??!
1 photo
KitchenAid Artisan KSC6222

KitchenAid Artisan KSC6222

MPNs: 36273754, 5KSC6222ASS and KSC6222ASS
2.2 from 43 reviews · View Statistics

Should I get a slow cooker, pressure cooker or multi cooker?

As the weather becomes colder, a lot of us look forward to hearty home-cooked meals to warm us up. Luckily, the days of slaving away over a stovetop are over, thanks to slow cookers, pressure cookers and multi cookers. This buying guide will help you decide which kitchen appliance is right for you.

Read now

Reviews

2.2

43 reviews
5
(7)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(24)
  • Build Quality
    1.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    2.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (8)
Previous
Next
Richard C.

Richard C.South East Queensland, QLD

Oh dear KitchenAid!

published

It's now taken 12 hours to badly cook some Lamb Shanks. The lid seal just has open gaps letting any heat escape! I can see the food through the gaps. It's never going to get hot in there. Ive had it a day and its destined for the dustbin. Please don't buy one.

Purchased in August 2020 at Kogan.com for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Paula

PaulaMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

The worst slow cooker I have ever bought

published

So disappointed in this slow cook. I have used it twice I couldn't afford another under cooked meal. 8 plus hours and still not cooked. This slow cooked should be recalled not fit for what it is designed for. The lid doesn't seal. The rubber comes off. I'm not alone in this description.
Bought mine from David Jones.

Purchased at David Jones for A$275.00.

Jane J.

Jane J.Perth, WA

Put it down and walk away

published

Purchased in June 2020 at David Jones for A$220.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Slow Cookers

Find out how KitchenAid Artisan KSC6222 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gracie

GracieSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Terrible slow cooker and waste of money

published

I have the same problem as everyone else who has left comments. An expensive item that just doesn't work properly. The lid does not fit and there are big gaps letting the heat escape. Vegetables not cooked after eight hours and meat chewy and horrible. I've tried various settings but it doesn't make a difference. I gave away a cheaper slow cooker that worked fine because I needed something bigger and thought the kitchenaid brand was good quality. A friend picked up a second hand retro cooker at an opp shop that works better then this one. Such a disappointment and waste of money!

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Jac

JacSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 43 likes

We are talking a slow cooker

published

I love my KitchenAid slow cooker but it is a very SLOW cooker. I own a few slow cookers and some cook fast and some are slow, this is the slowest.

I like that I can leave this cooker on overnight or all day and my meal won't be boiled to death or undercooked. Yes it does take longer but you adjust for that.

I find if you cook on High for an hour or two and then turn down to Low and forget about it, it does the job really well.

I have not had any problems with seals or error codes and I have owned it for about three years.

I Love that you can open just one half of the lid if needs be without the glass dripping liquid everywhere.

This cooker is really great for slow cooking bone broths which I then freeze to make soups in winter.

Purchased in June 2016 at Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
George

GeorgeHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worst ever slow cooker

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$212.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

KitchenAid does NOT mean quality - failed in 18 months

published

This cooker was purchased as a KitchenAid thinking it would be quality. Big mistake - a very expensive item but got the error code E1 and stopped working within 18 months.

2 comments
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
Jon
Jon

Worst product on the market!

published

Worst slow cooker on the market! Use your money elsewhere. I purchased this product over others based on the good name of KitchenAid. It is a huge disappointment. I don't even use it as it turns expensive cuts of meat into a chewy, dry waste of time and money. I have tried several of my favourite slow cooker recipes and they have all failed miserably. Customer service was also hugely disappointing as I was told that my experience is not valid because the BIG gaps in the lid are meant to be there. There are many more reviews similar to mine.

Purchased in May 2019.

Value for Money

Slow is an understatement

published

Haven’t used this appliance a lot but the fact that the lid does not seal and the heat escapes makes it next to useless. At medium heat it doesn’t cook a roast through in six hours. Also getting the seal back on the lid requires and extra arm.

