??!
4 photos
International Roast Coffee Powder

International Roast Coffee Powder

2.2 from 55 reviews

See the Best Instant Coffee in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
8
1 star
31

Tom

TomSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed

published

My gran parents always bought this so I had an acquired taste for this coffee but I have to agree that the recipe has changed, and not for the better. I really don’t know what they have done to it.

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for $9.90.


Liam G.

Liam G.Perth, WA

A poor excuse for coffee

published

It is terrible. Simply terrible. It doesn’t taste or smell like coffee. I’m hesitant to drink it even when I’m deprived of caffeine! I’m 20 living off of instant coffee of all sorts. But this International Roast is disappointing beyond belief and doesn’t even deserve 1 Star. It is so bad I’ve felt the need to comment and rant about it.

Thank you for listening to my TED talk

Purchased in May 2018 at Coles for $11.00.

Stale with little to no caffeine value.

published

Stale old coffee with little value as a morning caffeine hit due to its poor quality. As someone that requires caffeine for health reasons, the lack of said substance is jarring even with 5 spoons in each cup. Each overloaded cup does absolutely nothing compared to 1/5 the amount of any other brand and tastes like dirt.

Purchased in July 2019.

Sam p

Sam pSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bitter burnt taste

published

We to have been drinking International Roast for over 30 yrs and find it has now changed to a burnt bitter taste.
Seeing as we always buy the large tin it will be a very long time before we enjoy a cupper again.
Please revert back to your original recipe or we will regretfully have to try another brand.

Purchased in July 2019 for $11.00.


Johanna  Oppelaar

Johanna OppelaarAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Hubby in a nursing home need smaller tins

published

I need to know were to purchase the smaller tins what happened to them.
Please dont like those large tins
I feel it does not stay fresh enough if buying the large tins for my Husband

Purchased in October 2018 at W.W for $11.00.


Would give 6 stars if I could

published

This coffee is a breakthrough. Great taste, superb value. An overall great coffee to drink. A lot of people are put off from drinking International Roast, but the secret Is putting the milk in before the water to avoid burning the coffee

Purchased in March 2019.


Stephen N

Stephen Nkingaroy

Burnt Taste

published

Been using International Roast for over 30yrs, It is now fowl, Going to look for something better.


No taste

published

I have also been drinking international roast for 30 years. I thought my taste buds have disappeared as I can no longer taste and enjoy my coffee.. what's happened.. I'm glad it's not me, time to change. :-( I miss my coffee..

Over Roasted first time

published

We have been using International Roast Coffee for many years, but the last tin tastes like it has been burnt or well and truly over roasted so much so that we have had to buy another brand. Very disappointed.

Cathleen

Cathleen

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible taste

published

I agree with what everyone is saying - your coffee does have a terrible burnt taste - I thought it was my tastebuds! We've been drinking your coffee for the last 20+ years after converting from another brand. Please go back to to your original recipe or we'll be forced to try yet another brand!!!


Lesley

Lesley

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bring back the old recipe

published

We have bought International Roast for more than 30 years up until recently when we experienced the same problem as others. We contacted International Roast consumer line to be told that from last October 2017 they have changed the recipe and are now roasting the beans to get a better aroma. The result of this is that the coffee tastes burnt. We have now changed coffee... as we have totally lost confidence.


Jan H

Jan HWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

What have they done?

published

At least our tastebuds are not dying. We both thought our morning coffees tasted wrong but now that I've read the reviews on here, we are not alone. My partner has tried putting more sweetener in to make it taste right, I just thought my taste was having a holiday. I hope it improves shortly or I am going to have to find another coffee, which will be hard because I don't like any other brand of coffee. Also I have 2 large cans in the cupboard which I can't afford to chuck out. I have tried other coffee brands at other people's places but International Roast is the only one I like, 25 years worth. So, please, makers of International Roast, put it back the way it was, before you have no customers ! ! !


Dave

DaveWoongarrah

Not just the taste!

published

Worst taste Ever

published

I have been a dedicated International Roast coffee drinker for over 30years. Always my morning ritual to start my day with a great cup . The last tin
....will be my last tin.! The taste is disgusting and I am now looking for a new coffee. Very disappointing.

International roast coffee powder

published

When they change the flavor of a product you would think they would taste it themselves before selling it the new flavour is terrible and leaves a bitter after taste in your mouth.

Angel272503

Angel272503

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

What has happened to International Roast?

published

I have drunk this coffee for 35 years and when I opened this last tin, I found it wasn't the same. I thought I was imagining it, but on reading other people's comments here, I see I wasn't. The taste is definitely appauling! How disappointing when a reliable product lets you down. I will be looking for another brand.


  • Verified purchase

Can not drink the new cans off coffie

published

I am a regular internationalised drinker have bought new 500g tins of coffee that tastes absolutely burnt their undrinkable .tryed different tins now have three different 500g tins all the same. A 500g tin lasts about 3 weeks these tin will last for ever can't drink it


Caffeine addict

Caffeine addictHobart

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Burnt coffee bitter taste

published

Have drank Intern. Roast for years. Best coffee out, until this last tin. Disgusting. Tastes burnt and leaves a bitter taste. Not happy because I don’t like other coffees.


Dissapointed

published

We have drunk international roast coffee for over 30 years bought a tin recently texture, flavour, smell & taste horrible expiry date nov 18 bought another tin expiry dec 18 still the same disgusting!! After waisting $22.00 we cannot use it & have changed coffee brand- more cost not happy what a shame we are forced to change after 30 years if the product has changed it should be written on the tin


Can not buy this coffee any more after 30 years

published

73280313n1 end Nov 2019 don't buy
Taste is burnt
Again... This is my 5th can....No more :-(


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Dan

Danasked

What have you done with the International Roast Coffee? my family grow up on it I I prefer to have my Coffee without milk its tastes like Crap now Sorry but the New recipe makes me wanna go buy Proper Coffee after 5 mins of a few sips.

1 answer
Sam p
Sam p

I don’t know why you want me to answer Dan.
I totally agree with what he says, I would like to know why the taste has changed.
Have you sourced the beans from a different country as it reminds me of Indonesian coffee?


Ashqiyael

Ashqiyaelasked

I bought International Roast from Woolies n brought a500 gm tin home to Malaysia. My husband n i really love the aroma(after u pour hot water on the coffee powder : hmmmmuah) n the taste. Now our supply is running out n wonder whether we can get IR in Malaysia. We stay 30 km outside Kuala Lumpur. We would like to know if we cannot get IR inMalaysia, whether it can be sent to us from Australia n the cost involved. Tqvm

No answers

Get an answer from our members and International Roast representatives

Details

CategoryInstant Coffee
Release dateMay 2010

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.