??!
15 photos
Subaru Liberty

Subaru Liberty

4GEN, 5GEN, 3GEN, etc...
4.3 from 88 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (21)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (19)
  • Braking
    4.5 (19)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (19)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.6 (18)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (18)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (19)
  • Handling
    4.6 (19)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (19)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (19)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (19)
  • Features
    4.3 (19)
Previous
Next
Tom

TomHobart, TAS

Subaru GT Premium Wagon

published

I purchased new a 2014 gt wagon and still have it. It has been a great little car, now with 95k on it. Everyone that drives it cant believe how well it performs in acceleration and handle. A wee bit noisy with the low profile tyres on rough bitumen. It now steers around the windy roads of tasmania with ease. Service is not expensive and I have not had a mechanical issue yet. In the purple mode overtaking is quick and a lot safer. If I was to worry about what might go first, it would be the clutch as it pulls so hard.
OK these weren't the prettiest, but hey if you want a sleeper you don't want to draw attention.

Purchased in May 2014 for $52,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Patrick L.

Patrick L.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can’t fault it, great car. Great safety features. Does not lack power. Smooth drive and good visibility.

published

Driving every day to and from work, using highway and freeways normally. Not bad economy. Servicing, average once a year or 12500kms. No issues as yet. For the price there’s good features.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Patrick L, Thank you so much for your excellent review. We're so happy to hear that you are happy with your Subaru. If we could ask one favour, we would love to see your review on Google review. Thanks again and safe driving. The Subaru Team.

Solid car over many years

published

2005 bought second hand from dealer. Premium wagon. Driven on all roads and long distances. Just about to clock 375,000kms! Engine is perfect but everything Else starting to go. Suspension gone! Electric windows issues. Tailgate light always needing replacement. I dread having to get a new but the time has come. Servicing too expensive.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shameem

ShameemSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car in the world

published

I bought a subaru liberty in 2009. I got delivered a Subaru Liberty on the 1st April with 13km on the clock. Last Friday (31/07/2020), it ticked over half a million kilometre. Over last 11 years we travelled a lot together. The ride was and still being awesome. I have a BMW 430! convertible and ride of my liberty is no less enjoyable. I never had spent anything except normal wear and tear. Just got it polished and waxed and it looks like new again. I am so happy with this car and want to thank Subaru for delivering this little piece of gem.

Purchased in April 2009 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Reece Oconnor

Reece OconnorSouth East Queensland, QLD

My throughts on CVT and manual trans.

published

Purchased in March 2020 for $8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Reece, Thank you so much for your review. Not only is the Liberty beautiful to drive, there is so much more to love about it even when you may have a repair to take care of. All the best and safe driving! The Subaru Team.

Jake G.

Jake G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great all rounder, sleeper status

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2019 at Carsales.com.au for $17,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
KFM

KFMNorthern Region, NSW

Avoid this model like the plague.

published

The torque converter is a shocker and Subaru, unlike in the US, won't give an extended warranty with the problem. The stalling is a serious safety problem. And the cost of repairing it is in the region of $4000.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
KFM
KFM
GPCD

GPCDSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family car

published

Great car and value for money with so many features. The all wheel drive adds to the safety of the car and it has enough room to fit a family of five comfortably without compromising on the power. The semi automatic with paddle gears lets you have some fun with the 3.6 engine especially in sports mode. You really do not need any more power than this in the city or for cruising on highways

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
fugazied

fugazied

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable and comfortable

published

Bought a second hand 1999 Subaru Liberty RX several years. It has always been comfortable to drive and reliable. I'm only writing this review now, as I am preparing to sell this vehicle.

It has required no major work. Leaking at the valve cover gaskets (as common on this model's engine) and a new starter had to be recently installed. Several bushings are starting to fall apart, but that is to be expected in a car of this age.

My next car will be a Subaru.

Purchased in April 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ridero

rideroSydney, NSW

Transmission problems

published

Purchased 2010 Liberty GT Sedan Auto with 90k on the clock. The car has always been looked after and serviced on schedule. It's been a great car. But, now at 142K, the 5 speed auto transmission has failed (apparantly a well known fault with the GT). Not happy with Subaru, anyway there goes my plans to updgrade a new wrx.

