2 photos
JBL Flip 4

JBL Flip 4

MPNs: JBLFLIP4BLK, JBLFLIP4BLU, JBLFLIP4RED and 2 more
3.7 from 37 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Paul V
Paul VSouth Australia

OK at best.

published

Loud but too bassy. Most annoying feature is the startup sound when turned on, it is too loud and you cannot turn the startup sound off or lower the volume.

Incentivised ReviewNo
terry
terrySouth East Queensland, QLD

Will never buy JBL ever again.

published

The battery goes bad after only 18 months... not replaceable...RUBBISH.
JBL knows the faulty battery on the flip 4... which makes it a scam.
Don't waste your money on this... go for a better brand.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Krystina
KrystinaSpringfield
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Wouldn’t recommend

published

Given as a gift and battery has faulted out, less that a year they won’t look into it because I have no receipt. Absolutely shocking! Obviously have 0 care for customers. Rubbish

Incentivised ReviewNo
Portable Speakers

Find out how JBL Flip 4 compares to other Portable Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wilma
WilmaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • Verified

Battery not replaceable and not working after 3 years

published

JBL Flip 4 worked well for 3 years. Was well looked after.
Then started to crackle and could no longer charge.
JBL told me that indicates the battery has "worn down".
JBL also told me that's normal life expectancy for their battery and that the battery is non replaceable.

Purchased in April 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Iza
IzaSunshine Coast
  • 2 reviews

Disposable products

published

Horrible customer service. Products don't last long so as soon as warranty ends (1yr), that's it. They make disposable products that break within 2 yrs and then you get a new one. Not worth it.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Ian
IanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rubbish

published

Charger port is loose after 16 months, contacted jbl and apparently it’s unrepairable and it’s out of warranty so bad luck. It’s ok for them but my 11 yo saved his money to buy this crap. Customer service 0

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $150.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Dan Mac
Dan MacGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Reliable speaker

published

This speaker is good value for money. It is a reliable piece of technology.
Sound is good for the small size and the microphone works like a charm when connected to my computers. I always use it for conference calls and it has never disappointed me.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $250.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Battery died after 15 months

published

The JBL Flip 4 speaker worked well until the battery died at 15 months.

Harman/JBL were not prepared to replace the speaker and they weren't able to provide options for repair. Don't be fooled by the perception of a quality brand, as this product is below standard and once the warranty has passed, you are merely a sales opportunity for them. I was offered a small compensation - a voucher for their website that I declined.

I won't be buying JBL or Harman products again and I would steer well away from this line of products and the brand. I'm extremely disappointed in the product quality.

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys for $98.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Stan
StanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Fantastic sound at a reasonable price

published

I bought the JBL Flip 4 about a year ago love it. My parent's were so impressed they bought one too! It never has any operating issues, and for such a small item, it has fantastic sound and battery life. Can't recommend it highly enough

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for $99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Portable Speakers

Find out how JBL Flip 4 compares to other Portable Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Yyilmaz
Yyilmaz
  • 4 reviews

Excellent bass for small package

published

The sound you get from this thing is exceptional. Unexpected bass and clarity. Waterproof as bonus. I bought it over Black Friday weekend for discount and I wasn’t expecting much. Happy purchase.

Purchased in December 2019 at eBay for $80.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Kael
KaelPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews

Great product

published

Had mine for over a year and use it often. Good sound and bass is surprisingly strong. Spilled water on it which its waterproofing repelled easily. I will use this tough little speaker for years to come.

Purchased in December 2017 for $99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TessaJ
TessaJQueensland
  • 8 reviews

Love my Flip 4

published

Love my Flip 4. I love the sound quality and the long battery life. Thankfully haven’t had to test out the waterproofing, but it’s reassuring to know that protection is there just in case. Such a silly thing but I also love the range of colours. So many products seem to stick with bland, it’s nice to be able to choose a quality item in a bright colour! My only grouch would be that occasionally I wish that it could be slightly quieter. I find it’s can still be too loud on the lowest setting to be used as background noise when sleeping. Easily fixed by setting it up on the other side of the room.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Andrew
AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product

published

High quality, water proof, easy to use, long battery and great sound for such a small unit. Paired this with my phone and TV. Has hands free Bluetooth too .fits it car drink holders.

Purchased in July 2019 for $99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jane
JaneHunter Region, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

Love it!

published

I was given this as a Mother's Day gift this year. It's a bright, royal blue colour and I love everything about it.
It paired quickly and easily and it doesn't weigh much either, so it's really portable.
The sound quality is fantastic for what it is, considering you can spending hundreds more for something similar. I can even control the playlist and volume from my iWatch, which was extremely handy when we took the Flip to our son's 6th birthday party in the park and needed music for "pass the parcel". Sound quality and volume was spot on and all 35 kids heard the music loud and clear. (Yes, you read right, 35 kids, hence party in the park, LOL!!!)
If I needed to, I'd buy another JBL Flip 4 tomorrow.

Purchased in April 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $134.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Oshie
OshieSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Good sound incredibly poor battery!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2018 at I.Store Online store.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Portable Speakers

Find out how JBL Flip 4 compares to other Portable Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Robyn D.
Robyn D.asked

I have connected my Flip 4 to my tv for quality sound and I find I have the sound at a higher level than previous and cannot adjust it any higher. I do not find it at all powerful and wondering if there is something I am missing? I am still in the process of connecting music through Bluetooth and hope it lives up to its promises.

1 answer
DavidH9000
DavidH9000

Best advice is to watch this Youtube and see if you are doing it correctly. Whilst this is not specifically for the JBL Flip 4 it should answer your problem https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brL_LtMNaxY

packet
packetasked

Can you use it with a cord attached to your phone?

2 answers
TraFooCo
TraFooCo

Sorry I don’t know. But it does come with a 3.5mm audio cable input. Have never used it though.

Chris A
Chris A

Yes 3.5mm audio cable will work if you have a port on your phone.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPortable Speakers
Price (RRP) $159.00
Connectivity Options3.5mm Jack (AUX), Bluetooth and MicroUSB
FeaturesMultiple Speaker Pairing, Speakerphone and Water Resistant
Voice ControlApple Siri / AirPlay and Google Assistant
Battery Life12 hours
Charging Time3.5 hours
Battery Size3,000 mAh
Dimensions 68 x 175 x 70 mm
Weight515 grams
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishGrey, Red, White, Black, Blue, Aqua
Replaced byJBL Flip 5
ManualDownload manual
  • GTIN13: 6925281922404
  • MPN: JBLFLIP4BLK, JBLFLIP4BLU, JBLFLIP4RED, JBLFLIP4WHT and KHJBLF4WHT

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.