3 photos
JBL Charge 3

JBL Charge 3

MPN: 3284060
4.6 from 22 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Portable Speakers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by JBL

Pros

Crisp, clear sound
Easy to connect to devices
Solid build quality

Reviews

4.6
22 reviews
Previous
Next

Very good, works well

published

the battery life is true to advertisement with a solid sound system considering the handheld size it offers. the price is decent and can be found cheaper at most distribution places of JBL (JBHIFI, Harvey Norman

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark
MarkGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Really good speaker

published

You can't go wrong for the price. Has good volume and surprisingly good low end (for the size). It's hardy and durable. Sound quality is decent, not amazing, but you really can't expect more for the price point. Would certainly recommend as an every day portable speaker.

Purchased in April 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris A
Chris AGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 57 reviews
  • 45 likes

Great speaker.

published

Can't really fault the Charge 3. I've had it for a couple years and given it mild use. No issues so far. Loud and battery life is good, would be nice if it had a mic.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
vrxbeachboy
vrxbeachboy
  • 24 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great speaker But JBL need to allow firmware upgrade to Party BOOST

published

Great battery life fantastic sound for the size and solid build quality but will not connect with my New Flip 5 and I hate that ! if I had done the research before I would have purchased a flip 4 or 3 or even a different brand.
Its bad that JBL don't allow an upgrade to the newer party boost software surely the hardware is the same.

Purchased in May 2019 for $130.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Speakers

Find out how JBL Charge 3 compares to other Portable Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paddy
PaddyNew South Wales
  • Verified

Great sound but short battery life and bass reverbing after 2yrs.

published

Great sound, cant fault that.
But after a little over 2 years the battery lasts only 1 or 2hrs now from full charge. Used to go 20hrs.
Also, the bass is starting to reverberate a bussing sound.
A friend has one too and the same problems.
Disappointing having to buy another after only 2 years. )-:
After one year I would rate it 5 stars but now 2yrs have passed and its failing its only a 3 star sadly.

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kaytlyn
KaytlynSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

My MacBook Pro has begun to muffle the sound, my partner got me a JBL speaker to play my Netflix through and boy does it give that surround sound feel. It’s easy to connect to devices, the sound is crisp and clear, and it stays charged for hours on end. Would 100% recommend

Purchased in January 2018.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Amy C
Amy CGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

The item husband wanted and I didn’t think we needed!

published

My husband wanted a portable speaker which has decent quality sound.

I was unsure it was needed, however I have been the one using it for the last 2 days straight

It’s easy to connect to a device. You can control the sound level either on the unit itself or on your phone which is handy when your not near the speaker itself.

The sound quality is amazing.

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Bushin
BushinSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good speaker

published

Good speaker for the price lacks a little in high range frequencies but great mids and lows pair it with a flip 4 in the same room and its a great combo. Good build quality.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Furniture for $120.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mario
marioGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

great sound & good battery life & splash proof

published

I wanted the larger extreme but it was to expensive, so i got the charge 3. No regrets here. Very pleased with its performance all round. Its a bit heavy for the back pack, so lucky i didn't get the larger extreme. Blue tooth pairing is easy. The startup and shutdown tune is the only complaint, way too loud. Be aware there are many knock offs in the markets and online, they have a different JBL logo and weigh 1/2 as much as the original but otherwise look the same.

Purchased in December 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $158.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Portable Speakers

Find out how JBL Charge 3 compares to other Portable Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jen
JenVictoria
  • 5 reviews

It is good

published

It has a really nice and loud sound and connects fast with any Type of devices and it is easy to carry around and fun for listening to music out loud and ect

Purchased in September 2018 for $30.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

nee
nee
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great in and outdoors

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Officeworks Online store for $129.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad
BradSydenham
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Bloody brilliant

published

I bought this for $139 on sale on Boxing Day.
Great build quality and excellent sound.
Easy set up literally took maybe 2minutes.
Competes with my sonos play 5 gen 1 obviously not as loud but for that price wow what a product. Great battery life and the bonus of being waterproof.
I didn't no which speaker to pick but glad I picked this one.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Speakers

Find out how JBL Charge 3 compares to other Portable Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh
JoshVIC, 3174
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Super

published

This is a fantastic speaker. JBL has truly hit a home run with this one. I have a charge 2, a clip, and I've had a JBL Xtreme for about 4 months. This speaker is far superior to the Charge 2. It has a much fuller sound without the boosting of the bass and treble. The mids were lacking with the Charge 2 and it will not get nearly as loud as the Charge 3. This speaker has much better battery life, is completely waterproof, and allows for linking to my Xtreme..

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Robyn_White
Robyn_WhiteAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best $150 I've spent.

published

Have been studying portable speakers for a few weeks as my old gal(8 yrs) finally gave up the ghost. It came down to two choices,JBL or Bose. After reading many,many reviews I went with the Charge. OMG, what a machine! It has been going for 3,9 hour days in the packing shed, and still has 2 bars of charge left in it!! Not only that, if we accidentally hit it with the hose, it doesn't matter( completely waterproof). Great sound, great quality,love it. I think a few of my coworkers are putting one on their Christmas wish list this year.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kelly H
Kelly H
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

5 stars

published

Really happy with this product.
Great sound. Great design. Great functionality. Great price!
Easy to connect and use. Very sturdy and easy to hold and carry around. Holds it's charge for ages!
Only wish it came with a carry bag! Very happy customer and would recommend to anyone looking for a great portable bluetooth speaker.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Peter Rengert
Peter Rengertasked

can this speaker be run w/o batteries by directly plugging it in o an electrical outlet?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and JBL representatives

Details

Features:

  • The JBL Charge 3 is a portable Bluetooth speaker with rubber housing that keeps it going throughout all of your adventures.
  • The speaker has an IPX7 waterproof rating; you don’t have to worry about spilling anything on it or leaving it in the rain, and you can even submerge it in water.
  • It’s JBL Connect-enabled, meaning you can connect it with other JBL Connect speakers to level up your listening experience.
  • Dual external passive radiators let you hear, feel, and see the bass.
  • Voice Assistant integration lets you access Siri or Google Now from your speaker with the press of a button.
  • This speaker has a charging time of 4.5 hours.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the JBL Charge 3 had great sound quality, with the sound being crisp and clear, providing a full sound in both indoor and outdoor settings.
  • They also found that the speaker was easy to connect to their devices.
  • According to reviewers, the speaker also has a solid build quality that ensures it holds its own even when it’s taken on more rugged adventures.

Something to consider:

  • This product has been discontinued by JBL in Australia, however you can still find it new or refurbished at some retailers.
CategoryPortable Speakers
Price (RRP) $169.00
Connectivity Options3.5mm Jack (AUX) and Bluetooth
FeaturesMultiple Speaker Pairing, Speakerphone and Water Resistant
Battery Life20 hours
Charging Time4.5 hours
Battery Size6,000 mAh
Dimensions 88.5 x 213 x 87 mm
Weight800 grams
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack, Blue, Red, Green
Replaced byJBL Charge 4
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 3284060
  • GTIN13: 6925281914232, 6925281914249 and 6925281914256

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.