??!
13 photos
John Deere X300 Select Series

John Deere X300 Select Series

X300, X320, X350, etc...
3.6 from 30 reviews

See the Best Ride-On Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
7
3 star
3
2 star
3
1 star
5

chris

chrisDarwin, NT

pretty good machine

published

well all other reviews here are from amateurs I have done 750 hours with mine and apart from blades the odd belt and services every 100 hours it's still performing perfect, I still haven't put new spark plugs in it they are still sitting on the bench.
I mow about 8 acres with it all rough and rocky in the wet season the mission grass is about 6 foot high but it still cuts through it at just over idle no problems I also tow a 44 inch tow behind mower with it and cut 88 inches, no problems with the transmission.
If you want the deck to stay good don't rev it high that just smashes it in rocky conditions.
Hard to beat a john deere

Purchased in June 2012 at vanderfield for $8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers

Sonya 1

Sonya 1Central Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Excellent mower

published

I have had this mower for a few years now and have just clocked up 250 hours. It is the fourth ride-on I have owned and easily the best.
I use it for mowing a fairly rough two acre block and apart from routine servicing have not had to spend anything on it. Servicing is quite easy for the home owner and easier than other makes I have owned.
I have read some other reviews on here where people have had transmission issues. Unfortunately some people buy a ride-on mower and expect it to do the work of a bulldozer or agricultural tractor. Use it for what it is designed for and you won't have any issues.

Purchased in March 2013 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
THe Bear

THe BearGlenwood

  • 30 reviews
  • 2 likes

love it!!!!

published

bought this 2018 mower when it was 12 months old with 47 hours on the clock. Beaut to use and comfortable, one of the best seats I have ever experienced. Heaps of power with Kawasaki twin engine. Also very impressed with the strength of the deck, some decks appear flimsy. These select series are a long way ahead in build quality than other John Deere mowers. LOVE IT!! Also, the hydraulic deck is fabulous.

Purchased in January 2019 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Pete

PeteCHRISTCHURCH

Great Mower. Expensive to send to Dealer to maintain so doing it myself

published

Great ride, we have 2 acres and mows really well. 3.5 hours per week more often in the spring.
I would certainly buy another if I need too but this one has 400hrs and still going well. Recommend to who ever wants one. Just as said the maintenance bill is excessive, learn to do it yourself including blade sharpening or replacing

Date PurchasedAug 2009

redrobin67

redrobin67Sellicks Hill, South Australia

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very impressed with the X350

published

We recently upgraded from a 6 year old Greenfield to a John Deere X350. Only wish we'd done it sooner! This machine is quiet, starts instantly, cuts beautifully and the turning circle is brilliant. We were considering a Cub Cadet but after test driving one it was clear the John Deere is a better built and more comfortable mower. It is perfect for our 10 acres with lawns, paddocks and raceways.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Front tire will not hold air

published

Good product, very heavy duty, but one of the front tires will not hold air. I took the wheel of and my dealer re-mounted it and it worked for a while. They say this is not a warranty situation, but it came out of the box like that. My 20 year old LX178 lasted 18 years before it had the same problem. My made in China replacement wheels are still working fine after two years. If I have to put China's finest on my new made in America John Deere, it will be a sad day.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Good thing it is no longer available

published

This is a good mower but very expensive to maintain. For the price of all the maintenance I could have purchased another mower from a Lowes or Home Depot. I live on a hill. This transmission is not one for hills. That was only $1300.00. The belt for the deck is expensive. Replaced 4 times @ $130 each time. I will not buy another John deere mower.

Date PurchasedMar 2009

Works well but rattles from steering coloum and petrol cap not good enough for high end lawn mower

published

Cuts well but heavy on fuel consumption to my old 300x good to have fuel gauge And bigger tires and mulch deck fitted but hard to clean and gets clogs up sometimes plenty of power to old one put on seat cover but slides all over the place can't tighting

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Worst mower I have ever had!

published

I mow once a week. I never mow a wet yard and yet even with brand new blades my grass seems to continually clump up. My shoot cover is up. I have 200 hours and I have gone through 5 belts because every time you back up it disengages the blades.

