1 photo
Kumho Ecsta 4X KU22

Kumho Ecsta 4X KU22

4.1 from 12 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Passenger Tyres in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Kumho? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.1
12 reviews
5
(4)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (2)
  • Wet Weather Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Durability
    3.5 (2)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next
atlantics
atlanticsSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

good mid-range tyres

published

bought these tyres in sep 2017 and have ridden over 29,000Km. I would have liked to see the wear a bit more but other than that good all-around tyres i.e. low noise, grips well in dry and wet and rides comfortably.

Purchased in September 2017 at Tyrepower for $500.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Darrin R
Darrin RSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great tyres. Love the way they ride

published

Have driven my car in dry and wet conditions. The Kumho tyres grip the road very well and don't have a lot of road noise. Handle very well around tight corners as well. Highly recommend these tyres.

Purchased in October 2019 at Tyrepower for $640.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

trippshhh
trippshhhMid North Coast, NSW
  • 8 reviews

what a difference good tryes make

published

i bought a set of these kumo's for my mercedes and they make such a difference to the way my car preforms and handles , terrific in the wet and the dry you dont get a lot of road noise from them either i would certainly recommend these tyres for a sedan or sports coupe like mine , iam also getting little wear from using them so they have been a win win for me and i am sure you would be pleased with them as well

Carmercedes 200c kompressor coupe
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Decent for the price

published

Bought 4 tires changed from Yokohama c drive 2 the kumho ecsta ku22 are really good in the wet you can feel the grip and have enough grip in the dry for the more spirited drivers like myself. Would recommend the Tyre as so far they are holding up quite well with 6000km on them.

Car2007 honda civic sport
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Kumho Ecsta 4X KU22 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve
SteveNSW, 2019
  • 29 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified

Better than the old ECSTA 4X

published
CarCitroen C4 e-HDi
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
daveynick
daveynickSunshine Coast
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Great set of tyres

published

The tyres are extremely durable after 1 year of moderate usage. Performance has been slightly poorer than previous Goodyear tyres though. On road noise, especially when on the freeway is quite low. Be sure to rotate the tyres though as I found out with my previous set on a Nissan 350Z!

Car2006 Nissan 350Z
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
rabs
rabsSydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Second generation Kumho ECSTA 4X II (KU22) - best tyres ever bought!

published
Car2003 BA Falcon XR6 Turbo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Damo R
Damo RBrisbane
  • 2 reviews

Hold on well in the dry but....

published

My car sits in the garage all week,brand new wheels and these tyres on the front.discovered steering shake when driving off intially. Bit of research discovered that these are notorious for flat spotting when sitting for extended periods. Very soft compound,good for grip,not good for sitting.Explains why the shake eventually went away. They sit on 20"rims on my fg falcon.wont be getting these again.

CarFord fg mk2 xr6 turbo sedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
km
kmsmithfield
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

They hang on but start saving for new tires immediately

published

Good tire. Smooth, quiet, very good grip wet and dry but you may be replacing them within 12 months. They are on our second car (towing mostly) I noticed wear within months, moved them all around the car to even out wear but now they're all at their wear indicators. This car isn't driven every day and needed replacing at 13 months, The car I drive every day does 600k a week on kumho KH17 fitted 2 months later and will probably need replacing around the end of 2017.

CarAU XR8
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Kumho Ecsta 4X KU22 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Achtlos
AchtlosCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 49 reviews
  • 21 likes

Good grip in most situations, 3-6 month wear time max

published

Although these are sometimes on excellent special prices, these tyres simply do not last long enough to be good value (fitted to a 2009 VE Commodore).

The grip in wet and dry great, silent on highways, handle great. But they are a soft compound and compared to closely priced Bridgstones RE92, they get half the lifespand for identical driving conditions.
The grip, noise and handling of the Bridgstones is better in most scenarios.

10+ years ago I used to run dunlop exclusively on my cars, they too also had a very soft compound.

For modern, heavy cars, I don't recommend these tyres. They wear out too fast.
For older, lighter cars, the softer compound offers grip and handling these cars would have never had previously.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GDR
GDRPerth
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Can't fault these tyres

published

4/ 205-50-17 fitted to Mazda 3 SP23 and now needing replacement after 70,000K's suburban driving! Rotated regularly through KTAS tyre plan. They replaced Dunlops after fed up with tyre noise and the Kumhos cut the noise with no noticeable loss off handling. Great mileage!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DJ
DJUPPER MOUNT GRAVATT

Good tyres

published

I got more than 60000 out of these tyres on a combined highway, city and mountain driving. Had two puncture - a sharp rock piercing and a 5 inch screw (yes, it was huge and no, I didn't see it on the road!).

Is slightly higher on the road noise level, but has provided excellent traction everytime I've needed it.
reliable, great traction, reasonable price
slightly noisy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Kumho Ecsta 4X KU22 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Cracker
Crackerasked

What compound are these ?

1 answer
Steve
Steve

The compound of these tyres are as follows:

1. Optimal 4 season performance delivered by applying endurance race proven new concept silica.

2. High Grip Resin - Improvement of both grip power and traction capability by applying HGR (High Grip Resin).

3. High dispersible & particle size silica By applying brand new nano-size Silica, optimises wear and wet traction capability without compromise.

The Tread:

1. Handling - Inside tread - Improves water clearance for high levels of wet weather performance.

2. Outside tread - Optimises cornering performance.

3. Long lasting wear - Extended wear rates - Multi-angled tread block stiffens the tread area for greater strength.

4. Low noise- Tread pitch sequencing - Delivers low noise levels for day to day driving.

Rim Size 15 - 20 inch
Series 55 - 35
Speed Ratings W - V
Pattern Designs Asymmetric

My vehicle a '2012 Citroen C4 Mk2 e-HDi Hatch' came standard with Michelin Primacy 225/45x17 and these Kumho Ecsta 4X KU22 225/45x17 ($170.00 each balanced and fitted at K-Mart Tyres) are a much better tyre both in handling and grip in wet/dry conditions and especially in road noise, which the Michelins are very bad and loud at. So far I've had these since October 2017 and I've done 20,000Kms with them and they don't show any wear what's so ever. Got them at a very competitive price and I'm very happy with them. I can recommend these highly.

Anastasia
Anastasiaasked

I have an Ford XR 6 2010 and these tyres were recommended as well as (Kumuho KU22 - 24545 R17)
Can you assist on this product?

1 answer
Highlander99
Highlander99

Hi. My wife has the KU22 sized 235/45/17 on her car a Peugeot and they are excellent. They have done 20000k's so far with very little wear evident. We replaced the equivalent size Continental Contact Sports because they wear too quickly. The KU22's have excellent grip in the wet or dry. My wife's cousin has used Kumho's for a number of years on his work vehicle and has the KU22 on his BMW. I am replacing the Bridgestone Sereneity Plus tyres with KU22's next week on our Jaguar. I can recommend these highly. I think they are great value for money.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.