Purchased in June 2018 at Peter's of Kensington.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Kazs9922
Kazs9922

I have been in touch with kitchen aid and they assure me this is how it is designed to help with ‘pressure build up’. I am dubious to say the least, it shouldn’t take 6 hours on medium to cook a roast.

Slow Cookers

Find out how KitchenAid Artisan KSC6222 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TheLoneRanger

TheLoneRangerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 27 reviews
  • 27 likes

One major problem!

published

Not a bad unit but for a supposedly reputable brand it is disappointing that the rubber seal under the lid falls off EVERYTIME you use it and it is a pain in the neck trying to put it back on again.

This has been commented on many times by users but ignored by Kitchenaid - who have NO SUPPORT whatsoever!

Give this machine a big miss!

Purchased in May 2019 at Appliances Online for A$260.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
2 comments
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
TheLoneRanger
TheLoneRanger

Thanks guys but I should mention that this lid seal problem is very common and subject to quite a lot of adverse comments on the various product review forums, gives an otherwise great cooker a bad name! About 1 to 2 stars quite often!

Peter Hanaghan

Peter HanaghanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Display function not working

published

Sadly I have been disappointed with my slow cooker. As a family that all use Kitchen Aid products this purchase has not been one of my best. The bowl needed replacing because of a fault when I brought it home from the shop. As it is used primarily in winter I forgot to advise Kitchen Aid that the digital display screen didn’t work and when I finally rang, it was out of warranty. The extra function that I thought would be great to use if needed hasn’t worked and It continues to irritate both my husband, a fantastic cook, and me. Just thought I would write this review to ensure that warranty dates are adhered to and not forgotten as I did and now I have to look at the cooker and its broken display every winter.

Purchased in June 2015.

Glen

GlenSydney, NSW

Extremely dissapointing

published

Just used our new Kitchenaid Artisan Slow Cooker for the first time and to say I'm disappointed is an understatement. The lid doesn't seal and leaves a permanent gap that lets the heat out, and the seal slips off and takes forever to try to reattach. The product looks good like all Kitchenaid products do, but this item does not even go close to doing what it is intended to do.
Come on Kitchenaid, as a loyal long time customer of your products, when you purchase something from you I expect a quality item, not cheap garbage like this.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
KitchenAid
Thuy B.KitchenAid
Luc W

Luc WSydney

Yikes this is bad

published

Apart from taking a decade to cook anything the quality of the product is subpar. Takes two people just to put the rubber lid gasket on.... which pops off soon after. Would recommend not buying this. Instead look for something with better quality and cooking reviews. Have ruined quite a few cuts of meat with this cooker.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
PJH

PJH

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Returned After Opening.

published

We replaced 25 year old Sunbeam Crockpot with this KitchenAid appliance. Very disappointing to open the box of a favoured brand with seal coming away from lid and the lid did not seal. Noticeable gaps between twin lids. Upon investigation online, found that this was a common problem. Returned and replaced with another brand. Will review other brand - no noticeable problems at this stage.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Lucy

LucyVictoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Takes twice as long to cook as any recipe says

published

This has been such a frustrating appliance, which means I often end up using another method of cooking. Every time we’ve used it, we have ended up needing to cook for hours longer than the recipe says, no matter which setting it’s on. So many disappointing nights of last minute dinner changes when the meat that’s been cooking for hours is still tough. As others have mentioned, the lid sits up right off the bowl so a lot of heat would have to be escaping. I bought this because of the ceramic bowl because I don’t want to use Teflon, so I’m really disappointed we’ve paid a lot for a dust-collecting appliance that takes up precious kitchen space.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Slow Cookers

Find out how KitchenAid Artisan KSC6222 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Harry H.

Harry H.

