??!
12 photos
Kia Carnival

See the Best People Movers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(41)
(21)
(13)
(4)
(75)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (6)

Gaza Jimbo

Gaza JimboPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good vehicle let down by Kia Australia & Wangara dealer

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Family H

Family HRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful!

published

Purchased in April 2019 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Family H
Family H
Garry W.

Garry W.Sydney, NSW

Not living up to the U.S Senota model

published

Purchased in September 2019.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Alita

AlitaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Avoid due to engine failure risk

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Leah

LeahSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Plenty of room

published

I do so much running around taking kids back and forth to after school sports training and games on the weekends. It has plenty of room and great for when I have the grandkids too who are both in child restraints. So far we have had no problems with it and fingers crossed it stays that way.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great car but safety risks

published

Have hired Kia Carnivals and we also have to Fleet Vehicles at work.
Great vehicle and amazing performance however twice I have gotten out of the van (two different vans) and when I went to get back in it locked me out requiring RACQ having to come and unlock it.
Both times the key was in the ignition and both times the van was still running.
One was late at night and the other had my child still in the back seat!!! Luckily it was running with the aircon on.
There must be a glitch or something because I couldn’t replicate it even after trying different scenarios!?
Shouldn’t lock with key in or car on but it does at times.

Purchased in May 2017 at Kia Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

melaaa

melaaa

  • 36 reviews

Don't do it!!

published

Ours started blowing smoke on start up at 81000 kms!!! The mechanic has said he has had 3 others in the last 3 months since seeing ours with the same issue we have been quoted $7000 to fix it! It has countless things fixed cosmetically when it was under warranty . The car Lay out is perfect and has the right amount of car seat bolts, fantastic airconditioning, boot space all that jaz but just don't do it biggest waste of money I spoke to the guy who replaces motors locally and he said he replaced a motor in a 2016 so they obviously haven't fixed the issue ours is a 2012

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Simon

SimonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Shameful

published

Car engine exploded, leaving the family dangerously stranded on the side of the road, after the warranty period, a defect which, according to wikipedia, was known by Kia when they chose to distribute this vehicle in Australia. Worst-in-class turn, engine problems, etc .. if you're looking at picking up one of these garbage-cans-with-wheels second hand from someone .... be very very very very careful. Think twice, thrice, then think again, OK ?

Purchased in January 2008.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2007
See all answers
Kim D

Kim DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Kia needs to stand by it product

published

We have a newer 2017 Kia with all the bells and whistles,
We have loved driving it however one day it blow up!! It showed no signs - it had done 67,000 on the clock and we had missed some servicing. Kia rejected the 'good faith' service claim and quoted us $27,000 in repairs. We ended up putting a second hand motor instead but would never buy one again. Advice to all get it serviced on time as it will give you no warning and cost you lots!!

Purchased in April 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Kate V

Kate VNew South Wales

Engine broken already.

published

Our car was a great size for our family and we do above average k's. At the end of 2018 the car started blowing smoke. I was told I needed to replace the head gasket and this would not be done under warrantee as I did not have full service records. I went to an engine repair specialist who told me he wouldn't touch it after doing one recently and having trouble with threading and the torque bolts. I went to a KIA dealership to repair it. When putting the engine back together they have threaded it and told me I need to replace the engine. This car is a lemon.

BadgeS
Engine Size3470cc
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Natasha

NatashaCampbelltown

  • 5 reviews

Perfect family car.

published

Bought the Kia carnival upgraded from a Mazda CX-9 perfect as a family car, drove from Campbelltown NSW to Redbank Plains in QLD on one tank of diesel no fuel stops. Very spacious Inside & boot in huge, only improvement recommended is to put the push start button towards the right side not left side

BadgeLS
Engine Size3.3L V6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019

Best People Movers

Best People MoversSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 13 likes

Disappointing

published
BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

SafetyCross

SafetyCrossIllawarra, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Really meets your family needs.

published

I brought my Kia Carnival in 2015 and have never looked back. It is roomy, comfortable and is good to drive on most road conditions. It performs like a smaller luxury car, it has a good turning circle, it is not noisy and handles well. The dash and controls are well positioned for the driver, although a radio mute control would be handy on the steering wheel. The cruise control works well but will pick up speed on a steep downhill grade. It is very reliable, a bit heavy on fuel consumption but it is a large vehicle. It has plenty of leg room for the driver and all the passengers. You will have to get used to the foot (hand)brake. It is an excellent vehicle to have modified for wheelchair passengers.

