20 photos
Toyota Camry

Toyota Camry

XV30, XV40, XV20, etc... (See All)
4.2 from 408 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sedans in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (68)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (68)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (67)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (67)
  • Braking
    4.6 (64)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (64)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (57)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (62)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (65)
  • Handling
    4.6 (64)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (64)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (63)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (64)
  • Features
    4.4 (61)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Jeff C.
Jeff C.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Greater than the sum of its parts.

published

Purchased in January 2000 for $5,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave
DaveGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Still magnificent

published

See my previous review and accolade (Dave) This car has now exceeded 860,000 kilometres (yes, again you read that correctly) The downside is its negative cachet and snob value though personally I consider it a plus. Another positive is its anti-theft system, the very best. Simply leave the keys in the ignition with the window open and no self-respecting car thief would want to steal it let alone find it has a manual transmission which they couldn't even drive.

Purchased in May 2002 for $28,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gregr
GregrGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Thoroughly Decent Car

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bernadette C.
Bernadette C.Sydney, NSW

Awesome every day car.

published

Bought my Camry Hybrid in 2012, new, built in Australia.
It is now 10 years old and it is an awesome car, especially while petrol prices are skyrocketing. I fill up every month to 6 weeks, saved the $4000 extra that hybrid costs before the car was even paid off.
It's been 10 years and it's only needed usual general maintenance, and yes, the battery is fine.
The CVT is excellent, can't imagine going back to a traditional transmission, and the torque at the get go takes out any petrol road car. If you can beat me from a flat start then it was driver error, not the car. Going up hills at 110, may as well be flat road, it doesn't even acknowledge hills.
Awesome everyday use car.

Purchased in September 2012.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Toyota Camry compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris N.
Chris N.Perth, WA
  • 3 reviews

Nearly $80 to fill this car up and gives at most 550kms and that's driving it like a turtle. Digital display constantly reads 11.3 liters per 100kms. To top it off, the engine is gutless.

Beautiful car to drive but the suspension is too low to the ground and the interior roof height is also very low.
The car is very comfy, but I just don't rate it

Purchased in December 2021.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lucky4some
lucky4some
  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

Quite Uncamrylike

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 for $45,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jim r.
jim r.Western District, VIC

Great car

published

l bought a new toyota camry in 2003, l still have it and its done 320,000 and still drives very well, l have never had any serious problems with it and its never broken down once on the road, but l get it serviced regularly with a good mechanic, who knows it might last anther ten years and go to 500,000 km. l recommend if you want a reliable car, but l can only speak for the 2003 model l hope the other years are as good

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Peter B.
Peter B.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Surprisingly nice to drive, but Toyota should take a leaf out of Tesla's book

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Toyota Dealers for $33,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Groggy froggy
Groggy froggySydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car but a few things to keep in mind

published

Purchased used Toyota Camry Atara SX with 125,000km. Purchased with some reluctance as I had heard and read about the 2012-2014 models having some issues with the torque converter causing shuttering at speeds around 70-75kms.

Pros;
The 2.5 4 Cylinder engine is great, fun

Cons;
I have encountered the shuttering issue, at around speed 70km the car is a little shuddery and shaky and doesn’t feel smooth.
No recall for this issue in Australia, change transmission fluid very regularly and try to prolong transmission and converter

Purchased for $12,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Toyota Camry compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Yeten
YetenSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Best economical car

published

Very happy with my car, cheaper than other similar models and cheap running, costs very little to maintain. Fuel consumption is better than other similar models. I have been driving Toyota for past 20 years and Camery comes on top.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoffreyb
GeoffreybSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

This is without a doubt the best car that I have owned.

published

Being retired I use the car for local and city driving, as well as long distance for holidays.
I use the car , on average 5 times per week.
I get the car serviced on a regular basis as per the log book.

Purchased in October 2015 for $38,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Edward
EdwardSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Economical Running

published

Drive week days to work 162km, mostly freeway only 5 traffic lights to negotiate each way. Uses 7.2L/100km on freeways, about 9L/100km city driving. Service personnel report vehicle is in good condition. Very good suspension really solid even when gone into big potholes, tyre service personnel reports not having to do alignment. Interior is doing well after 10 years. Seats have not sagged after 144,000 km of driving.

