15 photos
Subaru Liberty

Subaru Liberty

4GEN, 5GEN, 3GEN, etc...
4.3 from 91 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Subaru Australia

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (24)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (24)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (23)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (22)
  • Braking
    4.5 (22)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (22)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.6 (21)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (21)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (22)
  • Handling
    4.6 (22)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (22)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (22)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (22)
  • Features
    4.3 (22)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Maximus
MaximusGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

2010 liberty GT premium just cost $4000 to recondition CVT trans and torque convertor

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020 for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Paris P
Paris PCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 3 reviews

Exceptional Car

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2021 at Gumtree for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
steventhechef
steventhechefSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

7 Liberty's in the family

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tom
TomHobart, TAS

Subaru GT Premium Wagon

published

I purchased new a 2014 gt wagon and still have it. It has been a great little car, now with 95k on it. Everyone that drives it cant believe how well it performs in acceleration and handle. A wee bit noisy with the low profile tyres on rough bitumen. It now steers around the windy roads of tasmania with ease. Service is not expensive and I have not had a mechanical issue yet. In the purple mode overtaking is quick and a lot safer. If I was to worry about what might go first, it would be the clutch as it pulls so hard.
OK these weren't the prettiest, but hey if you want a sleeper you don't want to draw attention.

Purchased in May 2014 for $52,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Tom, Thank you so much for your awesome review! The Liberty is a gem of a vehicle which will be sorely missed. If we can ask one favour, we would love to see your review on Google reviews as well. Happy driving! The Subaru Team.

Patrick L.
Patrick L.Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can’t fault it, great car. Great safety features. Does not lack power. Smooth drive and good visibility.

published

Driving every day to and from work, using highway and freeways normally. Not bad economy. Servicing, average once a year or 12500kms. No issues as yet. For the price there’s good features.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Patrick L, Thank you so much for your excellent review. We're so happy to hear that you are happy with your Subaru. If we could ask one favour, we would love to see your review on Google review. Thanks again and safe driving. The Subaru Team.

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Solid car over many years

published

2005 bought second hand from dealer. Premium wagon. Driven on all roads and long distances. Just about to clock 375,000kms! Engine is perfect but everything Else starting to go. Suspension gone! Electric windows issues. Tailgate light always needing replacement. I dread having to get a new but the time has come. Servicing too expensive.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Shameem
ShameemSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car in the world

published

I bought a subaru liberty in 2009. I got delivered a Subaru Liberty on the 1st April with 13km on the clock. Last Friday (31/07/2020), it ticked over half a million kilometre. Over last 11 years we travelled a lot together. The ride was and still being awesome. I have a BMW 430! convertible and ride of my liberty is no less enjoyable. I never had spent anything except normal wear and tear. Just got it polished and waxed and it looks like new again. I am so happy with this car and want to thank Subaru for delivering this little piece of gem.

Purchased in April 2009 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Reece Oconnor
Reece OconnorSouth East Queensland, QLD

My throughts on CVT and manual trans.

published

Purchased in March 2020 for $8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Reece, Thank you so much for your review. Not only is the Liberty beautiful to drive, there is so much more to love about it even when you may have a repair to take care of. All the best and safe driving! The Subaru Team.

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jake G.
Jake G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great all rounder, sleeper status

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2019 at Carsales.com.au for $17,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KFM
KFMNorthern Region, NSW

Avoid this model like the plague.

published

The torque converter is a shocker and Subaru, unlike in the US, won't give an extended warranty with the problem. The stalling is a serious safety problem. And the cost of repairing it is in the region of $4000.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
KFM
KFM
GPCD
GPCDSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family car

published

Great car and value for money with so many features. The all wheel drive adds to the safety of the car and it has enough room to fit a family of five comfortably without compromising on the power. The semi automatic with paddle gears lets you have some fun with the 3.6 engine especially in sports mode. You really do not need any more power than this in the city or for cruising on highways

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
fugazied
fugazied
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable and comfortable

published

Bought a second hand 1999 Subaru Liberty RX several years. It has always been comfortable to drive and reliable. I'm only writing this review now, as I am preparing to sell this vehicle.

It has required no major work. Leaking at the valve cover gaskets (as common on this model's engine) and a new starter had to be recently installed. Several bushings are starting to fall apart, but that is to be expected in a car of this age.

My next car will be a Subaru.

Purchased in April 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
ridero
rideroSydney, NSW

Transmission problems

published

Purchased 2010 Liberty GT Sedan Auto with 90k on the clock. The car has always been looked after and serviced on schedule. It's been a great car. But, now at 142K, the 5 speed auto transmission has failed (apparantly a well known fault with the GT). Not happy with Subaru, anyway there goes my plans to updgrade a new wrx.

Purchased in September 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30
Cliff30MACQUARIE
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome until the Torque convertor fails!

published

Absolutely loved this car which is a 2010 always serviced on time and then it started to stall when coming to a quick stop. Did some research and found it is a know fault with the torque convertor. Took it to subaru and they have quoted $5000 to replace. Most of that is labour. The car is hardly worth that. So it is the end of the line for our much loved libby and she will be traded in. And not for a another subaru.!!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Cliff30
Cliff30

So are you saying the Australian spec torque converter is different to the american so should not have the same issue? should i take it back to the dealership and tell them they got it wrong and to look again ?

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Paul T.
Paul T.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great until the CVT fails

published

Purchased at Subaru Dealers.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Paul T.
Paul T.
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Paul T., Thanks for your feedback. We will be sure to pass on your details to our Customer Relations Team.

Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Paramesh R.
Paramesh R.asked
Liberty 5GEN (2009-2014)

SUBARU LIBERTY B5 BM/BR 3.6L EZ36D DOHC-PB 24v MPFI Flat6 191kW 5sp Auto 4dr Sedan AWD [01/09 - 12/14] Dose it have a timing belt or chain???

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi Paramesh, thank you for reaching out. We can check this for you and confirm. Could you please send through your VIN number to us at feedback@subaru.com.au .
Regards The Subaru Team

Cowboy F.
Cowboy F.asked
Liberty 5GEN (2009-2014)

Does it have a timing belt

1 answer
No T.
No T.

4 cylinder does,

Shirley E
Shirley Easked
Liberty

I have a Subaru Liberty Heritage 2001. Can someone tell me what the 'Heritage' means? Is it more luxurious than a Liberty? I'm confused - clearly!

No answers
See all Subaru Liberty questions

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru Liberty

Details

Compare all 8 Subaru Liberty
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $30,240$36,640$43,140$30,760
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km9.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L6 Cylinder 3.6L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power129kW @ 5800rpm129kW @ 5800rpm191kW @ 6000rpm129kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque235Nm @ 4000rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm350Nm @ 4400rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2017
Discontinuation dateDec 2017
Compare all 8 Subaru Liberty
Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next
See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.