??!
5 photos
Kmart Cordless Stick Vacuum VC101

Kmart Cordless Stick Vacuum VC101

MPN: VC101
3.1 from 80 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.1

80 reviews
5
(21)
4
(20)
3
(7)
2
(10)
1
(22)
Previous
Next
Treker

TrekerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great value.

published

We bought this cordless vac mainly just for the occasional small mess on the carpet or tiles. We have since upgraded to the Dyson V11, which is fantastic for all kinds of cleaning with a vac. I am now using the K-Mart home & co vac in the garage and it works great on the old carpet I have on the floor, as well as on the concrete and cleaning up messes on the work bench. The secret to keeping it running well is to make sure it's kept clean, including the filter for the best suction. I also found that the brush on the head is removable for easier cleaning and that there's a cap on the end of it that needs to be taken off and cleaned, due to hair build up around it.

Purchased at K-Mart.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Susie

Susie

  • 3 reviews

Disappointed

published

Was so excited for this product but fills up very quick and barely any suction- I have to go over floors 4-6 times and empty fairly often. At the price I hoped for more than what seems to be a toy vacuum

Purchased in August 2019 for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Gloria P.

Gloria P.

  • 2 reviews

Suction is bad

published

Worked great when i first purchased it. Have had it for a few months now and the suction is so bad. I've vacuumed on my carpet and tiles and it'll pick up some dirt/dust but not all of it. I end up going over it several times. I even have to pull out the broom and dustpan because the suction is so bad. Little crumbs get stuck in the rotating head so i end up having to shake it out over the bin. I clean it out often but that doesnt do much difference. Not worth the money. I'm now on the lookout for a new vacuum.

Purchased in March 2019 at Kmart for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Kmart Cordless Stick Vacuum VC101 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zoe

ZoeSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Cheap but good vacuum

published

i have this vacuum for more then one year and it works very good! As we have a toddler at home easily iwe get messy carpets and tiles but this vacuum safe the time and doing the job in short time!

Purchased in February 2019 at Kmart for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Katelynmuzz

Katelynmuzz

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfection only lasts a few weeks

published

I purchased this and instantly fell in love, but the more I used it the worse it got! No matter how much I clean it out, the suction just keeps getting worse and worse!
I don’t have pets and I’m not a dirty person so it’s not like it has mass amounts to pick up, yet it just doesn’t seem to be able to cut it.
I use it on carpet, tiles in the bathroom and vinyl Lino in the kitchen, it works well on all 3 surfaces, however as I said the suction isn’t anything to rave about.

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers
JMc

JMcMurray Region, NSW

This sucks (not)

published

This vacuum is used on Tiles, carpet, floorboards. It does not work well on any surface. It has been a disappointing buy to say the least. Would not recommend this vacuum to anyone. Have actually considered using it as a blower instead. Might make a good toy to go along with the kids plastic mowers.

Purchased at Kmart Retail Stores for A$99.00.

Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Sha

ShaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Does the job

published

Love it .does the job I would rather by this than spend hundreds on a dyson I use it everyday .have wooden floorboards.collects dust easily on carpet.wil recommend to all coz initially I also did not want to get this but thought will give be a try hence the price.i wasn't cooked it nailed it.im very happy and impressed about it

Purchased in January 2020 at Kmart for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Divia kaura

Divia kauraMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Ordinary vacuum

published

I bought this vacuum last year, it wasn't too bad, did the work of cleaning ,only problem was the brush in front where hairs get tangled and they were a mess to clean. It was very very difficult to clean this vacuum.

Purchased at Kmart for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Tara Gibbon

Tara GibbonSouth West, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great, lightweight cordless vacuum

published

This vacuum gives a lot more than it looks. Has 2 settings for suction and very easy to empty and clean. Fantastic value for the work that it does in your home.

Purchased in September 2019 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Kmart Cordless Stick Vacuum VC101 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JKvic

JKvicGippsland, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Ordinary

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Kmart Online Store for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Hanane E

Hanane E

  • 2 reviews

You get what you pay for

published

Works well for the first couple of months but then the suction gets worse and worse. Definitely in this case not a good buy. Targets version of the stick vacuum works much much better

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
Amayzingone

AmayzingoneSydney, NSW

  • 71 reviews
  • 12 likes

Unsuccessful attempt to copy a Dyson Cordless Vacuum Stick

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Kmart for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
H M M

H M MSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

I wanted to like this one - I really did

published

Got this one to deal with kitty litter spills in the bathroom but unfortunately the messy moggy has won this round - this unit is not up to the task of vaccuming kitty litter and once it's switched off, all the litter comes sliding back out of the pipe......zero suction even at the highest battery sucking setting - sorry kmart, this one is a thumbs down

Purchased in March 2019 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Tashy T.

