2 photos
Michelin Primacy 3 ST

Michelin Primacy 3 ST

4.8 from 131 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Passenger Tyres in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Michelin

Pros

Suitable for all weather conditions
Smooth ride
Quiet

Cons

Expensive

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (10)
  • Wet Weather Handling
    4.6 (9)
  • Durability
    4.1 (9)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.8 (9)
Previous
Next
Tony R.
Tony R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best tyres I've ever had

published

These are great all round tyres. I have a Mazda 6 and these tyres have covered just over 80,000km and are still well and truly legal. I am a reasonably conservative driver but I always drive to the speed limit and do 40% urban and 60% rural driving. These tyres were so much quieter than the original factory tyres which were stuffed at 58,000 kms. As the Michelins approach the end of their life they are becoming noisier but they still hold the road like new in all conditions. They have worn evenly across the four tyres and have probably contributed to the fuel economy on long trips with the car consistently averaging 6.4 - 6.5L/100 km.

Purchased in November 2017 at JAX Tyres.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ed.S
Ed.SHunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

No complaints

published

These tyres are coming to the end of their life after just over 50 000km.
They have provided faultless grip both wet and dry all the way to the end.
They are quiet, provide good handling and comfort.
No complaints. Will be replacing them with Primacy 4.
Mixed road conditions.

Purchased in April 2018 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $210.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dejan M.
Dejan M.Perth, WA

IT WAS A BRILLIANT TYRE

published
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Robbie_D
Robbie_DSouthwest, VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Ideal to reduce road noise in a Mazda 3

published

Mazda 3s are notorious for excessive road noise. The fitment of Michelin Primacy 3STs to our 2006 Mazda 3 reduced the road noise considerably on all road surfaces including coarse chip bitumen.

As the tyres have worn (now about 40,000kms) the tyre noise has increased but is less tyre noise than the previous tyres fitted.

Grip on all road surfaces and conditions is excellent. As the tyres have worn the grip levels remain unchanged.

After being fitted for 40,000 kms the tyres are now about to 2/3s worn. So can expect about 70,000 - 80,000 kms of life from these tyres.

These are excellent tyres and ideal for reducing road noise in a Mazda 3.

Purchased in June 2018 at JAX Tyres for $530.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Primacy 3 ST compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kathryn O
Kathryn OMid North Coast, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not as expected

published

travel long trips on dodgy country road. Purchased these tyres based on reviews and life expectancy - less than 30000 kms on my Ford Territory. Not impressed. Probably would have been better off buying cheaper tyres would have got the same kms out of them. Do not buy if you live in rural areas.

Purchased in December 2018 for $180.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon L.
Simon L.Sydney, NSW

satisfied and excellent service.

published

Great Tyres! Smooth and quiet drive. I was skeptical at first but I was impressed, very comfortable ride. Never had any issues, will be buying them again. Very satisfied and excellent service.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pea
pea
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Great Tyre, Smooth Ride, But Weird Crack Like Wear Sign Around the Side Wall Corner

published

When writing this review, my car has been using all 4 tyres of Michelin Primacy 3 for over 1 year and 1 month. So far, I enjoy the smooth and quite enough ride from the tyres. They also show a good sign of durability, with the exception of the weird crack/dent looking wear sign all around the corner of their side walls.

Purchased in April 2018 at Costco for $148.98.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Jandev
JandevGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

very smooth ride

published

They were Tyres bought for my Camry Altise, Excellent handling in all weather conditions and smooth ride.Lasts long as tyres are rotated and wheels are balanced once in 10,000 Km.

Purchased in July 2017 at Costco for $698.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alicia
AliciaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great tyres

published

These are the tyres that came on my car when I bought it brand new in 2014. I’ve since had to get all 4 replaced at 60000km. For the price what you pay for then I think that’s it’s great mileage out of them considering other brands that are cheaper and do less km’s

CarFord Focus sport
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Primacy 3 ST compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Michelin Primacy 3 ST

published

I feel that these tyres are a hard compound, with a soft sidewall. There is low speed bumpiness and noise, yet on the highway, there was a softness and floatiness. By comparison, the Pirelli Cinturato P7's seemed to have both a soft compound and a soft flexible side wall. Long term, I suspect that the harder compound Primacy 3 ST may have slightly better fuel consumption, and longer treadlife. It is all a compromise. However, for a luxury car, and considering that the Primacy is a premium touring tyre, I would have thought Michelin should have used both soft compound, and flexible sidewalls combined like the competing Pirelli Cinturato P7's.

