??!
6 photos
Isuzu MU-X

Isuzu MU-X

Series I, Series II
4.3 from 121 reviews

Reviews

(64)
(40)
(7)
(5)
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (15)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (14)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (15)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (16)
  • Handling
    4.4 (16)
  • Braking
    4.8 (16)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (16)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (15)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (15)
  • Features
    4.0 (15)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (15)
mike

mikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Great vehicle

published

Changed from a prado to the new mux.
Maybe not quite as refined but still a nice car

Good engine and gearbox Tows well 1500 kg camper. Good air conditioning and touch screen Bluetooth works good

Purchased in October 2019 at Wayne Phillis Automotive for $41,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
GaryM

GaryMGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Brings a smile to my face

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Leisa

LeisaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

The perfect car for me....

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Isuzu Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lan j.

lan j.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Basic reliable white goods on wheels

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Wayne Phillis Automotive for $55,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Watchmen

Watchmen

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent Vehicle

published

Two years after purchasing new, the MUX is performing as expected with no problems experienced and just scheduled services. Used for long distant drives as well as around the paddocks towing a trailer. Sometimes pulls a caravan when needed for holidays.
Very comfortable on the open road and economical averaging 9 litres per 100km and 12 when towing.
Replaced my isuzu ute based on its own reliabilty over 320,000 kms with this MUX and very happy i did.

Purchased in September 2017 at Cardiff Isuzu Ute.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lauren Tan

Lauren TanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worth the wait

published

Brought this car a month ago, this is my first automatic car and have found it great. Its a bit to get throw the gears but Im probably too use to a manual. The whole car is luxury from the leather seats to the electric add ons. Eg tv and air con in the back for the kids. I use this car for longer drives but have taken it to work, the reverse camera makes parking easy. Love this car.

Purchased in October 2019 at Norris Motors .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
rebekah.howard1

rebekah.howard1AU

  • 8 reviews

Love the purr of this tough diesl family 4WD

published

Purchased in January 2018 for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
TerraTerrano

TerraTerranoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

I've grown to love this noisy beastie that can tow houses up mountains!

published

Besides for being a little noisy, the engine in this vehicle is phenomenal. I tow a Majestic Knight SLE (20'6") packed up to almost 3.0 ton with very little effort. Fuel consumption towing (about 13 l/100) is equivalent to many vehicles unladen effort! With the updated interiors, the feeling of being in a much more expensive vehicle cannot be passed by. Our MU-X has just turned one years old, and every indication is that it'll still be with our family for many, many years to come. Zero problems or issues to date.

Purchased in September 2018 for $44,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my MUX

published

Purchased in August 2016.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ShortarmLongpockets

ShortarmLongpocketsNorth Queensland, QLD

Supremely reliable and trouble free currently at 190000km

published

Purchased in December 2013 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ebony

EbonySouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great practical car

published

We bought an MUX 2 years ago. Very good car for the price. We use it to tow a 2.7t caravan and it does it with ease. 2 things that I would change if I could would be for the keyless entry to work on all doors, not just the driver door and the boot. Also it would be great if the headlights were auto, as currently the driving lights are auto.

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Glen

GlenKanwal

  • 7 reviews

Had it a month starting to love it.

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ben

Ben

  • 2 reviews

Lots of small issues. Car feels unfinished.

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Jackson Motor Company for $41,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Johnno

Johnno

  • 2 reviews

Bad back up of product

published

Innate the LST 2014 Isuzu mux I have had my GPS upgrade 1 year after I bought it in 2014 I was told by the salesman that I would get upgrades for the GPS but when I went on to download the map it was the same one I had on mine I even went back and got it from sevice centre but still the same so if I had known at the time I would of bought the model down from the LST

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Jackee

JackeeNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 12 reviews

Great car at a reasonable price.

published

After much research on medium sized SUVs capable of towing a medium sized Caravan we settled on the Isuzu Mu-x. We were set on the Toyota Prado but found that we couldn't justify the extra $20k when the Mu-x had everything we wanted. We've only had it for 2 weeks and are yet to tow anything but we are happy with the car. Yes it sounds like a ute to drive but we don't mind this as it's only noticable driving around town and we do most our driving on a highway.
Our must haves were 3lt turbo diesel engine, 3t towing capacity and seats that folded down flat so you can sleep comfortably in the rear of the car. We got them all and more.

BadgeLS-U
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trevor

TrevorMurray Bridge

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Navigation upgrade costs

published

The car is very good my complaint is with the cost of the navigation up grade. Tried doing it today but stopped when I found out the costs were $200. Will just have to put up with errors that are in it. Example is on the south eastern freeway into Adelaide the speed is 90K this is on the screen but just before the two fixed cameras the voice tells you its 100K. This type of error is all the way through.

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Bree S

Bree S

  • 6 reviews

Great family car

published

We love our car, it is very roomy for the whole family and quite fuel efficient given the size of the car. We purchased this car to tow a caravan and whilst we are yet to use it for towing, we are confident that it will do the job and we will easily be able to pack everything we need into the car for a family trip away. We are a family for 4 with two young children, the car has two car seats in the middle row.

BadgeLS-U
DriveRWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Bakpakka

BakpakkaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews

2018 MU-X LST - Extensive research led me to this purchase. Very happy!!

published
BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Gerry

GerryPerth

Did not last 150000 unsatisfactory vehicle

published

I brought brand new isuzu mux with rusty rotor disc and the only answer i got is that is how it is with the cars kept outside the showroom.
Its good on diesel with factory faults the brand new mux i had was sold to me with mis aligned wheels that gave me lots of worries and disappointments
Finally after the 125000 km engine warranty it ended up. Leaking coolant from between cylinder head and engine block.

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Lives up to my expectations

published

Can't fault the economy averaged 7.6 ltr per 100klm room and comfort is good. The rear floor entry is a bit high, easy controls to use. Reliability is excellent though was expected from this proven engine. Performance it can get up and go if you want it too, I have the 2wd wish i could have afforded the 4wd thinking long term reliability that's why i got a mu-x.

BadgeLS-U
DriveRWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Louie D.

Louie D.asked

MU-X

Does anyone know how to reset the entertainment unit on the MUX LST 2014 model.

No answers
Toey

Toeyasked

MU-X

Can I get a SD card for my 2015 MUX from an auto electrician because $1,200 has been quoted by the Isuzu dealer.

No answers
Toey

Toeyasked

MU-X

I have an error code on my navigation screen which reads E-CODE: NK-NK-10.

Cannot find anything in the user manual to rectify this, so at present my screen in blank as in black and cant change radio stations or use bluetooth phone. any help is appreciated.

1 answer
Janine G.
Janine G.

Take it to the dealership

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.