??!
15 photos
Subaru Liberty

Subaru Liberty

4GEN, 5GEN, 3GEN, etc...
4.2 from 85 reviews

Reviews

4.2

85 reviews
5
(45)
4
(28)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (18)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (16)
  • Handling
    4.6 (16)
  • Braking
    4.6 (16)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (15)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.4 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (16)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (16)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (16)
  • Features
    4.2 (16)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (16)
Previous
Next
Shameem

ShameemSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car in the world

published

I bought a subaru liberty in 2009. I got delivered a Subaru Liberty on the 1st April with 13km on the clock. Last Friday (31/07/2020), it ticked over half a million kilometre. Over last 11 years we travelled a lot together. The ride was and still being awesome. I have a BMW 430! convertible and ride of my liberty is no less enjoyable. I never had spent anything except normal wear and tear. Just got it polished and waxed and it looks like new again. I am so happy with this car and want to thank Subaru for delivering this little piece of gem.

Purchased in April 2009 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Reece Oconnor

Reece OconnorSouth East Queensland, QLD

My throughts on CVT and manual trans.

published

Purchased in March 2020 for A$8,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Reece, Thank you so much for your review. Not only is the Liberty beautiful to drive, there is so much more to love about it even when you may have a repair to take care of. All the best and safe driving! The Subaru Team.

Jake G.

Jake G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great all rounder, sleeper status

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Carsales.com.au for A$17,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KFM

KFMNorthern Region, NSW

Avoid this model like the plague.

published

The torque converter is a shocker and Subaru, unlike in the US, won't give an extended warranty with the problem. The stalling is a serious safety problem. And the cost of repairing it is in the region of $4000.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
KFM
KFM
GPCD

GPCDSydney

Great family car

published

Great car and value for money with so many features. The all wheel drive adds to the safety of the car and it has enough room to fit a family of five comfortably without compromising on the power. The semi automatic with paddle gears lets you have some fun with the 3.6 engine especially in sports mode. You really do not need any more power than this in the city or for cruising on highways

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
fugazied

fugazied

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable and comfortable

published

Bought a second hand 1999 Subaru Liberty RX several years. It has always been comfortable to drive and reliable. I'm only writing this review now, as I am preparing to sell this vehicle.

It has required no major work. Leaking at the valve cover gaskets (as common on this model's engine) and a new starter had to be recently installed. Several bushings are starting to fall apart, but that is to be expected in a car of this age.

My next car will be a Subaru.

Purchased in April 2010.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
ridero

rideroSydney, NSW

Transmission problems

published

Purchased 2010 Liberty GT Sedan Auto with 90k on the clock. The car has always been looked after and serviced on schedule. It's been a great car. But, now at 142K, the 5 speed auto transmission has failed (apparantly a well known fault with the GT). Not happy with Subaru, anyway there goes my plans to updgrade a new wrx.

Purchased in September 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30

Cliff30MACQUARIE

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome until the Torque convertor fails!

published

Absolutely loved this car which is a 2010 always serviced on time and then it started to stall when coming to a quick stop. Did some research and found it is a know fault with the torque convertor. Took it to subaru and they have quoted $5000 to replace. Most of that is labour. The car is hardly worth that. So it is the end of the line for our much loved libby and she will be traded in. And not for a another subaru.!!

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30
Cliff30

So are you saying the Australian spec torque converter is different to the american so should not have the same issue? should i take it back to the dealership and tell them they got it wrong and to look again ?

Paul T.

Paul T.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great until the CVT fails

published

Purchased at Subaru Dealers.

Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Gear Shifting
See all answers
11 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Paul T.
Paul T.
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Paul T., Thanks for your feedback. We will be sure to pass on your details to our Customer Relations Team.

Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ests

estsAU

  • 5 reviews

Satisfied

published

After 4 years and 64,000 klms, I am still happy with my Liberty. The fuel economy is even getting better with the more klms I do. Open hwy regularly getting 6.3- 6.8 ltrs per 100 klms. My "only dislike" is the cheap clunk when closing the boot. So if that is the worst thing, yes, I am happy. Currently looking for replacing my Dunlop Max 050 tyres. Any recommendations?