Tashy T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good product

published

Used on tiled floor. Very good performance, would definitely recommend this product. Very light and easy to use. Try it you won't be disappointed. Kmart offers great appliances for reasonable prices.

  • Verified purchase

The only star I can give is for battery life. Unfortunately the suction is non-existent.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Kmart for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Kmart Cordless Stick Vacuum VC101 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
V Kelly

V KellySouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Basic and Functional but Lacks Power

published

I use this only on tiles for quick cleanups after kids breakfast etc and have tried in a rug but it just doesn't have the power to pick up on carpet. It would be ideal for a holiday home. It's compact, light, has good maneuverability, easy easy to empty and charge and can convert to a small hand held with attachments for dusting and blinds. I wouldn't recommend it for everyday use though. I have to drag out the proper vacuum to do all the floors properly. It's budget friendly but lacks any real oomph.

Purchased in October 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$95.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
See all answers
Momma-Sar

Momma-SarPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Worst Kmart purchase

published

We have timber floor through out our house. The only tiles we have are in the bathroom and we only have 2 rugs. The vacuum will suck the dirt up and hold it until you lift it up or turn it off and it spits it all back out. The only thing it does suck up is dust and cat hair. Not helpful when you have a baby who feeds themselves and no dog. At the time it looked like a great alternative to the Dyson and was a fraction of the price but there is a reason for that and I wouldn’t recommend.

Purchased in November 2018 at Kmart for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Jaz

JazHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Quick an easy

published

This vacuum works wonders on both carpet and tiles, I have tried more expensive vacuums in the past and this cordless stick is by far the most convenient and easiest to use, all components are easily detached making cleaning the appliance out a breeze.
With small children and a hectic schedule it’s great to know I can just charge it and use it when needed saving me a lot of time dealing with cords and lugging a heavier appliance throughout a two level home.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Mikamber

MikamberSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product carpet

published

Bought this stick vac from Kmart 99$ great little product for during the week vacuums. Can’t fault it. It picks up every thing and is light weight and easy to use considering I am a mother of two a toddler and a school child who love craft. Def happy with purchase and has no big ticket cost or brand name. Great length too unlike some vacs that really put pressure on your back.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Probably would not buy again...

published

We mostly use this vacuum on a hard wood floor. Unfortunately, hair gets caught around the spinning floor head part which is quite hard to unwind. Also, the width of the head is quite small, so you feel like you are putting in much more time and effort to vacuum even a small area. Also, as it is a stick, you can't use the unit to easily suck things that aren't on the floor, like you can with a flexible hose type of vacuum cleaner.

Purchased in February 2019 at Kmart for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Bec S

Bec Sasked

Has anyone got the charger they dont use mine broke

No answers
Random User

Random Userasked

My vacuum stopped working all of a sudden, it turns on for a brief 5 seconds and turns off. It also has a red flashing light on the battery pack. Please advise what to do?

2 answers
Divia kaura
Divia kaura

If it is under warranty (usually has 1year warranty) take it back to Kmart, they will replace it. Or refund you the money. They usually ask for its receipt, but even if you don't have receipt, they should change it because it's there home brands. Hope this helps.

Tara Gibbon
Tara Gibbon

Sounds like a battery problem. Once my vaccum is charged I take it off charge and when I use it I make sure to drain the battery so I can fully charge it again. I hope this helps.

Justin

Justinasked

Hi,
We have one of these things and has a issue.
The machine turns on then turns off again. Has yellowish light on the side of the battery.
When on charge no light at all
Any ideas?

1 answer
Amayzingone
Amayzingone

Sounds like either your charger or battery has failed. Could also be dirty or corroded contacts preventing proper charging. Make sure the charger plug is seated all the way in the socket and also not loose. Try twisting the plug inside the socket to establish better contact. According to Dyson V6 Stick vac support.....A solid amber light indicates that the battery is not charging due to a temporary fault (e.g. too hot/cold). If this fails time for a new one. But go for one of the new Dysons this time. Chalk and cheese. The VC101 pales into insignificance compared with a real Dyson Vac Stick. Good luck!

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.