??!
4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

3.9 from 133 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (7)
  • Braking
    4.4 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (7)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (7)
  • Handling
    4.4 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (7)
  • Features
    3.6 (7)
Previous
Next
Marc

MarcGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Wow. What a ute.

published

Just bought my first max. 2015 ls-u high ride 60000km.
Still looks like new inside and out. 3 lt turbo desiel drives great.
Used for work daily and towing motorbikes on the weekend.
Love it.

Purchased in October 2020 at Genesis isuzu for A$29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Bateup

BateupSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Tough and Reliable Ute

published

Purchased in November 2013 at Isuzu Dealers for A$38,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sam L.

Sam L.Sydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

It's got its good points and not so good

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Isuzu Dealers for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ross

RossSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dmax Auto

published

Purchased in June 2014 for A$48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Dave C

Dave CPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Is the D-Max a genuine tradesman type vehicle

published

Purchased in March 2016 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
allan

allanwarragul, vic, 3820

  • 2 reviews

Isuzu canopy

published

the Isuzu canopy is no good , after 3 years the side glass on the r h side of lift up window started to come out of holder, Isuzu would not fix it as canopy is warranted for 3 years or 100,000 km, the repairer told me the frame is buckled and needed a new one. so I will have to keep window closed.not good enough when vehicle is 5 years warranty ,I had it back to Isuzu a few times to stop it leaking .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Bigbadal

BigbadalGisborne

Tough

published

Without doubt the most genuine workhorse out there , if you want refinement get an Amarock , if you want reliability and an engine capable of 600k , D Max all the way , I had the first one 240k still on original clutch , rotors and only replaced pads once towing 3 ton regularly.

BadgeLS
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2009
Drive4WD
DAVO

DAVOWando Bridge

  • 3 reviews

Best truck on the market

published

These vehicles are built to last,I know of allot of farmers who had Rodeos and ran them around for 10-20 years in the paddock so to speak, with minimal problems.
The D Max is basically the same thing.I regularly tow 3 tonne trailer and its still good on fuel.
currently at 60000km after 2years .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Drive4WD

A good ute

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Charles

CharlesNerimbera

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A great ute

published

WE love our d-max that we have now had for seven years. It is totally reliable and is just great and does every thing that we ask of it. The only replacement parts have been front shocks beside replacement tyres and normal servicing. We tow a tractor on a two ton trailer and it handles the job with ease.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Alex

AlexMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 17 reviews
  • 14 likes

When everything fails you, your D-Max won't

published

I bought my D-Max in October 2014 and it never failed me. With 86,000 kms on the odo, I embarked on a risky journey across Australia, moving from Adelaide to Gold Coast for work. I towed 2.5 tonnes over the 2000 kms and the D-Max did it all no fuss. Along the way, I hit three kangaroos without bullbar, however, there is barely any damage on the truck. I also picked up contaminated fuel in Cobar, but the D-Max powered through without any issues. You cannot get a more reliable vehicle.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Drive4WD

No fuss ute

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Drive4WD

Warranty ambiguous and misleading

published
BadgePoor
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Bill

BillCanberra

Really good ute let down by very average dealers

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Drive4WD

Reliable work ute

published

2014 model auto I've found nothing wrong with the d-max a lot better to drive than the triton feels the same as the hi-lux interior as plenty of room front and back drives well
The only thing I've found that's annoying is if you take of quickley the Tyers spin
And the canopy leaks but that's not an Isuzu fault

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bluey

BlueyDarwin

Good reliable ute in remote area

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Unreliable

published
Badge£0
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Drive4WD
Victoria

VictoriaWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Beautiful Car to drive and ride in

published

Just purchased a Isuzu Dmax and love it . Good on fuel easy to drive and very comfy.
The towing capacity was what sold us on this vehicle and we have no problem reccomending it to other caravan owners. Only thing lacking was an inbuilt gps but we can live with that. Love the reversing camera and the blue tooth. Should be standard in all new vehicles.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Ausborn

AusbornBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2012 D-Max SX 4X4 excellent for my needs.

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Rachel

RachelPicton

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolutely love it

published

Bought brand new in 2014 and couldn't not be happier 4 years on, great fuel consumption and will go anywhere.
I have two young kids both in car restraints, one forward facing and one rear facing, I was concerned that a rear facing seat would not safely fit although it does, and while the MU-X has isofix sadly the dmax doesn't in my model

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Drive4WD
Page 1 of 7
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Teddy T.

Teddy T.asked

D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

The rear differential has failed again for the second time is this a problem when towing heavy loads I use my D-max for work daily towing a concrete pump

No answers
waeco

waecoasked

D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

when I put headlights on dash lights go of

1 answer
Jimbo
Jimbo

Its auto dimming the interior lights as it thinks you are driving at night. Normal.

vicki m.

vicki m.asked

D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

6spd auto would like to change fluid done 65000 km a lot of toweing no fill point in trans does it get filled through the trans cooler lines. the plug i thought i could fill in was the breather section between the gearbox and reduction box, any help would be appreciated. scott

2 answers
Jimbo
Jimbo

Mechanics have a pump to do this via cooler lines

Allan S.
Allan S.

I filled mine through the cooler lines and remove the level plug in the bottom of transmission

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Details

Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Release dateJun 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byIsuzu D-MAX RC.II
Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.