CarToyota
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John - Blaxland
John - BlaxlandSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Michelin Premacy 3ST

published
CarSubaru Forester 2015 2.5i L
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Seamus
SeamusIllawarra, NSW
  • 46 reviews
  • 71 likes

good grip and mileage/kilometer age (if that's a word )

published

but a bit expensive.

!st set came fitted to my new car and lasted 65,000 ks. My car is small and light driven mainly in the country so this is not bad going. Little bit of dirt or unmade road at times and no puncher problems. Quiet and well performing in the wet and dry.

As everyone says you get what you pay for in rubber and road.

Now the bad news, redundant model, replaced by 4, so even if you want them you can't, and your not getting mine

CarRenault
Seamus
Seamus

Second set just being replaced at 120,000k's that's 55,000ks this time. Still happy with them

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Primacy 3 ST compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joe
JoeSydney
  • 12 reviews
  • 16 likes

Excellent grip, quiet, no issues

published

A few years ago, I changed the annoying run flat tyres on my bmw125i to primacy sport 3 tyres (the 3 are the higher spec tyre). They were the best tyre I have ever owned, they have excellent traction in both dry and wet conditions, they were quiet and unlike some tyres I have owned in the past, there was nothing strange about them (they had normal wear levels, did not compromise the handling of the car, etc). I highly recommend the Primacy 3s.

CarBMW 125i
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Trevor
TrevorLancefield 3435 vic
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Safety assured. With Michelin Tyres

published

Ever since I changed to Michelin Tyres for my vehicles, the lasting qualities of these tyres has really amazed me! The last set lasted over. 85 thousand kilometres ! The grip in provided wet weather.conditions proved second to none!
I would recommend these tyres to anyone !
Thank You for the chance to share my experience

Car2007 Ford Falcon
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Judie Adams
Judie AdamsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good quality

published

very very good quality and lasted longer than the other brands. Also did not experience quite a lot of punctures. I used nitrogen and it worked fine. I purchased it almost two years ago and it lived for about 30k kms and was doing a very good job indeed. Would highly recommend, but a bit expensive.

CarToyota
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

جمال ع.
جمال ع.asked

I'm having some noise in the tires, is this normal for a size 19/45/245 primacy 3

1 answer
Ed.S
Ed.S

In my experience with these tyres road noise was quite low.

Michael S.
Michael S.asked

Where is this tyre made ?

1 answer
Robbie_D
Robbie_D

Thailand

Lailen
Lailenasked

Could I use this tyre for holden captiva 5, and how many years it's endure to drive and what is the cost of this tyre? How do I order if I interest in this quality?

No answers
See all Michelin Primacy 3 ST questions

Get an answer from our members and Michelin representatives

Details

Michelin Primacy 3 ST keeps noise out and lets comfort in, providing a safer and more peaceful drive, every day.

Features

  • Class-leading noise comfort: The Primacy 3 ST tested 8% quieter than the average of a number of competing tyres. It provides a noise-free total performance so you’ll enjoy the silence of a smooth ride.
  • Maximum safety: The 3 ST deliver Michelin total performance braking capabilities, stopping 2.9 meters shorter on wet roads compared to leading competition tyres.
  • Long-lasting: The Primacy 3 ST tyres your drive requires ranks 25% higher in terms of longevity if you are using the right tyre size and you receive wheel alignment regularly.
  • Excellent ride comfort.
  • Designed for large and upper mid-sized luxury vehicles such as Audi A5, BMW 5 Series, Lexus IS & GS Series.
  • Improved longevity.
  • Features Michelin's Evenpeak technology which spreads noise across a wider spectrum of tread block and sizes for a quiet ride.
  • Contains Flexmax technology for a bigger contact patch optimised for maximum road contact for longer tread life and superior road grip.
  • Includes a layer of noise-filtering rubber that diminishes vibrations for a smoother ride.
  • With small grooves that allows the tyre to cut the film of water on wet roads for increased safety.

The 3 ST has been replaced with the Michelin Primacy 4, a 2021 award winner which has been regarded well for its smooth ride experience, quiet drive and precise steering.

What reviewers thought

Reviewers overwhelmingly adored these tyres which were described as having a faultless grip in both wet and dry conditions. It is quiet, refined and people have found the wheels to be durable.

CategoryPassenger Tyres
Release dateJuly 2013
Replaced byMichelin Primacy 4
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.