??!
2 photos
KitchenAid Artisan

KitchenAid Artisan

KMT423, KMT223
2.8 from 59 reviews

Reviews

2.8

59 reviews
5
(15)
4
(8)
3
(7)
2
(10)
1
(19)
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (10)
  • Even Toasting Yes (6) · No (2)
Previous
Next
jake

jakeIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Made in China

published

After having a Kitchenaid Mixer for 20yrs without a single issue I decided to try out one of their toasters as every other brand of toaster is useless.
Well turns out the Kitchenaid is no different, does everything other than what it was intended to do.
Looks good but can't make toast!
Turns out the mixer I own was made in the USA and the toaster is made in China.
Enjoy your short term profits Kitchenaid because in the long term your company name is going down the drain.

Purchased at Kitchen Warehouse for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Jay

JayPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Works nicely. Annoying beeping on start. Annoying beeping on finish.

published

Toaster looks good.
It toasts evenly.
Automatic lowering / raising of toast works well. The sides then push in to centralise the toast.

Only downside is that the toaster makes a very loud beep when you start toasting.
And then the same annoying loud been when it finishes. It can be heard through the whole house early in the morning.

I am tempted to find the beeper and just disconnect it or stick some chewing gum over it.

Stainless steel version not that easy to clean. I would opt for the enamel / plastic varieties instead.
Was hoping for top notch quality considering price. It's definitely better than average but probably not worth the price.

Purchased in October 2019 at David Jones Online Store for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Joyanne

JoyanneSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Not Impressed

published

Bought this toaster nearly 3 years ago and at the time thought it could be better at toasting, considering the price tag, then it actually was! I now find it is starting to play up, I'm having to turn it off at the power because the toast gets stuck and not toasting and pressing the cancel button does nothing. It eventually decides to work but for how long? I wont be purchasing a Kitchenaid Toaster again, the quality just isn't there.

Purchased in April 2017 at Home Clearance for A$138.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Toasters

Find out how KitchenAid Artisan compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ladybugfunk

Ladybugfunk

  • 9 reviews

We love this toaster!!

published

we have found this to be an excellent toaster! My favourite setting is 3 and hubby likes 4. We enjoy perfect, evenly toasted bread to our liking every time. Love it!

Purchased in October 2019 at Peter's of Kensington Online store for A$160.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
James R.

James R.

  • 2 reviews

Works well - when it works that is...

published

Purchased at Myer for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Rajiv

RajivGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Terrible toaster

published

Terrible, it regularly over heats and burns toast even though its kept on a medium setting. If you use it twice in a row the toaster over heats considerably and blackens toast.

Purchased in April 2018 at Myer for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
nellycb

nellycbAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Loved it! But disappointed!

published

I purchased mine 5 years ago, loved it, however after a short time one of the elements faded. I rang and they were going to send a replacement, Still Waiting!!!

Purchased for A$240.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Yalin

YalinMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Toaster, We Love it!!

published

After spending hours on product review sites and YouTube, we decided to go ahead with 4 Slice Onyx Black Toaster.
Let me tell you something, I am glad we ignored many comments about "very loud beeps" and "uneven toasts", this toaster is just perfect for us. Beeps are very reasonable, in fact very helpful to alert when my toast is ready.
So far, every single toast came out perfect, all very even. We love the option of adjusting left and right slots shading independently.
In addition, the toaster looks very elegant in our kitchen and we now decided to buy a matching kettle.
My only concern, we cannot find Pro Line Kettle in Glossy Onyx Black in Australia and hope it will be available sooner rather than later?

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Henry15

Henry15Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Love it

published

Excellent toaster. I love the heat settings and the toast itself gets consistent heat coverage. I’m very happy with the purchase and would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

Edit: The toaster up/down mechanism failed but Kitchenaid replaced the applicance without too much fuss, although a little slowly.

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how KitchenAid Artisan compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alexa

Alexa

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Kitchenaid is the best

published

Take my money! I love kitchenaid so much. I was so impressed with this toaster it just feels so fancy! Love how you can change the toastiness for each slice and it beeps when ready! It looks awesome and impressive to have out on your bench.

Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 60 reviews
  • 3 likes

Underrated by consumers

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
2 comments
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
Mortishia
Mortishia

You are welcome. We are so satisfied with the toaster and also appreciate reading other reviews as they too assist.

MissT

MissTMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Great toaster!

published

Awesome toaster! Allows you to toast two sets of two pieces. Remembers settings and easy dial-up display. Beeps when the toast is finished and the keep warm function is very practical. A huge unit though, you need quite a bit of bench space for this to sit on. Would recommend.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Bruce

BruceMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 15 reviews

Outstanding Warranty Response

published

Obviously never good when a product fails, but it happens. Ours had a fault and was tripping the RCD. A pain, but their response was brilliant. A call to the support number (we'd registered it upon purchase) and they told us we'd get a new one to replace it.

This was New Years Eve, and we had the replacement by 4th January. Didn't want the faulty one back and never questioned that it was faulty.

I would buy KitchenAid again just because of this experience.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
John

JohnPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Bought matching toaster and kettle

published

I bought the kettle and toaster at the same time and I am very happy with the products. Some reviews are I believe are over critical, though some models may have a design fault they are generally rectified. This applies to anything you buy. My only criticism is being unable to register the products on-line, it wouldn't recognise my address and insisted I had the wrong serial number of the kettle.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
Irma

IrmaCanberra

Worst toaster ever!!!

published

We toast crumpets, Italian bread, sour dough bread, turkish bread, sliced bread-none of the settings work well, either it does brown enough or it burns, we have had the toaster for over 6 months, have tried every setting to no avail. We are very disappointed and think fondly of our last toaster, a fraction of the price and toasted well, we had wanted a bigger toaster so bought this one- it has put me off Kitchen Aid for life!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
Toasters

Find out how KitchenAid Artisan compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Frewy

FrewySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Very good toaster

published

I am very satisfied with my Kitchen Aid toaster.
After reading so many reviews on this site about so many toasters, there did not seem to be any toaster that was highly recommended. I could not imagine that there are so many bad toasters in the world!
I was completely at a loss which toaster to buy, and I was not prepared to pay $300+ . After weeks of deliberation I decided on this one, and much to my relief it’s a winner.
my only adverse comment is that it is slow to toast crumpets. Apart from that I am very happy

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
Kyneton

KynetonKyneton

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

great toaster but the overly loud beep makes this impractical for us

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
2 comments
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
Kyneton
Kyneton

it wasn't an email it was contact via the kitchenaid.com.au website contact section. I am assuming the enquiry is on the Kitchenaid database

Maria

MariaPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews

Love it!

published

I love my toaster. It's easy and modern, I use fresh or frozen bread, crumpets,... Settings are easy to work with. Fully automatic, so bread goes down and up on it's on. Beep sounds when ready. My bread comes evenly toasted and it's efficient. It's very easy to clean as well. I'm happy with it and would recommend.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
Lynne

LynneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst toaster ever!

published

This toaster doesn’t toast unless you put it it at least 3 times and make sure you have lots of time you have to wait forever, crumpets that’s at least 30min it’s ridiculous you pay a lot of money because you think it will be decent forget about it it’s usless go get a toaster from Kmart it will probably be a lot better!

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Disappointing

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Bill

Billasked

Artisan

Toaster doesn't toast evenly. What is wrong?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and KitchenAid representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.