Purchased in March 2010 at Toyota Dealers for $26,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sedans

Find out how Toyota Camry compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hammad Khaliq
Hammad KhaliqSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

The most reliable car

published

I have owned many cars when i was in middle east my first car was lancer which was good on fuel but less spacious and weak body, then I bought nissan altima which was a pleasure to drive but still not the best in terms of room and space, I even bought Mitsubishi Challenger. I use to have concerns with Camry over its price and shape. But when I drove Camry for the first time, it was like magic
The leg space the boot, the driving pleasure ofeven a 2005 model was awsome, further the body is tough and it doesnt require that maintenance, drives smooth and am in love with my Camry 2005

Purchased in December 2018 for $3,500.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
NeilC
NeilCIllawarra, NSW
  • 6 reviews

2020 Hybrid Sport Camry

published

Purchased in June 2021 for $37,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
happybob
happybobMid North Coast, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

23 yo and still going

published

This my daily ride since 2009, I got it second hand at a car yard. It had a lot of genuine extras, mag wheels, tow bar, window shields. It hasn't been an expensive car to run, the 2.2 Lt motor has been reliable and lean. Over the years I've replaced the timing belt twice, head gaskets, front and back suspension, oil pump, water pump, radiator and a few other small things. I like it's level of comfort, speed, reliability and handling. It's 138 Hp is more than enough for highway use, it tows 500 Kg without problems. It's name is 'Zippy' because of it's quick response from stop. I've got a feeling we are going to be a team until I'm forced to buy an electric car, he'll last another 20 years.

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

phil M.
phil M.asked
Camry

Does the camry 2022 petrol only assent with 8 speed require 95 octane as a minium?Its recommended in the manual,but what will happen if people run it on 91octane?

No answers
David P.
David P.asked
ASV70R / GSV70R SL 2.5 L Hybrid (2017-2022)

I have had the car (2021/2022) for almost 4 weeks, and it has been great. However, as I am slowly learning about things and watching youtube videos for setting up, I now realise that a number of things do not work with the car that should, mainly to do with the Infotainment and phone.
The downloaded to phone apps such as "MyToyota Connect" and "MyToyota Link" do not work as shown in the Australian videos, where the phone and vehicle pass information to each other, such as searching business/location, etc with Link and then sending the resulting location to the car! It seems the app isn't available in the car to capture this navigation link! Actually, there are no Apps shown in the Infotainment Apps area, is this normal?
With the "MyToyota Connect", once registered it is supposed to send details of your car to your phone app, regarding Drive Pulse, Fuel Levels, Odometer, Car Location, etc. Absolutely nothing is shown, none of the details mentioned, no matter how many times I pair the car to the phone.
The trouble is, for the exact same hybrid car and year in the US and Canada, it has a lot of features available, especially regarding car default Communication and Navigation (not counting Apple Carplay or Android Auto), but I have no idea if Australia is supposed to match these default features as local detail content and setup is rare! It is like the car setup of the infotainment package before delivery, was missed, in this area, so it's incomplete.
Would this be correct? Or am I missing something?

2 answers
lucky4some
lucky4some
David P.
David P.

That is what I assumed. However, I don't have a problem with Android Auto (but I may not have the phone cable connected occasionally), just the cars default inbuilt systems, that should work as advertised.
Cheers.

Crawford M
Crawford Masked
Camry XV40 (2007-2011)

Dear Seller,
I am keenly interested in purchasing this unit ""Toyota CAMRY XV40 (2007-2011) Silver and wish to be furnished with all the full details. Any help?
Regards,
Crawford
[Number Removed]

No answers
See all Toyota Camry questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Camry

Details

Compare all 21 Toyota Camry
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $27,790.00$29,990.00$29,990.00$31,990.00
TransmissionAutomaticContinuously Variable (CVT)AutomaticContinuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolHybridPetrolHybrid
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.8 L/100km4.2 L/100km8.3 L/100km4.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L50 L60 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power133kW @ 6000rpm131kW @ 5700rpm135kW @ 6000rpm131kW @ 5700rpm
Max Torque231Nm @ 4100rpm221Nm @ 3600-5200rpm235Nm @ 4100rpm221Nm @ 3600-5200rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Toyota Camry
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.