??!
4 photos
Kogan KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW)

Kogan KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW)

MPN: KAPORAIR14GA
3.4 from 69 reviews

Portable Air Conditioners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of portable air conditioner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(17)
(21)
(14)
(4)
(13)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (8)
  • Room Type
    • Large Bedroom (5)
    • Small Bedroom (3)
    • Living/Dining Area (2)
    • Small Office (1)
    • Whole House (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (8)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.3 (9)
  • Portability
    4.3 (8)
yasmin.border

yasmin.borderHunter Region, NSW

  • Verified purchase

So much better than I expected

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Kogan.com for $349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Large Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Debbie B.

Debbie B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Fantastic Kogan portable air conditioner

published

living in qld now was the best buy to be able to move it from room to room when needed have recommended to family and friends already just love this product

Purchased in February 2020 at Kogan.com for $349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not sure
Room Type Large Bedroom and Whole House
See all answers
Inez

InezNorthern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic kogan product

published

Ive had my kogan air conditioner two years and still going, its saved me a lot of trouble and money. Also have brought another as its good in the bigger room

Purchased in May 2018 at Kogan.com for $380.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dutchie00

Dutchie00Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 22 reviews

Perfect for our needs

published

Love it bought one 14 months ago, and we have just purchased another one. The app is really handy when the remote is not nearby. Our unit can get up to 42C on hot days and this unit will cool it down to 25C in no time. The 2nd unit was bought for our bedroom to replace an old one. The DE-Humidify setting works well on hot steamy days. I tried the heat function in our winter time and that works well too. I did have problems with some other Kogan products and was hesitant in getting these but had no problems. I just wish that the Tube was a bit longer, but that's all I can say about the negative part.

Purchased in January 2020 at Kogan.com for $379.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom and Small Office
See all answers
Jamie

JamieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Just an expensive fan!!

published

Product arrived in a timely fashion. Looks great but turned it on and it has ZERO cooling capacity! To make it worse there is almost no way to contact kogan

Purchased in December 2019 at Kogan.com for $440.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
2 comments
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Jamie
Jamie
C. Red

C. RedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

The WORST Portable Air Conditioner I have ever owned

published

Purchased in December 2018 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
brad

bradSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

great unit but broke

published

bought it 2 yrs ago and sold as we got ducted .
the swing broke within a week of buying it but did not affect the unit working it cooled real well and was not too loud besides when it turned on and off .

Purchased in January 2016 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
leanne mcmullen

leanne mcmullenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Waste of money

published

Water cooling component keeps breaking down and continually gets blocked even though it was cleaned regularly. It now only works as a very expensive fan as it cost a few hundred dollars and works no better than a twenty dollar pedestal fan

Purchased in September 2018 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
2 comments
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
leanne mcmullen
leanne mcmullen

we returned the product after 1 to 2 days of use and a new one was sent . the same problem happened after a few days. Obviously this product has a faulty component which should be investigated.

charchie

charchieSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

It’s just OK

published

It does the job for a 6m x 6m room.
It’s quite noisey compared to other units I have owned.
The WIFI smart remote is not very intuitive at all and the manual supplied is for another unit.
It does work but it’s not the best out there, yet again for $399 you get what you pay for.

Purchased in February 2019 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matty C

Matty CSydney, NSW

Pretty Good

published

I bought my unit the Sunday before a public holiday and it still arrived on the Thursday at lunchtime which was fantastic. That day it was 38 degrees where I live with about 90%humidity. Cooled the house significantly in 30 minutes, left it on and went out for 2 hours and came back the room was lovely and cool. A little noisy but well worth the money for the 10/15 odd days that it got to the high 30s and low 40s in my town. Should have bought it at the start of summer.

Purchased in January 2019.

