??!
4 photos
InstaChill Portable Air Cooler
1.6 from 24 reviews

Portable Air Conditioners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of portable air conditioner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(1)
(0)
(2)
(6)
(15)
  • Build Quality
    1.6 (20)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    2.4 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.6 (19)
  • Room Type
    • Small Bedroom (11)
    • Large Bedroom (6)
    • Living/Dining Area (6)
    • Small Office (1)
  • Noise Level
    1.4 (20)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    1.4 (16)
  • Portability
    2.5 (18)


Karen

KarenNorthern Region, NSW

What a rip off!

published

My husband bought this product a a TV SHOP in TAMWORTH. We gave it several opportunities to prove itself, but it was basically just a very expensive fan; and not very effective. He took it back to the TV shop and they refused to refund him. He then phoned the company, who asked for proof of purchase. He provided proof of purchase but he never heard back from them. Poor product, highly disreputable company, don’t touch this product.

Purchased in December 2018 at TV Shop for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers

sharon n.

sharon n.South East Queensland, QLD

Absolute rubbish

published

I was so excited to have my instachills arrive today, but dayum, how disappointing. It definitely doesn't cool, it's an over expensive fan. Looks great, fancy and all that crap but does nothing what the ad shows on tv, and stupid me, I bought 2. Will definitely be sending these back, what a waste of hype

Purchased in February 2020 at TV Shop for $500.00.

Room Type Large Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
Daniel L.

Daniel L.Illawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Waste of money

published

The ad said that it would cool a room but it doesn't. You have to be in front of it to cool down so if there is someone else home then you have to have it on swing and then I start sweeting.
I gave it 2 stars because it's better than a fan but not worth the price.

Purchased in November 2019 at TV Shop.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not sure
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers

Styley looking fan

published

When you put the freezing water in, it blasts cold air for awhile, but as it warms up so does the air coming out of the instachill. It's good for the start of summer, but in the midst of higher temperatures it falls flat. But it still is better than a standard fan

Purchased in November 2019 at TV Shop for $460.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom, Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
See all answers

Jaye

Jaye

  • 3 reviews

Very unhappy

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Tv shop for $600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
2 comments
Jaye
Jaye

I have done 4 reviews not 3

Jaye
Jaye

Vin K.

Vin K.

  • 2 reviews

works ok

published

I live in a rental with no aircon. We had a 44 degree day so we put straight ice in the instachill. I wont lie it struggled in the large room but if you sat within a 5 metre radius you could feel the difference. For that time it did the job to make the temp tolerable in that area but its not a substitue for a split system or air conditioner. Its just a cooler overpriced fan. On the plus side its an air purifier too.

Purchased in November 2019 for $350.00.

Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area

Instachill - Large

published

Total waste of money. Doesn't do anything it claims to do. Not worth over $700. Very misleading in the advertisements. Thank god I'm sending it back within the trial period.

Purchased in January 2020 at TV Shop for $54.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers

charlie

charlie

  • 2 reviews

Total waste of money

published

Seriously don't by this product the adds are so misleading it's a fan that's it. Nothing special at all an expensive fan. Even on the cool setting it does not cool down the room.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers

Horrible product and horrible company.

published

I’d give it no stars but unfortunately you have to give one.
I was 5 days past my trial date and only forgot as I had issues with my pregnancy and was unable to call sooner. I offered to send it back and pay the shipping myself again as the product doesn’t work as well as promised, I’ve even put ice in it as suggested and it is still crap and I t only blows out from one side.
So now they expect me to have to pay them $500+ for a crappy product that doesn’t work properly when I don’t currently work and my husband is on a low wage. So I now have to wait until I’ve paid off this terrible, waste of money product before I can start saving again for a product that actually works!
Not happy at all. Steer clear!!!!

Purchased in December 2019 at TV Shop for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not sure
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
ECeeVee

ECeeVeeSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

just another evaporative cooler

published

Hoped it would be an updated version of the older style evaporative coolers, but, it is just the same . A little quieter, did not seem to cooler when chilling button was on. Apparently it works better if you put ice into it which I was only told when I went to return the item.

