??!
1 photo
Ikea Hemnes Bed Frame

Ikea Hemnes Bed Frame

2.7 from 17 reviews

See the Best Beds in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
7

Love the look, the bed not so much

published

The foot board constantly falls apart causing the entire bed to fall. I recently used wood glue & it still happened. The bed broke where the support beam attaches to the foot board this time.

Purchased in March 2018 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly

Matt T.

Matt T.Mount Pleasant

Sturdy Decent Bed, easy and simple assembly

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Great Look w/Major Design Flaw

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Love it

published

Bought the queen bed frame for my son. It said 2 should put it together but I did it myself. I was skeptical about doing it myself since I don't do things like this very often but I have to say it was really easy. The directions are all by pictures. No words but easy to understand. Just take your time so you don't mess up. I would say it took 2 1/2-3 hours to put together and it looks really nice.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Kate G

Kate GAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sturdy and easy to assemble, but could use better slats

published

As far as ikea things go, this bed is reasonably easy to assemble and feels pretty sturdy. It looks good too. The only complaint is that the slats dont sit in place so every now and again they'll slip down and I'll need to lift the mattress to readjust.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Finish quality

published

Cannot fault construction of the bed. Sturdy and easy to assemble . Recommend an upgrade in base lats. However the finish on the black/brown is soft and easily marked ie: when making bed up with pillows etc caught finger nail on a panel and the laquer easily came of . Fortunately in a non discreet area. Also the soft wood construction should be handled with great care. Albeit a good value bed base.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Beware

published

I love Ikea and bought my bedrooms furniture from them. I had a queen hemnes frame which was great and decided to upgrade to the king. Worst mistake, the bed literally fell apart one night at 2am. It was not an error on our part, this was assembly error. I wish I could attach the pictures.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

love this bed!

published

I paid for delivery and assembly and it took the 2 guys hardly any time to put it together since they have done it a million times before. I would recommend this unless you are a pro, haha. I also had a box spring, so I didn't need the slats at the bottom. Having a box spring with it is great because it raises the bed. I wash my sheets once a week and making the bed is extremely easy. I have had no issues with sturdiness or anything else and I've had it for a year and a half. I really love it and think it looks great too!

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Good bed overall

published
Date PurchasedSep 2009
  • Verified purchase

Good bed, but a pain to put together

published

Joel C

Joel C

  • 2 reviews

Poorly designed

published

Unbelievable that a company that prides itself on functional design can build such a poor bed. The ides of the bed prevent you from tucking in the sheets. The only way to do it is to lift the whole mattress. Thankfully it is our spare bed and it will not be making the trip when we move next.


MLC

MLCSydney, Australia

  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Fantastic Bed

published

We bought this bed for my son when he was 2 and absolutely love it. The adjustable height of the mattress means we can have it lower for him to climb into.
I've also found it to be quite sturdy (it survived him and his two cousins jumping on it).
Assembly was very easy and took about 30 minutes between 2 people.


Anna20

Anna20Perth

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Never again a IKEA bed

published

We bought a Hemnes Bed and after 2 days my husband fell thru the slats! We think the sides of the bed is warped. Contacted IKEA and they do not wish to refund our money. Asked us for photos of the bed instead. When we rung them we said that we were not happy and wold go to Fair Trading to which they replied that that was fine! Well, that is exactly what we are going to do! This bed is dangerous!
Looks good
Dangerous to adults and children as the slats collapses and somebody could get stuck between

1 comment
Steve Goldie
Steve Goldie

I have had one of these beds and its the worst ever - It constantly collapses and the slats fall through the base and the plastic slat holders move - Useless Hermes IKEA Bed - Not fit for purpose


Much too much work!

published

This bed frame looks good and inexpensive, but putting it together is a totally different matter. There are just too many parts, too many different sizes of screws, too many loose parts that IKEA could have put together before they leave the factory. The bed is sturdy only if one puts every single parts together, tighten every single screw, nut, bolt, part (over 200 of them) correctly and perfectly. It also requires at least two persons to assemble it. In addition, one cannot move the assembled parts around that much. Make sure you have stools that make the assembled parts stand upright and stationary, or they will come loose or disengaged from one another, then cracking some of the components.
Inexpensive.
Too time-consuming.

4 comments
arturojorge
arturojorge

....or you can contract the assembly service. You get what you pay

Alton_Chan
Alton_Chan

I bought many many Ikea furnitures in the past that did not require that much assembly work! This one shocked me!

That's the reason it's cheaper than going to other bed retailers, You get what you pay for. It's akin to expecting to have a waiter serve you at your table in mcdonalds

Should have paid a little extra for a better bed

published

Very unsturdy, Cheap

published

This bed is poorly made. The cheap metal side rods broke the very first night,and the bed kept falling through to the ground. Definitely need to buy the bed slats along with the bed, which they told me at the store I would not need. Every move I make makes me feel like the whole thing is going to fall apart- very loud and very unsturdy. I am completely unsatisfied but it is a huge pain to disassemble (as it was to assemble).
Attractive to the eye
very unsturdy, very creaky


Terrible

published

Horrible construction. The bed fell apart in 2 weeks. Too large for the mattress set. Just plain cheap. Looks like Ikea cut corners on the budget for this bed.
Looks
The cheapest bed made. The bed fell apart. 1

Questions & Answers

Karen J.

Karen J.asked

What do u do if the lonset slats are too long?

No answers

BellaVeralle

BellaVeralleasked

We bought the King size today. Now I'm really concerned about putting it together!
We didn't buy the slats though. We're going to get hard wood slats to put in the frame.
Is it the posture slats which make it creaky and unable?

1 answer
Anna20
Anna20

It's a long time ago since we bought this bed. I am surprised that anbody would by this bed after the bad review. The whole bed
is poorly designed and is warped. I don't know if hard wood slats would make any difference. Take the bed back and get your
money back. If they ask for the wrapping and other things, just tell them u want your money back and say that the bed didn't
live up to your expectations. Otherwise go to Fair Trading. There are new laws in place so they can't refuse you the money back. Good Luck!


amy.barnicoat

amy.barnicoatasked

Is this bed worth getting if not what bed frame would be good?

1 answer
Alton_Chan
Alton_Chan

I don't think this bed is worth the trouble and the time to put it together. Best is to paid a little bit more and buy an already assembled bed.


Get an answer from our members and IKEA representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.