Carlos

CarlosSydney

  • Verified purchase

Cheap brand...

published

Anyone who wants to buy this....please read this first. I put on this small room that could only fit a single bed and it takes till morning to cool it...its just a blower with a bit of cold air. And the noise that it makes...cant believe there is still an aircon like this one nowadays. Its like running a generator inside your room. I woke up 4 times...it should have come with an earplug. Its a cheap china made component...never going to buy from dick smith kogan again.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
meagain

meagainJervis bay, Nsw

  • 11 reviews

Oh bless The

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Chris

Chrismelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Decent for my purpose, but build quality isnt the best.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Ed H

Ed HSydney

  • 2 reviews

Works OK, Consumes a lot of electricity

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Notoca

NotocaPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews

An Air Con That Isn't An Air Con

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dayjob2

Dayjob2melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good Little Aircon

published

This saved our hides this summer. Our bedroom really cops the afternoon sun and this saved the day. It has just enough output to take the edge off the hottest days and it quite cold if you are directly in front of it. Its more like a fan that blows refrigerated air. They make more powerful models but this was cheap! It is well enough made and comes with a window kit and air hose.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Tigers2017

Tigers2017Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Noisy Works Well

published

This was a big help over summer but its loud. We live in Melbourne so it's only really hot over a few months but the hot days are often over 40c. Our lounge room just cooks on days like that but its not worth getting full built in air conditioning. We ordered this Kogan unit and I had my doubts but I can report I was very wrong in a good way! It did a remarkable job of cooling for us. The secret with these is to block up anywhere the air can escape and make a cool zone. It really did well but it does make quite a lot of noise while its running. rather has a bit of noise and a cool room though so I am giving this 4 stars.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
David

DavidGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good alternative to expensive Split System A/C

published

Although the area we are trying to cool is larger than the capacity rated on this portable unit, it was still able to keep us comfortable on those extreme high humidity 40 deg days during Summer. The unit is very portable and easy to use. Installation of the window seal was a bit tricky but ok once you took the time to understand the process. Although I knew the unit needed to be vented, I was a bit disappointed that it was clearly stated when purchasing the unit online. I was quite disappointed in how loud the unit is considering the unit was advertised as being quite.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
dgarcia

dgarciaAustralia

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Works as intended, very happy.

published

I purchased this unit around a month ago from Kogan.com (14000BTU model). I am very pleased with the cooling power of this unit, it cools down smaller rooms very quickly, even non insulated ones. I have only use the heating function once but it seems to heat quite well too. The unit moves quite well on solid floors but gets stuck on carpet. The unit has carry handles but is extremely heavy, I would recommend two people to lift it. It is about average in terms of noise for a portable air conditioner. It is quiet enough I can sleep with it on, however running it for a long period (as with most reverse cycle air conditioners) does dehumidify the air a lot.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Manjot Grewal

Manjot GrewalSydney

  • 2 reviews

Ok. .Ok

published

I bought it from Kogan and it was delivered within 7 days. I am using it since December 2017. It struggles a bit to cool the room when the temp gets 35+. It just blows cold air into the room and after a few hours the room does feel cooler (colder) but as soon as you turn off the unit the room heats up again. You need to be close to the unit to feel the cold air. The biggest drawback is its swing function. It just swings up and down. It's a little noisy but not too annoying. Overall configurations wise it is much cheaper than other Brands available in the market.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 1 of 4

See all Kogan Portable Air Conditioner reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter

Peterasked

I want to run my 4.1kw kogan portable AC from a generator--how do I find out which generator can do this?

1 answer
Inez
Inez

Hi there! From what i know, kogan has a range of generators online, But their customer service is superb. If you contact them through their website they will be able to assist you further.

Tracy

Tracyasked

I have had my units for 4 years and can’t fault it but recently it has started to blow warm air when on cooling mode, any idea what could be wrong , regulator or do these units require regasing?
Thanks

No answers
Mariane A.

Mariane A.asked

Is there anywhere to get a replacement cap/plug for the water reservoir? Ours appears to have gone missing

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.