??!

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
10
1 star
7

Disappointment at broken lid

published

The food processor has worked well for occasional use to make hummus and salad dressing. The internal plastic pin on the lid has snapped even though the lid has not been dropped. The appliance is over two years old so no longer in warranty. It is nevertheless disappointing that the lid should fail with minimal, careful use. I would not buy another one in case the same thing happened and it is interesting to note that other customers have experienced similar problems with the lids of these machines.

Purchased in May 2016 at The Good Guys for $119.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Monthly
Used for: Dips & Condiments
See all answers
2 comments
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
Fiona H.
Fiona H.

Thanks. Will do.


jilly65

jilly65Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

dont listen to the negative reviews, this item is awesome

published

I LOVE this little chopper. I dont understand people's negative reviews. YES, of course the bowl and lid has to be engaged properly for it to work! Its not rocket science people, its SAFETY. I use this daily, from dicing onions, whizzing up tinned tomatoes, chopping herbs and nuts. I love it so much I got a second bowl, which only cost me $15.

Purchased in April 2019 at catch of the day for $119.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Daily
Used for: Dips & Condiments and Ground Nuts / Nut Butters
See all answers
Petra

PetraGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Great customer service after issues with broken chopper.

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Flybuys reward .

Product is used: Weekly
Used for: Dips & Condiments

Disappointed

published

I bought this to use in our caravan (doesn’t take up space) However I dropped the lid on the vinyl floor of the van and all the screws sheared off from the lid. When my husband tried to fix it he said there was bits off everywhere.. I would have used it 4 times so very disappointing given the cost of the product

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid

Lynton Evans

Lynton EvansColac

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This is the best company I have ever dealt with. They replaced my unit after 2 years without questi

published

I bought this product 2 years ago on line and a small spring broke l tried the local shop in Colac and they told me to ring the company in Sydney and they are great to deal with. I thought rubbish, but I randomly them and could not have been more surprised. They replaced the food processor ever though it was just out of warranty. Thanks Kitchen Aid.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Kim

KimMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Lid failure

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Alexandra

AlexandraMelbourne

Poor quality

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

monty

montymornington

Can't separate bowl from base to clean

published

It's a very nifty little gadget which worked well on the two occasions I have used it; but several people have tried and can't separate the bowl from the base. This means that we are unable to clean it properly. We bought it last year in Mornington, Victoria and it is the only Kitchenmaid product - and I have been using them for a long time - that will have been a complete waste of money unless we are able to clean it.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
1 comment
KitchenAid
Belle AKitchenAid

Hi Monty, please send your Food Chopper's serial number to enquiries@kitchenaid.com.au, alternatively you can call them on 1800 990 990. They will be able to help with warranty and replacements. Kind Regards, The KitchenAid Team

Cheryl

Cheryl

  • 2 reviews

Can’t remove bowl from base

published

As per another review, I cannot remove the bowl from the base after following instructions. My husband has also tried and it does not budge. Don’t want to use too much force as product is plastic. Can’t speak about performance as have not used, was trying to wash bowl as per recommended.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
KitchenAid
Belle AKitchenAid
Susannah N

Susannah NAU

  • 6 reviews

This is handy

published

Processing performance good for nuts and blitzing things up really quickly - i mostly use it for herbs and nuts but not much else which does its job - quite stylish on the kitchen bench and easy to assemble and clean every time. Attachments are standard and this is good handy little tool

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
KitchenAid
Belle AKitchenAid

BillRW

BillRWNarara

Second lid fail

published

I have owned two of these. The lid fell on the floor and broke - my fault. So I organised another one. My wife was drying the lid this morning and it fell apart in her hands. The attachment pegs are very poor quality.
When it was working it was excellent and I used it several times a week.
I will have to look for another brand now I think.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Floki

FlokiGeelong

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic little chopper

published

I just purchased this little Gem. First thing I made was Bruschetta and it was so easy to do. The motor works fabulous there is only 2 levels to use so very easy to use. It is very easy to clean (same as a NutriBullet) I love it that much I just ordered my Mum one!

