6 photos
Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-T

Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-T (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-T 2020 and Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-T 2022.
4.4 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

4.4
13 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (7)
  • Braking
    4.7 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (7)
  • Handling
    4.1 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (7)
  • Features
    4.0 (7)
Previous
Next
Loneranger
LonerangerPortland Victoria
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Extremely poor tow vehicle due to changed gearing.

published

Purchased in August 2020 for $57,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Taylor
Taylor
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable and affordable

published

Very impressed with the fuel economy and comfort of my new MUX. With all 7 seats up I can still fit my bugaboo bee stroller in the boot, the features and technology is great and the leather seats and red LED door lights are very stylish. We have had no troubles with this car and will not hesitate to buy another new one in 3 years time. great family car for a great price.

Purchased in May 2020 at Coffs coast Isuzu.

Build Quality
Value for Money
lan j.
lan j.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Basic reliable white goods on wheels

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Wayne Phillis Automotive for $55,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-T compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lauren Tan
Lauren TanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worth the wait

published

Brought this car a month ago, this is my first automatic car and have found it great. Its a bit to get throw the gears but Im probably too use to a manual. The whole car is luxury from the leather seats to the electric add ons. Eg tv and air con in the back for the kids. I use this car for longer drives but have taken it to work, the reverse camera makes parking easy. Love this car.

Purchased in October 2019 at Norris Motors .

Build Quality
Value for Money
rebekah.howard1
rebekah.howard1AU
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love the purr of this tough diesl family 4WD

published

Purchased in January 2018 for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Glen
GlenKanwal
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Had it a month starting to love it.

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bakpakka
BakpakkaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

2018 MU-X LST - Extensive research led me to this purchase. Very happy!!

published
BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Sandy and Stephen
Sandy and StephenSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Glen.D
Glen.DPerth
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Isuzu Mux, forget the rest

published

We purchased a Dmax in 2015 for a company car and compared to the other items out there absolutely loved it. Our family car was recently showing its age and needed some money spent on it so we decided to go with the MUX. You can’t get better for value for money compared to the others and it’s more refined than the Dmax (eg lower engine noise) that keeps the wife happy. We are now a Isuzu family and are looking forward to years of trouble free motoring ahead.

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-T compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Moj
MojNsw, 2027
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

The best 4WD on the market

published

This car is the best selling 4WD after the Prado. There's a good reason for that, do your own research but leave out the opinions of the "advertising biased" magazines. According to these 4WD experts the Fortuner is the best car yet the MUX outsells is 3 to 1.
Now my opinion, this car is the best value for money vehicle by far. Fuel economy, towing, features, servicing costs, spare parts, life expectancy etc etc. nothing beats Isuzu engine reliability, forget Toyota, they're talking about their petrol engines, not diesel.
Negatives are it doesn't have a self closing rear hatch! That's it.

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Doreenrunner
DoreenrunnerMelbourne
  • 46 reviews
  • 29 likes

I took an LST model for a test drive, I was not too impressed with the engine noise after started the car, it took like 15 minutes of riding for the engine noise to settle, during this 15min time I felt driving our old toyota diesel fj40 1981.

I think the car suspension and steering needs to be reviewed as I felt the car too loose, was not a good feeling taking a corner or trying to steer around.

I felt a lag on the engine response when you press the pedal, but once you are around 80kms response feels ok, but not great.

The finishes of theninterior are pretty good and dont feel cheap.

The equipment of the car is pretty good but I would sacrifice equipment for a better handling as the fortuner (tested and buying it).

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017

Just love the drive

published

Beautiful to drive, very high up off the ground, stunning interiors. Much noisier than my old Mazda 3, but much nicer all round. They nailed the interior, perfect.

Only just got car so can not comment on reliability. Running costs excellent. Very good handelling, however reversing such a tall vehicle can be challenging even with reversing cameras.

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
rexyb
rexybSouth West, WA
  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

What a surprise

published

Well did all the research on medium SUVs and bought an Isuzu MUX LS-T. It is value for money, very quiet when cruising, has plenty of power and room and all the fruit a person could want. Just be aware that you need to read the fine print in the ads. Driveaway pricing is only if you order white, any other colour is plus $450. Footnote, as have now done 60,000kms capped servicing is finished and boy has the cost gone up. Very disappointed and will get rid of it for that reason.

Purchased in May 2017 for $46,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all Isuzu MU-X reviews

Questions & Answers

David S.
David S.asked
MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-T (2017-2021)

I was wondering if there is any way to project the display through the HDMI to the rear display.

2 answers
Danon O.
Danon O.

David, I have a 2019 LST. As far as I can tell, from hundreds of hours of online searching, there is no reliable method. I am considering simply replacing the head unit down the track as aftermarket units offer far greater compatibility with media types and screen choices.

David S.
David S.

Which head units have you seen that would be suitable

See all Isuzu MU-X questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-T (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 12 Isuzu MU-X
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $56,200
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 65 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-2800rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2017
Compare all 12 Isuzu MU-X
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.