeway and doesn't seem to have the Solinoid issues that alot of Hyundais Diesel gearboxes have. Honestly for $8k was the best buy ive ever made, I think this car will be with me for along time yet.

BadgeElite
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L

lonleylad

lonleyladHunter Region, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 5 likes

2001 sonata

published
Engine Size2.0
Transmissionmanual

haye0087

haye0087

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

I'm very happy with my Sonata. For a ten year old car, it looks great and it drives smoothly. I had an RAA inspection done, which it passed with flying colours. I have no problem recommending this car at all.
I recently bought a ten year old Sonata in 2010. It has done minimal km, however after ten years, I can not fault it. It drives comfortably, no jerks or other issues. The interior and exterior are still as modern as a newer car.
I do find it uses alot more fuel than I thought - however I came from a four cylinder to a six, so there is a comparison there!


Good

published

This is ideal car for used car market people. value for money. i own one build2004 and very happy with that. excellent ride and comfort. good looking interior. and good handling.
Value for money in used car. v6 power in mid size engine. not to big not too small. good ride.
cost lot more to convert it to lpg.

Good

published

Excellent value for money in a family car. We bought our MY02 in 2005, and it still had 2 years of the warranty left. The first owners took a large depreciation hit, and we took advantage. 2 of our friends have bought the same model after driving ours.
Willing V6 engine and gearbox. Very comfortable on long trips. Huge boot space when rear seats put down.
No trip computer.

Good

published

Excellent car that I intend to keep for 200,000 Km. Long warranty makes this possible. Would buy again...possibly the diesel if they bring it here.
Have now had my Sonata elite for two years (50,000 km) and not a thing has gone wrong. Well finished well equipped for the price and a delight to drive. This is a luxury car at a bargain price. Very quiet and comfortable. Economy 1okm/litre consistently. Tyres lasted 48,000 km. Appreciate the huge boot and the fold down seats.
Not a dislike as I knew before I bought it, but I acknowledge the handling is not as good as the best in the class. can be a choppy ride over a very bumpy road. Nice effort Hyundai from your previous model, but you have a way to go yet.


drifand

drifandWA, 6112

  • 151 reviews

Good

published

Nicko711976

Nicko711976AU

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bad

published

A good range of features for a great price. If you are a Hyundai fan then you can't go past the Sonata for a great family option. Please check safety ratings in older models though.
For the price conscious family the Hyundai Sonata represented a great low cost alternative to the big four car companies' family cars. The car had many inclusions that were optional extras for many other vehicles in the same category. The Hyundai Motor company is fast becoming a big player in the Australian car market.
Call me a snob but i belive that in life you really get what you pay for. While the features are plentiful, build quality lacks and to be totally honest you can see where they have cut corners on this vehicle.


OK

published

We bought this car new in 2002 because we had such a good run with the previous Sonata. We are now about to buy another car, it will NOT be a Hyundai.
Good to drive, comfortable ride,
Had the clutch replaced at 75000km,(under warranty) that failed at 150000km, cost us $4000 to replace.Timing belt broke 5000km short of needing replacement, had to replace engine with second hand unit, cost us $2700, dealer did as much as they could to help. Hyundai were not interested. This car was disappointing, our first Sonata bought in 1996 was much better.


kingofbling

kingofbling

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible

published

With every thing that went wrong in the begining it has left a bad tatse in my mouth and I could recommend this car, I wish I never brought it, And will be getting rid of it in the very near future. BUYERS BEWARE.
A lot of safety features for your money
Had a lot of problems from day one very poor inside finish and a lemon over all the car had too go back plenty of times for warrantee issues, And i am still having problems a year down the track


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Shelley

Shelleyasked

Why are sonata s discontinued?

2 answers
Ian
Ian

Hi, Shelley, They have Always been around but Called the Hyundai i45 in our Market. This was for Hyundai to present the car inline with its "i" naming (i20, i30, i40, iload etc). Hyundai seems to have learnt from its mistake as "Sonata" is like their "Camry" in naming. Since Then and the i45 is no longer, We now have the Hyundai Sonata Back, Its came back with the Sonata Badge in 2014/2015

Shelley
Shelley

Thankyou :)


andrew99

andrew99asked

Sonata 4cyl,2004 What cc's is the engine,2lt,2.4lt ? Also is it a chain or timing belt and if so how many years/kms for changes please,ta Andrew.

2 answers
lonleylad
lonleylad

hi mine is a 2.0 litre engine,5 speed manual, it has a timing belt,, as with most cars with a belt it is advisable to change around the 150000 klms mark,,usually with modern cars now when they reach this amount of klms you may have to change a few things ,,,they are designed to have a use by date for some parts i love this car as it is very reliable and very cheap to run ,,hope this helps

andrew99
andrew99

Thanks,glad its a 2lt,a friend bought one recently.(cheaper to run)He's very happy too but no hand book so wanted actual yrs/kms as stated in book for belt changes.


Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.