Purchased in November 2019 at TVshop for $331.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom and Small Office
See all answers

Ben

BenSydney, NSW

This is a scam! Do not buy! It will not cool any room at all. Absolute scam!!

published

Do not buy this rubbish. It is a scam!!! I bought this thinking it would at least cool a small room in the house. I honesty believe it made the room warmer. My $20 fan is better! Don't fall for this scam, I have never submitted a review in my life but this "Instachill" has gone too far!! Also, Harvey Norman Broadway stocks this rubbish! Questions need to be asked

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers

Not worth the postal cost trust me

published

I have 09EX model its useless $25 big W fan is as good .
I still have the useless thing because I haven't had time to go to post office , i strongly recommend you don't buy this crap

Purchased in December 2019 at Show TV Shop.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers

Neety S.

Neety S.

  • 2 reviews

Love love love it

published

I purchased this from Epping Shopping centre yesterday, I was so worried after reading the reviews. However I pereservered with cold water and it worked a dream. Our house is cool but bedroom is roasting hot. The installation chill was freaking sensational....

Purchased in December 2019.

Room Type Large Bedroom

Rafiki 04

Rafiki 04South East Queensland, QLD

Disappointed

published

Purchased in Nov 2018. Couple days out of warranty it starts to leak water from between main body and water reservoir unit. Contacted TV Shop to be told 'sorry it's out of warranty and don't have anyone you can take the unit to for fixing' !! Nearly $400 for about 3 months worth of use!! Very expensive waste of money I can least afford. While it worked, it was not too bad in my work area which is a tin shed ( based in Queensland ). But one again ? No!!

Purchased in November 2018 at Show TV Shop.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
See all answers

Absolute Scam

published

Turned my daughters bedroom into an even hotter sauna. So sad as was promised it was really cool. Really noisy and no change in temperature. Will be sending back. Great Christmas present. :(

Purchased in December 2019 at TV Shop for $450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
Conn

ConnVictoria

  • 4 reviews

Buy a REAL @ircon

published

These are nothing more than a glorified evaporative air cooler. the same results can be achieved by throwing a damp tea towel over a pedestal fan. Save yourself 400 bucks and put that money towards a real air con. Any one reading this that is contemplating buying this unit ,honestly...Don't. Save your money.
p.s. it makes a wonderful room deoderiser if you add a few drops of essential oil into the water reservoir, but it's one expensive product to do just that.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Natt

NattPerth, WA

waste of money

published

The machine is way overrated, Just turns the room into a sweat shop. And as for the noise well it's ridiculously loud. And trying to return the thing is a nightmare. You can buy an $89 product from Bunnings that does the same thing and heaps quieter. Don't waste your money buying an instachill.

Purchased in December 2019 at TVSN (TV Shopping Network) for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers

Elizabeth

ElizabethSouth East Queensland, QLD

Do not waste your money!

published

It is noisy, it does not cool anything! Dont waste your money. It has to be faulty or it is misrepresented in their ads. Now have to pay to send back.

Purchased in December 2019 at TV Shop for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers

Waste of money

published

It doesn't chill a thing! It is just a big noise, very noise fan that doesn't even swing side to side as simples $40,00 regular fan does... terrible! What a waste of hard work money... I'll try to return tomorrow to the store I purchased. Fingers crossed!

Purchased in December 2019 at Mitre 10 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers

Kevin

KevinPerth, WA

These are a waste of money and the reviews that say there great Im sure its people trying to sell them ,

published

No good !!!!!!!!! Absolute waste of money dont work the way they say it does , I cant see how people are saying it saves money after only owning for 3wks !!!!!! Scam

Purchased in October 2019 at Show TV Shop for $359.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Peter L.

Peter L.asked

Does the InstaChill Air Cooler have an external exhaust

No answers

Vony

Vonyasked

Why is there such a discrepancy in the prices paid? It seems that the fans cost between $300-800 depending on where they were purchased. As for the day or two out of warranty, try discussing the issues with consumer affairs or similar.

No answers

Roslyn B.

Roslyn B.asked

How much is it to buy

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.