Date PurchasedMay 2012
Clint

ClintNational City

Seat Material

published

After 200 hours of using it for lawn cutting the seat material is flaking off. It was never left outdoors always kept in a temperature and humidity controlled space. I cannot believe such cheap material was put on a John Deere. Also, there is no gas gauge. I have to get off the tractor and try to find the gas level in the tank? Ridiculous cost saving by salesmen and bean counters not someone who ever uses a tractor. After having John Deere equipment for most of my life, I will never buy another.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Zowner

ZownerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

Good Mower almost 5 stars.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2009

Wazza

WazzaSunshine Coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good unit

published

I had a John Deere STX38 for 21 years and it was brilliant so I couldn't go past another JD, it's still going just getting a bit tired. Not sure what the LA series units are like but I decided to go with the JD X350 as it is a commercial grade unit with a Kawasaki engine, 4 year, 300 hour warranty. So far very happy, going off the old STX38 on to the new unit is like getting out of a Mimi Minnor into a Roller. Cut my mowing time down too.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Good, sturdy ride!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2012

James

JamesSydney

  • 2 reviews

Good but...!

published

I've one about 75 hours on the mower since new. It has started first up every time and motor runs well. My only issue is with the unevenness of the cut. Perhaps the deck is out of alignment and I'll have it checked out. Also it seems the mower is not that great at cutting behind the wheel marks leaving that grass longer than elsewhere in the cut.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
John0303

John0303Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

it's the lowest cost ride on worth having

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015

2 burned up transmissions!! junk!

published

I bought an x300 thinking I was buying a quality product. I was wrong! Junk! With 60 hrs my tranny started to go. I could only mow for 20 minutes and the tranny wouldnt move the mower. So I bought a new tranny from JD dealer. That one went too. Ill never buy a JD again. Their customer service said they admitted their engineers put to small of a tranny in this tractor. Of course nothing they could do for me. JUNK JD JUNK!

Date PurchasedApr 2005

Awful Awful

published

Purchased this mower for 2,200.00 I have only put 30 hours on it and it had 32 when I bought it. The transmisson went out already. Can you believe it I called dealer and told them the guys name was [name removed] he offered no help at all.ripoff.sickening you would think they would offer me some type of help.

Date PurchasedJul 2012

X 350 mower

published

i just bought a john deere x350 and had a john deere la105 oh my goodness its like apples and oranges. used to take me 1 1/2 hours first time on the x350 35 minutes and that included a rinse! what a machine outstanding! it has the mulching kit and it is well worth the money with out question can't believe it is all mine! thank you for a great product!
NOTHING RUNS LIKE A DEERE

Date PurchasedApr 2017

dont buy a John Deere,very unreliable

published

Bought my x300 new,it has already been back to dealer twice with the same problem. The mower belt has been failing around every 50hrs. Dealer says caused from a stick getting caught,but not the case. Bit of a joke really.This time was at my cost. Nearly $800 later because of other damage when last belt broke.For $6000 not the best cut either won't buy another JD. As for JD warranty and back up/customer service, almost no existence after they have your money and it leaves the shop. Will be trading in asap


lossey mower belts

published

our mower keeps taking out the mower belts on our X300, would not recommend this machine to anyone
it is a poor machine , what else is going to go wrong with it, our LA 135 is a lot better machine than the X300
it out preforms better than the X300


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Slatts

Slattsasked

Price

No answers

Linda W.

Linda W.asked

Is the x300r old stock?

1 answer
THe Bear
THe Bear

Hi, I own an X350. The 300 series are still available but have no idea on an X300. X350 brilliant, better that the Toro, Husky,Rover we have owned before. Might give a dealer like Vanderfields a call, brilliant dealers and also great for information. Regards Peter aka THe Bear


Legodad

Legodadasked

Should I consider buying a x300r with 1209 hours on the clock?

1 answer
THe Bear
THe Bear

Gidday, I cannot answer this question, thats a lot of hours but if it has been regularly serviced and in good condition, price is right then go ahead. Have to find out the age of the machine, this model has great reviews. Regards Peter aka THe Bear


Get an answer from our members and John Deere representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.