Purchased in September 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30

Cliff30MACQUARIE

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome until the Torque convertor fails!

published

Absolutely loved this car which is a 2010 always serviced on time and then it started to stall when coming to a quick stop. Did some research and found it is a know fault with the torque convertor. Took it to subaru and they have quoted $5000 to replace. Most of that is labour. The car is hardly worth that. So it is the end of the line for our much loved libby and she will be traded in. And not for a another subaru.!!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30
Cliff30

So are you saying the Australian spec torque converter is different to the american so should not have the same issue? should i take it back to the dealership and tell them they got it wrong and to look again ?

Paul T.

Paul T.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great until the CVT fails

published

Purchased at Subaru Dealers.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Gear Shifting
See all answers
12 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Paul T.
Paul T.
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Paul T., Thanks for your feedback. We will be sure to pass on your details to our Customer Relations Team.

ests

estsAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Satisfied

published

After 4 years and 64,000 klms, I am still happy with my Liberty. The fuel economy is even getting better with the more klms I do. Open hwy regularly getting 6.3- 6.8 ltrs per 100 klms. My "only dislike" is the cheap clunk when closing the boot. So if that is the worst thing, yes, I am happy. Currently looking for replacing my Dunlop Max 050 tyres. Any recommendations?

Purchased in May 2015 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
ChrisR

ChrisRSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best car on the road

published

I've had my beast for 9 years and its still going strong. It has been regularly serviced and the interior is as good as it was the day it came home,and that's with dogs regularly on board. I can confidently drive on the open road, its fast acceleration keeps me out of trouble when overtaking on hills and cruise control makes open road driving a breeze. The rear seats fold down to take extra long loads when required. It's just done a weekend in the bush, give adults and two dogs, all rode comfortably. Highly recommend the Subaru Liberty to anyone for any purpose.

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

tgweshi

tgweshi

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

CVT Issues

published

My 2015 Liberty's CVT gearbox has shuddering, slipping and is jerky as reported by other owners. The torque converter fails to lock up most of the time leaving me with no power. Likely a problem with the torque converter itself or solenoids (many similar problems in American Legacys). Local Subaru service department gave me the runaround for years. Traded the car for something more reliable. Very disappointed.

Purchased in June 2015 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Briony

BrionyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

I love my Liberty

published

I love my Liberty. Stylish and sophisticated with more safety features than you can poke a stick at. It drives and handles beautifully, particularly In wet condition. It is zippy enough for me to buzz around the city, and big enough to comfortably accomodate the whole family. The boot is quite big. Great for all of the shopping or kids stuff. Fuel economy is quite reasonable too.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Ed1234

Ed1234Perth, WA

  • 6 reviews

CVT delay

published

Transmission has a 2 second delay when engaging from reverse to drive. This is how it works from new. In my view this a serious defect and could be dangerous as i didnt know about it and almost hit a car when it rolled back at the shops.

Purchased in February 2016 at Subaru melvile for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Interceptor GT

Interceptor GTGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not entirely convinced...

published

Purchased in July 2018 for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Linda

LindaSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my car, great handling and great features

published

Purchased in November 2016 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Charbel

CharbelSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the subaru liberty

published

2008 subaru liberty has plenty of power leather seats sunroof luxury edition popular car very smooth on roads steering wheel is smooth as well I clean my cars one a week always protected with wax the liberty's will not let you down

Purchased in January 2019 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Shirley E

Shirley Easked

Liberty

I have a Subaru Liberty Heritage 2001. Can someone tell me what the 'Heritage' means? Is it more luxurious than a Liberty? I'm confused - clearly!

No answers
Brett

Brettasked

6GEN 2.5i Premium (2014-2021)

I have just had my Subaru recently serviced and my fuel economy has increased from 8.7ks av per 100kms tom 9.9 in 4 days and my deriving has not changed. i took it back to the service department and they said that it must be the way the mechanic drove the car on test drive which is complete bollocks . what could it be?

1 answer
Tom
Tom

Reset your trip meter, drive normally and see if is still the same.
My fuel consumption is closer to 10 lts per 100km. But I drive with the si on full boost.

Chris

Chris asked

Liberty 2GEN (1993-1999)

Is this car front wheel drive or all wheel drive

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Subaru Liberty
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $30,240$36,640$43,140$30,760
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km9.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L6 Cylinder 3.6L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power129kW @ 5800rpm129kW @ 5800rpm191kW @ 6000rpm129kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque235Nm @ 4000rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm350Nm @ 4400rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Intelligent Speed Adaptation (ISA)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2017
Discontinuation dateDec 2017
Compare all 8 Subaru Liberty

Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.