??!
1 photo
Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Michelin Pilot Sport 4

4.6 from 94 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (27)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (28)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (27)
  • Wet Weather Handling
    4.7 (25)
  • Durability
    4.1 (19)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.7 (26)
Previous
Next
Geoff

GeoffFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Best tyre I've driven on by far!

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage3,000 km
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Deano M.

Deano M.Sydney, NSW

mind blowing Grip

published

I have a very light and powerful FWD and have not been able to find tyres that don't spin at every green light. Until i fitted PS4, 235/45/17. I can not spin these even when i try. Cornering in wet or dry is the Same!! infact they seem to grip better when it rains. Also ive done 20000km on these and still plenty left. Hands down the best ive ever had in 30 years of driving.

Purchased in March 2020 at Tempe Tyres for $620.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage20,000 km
Car Model2007-2014 Volkswagen Eos
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Beardy Bonce

Beardy BonceSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 12 likes

First 200kms

published

The 4 x PS4 tyres replace the OEM Bridgestone's that came on the 2018 Mk7.5 Golf GTI. (225/40 r18)
Overall grip and wet controlled are improved, noise at speed is less.
So far these live up the the hype

Purchased in January 2021 at JAX Tyres for $219.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage200 km
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback GTI
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great all round tire

published

Getting ready to change my tires on my 2016 Honda Civic VTi-LX (1.5L Turbo) after having the PS4 on. Bought in April 2019 and lasted about 30,000kms. These KMs were a mix of highway cruising, slow city traffic and fast corners and turns. Handled amazingly in all areas and even now when it's at its legal limit is still quite grippy. Handled super well in wet up until recently and road noise isn't too bad. Would suggest keeping the tire pressure lower though (mid to low 30PSI) to decease a bit of the road noise. 4 stars as the tires are fully worn on the outer ends of the front tires.

Purchased in April 2019 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage30,000 km
Car ModelHonda Civic 10th Gen
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Mitch R

Mitch R

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Two cars, excellent Tyre on both

published

Fitted 215/45 17s to Megane hatch, super quiet and best grip wet or dry, shortest stoping distance and wonderfull Corning ability. Also fitted 225/40 18s to Skoda Octavia RS, great!!!!!!

Purchased in February 2019 at Tyrepower for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage23,000 km
Tyre Pressure Used40 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
steve565

steve565South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

8,500 and unroadworthy

published

Got the PS4 on my brand new Mercedes AMG GLC63S. Both front tyres without grip on the edges. Inflated all the time at recommend manufacturer pressure. Wanted to replace with Pirelli PZero but the reviews are worse than Michelin. Not good for roundabouts. Worn on the outside very quickly.

Purchased in October 2018 at JAX Tyres for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage8,500 km
Car ModelMercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 GLC 63 S
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Samuel C

Samuel CSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great grip in the wet

published

These tyres are great handling in the wet. Always been using Michelin's but recently swapped to the Pilot Sport 4's and love them so much more than the previous generation. Quieter on the road and feel like I'm in more control when driving.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Johnny G.

Johnny G.Illawarra, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Not excellent, just very good.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $170.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage20,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Magna TL
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Anthony Diacono

Anthony DiaconoCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fan of Michelin

published

These tyres are great handling in the wet
Had Michelin on my VT Commodore for 10 years and Now have a VY ute and VF ssv Sedan Commodore both fitted with Michelin Pilot Sport 4. Dunlop and Bridgestone just don't compare , For Safety and Performance and Durability I fully trust Michelin +

Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AP47

AP47Tasmania

  • 54 reviews
  • 59 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great grip in the wet

published

I put these on an Audi A4 back in December, replacing some OEM Pirelli’s, and what a difference, they are quieter and the grip in wet conditions is nothing short of amazing

I can’t comment on wear yet as I have only done about 3000ks with them, so hoping they go the distance!

Purchased in December 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $780.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage3,000 km
Car ModelAudi A4
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Russell

RussellPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

So quiet and grippy.

published

Brilliant tyres in wet and dry. So good you never even notice them as they just work. I have been across Australia and back, driven for 3 years and very little wear.

Purchased in May 2016 for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage25,000 km
Car ModelToyota Aurion GSV50R Prodigy
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
1 comment
Russell
Russell

I have done about 40,000 km on these tyres now and still very little wear. I expect another 3 years so 7 years in total life. I think they will go brittle before they wear out.

Lazza

LazzaSydney, NSW

Deserving of their high reputation

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Tyrepower Engadine for $205.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage1,000 km
Car ModelFord Falcon FG
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
DZB

DZBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pilot Sport 4 245/45 ZR17 99Y

published

First time using Michelin tyres, after hearing some good things about this series, and seeing them at a great price locally recently. Fantastic tires. Very responsive steering, and no more wheel spin in the wet. Very happy with the purchase.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $175.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage500 km
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
chris p.

chris p.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Chalk and Cheese

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JAX Tyres.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage200 km
See all answers
Daniel H.