BadgeSi
Engine Size2.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

MULTI97

MULTI97multi97@gmail.com

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great car, but missing some "1st world" options

published
BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
2 comments
MULTI97
MULTI97
MULTI97
MULTI97
iconic

iconickyneton

space and comfort with the 2018 KIA carnival

published

Forget SUV's unless you are hitting the trails. our new platinum Carnival has unbelievable space - the seating folding and split options mean we have even used it to transport a motorbike and a go kart!

heated and cooled luxury leather seats - even a heated steering wheel!

we love the electric doors and back door - so practical, and the 360 cameras make parking a breeze. the diesel has effortless power, and i love the look of the 19 inch bling chrome wheels.

the 7 year warranty is insane! (beat that everyone!)

we have only got 2 kids, and it means we can head out for the day with friends on board to enjoy the trip together!

highly recommended!

BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Rollo

Rollo

  • 4 reviews
  • 21 likes

A truly fantastic land yacht.

published
BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Kristy

KristyNewcastle

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

We appreciate this car everyday

published

I was cautious about buying a Kia and didnt want to part with my subaru but this has been one of the best decisions to date.
People comment and say its like riding in an aeroplane as the seats are roomy with lots of legroom.
Driving is a luxury experience and the side mirrors and seat adjustments make it very comfortable.
Getting in and out of the back to buckle up kids has never been easier, ive changed kids in the back, changes nappies, transported furniture and travelled with 7 passengers with comfort with 1 spare seat.

BadgeSLi
Engine Size2.5L V6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Dave

DaveGoulburn

A very Good people mover grand carnival.

published

*Very comfortable, easy to drive, very responsive
*Very quiet,
Very roomy interior good legroom ,even for 3rd row.
Very reliable and running cost 700 km per tank
Heaps of storage in back
Seats 8 people comfortably
Have to be careful of automatic doors not to force open manuallt as this disrupt the sequence
Camera helps but hard to see to side rear of vehicle when reversing ...large blind spot. Also blind spot on front passenger side. You need to double check.

Overall a very good people mover

BadgePlatinum
Engine Size3.5 litre
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014

Hindo

HindoNewcastle

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car for the large family!

published
BadgeSLi
Engine Size3.3L V6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Kristen

KristenShepparton

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic car, very stylish on the higher models

published

Bought the SLI version of this car in black. They look very stylish inside and very comfortable. Got the Diesel version which gets good mileage, however we expected better than what we are getting. The specs say that the minimum range is around 850 which we are only just getting this. Hopefully that will increase but a great car overall

BadgeSLi
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Gaza Jimbo

Gaza Jimboasked

How many people purchased a new YP Carnival during the offer of FREE GPS map updates for 3 years, but didn't receive any updates. Refused by their dealer or Kia Australia?

No answers

Peter

Peterasked

What causes a Kia carnival to cut off fuel and spark?

1 answer
Gaza Jimbo
Gaza Jimbo

I assume by your question that you have a petrol (not diesel) Carnival.
This sort of issue is likely to be generic to any modern vehicle.
As it is effecting fuel & spark, Its could be ECU or a sensor. Best way to find out is with a diagnostic unit.
Obviously Kia will have one, but I don't know if other tuners will have access.


Ed G.

Ed G.asked

Grand Carnival Platinum MY14. Is it possible to get a trip computer for these? Can't believe a 2014 car doesn't have one.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.