  • 2 reviews

Looks good, but that's where it ends.

published

I purchased this item expecting it to be a quality item, but unfortunately it's not. The lid does not seal as it should, which allows the heat to escape through the gaps between the dreadful rubber seal and liner. I've persevered with it, for about twelve months, but have never been happy with the cooking results. The item looks great and the liner is easy to clean, but today the high and medium heat buttons have failed to operate, rendering it almost useless. The rubbish bin is about to become its new home. Very disappointed.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Looking for a better product

published

Seal comes off too easily and is a nightmare to replace. Also... the appliance just does not get hot enough, which has led to a couple of disappointing results. Surprised, because I have a kitchen full of Kitchen Aid appliances, and they are fantastic. This one... not so great :(

Date PurchasedAug 2017
KJW

KJW

  • 2 reviews

Lid is very loose and therefore does not cook well at all !!!!

published

I loved the look of this cooker and the fact it had a ceramic bowl. But I have tried to be patient with it and used it a few times. The lid is a really bad design with the clips on the side the glass does not seal !! Therefore it affects:
* cooking time
* uneven cooking food
* display has also just failed
Surely Kitchen Aid you can come up with a better lid option . Being it is a great cooker base.
I have just had a few items from Kitchen Aid recalled and replace. And this is just another item .I have emailed today and will wait a hopefully quick response.
I would not purchase this item.
Kym.... Sunshine Coast.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Not happy :(

published

My husband purchased me this slow cooker but like some other dissatisfied customers on here i found the lid will not seal properly and let's too much heat out, surely by now kitchenaid has come up with a proper simple glass lid for this product. If it only kept the heat in it would be a great slow cooker.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Karly

Karlysydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 13 likes

It's a love/hate relationship

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Jane

Janeasked

I purchased it 2 weeks ago. The meat cooks well on low for 8-10 hours but sprouts carrots and potatoes are still hard, i cut them into small pieces of equal size and still have hard veg, not what i expected after using a cheap large one for years, is the low setting the problem? maybe i have to co ok on high for 8-10 Hours.

1 answer
Adele
Adele

Jane, I found I mostly cooked on high especially
with soups which contained dried lentils and
various types of veggies. Unfortunately the
digital display doesn’t work now so is useless.
Will buy another cooker without a digital
display!

Adele

Adeleasked

The digital display is not working properly -
Impossible to read. Why did this suddenly
happen and can it be fixed?

No answers
ldavies

ldaviesasked

A lot of your reviewers have mentioned the lid not sealing properly. Has the lid changed? I am interested in buying the slow cooker however not if the lid is a problem.

3 answers
Grams2
Grams2

I don’t think the lid seal has changed. There is a rubber seal around the two half lids, when they are shut they lock into place. The whole lid also has a seal, but just sits on the top of the bowl. I read these reviews too, and hesitated about buying one too. But a slow cookers lid never seals onto the bowl, it is just supposed to sit on top. I have never owned a slow cooker where the main lid seals. So I don’t understand why these reviews said their food didn’t cook because the lid didn’t seal....I can’t grasp that reason.
A slow cooker lid just sits on top and allows a little of the heat to escape from under the lid, as in it bubbles or lifts a tiny bit sometimes, it’s how they work. A pressure cooker has to have the lid seal into place for it to cook properly.
I found this one exactly like my old Russell Hobbs one, except it’s more fancy and digital, and way more heavy. I also only hand wash, as I’m thinking this maybe be a contributing factor to these reviews in something has gone wrong with the rubber seals. Though I can’t see that happening, as you can use a sheet of tin over the top and it would work the same way.
I haven’t yet tried the program on the slow cooker, I have just been using the Low, Medium and High. But it works to perfection. Because it’s bigger than my old one I can cook a roast and vegetables as well. I just have to remember to put all the vegetables in the bottom and the roast on top.
I recommend this product as a brilliant slow cooker with bells and whistles, but like I said it’s very heavy. I have been using recipes from slow cooker books, and they are all delicious.

John
John

We haven't found any problem with the lid. It is tricky putting back on after washing, and we only wash it in the sink ,not the dishwasher. Have read that some say it doesn't cook the meat that well, but just be patient and if under cooked keep it going longer and you should be fine. Can't speak too highly of this product, it is great.

ldavies
ldavies

Thank you both for your comments, it’s a great help!

Get an answer from our members and KitchenAid representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.