??!
1 photo
Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Michelin Pilot Sport 4

4.6 from 90 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

90 reviews
5
(68)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (23)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (24)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (23)
  • Wet Weather Handling
    4.6 (21)
  • Durability
    4.0 (15)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.7 (22)
Previous
Next
Mitch R

Mitch R

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Two cars, excellent Tyre on both

published

Fitted 215/45 17s to Megane hatch, super quiet and best grip wet or dry, shortest stoping distance and wonderfull Corning ability. Also fitted 225/40 18s to Skoda Octavia RS, great!!!!!!

Purchased in February 2019 at Tyrepower for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage23,000 km
Tyre Pressure Used40 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
steve565

steve565South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

8,500 and unroadworthy

published

Got the PS4 on my brand new Mercedes AMG GLC63S. Both front tyres without grip on the edges. Inflated all the time at recommend manufacturer pressure. Wanted to replace with Pirelli PZero but the reviews are worse than Michelin. Not good for roundabouts. Worn on the outside very quickly.

Purchased in October 2018 at JAX Tyres for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage8,500 km
Car ModelMercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 GLC 63 S
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Samuel C

Samuel CSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great grip in the wet

published

These tyres are great handling in the wet. Always been using Michelin's but recently swapped to the Pilot Sport 4's and love them so much more than the previous generation. Quieter on the road and feel like I'm in more control when driving.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Johnny G.

Johnny G.Illawarra, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Not excellent, just very good.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Bob Jane T-Marts for A$170.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage20,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Magna TL
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Anthony Diacono

Anthony DiaconoCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fan of Michelin

published

These tyres are great handling in the wet
Had Michelin on my VT Commodore for 10 years and Now have a VY ute and VF ssv Sedan Commodore both fitted with Michelin Pilot Sport 4. Dunlop and Bridgestone just don't compare , For Safety and Performance and Durability I fully trust Michelin +

Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
AP47

AP47Tasmania

  • 52 reviews
  • 59 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great grip in the wet

published

I put these on an Audi A4 back in December, replacing some OEM Pirelli’s, and what a difference, they are quieter and the grip in wet conditions is nothing short of amazing

I can’t comment on wear yet as I have only done about 3000ks with them, so hoping they go the distance!

Purchased in December 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts for A$780.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage3,000 km
Car ModelAudi A4
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Russell

RussellPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

So quiet and grippy.

published

Brilliant tyres in wet and dry. So good you never even notice them as they just work. I have been across Australia and back, driven for 3 years and very little wear.

Purchased in May 2016 for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage25,000 km
Car ModelToyota Aurion GSV50R Prodigy
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
1 comment
Russell
Russell

I have done about 40,000 km on these tyres now and still very little wear. I expect another 3 years so 7 years in total life. I think they will go brittle before they wear out.

Lazza

LazzaSydney, NSW

Deserving of their high reputation

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Tyrepower Engadine for A$205.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage1,000 km
Car ModelFord Falcon FG
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
DZB

DZBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pilot Sport 4 245/45 ZR17 99Y

published

First time using Michelin tyres, after hearing some good things about this series, and seeing them at a great price locally recently. Fantastic tires. Very responsive steering, and no more wheel spin in the wet. Very happy with the purchase.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bob Jane T-Marts for A$175.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage500 km
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
chris p.

chris p.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Chalk and Cheese

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JAX Tyres.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage200 km
See all answers
Daniel H.

Daniel H.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very good but not great

published

My previous set was P7 runflat. I found this new set of PS4 to be very good. However, my previous gas mileage was 9.2L/100km. Now down to 8.6L/100km. Not really great given it is non-runflat, which should save much more petrol. I expect 8.2L/100km. The tyres are quiet but running on brand new perfect road at Domain Park Melbourne I can hear tyre noises. Performance when cornering is not great, only 8/10 compared to my last set. It doesn't hug the corner as much anymore. And the car loses momentum after it turns the corner, different from previously. Overall 8.5/10

Purchased in January 2020 at Bob Jane T-Marts for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage200 km
Car ModelBMW 3 Series F30
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Moorey

MooreyUmina Beach

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

HSV Clubbie 4004

published

I have only had these Michelins Pilot Sport 4 on my car for 1000 Kms and if you read my review on the same car with Toyo Proxes T1 Sports which I rated 8/10 in the dry & 9/10 in the wet these babies are very nice in the dry.It hasn't rained in Umina beach since I've had em on but can't wait to give em a workout.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$187.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage1,000 km
Car ModelHSV Clubsport Y-Series
Tyre Pressure Used37 PSI
Functionality
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Dennis b

