??!
19 photos
Lexus IS

Lexus IS

XE20, XE30, XE10
4.4 from 55 reviews

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
39
4 star
9
3 star
1
2 star
4
1 star
2

A jones

A jonesAustralian Capital Territory

  • 4 reviews

My perfect car

published

I have owned this car since new, 16 years. I have been intending to update but I love it so much that I have yet to find anything I like as much. In that time, very little has gone wrong and even those things that have required maintenance have been minor things. In terms of Lexus, I cannot fault it; so impressive that my daughter bought a RX last years and I’m intending to buy a UX next. Comfort, safety but mainly that I feel the driver and the drive are one.

Purchased at Lexus of Canberra for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Does everything right and it's a Luxury car you can trust

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John M.

John M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

A luxury like no other

published

You can see the luxury before you sit in it. And once you sit in it, you can feel it. It's an amazing drive. I've own it for two years now and will definitely upgrade to the next model.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
See all answers
Pete

PeteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

A very good, well made car

published

Purchased in April 2015 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Richard

RichardCanberra

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent workmanship, great value for money

published

After not a particularly good experience with a Mercedes C class I decided to see if the legendary reliability of Lexus is justifiable. Bought the IS 200t basic luxury model for a very good price and after one year and 20,000 km am happy to say that the car is performing extremely well. Some standard features such as the refrigerated seats are very handy on hot days, but this basic model doesn't have other potentially useful options so paying more for the upgrade is worth considering. The service is very good and they provide a complimentary car.

BadgeIS200
LineLuxury
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018

Good Man

Good Man

  • 2 reviews

Luxury car with sub-standard parts, don't get trapped!

published

I purchased brand new IS 300H F Sports and after driving around 22000 KMS, disk rotors need machining/replacing and break shoes were 90% remaining. Contacted Lexus Australia and I have been advised that this is normal wear and tear and they can't do anything about this. I have been given quote to replace the rotors and breaks for $880 including labour. I am driving cars from past 25 years and never had to replace/machine the rotors before 80000 KM. I own 2 Lexus's and if I knew this before hand would have not recommended this car to any of my family & friends.
I got trapped and so are my family & friends, writing this review to save people their hard earned money.

BadgeIS300h
LineF Sport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Kahchi

Kahchi

  • 3 reviews

Most reliable car ever

published

Great design, good handling. Also the most reliable car ever. nice color and interior room is good.
Very classy dashboard and great service after sales and pre sales service from Lexus.
Fuel consumption is slightly above average.
Backseat legroom is good.
Boot space is huge and wide for this size sedan.

BadgeIS300
LineF Sport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Rosco

RoscoSydney

  • 8 reviews

Excellent vehicle

published

The Lexus IS200 sedan discontinued 2005, 2 litre 6 cylinder engine great vehicle, 12 years old never a fault, nothing replaced no running problems, serviced twice a year $300 per service non dealer, handling is great, quiet and plenty of power, all instruments easily accessible while driving, good quality is expensive initial costs when new but worth the money, look to purchase two year old dealers vehicles and save $25000 off price at only 30000 km on clock. Will look to getting another Lexus car but am satisfied this vehicle could easily last twenty years.

BadgeIS200
LineSports Luxury
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2006
Evelyn

EvelynNarre Warren

  • 5 reviews

IS300 in red looks amazing

published

Clearly we opted for red because it goes faster!

Anyway, the car is very smooth and quiet to drive. The active cruise control is also a wonder in peak hour. Heated AND cooled leather seats are fantastic in the middle of winter, or just when you want to keep your food warm. The back seats are a little too cramped for space, though. The front is spacious, it's just the back could use some redesigning.

It is expensive to run with the current prices of fuel as well, given that it takes 98, but 95 only if you HAVE to. It runs on between 7-9/100km

BadgeIS300
LineLuxury
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Old Patto

Old PattoSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Good Car Could be Better.

published
BadgeIS350
LineF Sport
BodySedan
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013

LucasK

LucasKBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

What a Car

published
BadgeIS350
LineSports Luxury
BodySedan
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2011

HCq

HCqBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Can't complain

published

I like how smooth I can handle this car. I have got a second hand but thanks to the previous owner it was maintained beautifully. The biggest difference to me between budget car and premium car is stability on high way. No matter how fast I go, mine just goes smooth as if nothing happens. I would upgrade to a new Lexus when it gets old, I am a huge Lexus lover now!

BadgeIS250
LineF Sport
BodyConvertible
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Nehnehneh

Nehnehneh

  • 13 reviews
  • 24 likes

Pretty happy with it

published

Bought it second hand from Toyota, so the price is a little on the pricey for its vintage. But what I get is a peace of mind.

