??!
34 photos
Jayco Camper Trailer

Jayco Camper Trailer

Swan, Eagle, Swift, etc...
3.4 from 130 reviews

Reviews

3.4

130 reviews
5
(42)
4
(28)
3
(24)
2
(15)
1
(21)
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (8)
  • Off-roading Performance
    4.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (4)
  • Ease of Towing
    4.5 (6)
Previous
Next
Kyles

KylesSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Its a great upgrade from our tent. Easy to set up, plenty of room.

published

Its a great camper, easy to set up. Lots of room. Havent taken it offroad as yet, but am looking forward to it. Would like a better annex awning as have already in the 6 mths of owning snapped 3 of the eyelets. A lot of cupboards but dont be fooled as they are being used to hide water tanks, pipes etc.

Purchased in May 2019 at Jayco Australia.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Car ModelNissan Navara NP300 / D23
See all answers
Paul G.

Paul G.Northeast, VIC

Poor quality

published

I brought 2 to start a hire business, the Sport & Outback, roof tape peeling off on both, the outback kitchen gas cook top wasn't even clamped in, dealer said that's just Jayco :(. I wanted to back trade them & they offered me $12,000 less than what I just paid & they haven't been used.
Just a very disappointing start for my new venture & so with a big company like Jayco, what can I say.
I will never buy or recommend Jayco to anyone. Poor manufacturing & poor dealer attitude.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Warren

Warren

  • 2 reviews

Great escape vehicle and easy to tow

published

I bought a Jpod sport 2 years ago and have used it on about 15 occasions / 60 days and have not had any problems at all with it, in all types of weather .
I didnt want to attached tent and have never used it as I like to set up in 5 minutes .
Great value for the money and very happy with it .
Warren

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Ease of Towing
Car ModelToyota HiLux
See all answers
Camper Trailers

Find out how Jayco Camper Trailer compares to other Camper Trailers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

PaulSydney

  • 22 reviews
  • 16 likes

Happy Camper!

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Off-roading Performance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Car ModelVolkswagen Amarok
See all answers
Beeker77

Beeker77Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ok for the money and great if you have a towing weight limit

published

Great little van towed with cx5 diesel goes well. Like most things you get what you paid for. But it would be nice if Jayco bothered to screw all the screws in properly. I haven’t counted them yet, even the 15a external socket screw were sticking out not screwed in all the way.
How hard is it, sorry for The negativity but you could train a monkey to do a better job. Quality control issues and it appears that Jayco still don’t want to listen.
We only took delivery of a 2019 swift 3 weeks ago, been out once for 5 days, but I have to say I’m a little bit worried about what the future will bring.

Purchased in December 2018 at Jayco Bayswater .

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Ease of Towing
Car ModelMazda CX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.2L Diesel
See all answers
Shaneo

ShaneoVictoria, 3220

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great camper easy to tow fast to set up

published

We purchased our first camper recently and absolutely love it.
Our 2002 Penguin 13 ticks al the boxes, easy to tow, much faster to set up than campers with slide out beds, it’s basically a 13FT Caravan without the extra weight, ours weighs in at an ATM weight of 1142kg. We tow it behind a medium SUV Holden Equinox petrol Turbo, tows very well. Could tow it with much smaller non turbo cars.
Would definitely recommend a Jayco Penguin for anyone that wants a little home away from home.

Purchased in July 2002.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Car ModelHolden Equinox EQ LS+
See all answers
Damian G

Damian GLaunceston, TAS

Mods to make the Jpod sport a long distance tourer.

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Mark

MarkSouth West, WA

Good idea very poorly executed and finished, shame

published

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Barbara

BarbaraWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

What a Disappointment.

published
Camper Trailers

Find out how Jayco Camper Trailer compares to other Camper Trailers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PhilW

PhilWSydney

Great little van.

published
chloe

chloeyass

Poor quality build and poor service from Jayco

published
Manny

MannyGold Coast, 'Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

An excellent concept...pity about the quality control

published

Very poor quality camper

published

We payed $32000 and have had to fix so many things on the van. We are very lucky that my hubby is a handy man because there's no many things to list that have broken. How we can't whined it up so unhappy.

Jayco Dealers are hopeless and Jayco are thieves.

published

Jayco vans are rubbish. Dont be fooled. The dealers are not interested in fixing problems they make you wait until you pay for a warranty service to fix their problems. It is a rort and the ACCC should do something about it. I complained to Jayco head office refused to take calls and they hide behind emails. Finally I got Jayco head office to do the service for $500 because they dont want to upset dealers with a cheaper service price. I marked everything before the service and nothing was touched. I embarrassed them so badly they refunded the money. I would never take my van back to any of them. I have slowly been upgrading the problems myself as I can because I am a qualified trades person not a child with a pop rivet gun.

What can I say

published
Camper Trailers

Find out how Jayco Camper Trailer compares to other Camper Trailers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jack

jackNorthern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

my swan outback is getting built wont be ready till mid septeber

published

Can i put roof racks on by adjusting the rails so the windup tv aerial will fit.At this stage that is all a wont to know when i get my jayco swan.

Greg E

Greg EHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Jayco newcastle

published
Stones

StonesRoleystone

Nice Camper - light, easy to tow. not a family camper

published

2005 Jayco Eagle Outback
I bought my camper approx. 5years ago, i have young family (3 kids under 5).
Its nice and easy to tow around
I found that the older Jayco outbacks (campers) are built better then the new, as silly as it sounds - must be the simplistic no fuss
electric brakes are also a great relief when towing with a smaller SUV, with the family in the car
however, i wouldn't recommend it as a caravan park camper - its more just for off-road parts that are in-accessible for larger caravans or if your on a budget
i eventually sold my camper and upgraded to a 2012 Jayco expanda - shower/toilet/etc. and its fantastic in comparison!

Purchased in July 2014.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Off-roading Performance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
See all answers
Johno

JohnoSydney

Service may be worse than the quality

published

We have had our Swan Outback for just under 5 years. The silicon filler used in the roofs is clearly not up to standard as we have experienced major leaks twice in that time. Jayco refuse to return calls to discuss the issue so very little chance anything will change for newer versions.

Team Skipatrol

Team SkipatrolBarton 2600, ACT

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

We love it!

published

We purchased the Outback version and we love it. Its roomy, easy to set-up and to pack-up. Sits well on the road, its well fitted out and the decor is very nice, noting we had some changes made at the factory to ensure the cupboards all matched. Only criticism is that we are not sure why Jayco placed the main power connector right next to the sink (water) and placed the sink so close to the window with blinds that seem to get wet a bit to easy when washing dishes.

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Jessica O.

Jessica O.asked

Flamingo

So we went camping this weekend and tried to wind down the camper with the door still down. One side sent down and odour side stayed up!

What damaged should we look for? When we wind back up and check it over?

No answers
Tracy A.

Tracy A.asked

Flamingo

Are flamingos still being made?

No answers
Erica

Ericaasked

Swan

Hi there! Just wanting to know which is bigger/longer, Swan or Flamingo??

2 answers
John M.
John M.

Same physical size, different layout

Erica
Erica

Ok thank you John :)

Get an answer from our members and Jayco representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.