Dennis bGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fantastic tyres dont over inflate

published

Michelin piolet sport 4 made in China yes China great tyre road feel and grip are great but not a full sports tyre there a fantastic everyday tyre and probably the best at that over infatuation cause ballooning effect I found 34 front 32 back for my ZB Calais perfect seems to keep them quiet and nice to drive any harder and things get disappointing loud and all over the road

Purchased in October 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage2,000 km
Car ModelHolden Commodore ZB (Sedan) Calais
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Bob

BobSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

What a Difference

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Blairs Tryes for A$195.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage500 km
Car ModelToyota Aurion
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Steven

StevenHobart, TAS

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great grip

published

Pros: Outstanding wet and dry traction and grip; fairly quiet for a high performance tyre; great straigh-line stability.. Cons: Steering is a bit too light, albeit sharp; Noisier than touring tyres.

Purchased at Bob Jane T-Marts for A$230.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage16,000 km
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback GTI
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
VAC

VACAlice Springs, NT

Pilot Super Soft Versus 4S

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Tyresales.com.au for A$1,672.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage8,500 km
Car ModelAUDI TTRS
Functionality
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Manwithinternet

ManwithinternetMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent tyre at an affordable price

published

I've had tyres for several years and cannot fault them. Excellent grip in all round weather and braking distance isn't comprised. Tyres are also competitively priced. I would not hesitate to get them once again!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
nturnerphoto

nturnerphotoPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A bit pricier than the Pilot Sport 3

published

I have been replacing my Pilot Sport 3s over the last year, the 4s are a little bit more expensive and seemed a bit noisier but the grip seems to do a good job.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bridgestone Tyres for A$240.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelSubaru Impreza
Tyre Pressure Used29 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Rainer

Rainer

  • 16 reviews
  • 2 likes

Noisy tyre equals 3 stars

published

Had this tyre come with my new vehicle. Good grip but as they wore more became a pain in my ears with the road noise they produced hence only 3 stars. I ended up changing tyres prematurely at 42000 km because of the annoying road noise.
Bought other tyres and as quiet as these should have been........

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage42,000 km
Car ModelKia pro_ceed GT JD
Tyre Pressure Used32 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
tron07

tron07Sydney, NSW

Good tires, a bit expensive though

published

Good grip on dry and wet, when its start to slip on wet take off, it's time to replace. Expensive to replace. Mileage is not that great. Car - Accord Euro. Was using PS3 previously and it returned about 38k km. PS4 is about the same as well, close to 40k km.

Purchased in September 2017 at JAX Tyres for A$185.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage40,000 km
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Asehgal

Asehgalasked

I am a newbie to this and seek suggestions to run-flat tyres, if you can advice on them.

I have to buy new run-flat tires for my IS 300 (225/45/17). The tires that came fitted on the car were Bridgestone ER033 (Costco selling at $190) and they crashed out at under 30k kms. My searching around has given me options to look at Michelin PS4 (expensive $260/- in the list), Pirelli P 7 (less expensive). My drive is mostly within city. I am not savvy with these things so asking for. Any suggestions will help me.

4 answers
steve565
steve565

Neither the Michelin or Pirelli are run flat tyres. Stick to Bridgestone or the original tyres your vehicle came out with.

Asehgal
Asehgal

Hi Steve565 - the models I quoted do come in run flat tires. I would have continued with Bridgestone as these are the ones that came fitted on the car - but the mileage on them is poor despite due diligence and care.

Mitch R
Mitch R

I have not driven on run flat tyres. My belief is they tend to be more hard riding. Tyres wearing out at 30,000 is either tyre pressure or wheel alignment problem. I have a simple solution for tyre pressures, check the tyre placard, find the highest pressure on the placard, keep all tyres at that pressure all the time.

Carmen S.

Carmen S.asked

Has there been anyone that has had their PS4 (driver side ) rear tyre split?
Inside wall tyre from rim to tread wall.
No obvious road issues during driving vehicle.

1 answer
Mitch R
Mitch R

I’m not a tyre expert, just an ex mechanic who is really particular (read fussy) about tyres. Side wall split sound like road damage. If it was tyre failure you would like get a lot of warning in the way of shaking from that corner of the car before failure. Tyre failure is very rare these days. Contact Michelin tyres Australia.

Sue

Sueasked

How long should these tyres last please?

4 answers
Dennis b
Dennis b

I’ll say 40k easier style driving 50k. I’ve done 4500k on my set and I’m impressed don’t over inflate them.

Sue
Sue

Oh, I’ve only done 32,000 on the set I have and I already need a new set
My last set lasted at least 55k
Bit disappointed as they cost me $1200

Daniel H.
Daniel H.

There is promotion atm and you can try to do some more bargaining and price matching

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.