I like the luxury trimmings like electric heated seats, satnav, reverse camera, proximity key sensor, push start-stop, electric sun roof, etc.

What I don't like is that the car feels underpowered at 2.5L for its size. The only saving grace is that it has a V6 engine. I tend to floor it a lot and because of that have very bad fuel economy.

But because of its weight, it does feel really stable at high speeds and engine is pretty quiet.

Overall I do enjoy driving it.

BadgeIS250
LinePrestige
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Andrew

AndrewPerth

  • 5 reviews

Perfect for my needs. Comfortable, excellent amount of standard features

published
BadgeIS250
LinePrestige
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
SLiu

SLiu

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Modern and Good Quality Car

published

Easy to drive, fuel efficient and excellent service. Driving experience is excellent: the handling is smooth and responsive. The car performs very well in a surburban setting, and is very low noise. The interior design is sleek, with an intuitive dashboard and plenty of leg room.
The car is reliable and overall would recommend.

BadgeIS300h
LineF Sport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Alana

AlanaBaulkham Hills

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

love driving

published

I really enjoy this car. beautiful to drive. I always wanted a Lexus and I worked so hard to be able to purchase it. Its exactly how I expected it to be! Just Awesome

I would definitely class not as a luxury vehicle and the interior is beautiful. Mine is caramel coloured and I have noticed its hard to keep clean. I wish I got black as it would be less cleaning but the caramel does look more luxurious

BadgeIS200
LineLuxury
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Comfortable and fun car

published

I have an IS200 auto and rate this car very highly. My last car was a Wrx sti and I enjoy driving the Lexus so much more. It has been very reliable and good on fuel. The engine note also sounds fantastic. I think these cars have potential to reach classic status one day.

BadgeIS200
LineSports Luxury
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Ada

Ada

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

Luxury, quite and cheap on petrol. It's just Toyota and it's really reliable. The best thing is that if won't cost you lots when you go the service. The interior looks good and the heated seat is awesome for winter. Cannot live without it now. Over all it is a great car.

BadgeIS250
LinePrestige
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Lofty House

Lofty HouseMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Prestige Prowess without Petrol Paralysis

published

My IS300h hybrid is one of the best looking, economical and reliable vehicles on the road. As an Uber Black vehicle you couldn't pick a better match. Performance and handling from a rear wheel drive that is whisper quiet, great turning circle and super economical real world figures of 5.9 litres per 100 kms, it is hard to beat. I love it and you would too.

BadgeIS300h
LineF Sport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Bazzle

BazzleVic

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great car

published

Never really thought about a Lexus as a sporty car, Had a few other brands in the past, Mercedes SLK, VW R32, Audi S3 etc.
Wanting to get away from the newer turbo models I started looking for normally aspirated cars with sports variants.
Happened upon the IS 350 F Sport and after a drive went looking for one I could afford.
Had it for 6 months now, great car, goes very well (233kw) big brakes, tight suspension but still comfortable compared to my Euro cars ;) Average l/100 10.4 commuting. Even saw 7.9 on a long cool trip one day.
The sound system is superb (ML)
Mine is even Red like the original reviewers car :)
https://www.carsguide.com.au/car-reviews/lexus-is350-f-sport-2010-review-10630


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Kym

Kymasked

I would like to know is any other IS300h owners have had a problem with their cars getting a flat battery after leaving them locked and not used for a couple of weeks.... this has happened to me 3 times now over the past 2 years... every time I go on holiday .i have a 2014 model

2 answers
mike
mike

Any cars battery will go flat if not driven, its a common fault.

spadger
spadger

Shouldn't happen in a couple of weeks unless you have a leak somewhere. I am assuming your battery isn't on its last legs or anything.


beetle234

beetle234asked

Q to 8675309
What about the famous @ 150 000km timing belt change required & the coolant leak ? What's your take on this ?

2 answers
grandman
grandman

Have not experienced either on IS 350. Have had three Lexus, RX 330, IS 250 C and IS 350. Did change timing belt on RX and it was a major service, around $2,000 as I recall but spread over 10 years, not that big! The others are still less than 50k but never a coolant leak!

MarkEm
MarkEm

Normal (major) service. Timing belt, timing belt tensioners, water pump and drive belts. If you got to an independent and competent mechanic, should cost anywhere from $1300 to $1800. Considering the task is every 150,000km it is not very expensive, but definitely understand it is a big hit of cash in one go.


Hossein

Hosseinasked

hi guys, im planning to buy a lexus IS250 2006 or 2007, most of them have been worked for 120000km above and price is almost 20000$, so please give me your recommendation and so on whether to buy it or not? awesome

1 answer
brian
brian

I am not sure though lexus cars have a good reputation so why not take the plunge and buy the lexus car model


Get an answer from our members and Lexus representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.