??!
15 photos
Subaru Liberty

Subaru Liberty

4GEN, 5GEN, 3GEN, etc...
4.3 from 80 reviews

Reviews

(43)
(26)
(5)
(2)
(4)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (12)
  • Handling
    4.6 (12)
  • Braking
    4.8 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.4 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (12)
  • Features
    4.3 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (12)


fugazied

fugazied

  • 7 reviews

Reliable and comfortable

published

Bought a second hand 1999 Subaru Liberty RX several years. It has always been comfortable to drive and reliable. I'm only writing this review now, as I am preparing to sell this vehicle.

It has required no major work. Leaking at the valve cover gaskets (as common on this model's engine) and a new starter had to be recently installed. Several bushings are starting to fall apart, but that is to be expected in a car of this age.

My next car will be a Subaru.

Purchased in April 2010.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

ridero

rideroSydney, NSW

Transmission problems

published

Purchased 2010 Liberty GT Sedan Auto with 90k on the clock. The car has always been looked after and serviced on schedule. It's been a great car. But, now at 142K, the 5 speed auto transmission has failed (apparantly a well known fault with the GT). Not happy with Subaru, anyway there goes my plans to updgrade a new wrx.

Purchased in September 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30

Cliff30MACQUARIE

  • 3 reviews

Awesome until the Torque convertor fails!

published

Absolutely loved this car which is a 2010 always serviced on time and then it started to stall when coming to a quick stop. Did some research and found it is a know fault with the torque convertor. Took it to subaru and they have quoted $5000 to replace. Most of that is labour. The car is hardly worth that. So it is the end of the line for our much loved libby and she will be traded in. And not for a another subaru.!!

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30
Cliff30

So are you saying the Australian spec torque converter is different to the american so should not have the same issue? should i take it back to the dealership and tell them they got it wrong and to look again ?

Paul T.

Paul T.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great until the CVT fails

published

Purchased at Subaru Dealers.

Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Gear Shifting
See all answers
10 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Paul T.
Paul T.
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Paul T., Thanks for your feedback. We will be sure to pass on your details to our Customer Relations Team.


ests

estsAU

  • 5 reviews

Satisfied

published

After 4 years and 64,000 klms, I am still happy with my Liberty. The fuel economy is even getting better with the more klms I do. Open hwy regularly getting 6.3- 6.8 ltrs per 100 klms. My "only dislike" is the cheap clunk when closing the boot. So if that is the worst thing, yes, I am happy. Currently looking for replacing my Dunlop Max 050 tyres. Any recommendations?

Purchased in May 2015 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

ChrisR

ChrisRSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best car on the road

published

I've had my beast for 9 years and its still going strong. It has been regularly serviced and the interior is as good as it was the day it came home,and that's with dogs regularly on board. I can confidently drive on the open road, its fast acceleration keeps me out of trouble when overtaking on hills and cruise control makes open road driving a breeze. The rear seats fold down to take extra long loads when required. It's just done a weekend in the bush, give adults and two dogs, all rode comfortably. Highly recommend the Subaru Liberty to anyone for any purpose.

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


tgweshi

tgweshi

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

CVT Issues

published

My 2015 Liberty's CVT gearbox has shuddering, slipping and is jerky as reported by other owners. The torque converter fails to lock up most of the time leaving me with no power. Likely a problem with the torque converter itself or solenoids (many similar problems in American Legacys). Local Subaru service department gave me the runaround for years. Traded the car for something more reliable. Very disappointed.

Purchased in June 2015 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Briony

BrionyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews

I love my Liberty

published

I love my Liberty. Stylish and sophisticated with more safety features than you can poke a stick at. It drives and handles beautifully, particularly In wet condition. It is zippy enough for me to buzz around the city, and big enough to comfortably accomodate the whole family. The boot is quite big. Great for all of the shopping or kids stuff. Fuel economy is quite reasonable too.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ed1234

Ed1234Perth, WA

  • 6 reviews

CVT delay

published

Transmission has a 2 second delay when engaging from reverse to drive. This is how it works from new. In my view this a serious defect and could be dangerous as i didnt know about it and almost hit a car when it rolled back at the shops.

Purchased in February 2016 at Subaru melvile for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Interceptor GT

Interceptor GTGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not entirely convinced...

published

Purchased in July 2018 for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Linda

LindaSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my car, great handling and great features

published

Purchased in November 2016 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Charbel

CharbelSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Love the subaru liberty

published

2008 subaru liberty has plenty of power leather seats sunroof luxury edition popular car very smooth on roads steering wheel is smooth as well I clean my cars one a week always protected with wax the liberty's will not let you down

Purchased in January 2019 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Narelle

NarelleMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great car. Really quite impressed.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Daniel

DanielSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Solid, reliable car

published

This has been a great vehicle overall. It's comfortable and reliable and very easy to drive. The features are plentiful and I've never had a problem with it. 6 month servicing is annoying and the fuel economy isn't great around town. I'd definatley recommend a Subaru however. The AWD system is excellent and the car feels like it's glued to the road

Purchased in August 2015 for $35,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Waynos Beaunos

Waynos BeaunosSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Really amazing car

published

I was given this car after having to leave my Mercedes with my ex.

Best thing ever, sticks to the road, entertaining to drive (love Awd now), and surprisingly quick (mid range) also good on fuel.

I should be replacing her, but why, she never misses a beat

Oh the tiny battery has been an issue (once) but hey small issue in a great car

BadgeOutback
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Reliable car

published
Badge2.5i
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2010

Bob D.

Bob D.SYDNEY

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

An absolute delight to drive!

published
BadgeHeritage
BodySedan
Engine Size2.2 litre
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

smart cookie

smart cookieSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Car - Poor Dealershp Service department

published
BadgeGT Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2010

Steven. R

Steven. R

  • 6 reviews

A real great car for its time!

published

I love Subaru’s & when I was looking for one I was looking for the WRX at the time. While searching I found these awesome rides. Kind of like the luxury version of one I chose it due to having all leather interior (STi stitched), momo steering wheel, sunroof, climate control plus it was the STi model & looked sexy as. So I chose this 6 speed weapon & I am overall very happy with it. It had great legroom for me, a nice sounding turbo, great suspension package & awesome rims. The sound system is amazing for a stock one too! The only thing is I wished it had a slightly more throaty exhaust but apart from that (which can be modified) is overall a really good car :D

BadgeGT Tuned By STI
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015

robin

robinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 28 reviews

love this car.

published
BadgePremium Pack
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Robert S.

Robert S.asked

How many people can legally ride in a Subaru Liberty

No answers

Anna R

Anna Rasked

Looking at buying a 2011 liberty for my son. I’m a bit worried about the torque and CVT issue, especially since we have just gotten rid of a dodgy VW Golf. Are there known issues with this model car and should we stay away?

1 answer
Paul T.
Paul T.

Hi, Gen 5 2011 Liberty does have a cvt issue, the torque converter fails causing the car to stall when you come to a halt, like a manual when you stop without the clutch in. It is not something you can see coming, mine happened suddenly. I have just received the quote for $4550 to fix - I am 2nd owner of the car and every service has been by Subaru since new. I love Subies and mine is great to drive and otherwise excellent, but this repair bill is ridiculous. I used to laugh about VW reliability but now the joke is on me.


Brad

Bradasked

Does the 2007 Subaru Liberty 4GEN Auto AWD MY07 have a timing belt or timing chain?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.