1 photo
Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Michelin Pilot Sport 4

4.6 from 99 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Passenger Tyres in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Michelin? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • High reactivity

  • Excellent wet grip & breaking

  • Fuel-efficient

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (31)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (32)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (32)
  • Wet Weather Handling
    4.6 (30)
  • Durability
    4.1 (23)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.7 (31)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Trevor Oldfield
Trevor OldfieldSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Tyres that perform

published

Michelin Pilots were recommended by a trusted friend. Had a set fitted 12 months ago and I am very happy with the performance both dry and wet. The handling is well above average and they are very quiet on the highway. In terms of wear I have done about 15,000 klm and so far very little wear at all. Price wise these are outstanding value for money.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $960.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Al F.
Al F.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Fantastic performance road tyres

published

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Passenger Tyres

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Bad, really bad.

published

I have 4 pilot sport 4 fitted last year June, it only last 14000 km, the two back tyres were totally wore out, two front ones are a little bit better, went to the store and try to find if it's the batch quality issue and claim under warranty, they blame my drive habit. really disappointed, Michelin is off my list now, same as that store.

Noise Level
Incentivised Review No
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Changing all my cars to this tyre

published

Got these on a Honda Civic Type R and the grip is mind blowing. Going into a corner faster than you think the tyres can handle and they keep on gripping and turning in.
Reasonably cheap for the performance that they offer. Run them at 42 - 45psi
Prior to these i had the Continental equivalent and they are worlds apart.

Purchased in March 2021 for $239.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kapitoshka
KapitoshkaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 53 reviews
  • 87 likes
  • Verified

Expensive, but worthy one

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Geoff
GeoffFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best tyre I've driven on by far!

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Deano M.
Deano M.Sydney, NSW

mind blowing Grip

published

I have a very light and powerful FWD and have not been able to find tyres that don't spin at every green light. Until i fitted PS4, 235/45/17. I can not spin these even when i try. Cornering in wet or dry is the Same!! infact they seem to grip better when it rains. Also ive done 20000km on these and still plenty left. Hands down the best ive ever had in 30 years of driving.

Purchased in March 2020 at Tempe Tyres for $620.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Beardy Bonce
Beardy BonceSydney, NSW
  • 20 reviews
  • 14 likes

First 200kms

published

The 4 x PS4 tyres replace the OEM Bridgestone's that came on the 2018 Mk7.5 Golf GTI. (225/40 r18)
Overall grip and wet controlled are improved, noise at speed is less.
So far these live up the the hype

Purchased in January 2021 at JAX Tyres for $219.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Passenger Tyres

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Great all round tire

published

Getting ready to change my tires on my 2016 Honda Civic VTi-LX (1.5L Turbo) after having the PS4 on. Bought in April 2019 and lasted about 30,000kms. These KMs were a mix of highway cruising, slow city traffic and fast corners and turns. Handled amazingly in all areas and even now when it's at its legal limit is still quite grippy. Handled super well in wet up until recently and road noise isn't too bad. Would suggest keeping the tire pressure lower though (mid to low 30PSI) to decease a bit of the road noise. 4 stars as the tires are fully worn on the outer ends of the front tires.

Purchased in April 2019 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mitch R
Mitch R
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Two cars, excellent Tyre on both

published

Fitted 215/45 17s to Megane hatch, super quiet and best grip wet or dry, shortest stoping distance and wonderfull Corning ability. Also fitted 225/40 18s to Skoda Octavia RS, great!!!!!!

Purchased in February 2019 at Tyrepower for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
steve565
steve565South East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

8,500 and unroadworthy

published

Got the PS4 on my brand new Mercedes AMG GLC63S. Both front tyres without grip on the edges. Inflated all the time at recommend manufacturer pressure. Wanted to replace with Pirelli PZero but the reviews are worse than Michelin. Not good for roundabouts. Worn on the outside very quickly.

Purchased in October 2018 at JAX Tyres for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Samuel C
Samuel CSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Great grip in the wet

published

These tyres are great handling in the wet. Always been using Michelin's but recently swapped to the Pilot Sport 4's and love them so much more than the previous generation. Quieter on the road and feel like I'm in more control when driving.

