??!
8 photos
Karcher K2

Karcher K2

Basic Plus, Basic, Standard, etc...
2.5 from 22 reviews

Reviews

2.5

22 reviews
5
(3)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    2.2 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    2.9 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (9)
  • Safety
    2.9 (8)
Previous
Next

Built-for-purpose. Know its Purpose!

published

Purchased in May 2020 at DIY Tools.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

Not fit for purpose

published

Bought for occasional home use - clean the mower, verandah rails, motor bike, etc. The K2 has adequate pressure but not great cleaning power. Probably the flow rate is too low in this unit. (it's worth researching flow v pressure before deciding on a pressure sprayer) Anyway it didn't matter much because the outlet hose blew off after around 6 hours use. Female thread is shot. I replaced the cheap plastic M22 fitting with something more robust only to see the remaining cheap plastic Karcher coupling fail. I don't want to pay to further repair an obviously under-engineered unit so will be buying a sturdier (non Karcher) machine.
I've written the Karcher up to experience, and written this review so that you don't have to.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
onetrack

onetrackPerth, WA

  • 24 reviews

More Chinese-built junk! Don't waste your money!

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Total Tools for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Electric Pressure Washers

Find out how Karcher K2 compares to other Electric Pressure Washers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good for its intended use, Key word, intended.

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Aidan Lawrence

Aidan LawrenceSouth Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Hardly worth it.

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Conor B.

Conor B.Perth, WA

Pump failure

published

What a pile of s#*te this unit is. I will never buy from karcher again. Used a handful of times over a few years and it burst the pump. Split the casing around the Plastic Pump. Junk bought from Bunnings. Very bad design of pump. Disposable after a few times of use. Don't waste your money on this one.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
nwphoto

nwphotoSydney, NSW

One of the worst buys I ever made .!!!!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Kogan for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 63 reviews
  • 1 like

Good So Far, But With Some Warning Signs

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Empressbat

EmpressbatQueensland, 4304

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like
  • K2
  • Verified purchase

Low pressure and detergent intake wont work

published

We bought this Karcher 1400W K2 High Pressure Cleaner - With Home Kit after a Bunnings employee recommend it over the Ryobi. Sadly although more expensive than the similar version in Ryobi branding, it was not better. The pressure was insufficient to clean walls and the intake detergent mechinism did not work regardless of how many times we tried it using a variety of methods recommended on the Karcher and other sites. Taking it back for a refund. not fit for purpose.
Update - Bunnings refunded with no issue and we bought a Ryobi instead.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Electric Pressure Washers

Find out how Karcher K2 compares to other Electric Pressure Washers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible after sales support

published

After a year of occasional light use, the pressure hose split. I went to get a replacement but they want almost the cost of a new machine just for the hose! Also it's not covered by warranty as Karcher considers it a 'consumable' part. Wasted time and now the machine is useless.

Purchased in January 2018.

Trading on brand name.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
erwin

erwin

  • 2 reviews

Not a German product

published

I pure hasted a karcher k2 with extra dirt plaster but to my disappointment I do not as promised, for a German product I expected more. After 2 days the lifting handle broke of. not enough blast even to shift a little grass in the pavers only purchased it 9 days ago wonder if I can return it. The previously cleaner was a gerni lasted 5 years was only a base model serenely aut performed this one.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
JC1978

JC1978BENTLEIGH EAST

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

good quality

published

I've been using the K2 for 5 years, there is my comment
Pro
The build quality is excellent, which means materials are durable
It is easy to use and set up
It comes with all basic attachments and allows you to handle most of household clearing jobs

Con
The pressure is not strong enough to clear super dirty things
It doesn't come with foam cannon nozzle and you have to buy it separately, unlike other brands it comes with the foam cannon nozzle as free

But overall I am very happy with its performance and build quality, it looks like it is going to last for a long time.

Date PurchasedMay 2013
Anne G

Anne GAU

  • 4 reviews

Does the job

published

Definitely gets the job done and very easy to use. My mother loved how the front fence and garden bricks looked after I pressured cleaned it with the Karcher. I found it safe to use on my car as well and was happy with the end results. The driveway also looked great and rejuvenated.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

No good

published

The motor started burning out after six months of very light use. I washed my motorbike and truck twice, house windows and gutter once.

Sent it in for repairs at the agent, received it two months later only to find it in a totally dead state.

I used suitably rated extension cords, never ran it dry. My fathers cheap Ryobi is still going strong after 5 years of almost weekly use.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Electric Pressure Washers

Find out how Karcher K2 compares to other Electric Pressure Washers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Waste of time, energy and money.

published

My first Karcher pressure cleaner lasted a few weeks. I have just bought a second one to replace it which doesn't work to begin with. I have spent ages on the phone to the support staff who ended up just telling me to take it back. What a waste of time and money.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
rails

railsulverstone

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Would Recommend

published

I have had my Karcher for about 8 years... It is Amazing... love cleaning the congrete around the house and how it comes up so clean.. having dogs they can make the ground very dirty over time.. But with the Karcher i know i can always get it back to new..

Date PurchasedNov 2009
Aaron

AaronSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

good value for money

published

Purchased one of these a few years ago and cant fault it. Have used it just about every weekend cleaning dirtbikes, concrete, cars, fence etc. sometimes get a hot plastic smell after long periods of use (1-2 hours) waiting for it to die so i can upgrade but it just wont.

Date PurchasedFeb 2011

Do Not Buy This Product

published

This is a dismal product it really is. Only a fool would buy this. I have purchased two and both
have burnt out on the second use. The First time I thought maybe it was my fault but when I read on line overall about a third of purchasers are dissatisfied with it for the same reason. It is not well made and burns out very easily. There are other products on the market and whatever you buy it will be better than this. Avoid at all costs. Allan

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Harmony

Harmony

  • 8 reviews

Would not reccomend

published

I set out to only leave reviews where I could be positive about a product, however I would like to save someone money by sharing my experience. We have had a bad run of luck with these (3 have died on us after minimal use). Thinking it might be something we were doing wrong, or some unknown factor, I asked a number of people their opinion and it was always the same - not good quality. Sorry to leave a bad review but the evidence needs to be shared.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Alan

Alanasked

K2

My water hose requires replacing Has cracks( bad bends) and is very temperamental in hosing?

How where how much
Alan brown
Sorry I am in melbourne

1 answer
onetrack
onetrack

Alan - Here is a link to the Karcher parts and support webpage -

https://www.kaercher.com/au/services/support/spare-parts.html

Or - you can purchase an unbranded, generic hose from eBay for $28.69.

Go to ebay.com.au and type this following number into the search menu - 153495793084.

Regards, O.

Noel

Noelasked

K2

Have K2.180 pressure cleaner. Had it a few years. Only used it about 5 times for max 30 min each time.
Started cleaning pool area 15min stints.
Started leaking - stripped unit - seals leaking.
Require pump seal kit or better still, a new pump.
Parts available in Perth Western Australia?

No answers
Unhappy

Unhappyasked

K2

have had basis unit for 2 years and just unpacked. Packaging says "can draw water from a bucket or water tank". Instructions only refer to hose. Surely there needs to be some contact between karcher and bucket?

1 answer
Aidan Lawrence
Aidan Lawrence

Attach a hose to the inlet and stick the other end in a bucket of water or hook up to a water tank instead of a mains outlet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.