Purchased in May 2015 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
ChrisR

ChrisRSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best car on the road

published

I've had my beast for 9 years and its still going strong. It has been regularly serviced and the interior is as good as it was the day it came home,and that's with dogs regularly on board. I can confidently drive on the open road, its fast acceleration keeps me out of trouble when overtaking on hills and cruise control makes open road driving a breeze. The rear seats fold down to take extra long loads when required. It's just done a weekend in the bush, give adults and two dogs, all rode comfortably. Highly recommend the Subaru Liberty to anyone for any purpose.

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

tgweshi

tgweshi

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

CVT Issues

published

My 2015 Liberty's CVT gearbox has shuddering, slipping and is jerky as reported by other owners. The torque converter fails to lock up most of the time leaving me with no power. Likely a problem with the torque converter itself or solenoids (many similar problems in American Legacys). Local Subaru service department gave me the runaround for years. Traded the car for something more reliable. Very disappointed.

Purchased in June 2015 for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Briony

BrionyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

I love my Liberty

published

I love my Liberty. Stylish and sophisticated with more safety features than you can poke a stick at. It drives and handles beautifully, particularly In wet condition. It is zippy enough for me to buzz around the city, and big enough to comfortably accomodate the whole family. The boot is quite big. Great for all of the shopping or kids stuff. Fuel economy is quite reasonable too.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ed1234

Ed1234Perth, WA

  • 6 reviews

CVT delay

published

Transmission has a 2 second delay when engaging from reverse to drive. This is how it works from new. In my view this a serious defect and could be dangerous as i didnt know about it and almost hit a car when it rolled back at the shops.

Purchased in February 2016 at Subaru melvile for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Interceptor GT

Interceptor GTGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not entirely convinced...

published

Purchased in July 2018 for A$48,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Linda

LindaSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my car, great handling and great features

published

Purchased in November 2016 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Charbel

CharbelSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the subaru liberty

published

2008 subaru liberty has plenty of power leather seats sunroof luxury edition popular car very smooth on roads steering wheel is smooth as well I clean my cars one a week always protected with wax the liberty's will not let you down

Purchased in January 2019 for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Narelle

NarelleMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car. Really quite impressed.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Daniel

DanielSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Solid, reliable car

published

This has been a great vehicle overall. It's comfortable and reliable and very easy to drive. The features are plentiful and I've never had a problem with it. 6 month servicing is annoying and the fuel economy isn't great around town. I'd definatley recommend a Subaru however. The AWD system is excellent and the car feels like it's glued to the road

Purchased in August 2015 for A$35,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Waynos Beaunos

Waynos BeaunosSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Really amazing car

published

I was given this car after having to leave my Mercedes with my ex.

Best thing ever, sticks to the road, entertaining to drive (love Awd now), and surprisingly quick (mid range) also good on fuel.

I should be replacing her, but why, she never misses a beat

Oh the tiny battery has been an issue (once) but hey small issue in a great car

BadgeOutback
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Hards

Hardsasked

Liberty 4GEN (2003-2009)

Hi. Looking to purchase a 2004 Subaru Liberty GT 4GEN Premium Pack. It has 150,000k on the clock, regularly serviced and appears well looked after. Any common issues with this model I should be wary of ? Thanks!

1 answer
Shameem
Shameem

My one was the base model(4cyl). I didn’t face a single issue in last twelve years. Just normal wear and tear.

jordan s

jordan sasked

Liberty

If i were to buy parts from a 2001 suburu liberty 2.5rx for a 2002 model would they fit? Ill need everything for the front right/tire. Steering rod wishbone. Tire pushed back into the wheel well in full lock.

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ jordan s, Simply use this link to locate your nearest or preferred Subaru parts and accessories retailer and our friendly parts team will be able to help you further. The Subaru Team. http://bit.ly/2WZZ8yv

gegee2301

gegee2301asked

Liberty 6GEN (2014-2020)

I thinking of buying a Liberty 2018. not sure on the reversing sensor system as there are no sensors Can you confirm that there is beeping when reversing as you get closer.
also the display screen is it visible easy, I am concerned how it is on a slight angle.

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ gegee2301, The MY18 Liberty has the rear view reverse camera as standard on all model variants. Now, the camera does not have an audible alert, only visual. However, as an accessory there are front and reverse parking sensors that you can order through one of our parts and accessories retailers. The Subaru Team. http://bit.ly/2WZZ8yv

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.