??!
15 photos
Subaru Liberty

Subaru Liberty

4GEN, 5GEN, 6GEN, etc...
4.4 from 76 reviews

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
42
4 star
26
3 star
5
2 star
1
1 star
2

ests

estsAU

  • 4 reviews

Satisfied

published

After 4 years and 64,000 klms, I am still happy with my Liberty. The fuel economy is even getting better with the more klms I do. Open hwy regularly getting 6.3- 6.8 ltrs per 100 klms. My "only dislike" is the cheap clunk when closing the boot. So if that is the worst thing, yes, I am happy. Currently looking for replacing my Dunlop Max 050 tyres. Any recommendations?

Purchased in May 2015 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ChrisR

ChrisRSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best car on the road

published

I've had my beast for 9 years and its still going strong. It has been regularly serviced and the interior is as good as it was the day it came home,and that's with dogs regularly on board. I can confidently drive on the open road, its fast acceleration keeps me out of trouble when overtaking on hills and cruise control makes open road driving a breeze. The rear seats fold down to take extra long loads when required. It's just done a weekend in the bush, give adults and two dogs, all rode comfortably. Highly recommend the Subaru Liberty to anyone for any purpose.

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

tgweshi

tgweshi

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

CVT Issues

published

My 2015 Liberty's CVT gearbox has shuddering, slipping and is jerky as reported by other owners. The torque converter fails to lock up most of the time leaving me with no power. Likely a problem with the torque converter itself or solenoids (many similar problems in American Legacys). Local Subaru service department gave me the runaround for years. Traded the car for something more reliable. Very disappointed.

Purchased in June 2015 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Briony

BrionyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews

I love my Liberty

published

I love my Liberty. Stylish and sophisticated with more safety features than you can poke a stick at. It drives and handles beautifully, particularly In wet condition. It is zippy enough for me to buzz around the city, and big enough to comfortably accomodate the whole family. The boot is quite big. Great for all of the shopping or kids stuff. Fuel economy is quite reasonable too.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ed1234

Ed1234Perth, WA

  • 6 reviews

CVT delay

published

Transmission has a 2 second delay when engaging from reverse to drive. This is how it works from new. In my view this a serious defect and could be dangerous as i didnt know about it and almost hit a car when it rolled back at the shops.

Purchased in February 2016 at Subaru melvile for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Interceptor GT

Interceptor GTGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not entirely convinced...

published

Purchased in July 2018 for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Linda

LindaSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my car, great handling and great features

published

Purchased in November 2016 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Charbel

CharbelSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Love the subaru liberty

published

2008 subaru liberty has plenty of power leather seats sunroof luxury edition popular car very smooth on roads steering wheel is smooth as well I clean my cars one a week always protected with wax the liberty's will not let you down

Purchased in January 2019 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Narelle

NarelleMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great car. Really quite impressed.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Daniel

DanielSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Solid, reliable car

published

This has been a great vehicle overall. It's comfortable and reliable and very easy to drive. The features are plentiful and I've never had a problem with it. 6 month servicing is annoying and the fuel economy isn't great around town. I'd definatley recommend a Subaru however. The AWD system is excellent and the car feels like it's glued to the road

Purchased in August 2015 for $35,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Waynos Beaunos

Waynos BeaunosSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Really amazing car

published

I was given this car after having to leave my Mercedes with my ex.

Best thing ever, sticks to the road, entertaining to drive (love Awd now), and surprisingly quick (mid range) also good on fuel.

I should be replacing her, but why, she never misses a beat

Oh the tiny battery has been an issue (once) but hey small issue in a great car

BadgeOutback
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Reliable car

published
Badge2.5i
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2010

Bob D.

Bob D.SYDNEY

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

An absolute delight to drive!

published
BadgeHeritage
BodySedan
Engine Size2.2 litre
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

smart cookie

smart cookieSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent Car - Poor Dealershp Service department

published
BadgeGT Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2010
Steven. R

Steven. R

  • 6 reviews

A real great car for its time!

published

I love Subaru’s & when I was looking for one I was looking for the WRX at the time. While searching I found these awesome rides. Kind of like the luxury version of one I chose it due to having all leather interior (STi stitched), momo steering wheel, sunroof, climate control plus it was the STi model & looked sexy as. So I chose this 6 speed weapon & I am overall very happy with it. It had great legroom for me, a nice sounding turbo, great suspension package & awesome rims. The sound system is amazing for a stock one too! The only thing is I wished it had a slightly more throaty exhaust but apart from that (which can be modified) is overall a really good car :D

BadgeGT Tuned By STI
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015
robin

robinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 28 reviews
  • 13 likes

love this car.

published
BadgePremium Pack
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Sophie W

Sophie WAU

  • 6 reviews

Perfect

published

Good car and easy to drive, really cheap on fuel. Subarus are good cars because they are all wheel drive. I feel safe when I'm driving in the car and it's a reliable car to get you where you need to go, not much to fault on this car very happy

BadgeSport Edition
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Jake

JakeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Beautiful and fun car to drive - excellent power

published

I have had this car for 6 months and it has been nothing but a pleasure to drive. I have not had a single issue with the car, except that i drive more enthusiastically which uses more petrol! the spec-b suspension is unbelievable. Interior looks modern and up to date even though it is 10 years old design. The mcintosh sound system is OK, i installed a parrot bluetooth to add bluetooth experience.

BadgeGT Spec.B
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

iBennyz

iBennyzMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Perfect first car, very reliable

published

This is my first car and I love it. As the vehicle is AWD, it creates a smooth and controlled driving experience, in addition to that, the cruise control function makes driving so much easier. The interior and cosmetics of the car has a modern feel despite being a MY05 model. Unfortunately there is no bluetooth or AUX audio function, however with two cigarette lighter ports, it allows me to use a FM tuner to play music through my mobile device. It's current running cost is $55-$65 a full tank which usually lasts 1.5 weeks with day to day commutes. I've owned this car for over a month now and have had no problems.

BadgeSafety Pack
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Sonny

Sonny

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Pleasure to drive

published

We didn't know what car we wanted to replace our Ford Escape? Subaru had a pretty good deal on a car I hadn't considered. The test drive and sales man was rather good and we decided on the suburu liberty. This was exciting but we never imagined how awesome it would be until it was ours and we got to drive it permanently. It's smooth, quiet and powerful enough to be zip yet a rather decent sized car. We are a family of 5! Very spacious for what appears to be a small car. AWD once you've had if I don't think you'd ever want to go back, very happy customer !

Badge2.5i
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Brad

Bradasked

Does the 2007 Subaru Liberty 4GEN Auto AWD MY07 have a timing belt or timing chain?

No answers

Brad

Bradasked

Does the 2007 Subaru Liberty 4GEN Auto AWD MY07 have a timing belt or timing chain?

No answers

DJA

DJAasked

Just wondering if you can tell subaru liberty 3.6R MY10 consume how many litres of petrol per 100km? I'm driving in Sydney CBD daily

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.