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Granny May

Granny MayScullin 2614, ACT

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Looking at getting one. One star at the moment

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Nizo

NizoBrisbane, QLD

  • 20 reviews

Works for baby food, but fairly small.

published

This little machine works for small tasks, such as pureeing baby food, but its bowl is too small for anything else. It is very powerful & has two modes (chop and puree). As others commented, the lid is loose and must be held during the entire process. This is not a big deal, since the power button is literally located on top of the lid.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
KitchenAid
Belle AKitchenAid

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you are having problems with your lid, please email your Food Chopper's serial number to enquiries@kitchenaid.com.au and they will be able to help you. Kind Regards, The KitchenAid Team

  • Verified purchase

How do you seperate the bowl from the machine base?

published

We purchased our 5KFC3511AER, S/N WH71076653 today from Myer Chadstone. We cannot get the bowl to seperate from the base. The manual says to hold the bowl at the "handle" in one hand and the "Base" in your other hand, and twist the bowl clockwise. It won't budge even a millimetre. There appears to be locking tabs between each pair of blocks on the bowl skirt that could be preventing the bowl from twisting. I don't want to force the situation and break something. Am I missing something?
Billie Stephan.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
KitchenAid
Belle AKitchenAid
Jenny

JennyHobart, TAS

  • 11 reviews

Great little food processor

published

I basically wanted something that made pesto but without the bulk of a food processor. I came across the food chopper and thought I'd try it and for $139, it was cheaper than a lot of the bigger food processors.

Anyway, it does a great job with pesto, but apart from that, I now use it for everything, and my husband laughs at how often I use it! It is great for chopping carrots, onions and zucchini. I use it for small cakes, and for making pastry in. It is also great for making curry pastes in. It also makes short work of crushing nuts.

It is also really easy to wash - not too many nooks and crannies. And it is small enough to just keep on the bench.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
KitchenAid
Belle AKitchenAid

Robyn4305

Robyn4305North Ipswich

Snaped lid

published

Looks like it is very common that the lid snaps while using. All I was doing when my lid broke was chopping COOKED veggies for my grandson, so it's not real robust. But then I received this and the KitchenAid mixer as a Christmas gift from my family, and I have had to replace the beater in the mixer 2.
So their quality assurance is crap or they are making them cheap and nasty but still charging a lot of money for their products.
So at this time I would not recommend KitchenAid to anyone.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
KitchenAid
Belle AKitchenAid

Julie

JuliePerth

Nice easy to use chopper, poor quality appliance

published

I agree with the previous comment. It was great when it worked. I would have used mine only a dozen times and on reasonably light duty chopping and it did a great job until I smelt a horrible burning smell and noticed smoke coming from the machine. So I'm guessing there is no safety cut off built in. It still worked a few more times after that although I was very hesitant using it. It finally got binned after it could not be taken apart to wash. I would have expected a lot more from a kitchen aid appliance. I would not buy again or recommend this product.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
2 comments
KitchenAid
Belle AKitchenAid
Julie
Julie

I did contact kitchen aid prior to throwing it out but as it had just past the two years warranty they were unable to help any further. I no longer have it to check the serial number but probably still have the receipt somewhere. Cheers Julie


Great chopper - while it works

published

The processing performance was excellent, it looked great and fit easily on the bench. I have to agree with other reviewers - it is not robust. The parts on the lid snapped one day as I was processing - the parts that hold the lid and button you push for processing together. It just failed one day, and that was that. Pity, as when it works it's great.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
KitchenAid
Naomi SKitchenAid

Richardm

Richardm

  • 2 reviews

Disappointing.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Carol Denison

Carol Denisonasked

Cannot remove work bowl from from base - any suggestions??

1 answer
jilly65
jilly65

take out the blade and pull handle to your left


Armida

Armidaasked

I have just bought The Breville Kitchen Aid 5KFC3511 and have not even used it yet. I cant separate the bowl from the base and now I cant get the lid back on. It is very awkward.
I will take it back to Harvey Norman where I bought it to get a demonstration but if I am not happy I will ask them to take it back and get a refund. Any help?

1 answer
Kim
Kim

Hello Armida, I also found that the base and lid are tightly fitted together at first. It does get easier the more you times you separate them. Pick up the whole machine, hold it very firmly against your chest, so that the brand name is against your chest, grasp the handhold on the bowl with your free hand and then twist the bowl to the right. It should unlock. Do this a few times and it should loosen. As for the lid, put the machine on a flat surface, again with the front of the machine facing you, place the lid loosely on the bowl. You should feel the edges slot together, then twist slightly to the left and you should hear and feel it lock into place. I know - it should not be this difficult!


Deanna D

Deanna Dasked

I bought my mini processor about 18 months ago it has sat in my cupboard for 7 months the lid fell apart I’m reluctant to get a replacement as there seems to be a problem with this model it didn’t last long! Are these lids still available? I have 2 other kitchen aid appliances which I love

No answers

Get an answer from our members and KitchenAid representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.