??!
3 photos
Kogan KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW)

Kogan KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW)

MPN: KAPORAIR16MA
3.4 from 17 reviews

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

In the sweltering summer months, a portable air conditioner is a nifty way to stay cool. With the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. You may have wanted a small, cheap portable AC but just discovered the term ‘reverse cycle.’ Or what if you can’t decide between a Delonghi or a Dimplex? This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now

Reviews

3.4

17 reviews
5
(3)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Room Type
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.3 (3)
  • Portability
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Mandy B.

Mandy B.

  • 3 reviews

Perfect to meet my needs

published

Had trouble connecting to wireless but I wasn’t too concerned just needed to get closer. Did have to tape up the hosing to the aircon outlet and of course you have to empty water, but I use a watering can and put it on my plants.

Purchased in April 2019 at Kogan.com for A$479.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

WazzaGJ

WazzaGJAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for a quick cool down during heatwaves.

published

I've been using this unit to supplement my evaporative ducted system due to water restrictions. It's been great for cooling down rooms quickly. It's both quite & compact in comparison to many others offering 16,000 btu's.
It does as advertised & great value for money.

Purchased in October 2019 at Kogan for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
agilis

agilisPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Does the job very well

published

Purchased this portable unit last summer and we have used it in our large master bedroom and out in our closed in patio. It does the job very well & helps us to sleep better at nights. Pretty good considering we are in Perth and it gets pretty hot! Didn't want to review it until we had used it enough to give an honest appraisal. Happy so far.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ShanellJ

ShanellJSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lovely

published

I didnt expect this air con to be as good as it is but it is amazing! It doesn’t take long to cool down our whole loungeroom and once everything is closed up the room gets quite cool and it’s just bliss on those super hot muggy days here in Brisbane, if you live here you know those days I’m talking about! It was easy to set up and we also duct taped the window kit to the window frame so it’s nice and secure. Other portable air cons we’ve had in the past don’t even compare to this one! It blasts cold air throughout the room instead of just one direction so everyone in different areas can feel cool instead of just the person sitting directly in front of it. Probably our best purchase this year by far. Very happy family here.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
invpzg

invpzgSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 11 likes

I can now sleep during the summer!!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Hamptonroses

HamptonrosesBlue Mountains NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good value for money, high quality

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Loud as a truck

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Rob_Biggs

Rob_Biggs*

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent for the Price. Good Quality

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Chris

ChrisSt Ives

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

sturdy machine, still not enough to cool down a room when its 40C

published

Bought this machine and was hope that it can cool down a room when the heatwave come during summer, unfortunately, even this 16000btu portable unit still can't do it, the exhaust hose is getting so hot so we use emergency blanket to wrap around it, so think again if you really want to get a really cool room, may be split system is the only way.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
I like toast

I like toastbrisbane

  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

When you can't afford a split system

published

The unit is heavy but on castors. It was easy to install in my sliding windows and the duct exhaust kit is extendable to fit a variety of windows. The cooling unit is powerful, hence the weight, and cools my small living area beautifully. This is my first air conditioning unit and I wish I had invested sooner. Kogan received an endorsement for the best value air conditioners from a major industry ratings organisation and I totally agree. Great value for money, well built and a tad stylish! Good product Logan!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Allan Vousden

Allan VousdenSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

How Can Kogan sell items that have not been tested

published

The sound is good for me,It is Not The Problem of it,it Leaked Water all over my Carpet in my Bedroom,i really think that Kogan should test their products before sending them to Customers,especially when the product is Advertised as not needing emptying out the water as it is built with 'Misting Technology' that gets rid of the water,it's difficult for an Aged Pensioner who has disabilities to live in a bedroom that has water soaked carpet from a Shonky Air Conditioner. I contacted them about it,they sent me another one at no cost to me which ended up being Perfect,I'm Completly Satisfied about the second Air Con. but it Sticks in my mind why they didn't test the first one before they delivered it to me.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
theofficialdad.com

theofficialdad.comSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great value for money

published

The cold air is fantastic! The external drainage feature is also a plus. The only negative I have is that the cold air shoots upwards. It was hard to tell from the product images how the air venting / swing would operate. Delivery was super swift (3 days). I have no regrets buying from Kogan.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
GTR186S

GTR186S

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

dosn't wok as stated. liked to a 3/4 HP not a 3 HP

published

Not satisfied.
Do's not do the job.
The Lounge Room size is 27 Square metre, In Darwin Northern Territory. the broken down A/c is a Kelvinator 2.5 Hp Split System and it kept the room cool. this unit will not lower the temp below 26 Degree C. even running all night.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
wendy.tan.90857

wendy.tan.90857Queensland, Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Happy with it.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Kelvin Wu

Kelvin WuAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

User manual is so confusing and window kit is not 130cm as said

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
2 comments
Kelvin Wu
Kelvin Wu

It's been 10 days already, still no reply from kogan customer service department. No idea if they are going to fix my window kit issue?

Kelvin Wu
Kelvin Wu
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Naresh

NareshBrisbane

Service of Kogan is worst

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Edward

Edward

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Pretty good.

published

This was a good buy for me as summer is around the corner. Cools down the room perfect, however, this unit can be a little noisy. It is fine since I'm used to sleeping with ear plugs. The amount of water discharged is about 1 bucket over 7 hours. (Ikea white trash bin size) I accidently forgot to pour the water and woke up to my carpet getting wet as water was spilling over the bucket.

Overall, I am quite satisfied as my room can get pretty heated and the portable aircon does a good job in cooling it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
3 comments
Kogan
RossKogan
Edward
Edward

Oh! Haha. I meant like, I am using the drainage hose to drain into a bucket. (Since my aircon is placed far from any drain or toilet) of course, having a super long tube would be even better. Hahah

Kogan
RossKogan
See all Kogan Portable Air Conditioner reviews

Questions & Answers

Frank H.

Frank H.asked

KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW)

I need to replace damaged adaptor b (round mouth) but have no idea where to buy one around the Ipswich Queensland area. Any help? Frank Hurley. email : [email removed]

No answers
Alfred Ian M.

Alfred Ian M.asked

KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW)

Convert it to hp?

No answers
Masroor

Masroorasked

KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW)

I have bought Kogan 4.7kW Portable Air Conditioner (16,000 BTU),
For COOLING mode is this necessary to remove upper drainage plug and attach hose for water drainage? OR can I just it use it without draining water?

1 answer
Hamptonroses
Hamptonroses

I have been using ours without draining water as it has not been necessary. I was worried about that too, but so far it hasn’t required any drainage at all, which is good. Hope this helps :)

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.