Incentivised Review No
Johnny G.
Johnny G.Illawarra, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Not excellent, just very good.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $170.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Anthony Diacono
Anthony DiaconoCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fan of Michelin

published

These tyres are great handling in the wet
Had Michelin on my VT Commodore for 10 years and Now have a VY ute and VF ssv Sedan Commodore both fitted with Michelin Pilot Sport 4. Dunlop and Bridgestone just don't compare , For Safety and Performance and Durability I fully trust Michelin +

Incentivised Review No
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling

Other Passenger Tyres

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
AP47
AP47Tasmania
  • 55 reviews
  • 59 likes
  • Verified

Great grip in the wet

published

I put these on an Audi A4 back in December, replacing some OEM Pirelli’s, and what a difference, they are quieter and the grip in wet conditions is nothing short of amazing

I can’t comment on wear yet as I have only done about 3000ks with them, so hoping they go the distance!

Purchased in December 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $780.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Cooranite
Cooraniteasked

What mileage can the average driver expect from these tyres.

4 answers
Alan S
Alan S

Depends on how much HP your car has and how you drive it. If it's RWD, FWD,AWD, Weight of the car etc etc. I Normally get around 30k

Cooranite
Cooranite

Thanks Alan S. Have just done 30K so pretty much aligns with yours, Hope to get a little more but will shop around for a good price now.

Kapitoshka
Kapitoshka

I think if your concern is longevity of the sport tyre you may look for the alternative. There is significant trade off, pretty much almost like a sliding scale between performance and longevity of a tyre. MP4 are amazing tyres, but... If you decide that you need them not only for performance, but also for longevity you may need to pay better attention to thins like tyre pressure, load of the car, tyre rotation cycles, roads you choose to drive on etc. Many report on getting 15k - 50k kms out of the tyre depending on car and how you use/look after it. Hope it helps

Joe T.
Joe T.asked

Are pilot 4's a good wearing tyre?

1 answer
Mitch R
Mitch R

Are pilot 4’s a Good wearing tyre? There is a thousand reasons why tyres wear fast. 1 tyre pressure, keep them hard,(highest pressure on the tyre placard, ALL THE TIME) 2 wheel alignment, that can be difficult to judge, the mechanic who does it needs to know his work, and sometimes manufacturers wheel alignment specifications will even cause faster than nessassary wear rates. 3 driving style, aggressive acceleration and aggresive braking will wear tyres faster.
As said previously, my Megane has done 30,000km with tyres less than half worn, I’m not going to predict the future wear rates. I look after my tyres. If you want tyres that last a long time, you will sacrifice traction and grip. I’ll put it another way, have you ever skidded tyres on a wet cold road? You are less likely to (in my experience) with these Michelin pilot 4’s. they are still the quietest tyre I’ve ever driven on and also smoother riding than another brand fitted previously.

Joe T.
Joe T.asked

Are Pilot 4s tyres a hard compound? How do they wear?

2 answers
Mitch R
Mitch R

You have asked a short question. Hard compounds typically means low grip and long life. The pilot4’s on my Megane have done about 30,000km with less than half wear. Tyre life is not important to me, traction is. After all the tyre is the only thing holding the car to the road. Wet and dry grip excellent still. Amazing braking, still the quietest tyre I’ve driven on.

Paul A
Paul A

Only 34,000km on my Tesla Model 3 SR+ and they need replacing. Moderate driving and the recommended 42kpi pressure. Rotation at 15,000km

See all Michelin Pilot Sport 4 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

The Pilot Sport 4 offers excellent steering control and a high level of reactivity. The Dynamic Response Technology ensures optimum transmission of steering instructions on to the road.

Its ultra reactive tread pattern design adapts continuously to the road for an optimized footprint on the road. Michelin's Pilot Sport 4 offers a high level of safety on wet roads.

Features

Excellent steering control and high level of reactivity

  • "Dynamic Response" Technology: a hybrid belt of Aramid and Nylon ensures optimum transmission of steering instructions onto the road.

  • An ultra-reactive Tread Pattern Design, adapts continuously to the road, for optimised footprint on the road.

  • Stops up to 3.7 metres shorter than competitor brands on the market.

High level of safety on wet roads

  • A new mix of compound with specific “functional elastomers” and hydrophobic Silica provides excellent wet grip and braking.

  • Wide and deep longitudinal grooves ensure a high level of drainage on wet roads.

  • Stops up to 6.6 metres shorter than competitor brands on the market.

  • Fuel efficient and long-lasting

  • Sport tyre with excellent dry and wet braking characteristics

What reviewers thought

Reviewers had very positive things to say about these tyres. Foremost, they raved about the excellent grip on these tyres. On top of this, launch, cornering, stopping and wet road performance all perform well.

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.