Daniel H.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Very good but not great

published

My previous set was P7 runflat. I found this new set of PS4 to be very good. However, my previous gas mileage was 9.2L/100km. Now down to 8.6L/100km. Not really great given it is non-runflat, which should save much more petrol. I expect 8.2L/100km. The tyres are quiet but running on brand new perfect road at Domain Park Melbourne I can hear tyre noises. Performance when cornering is not great, only 8/10 compared to my last set. It doesn't hug the corner as much anymore. And the car loses momentum after it turns the corner, different from previously. Overall 8.5/10

Purchased in January 2020 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage200 km
Car ModelBMW 3 Series F30
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Moorey

MooreyUmina Beach

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

HSV Clubbie 4004

published

I have only had these Michelins Pilot Sport 4 on my car for 1000 Kms and if you read my review on the same car with Toyo Proxes T1 Sports which I rated 8/10 in the dry & 9/10 in the wet these babies are very nice in the dry.It hasn't rained in Umina beach since I've had em on but can't wait to give em a workout.

Purchased in November 2019 for $187.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage1,000 km
Car ModelHSV Clubsport Y-Series
Tyre Pressure Used37 PSI
Functionality
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Dennis b

Dennis bGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fantastic tyres dont over inflate

published

Michelin piolet sport 4 made in China yes China great tyre road feel and grip are great but not a full sports tyre there a fantastic everyday tyre and probably the best at that over infatuation cause ballooning effect I found 34 front 32 back for my ZB Calais perfect seems to keep them quiet and nice to drive any harder and things get disappointing loud and all over the road

Purchased in October 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage2,000 km
Car ModelHolden Commodore ZB (Sedan) Calais
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Bob

BobSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

What a Difference

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Blairs Tryes for $195.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage500 km
Car ModelToyota Aurion
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Steven

StevenHobart, TAS

  • 14 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great grip

published

Pros: Outstanding wet and dry traction and grip; fairly quiet for a high performance tyre; great straigh-line stability.. Cons: Steering is a bit too light, albeit sharp; Noisier than touring tyres.

Purchased at Bob Jane T-Marts for $230.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage16,000 km
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback GTI
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
VAC

VACAlice Springs, NT

Pilot Super Soft Versus 4S

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Tyresales.com.au for $1,672.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage8,500 km
Car ModelAUDI TTRS
Functionality
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Joe T.

Joe T.asked

Are pilot 4's a good wearing tyre?

1 answer
Mitch R
Mitch R

Are pilot 4’s a Good wearing tyre? There is a thousand reasons why tyres wear fast. 1 tyre pressure, keep them hard,(highest pressure on the tyre placard, ALL THE TIME) 2 wheel alignment, that can be difficult to judge, the mechanic who does it needs to know his work, and sometimes manufacturers wheel alignment specifications will even cause faster than nessassary wear rates. 3 driving style, aggressive acceleration and aggresive braking will wear tyres faster.
As said previously, my Megane has done 30,000km with tyres less than half worn, I’m not going to predict the future wear rates. I look after my tyres. If you want tyres that last a long time, you will sacrifice traction and grip. I’ll put it another way, have you ever skidded tyres on a wet cold road? You are less likely to (in my experience) with these Michelin pilot 4’s. they are still the quietest tyre I’ve ever driven on and also smoother riding than another brand fitted previously.

Joe T.

Joe T.asked

Are Pilot 4s tyres a hard compound? How do they wear?

1 answer
Mitch R
Mitch R

You have asked a short question. Hard compounds typically means low grip and long life. The pilot4’s on my Megane have done about 30,000km with less than half wear. Tyre life is not important to me, traction is. After all the tyre is the only thing holding the car to the road. Wet and dry grip excellent still. Amazing braking, still the quietest tyre I’ve driven on.

Asehgal

Asehgalasked

I am a newbie to this and seek suggestions to run-flat tyres, if you can advice on them.

I have to buy new run-flat tires for my IS 300 (225/45/17). The tires that came fitted on the car were Bridgestone ER033 (Costco selling at $190) and they crashed out at under 30k kms. My searching around has given me options to look at Michelin PS4 (expensive $260/- in the list), Pirelli P 7 (less expensive). My drive is mostly within city. I am not savvy with these things so asking for. Any suggestions will help me.

4 answers
steve565
steve565

Neither the Michelin or Pirelli are run flat tyres. Stick to Bridgestone or the original tyres your vehicle came out with.

Asehgal
Asehgal

Hi Steve565 - the models I quoted do come in run flat tires. I would have continued with Bridgestone as these are the ones that came fitted on the car - but the mileage on them is poor despite due diligence and care.

Mitch R
Mitch R

I have not driven on run flat tyres. My belief is they tend to be more hard riding. Tyres wearing out at 30,000 is either tyre pressure or wheel alignment problem. I have a simple solution for tyre pressures, check the tyre placard, find the highest pressure on the placard, keep all tyres at that pressure all the time.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.