4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

3.9 from 135 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (9)
  • Braking
    4.1 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (9)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (9)
  • Handling
    4.2 (9)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (6)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (9)
  • Features
    3.4 (9)
Previous
Next
Nick S
Nick SHunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quite disappointing for a 2016 vehicle.

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Isuzu Mebourne for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
christo
christoPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Twin cab with canopy 2014 4wd auto SX

published

Bought for 27000 at about 130000kms done a couple of years ago.About 13000 cheaper than GX diesel Prado. 5spd auto 3 litre turbo diesel.Isuzu canopy .Rated 3500kgs towing but will have 1.2 tonne camper trailer Honestly use 9,2 litres per 100.I’d say between 800 to 900km range on 76 litre tank ( not towing).Very happy with it

Purchased in January 2019 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Marc
MarcGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Wow. What a ute.

published

Just bought my first max. 2015 ls-u high ride 60000km.
Still looks like new inside and out. 3 lt turbo desiel drives great.
Used for work daily and towing motorbikes on the weekend.
Love it.

Purchased in October 2020 at Genesis isuzu for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bateup
BateupSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Tough and Reliable Ute

published

Purchased in November 2013 at Isuzu Dealers for $38,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sam L.
Sam L.Sydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

It's got its good points and not so good

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Isuzu Dealers for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Ross
RossSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dmax Auto

published

Purchased in June 2014 for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dave C
Dave CPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Is the D-Max a genuine tradesman type vehicle

published

Purchased in March 2016 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
allan
allanwarragul, vic, 3820
  • 2 reviews

Isuzu canopy

published

the Isuzu canopy is no good , after 3 years the side glass on the r h side of lift up window started to come out of holder, Isuzu would not fix it as canopy is warranted for 3 years or 100,000 km, the repairer told me the frame is buckled and needed a new one. so I will have to keep window closed.not good enough when vehicle is 5 years warranty ,I had it back to Isuzu a few times to stop it leaking .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Bigbadal
BigbadalGisborne

Tough

published

Without doubt the most genuine workhorse out there , if you want refinement get an Amarock , if you want reliability and an engine capable of 600k , D Max all the way , I had the first one 240k still on original clutch , rotors and only replaced pads once towing 3 ton regularly.

BadgeLS
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2009
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DAVO
DAVOWando Bridge
  • 3 reviews

Best truck on the market

published

These vehicles are built to last,I know of allot of farmers who had Rodeos and ran them around for 10-20 years in the paddock so to speak, with minimal problems.
The D Max is basically the same thing.I regularly tow 3 tonne trailer and its still good on fuel.
currently at 60000km after 2years .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Drive4WD

A good ute

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Charles
CharlesNerimbera
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A great ute

published

WE love our d-max that we have now had for seven years. It is totally reliable and is just great and does every thing that we ask of it. The only replacement parts have been front shocks beside replacement tyres and normal servicing. We tow a tractor on a two ton trailer and it handles the job with ease.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Alex
AlexMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 17 reviews
  • 14 likes

When everything fails you, your D-Max won't

published

I bought my D-Max in October 2014 and it never failed me. With 86,000 kms on the odo, I embarked on a risky journey across Australia, moving from Adelaide to Gold Coast for work. I towed 2.5 tonnes over the 2000 kms and the D-Max did it all no fuss. Along the way, I hit three kangaroos without bullbar, however, there is barely any damage on the truck. I also picked up contaminated fuel in Cobar, but the D-Max powered through without any issues. You cannot get a more reliable vehicle.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Drive4WD

No fuss ute

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Drive4WD

Warranty ambiguous and misleading

published
BadgePoor
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 9
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Graham C.
Graham C.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

What does a new auto cost for a 2015 Isuzu dmax 4x4

No answers
Teddy T.
Teddy T.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

The rear differential has failed again for the second time is this a problem when towing heavy loads I use my D-max for work daily towing a concrete pump

No answers
waeco
waecoasked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

when I put headlights on dash lights go of

1 answer
Jimbo
Jimbo

Its auto dimming the interior lights as it thinks you are driving at night. Normal.

See all Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Release dateJune 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byIsuzu D-MAX RC.II
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.