??!
1 photo
Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Michelin Pilot Sport 4

4.6 from 85 reviews

Reviews

(65)
(13)
(4)
(2)
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (18)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (19)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (18)
  • Wet Weather Handling
    4.7 (15)
  • Durability
    4.2 (12)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.7 (17)
Russell

RussellPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

So quiet and grippy.

published

Brilliant tyres in wet and dry. So good you never even notice them as they just work. I have been across Australia and back, driven for 3 years and very little wear.

Purchased in May 2016 for $450.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 25,000 km
Car ModelToyota Aurion GSV50R Prodigy
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Lazza

LazzaSydney, NSW

DESERVING OF THEIR HIGH REPUTATION

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Tyrepower Engadine .

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 1,000 km
Car ModelFord Falcon FG
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
DZB

DZBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pilot Sport 4 245/45 ZR17 99Y

published

First time using Michelin tyres, after hearing some good things about this series, and seeing them at a great price locally recently. Fantastic tires. Very responsive steering, and no more wheel spin in the wet. Very happy with the purchase.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $175.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 500 km
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
chris p.

chris p.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Chalk and Cheese

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JAX Tyres.

Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 200 km
Daniel H.

Daniel H.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very good but not great

published

My previous set was P7 runflat. I found this new set of PS4 to be very good. However, my previous gas mileage was 9.2L/100km. Now down to 8.6L/100km. Not really great given it is non-runflat, which should save much more petrol. I expect 8.2L/100km. The tyres are quiet but running on brand new perfect road at Domain Park Melbourne I can hear tyre noises. Performance when cornering is not great, only 8/10 compared to my last set. It doesn't hug the corner as much anymore. And the car loses momentum after it turns the corner, different from previously. Overall 8.5/10

Purchased in January 2020 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $800.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 200 km
Car ModelBMW 3 Series F30
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Moorey

MooreyUmina Beach

  • 2 reviews

HSV Clubbie 4004

published

I have only had these Michelins Pilot Sport 4 on my car for 1000 Kms and if you read my review on the same car with Toyo Proxes T1 Sports which I rated 8/10 in the dry & 9/10 in the wet these babies are very nice in the dry.It hasn't rained in Umina beach since I've had em on but can't wait to give em a workout.

Purchased in November 2019 for $187.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 1,000 km
Car ModelHSV Clubsport Y-Series
Tyre Pressure Used37 PSI
Functionality
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Dennis b

Dennis bGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic tyres dont over inflate

published

Michelin piolet sport 4 made in China yes China great tyre road feel and grip are great but not a full sports tyre there a fantastic everyday tyre and probably the best at that over infatuation cause ballooning effect I found 34 front 32 back for my ZB Calais perfect seems to keep them quiet and nice to drive any harder and things get disappointing loud and all over the road

Purchased in October 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 2,000 km
Car ModelHolden Commodore ZB (Sedan) Calais
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Bob

BobSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

What a Difference

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Blairs Tryes for $195.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 500 km
Car ModelToyota Aurion
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Steven

StevenHobart, TAS

  • 10 reviews

Great grip

published

Pros: Outstanding wet and dry traction and grip; fairly quiet for a high performance tyre; great straigh-line stability.. Cons: Steering is a bit too light, albeit sharp; Noisier than touring tyres.

Purchased at Bob Jane T-Marts for $230.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 16,000 km
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf Mk7.5 Hatchback GTI
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
VAC

VACAlice Springs, NT

Pilot Super Soft Versus 4S

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Tyresales.com.au for $1,672.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 8,500 km
Car ModelAUDI TTRS
Functionality
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Manwithinternet

ManwithinternetMelbourne

  • 12 reviews

Excellent tyre at an affordable price

published

I've had tyres for several years and cannot fault them. Excellent grip in all round weather and braking distance isn't comprised. Tyres are also competitively priced. I would not hesitate to get them once again!

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
nturnerphoto

nturnerphotoPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A bit pricier than the Pilot Sport 3

published

I have been replacing my Pilot Sport 3s over the last year, the 4s are a little bit more expensive and seemed a bit noisier but the grip seems to do a good job.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bridgestone Tyres for $240.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Car ModelSubaru Impreza
Tyre Pressure Used29 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Rainer

Rainer

  • 11 reviews

Noisy tyre equals 3 stars

published

Had this tyre come with my new vehicle. Good grip but as they wore more became a pain in my ears with the road noise they produced hence only 3 stars. I ended up changing tyres prematurely at 42000 km because of the annoying road noise.
Bought other tyres and as quiet as these should have been........

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 42,000 km
Car ModelKia pro_ceed GT JD
Tyre Pressure Used32 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
tron07

tron07Sydney, NSW

Good tires, a bit expensive though

published

Good grip on dry and wet, when its start to slip on wet take off, it's time to replace. Expensive to replace. Mileage is not that great. Car - Accord Euro. Was using PS3 previously and it returned about 38k km. PS4 is about the same as well, close to 40k km.

Purchased in September 2017 at JAX Tyres for $185.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 40,000 km
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Danny W.

Danny W.Peel, WA

  • 6 reviews

Best Tyres I've Ever Had

published

Bought a Peugeot 308 wagon new, it came with Michelin Pilot Sport 3's. Loved those tyres, held the road like glue and lasted well. Replaced them with Michelin Pilot Sport 4's - even better. Feel incredibly safe and looking forward to a long and happy use of them.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bob Jane T-Marts.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Car ModelPeugeot 308 T9
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Passenger Tyres

Find out how Michelin Pilot Sport 4 compares to other Passenger Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JessFalcon

JessFalconSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

good tyres

published

got these put on recently and they're great - recommended in the wet and the dry, safe with the kids and don't have to worry about what to put on next

Purchased in August 2018.

Waz

WazCanberra Central 2602, ACT

Not for light sports cars.

published

I totally agree with Tassie Lorenzo.

To be honest the factory standard Primacy tyres on the Toyota 86 felt better to drive on.
With the pilot sport 4 cornering seems to run wide. If I turn the wheel more they hang on fine .. but not what I was looking for in a tyre on a light weight sports orientated car.
They may be good on a heavier car for highway driving.

Purchased in September 2018 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Pressure Used35 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
David

David

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Needs wearing in

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $796.00.

Tyre Mileage 200 km
Nick Bordo

Nick BordoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Excellent road tyre!

published

Purchased in December 2018 at JAX Tyres.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 2,000 km
Car ModelToyota Corolla E150
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
robinit

robinitdee why

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good but not great

published

Purchased 225/40/18 tyres.
Good in dry conditions and the wet. Jax inflated tyres to 35 psi. When cornering it felt as though there was too much tyre sidewall roll, as if they weren't inflated enough. Took it up to 38psi, much better.
Tyres are not as quiet as other reviewers have mentioned.
I think the continental MC5 tyres I had previously were better in the handling, especially cornering and were much quieter. Those tyres lasted me 56000 klms.
I don't think these Michelins will last anywhere near as long as the rubber is a softer compound than the Continentals.
I wouldn't purchase these tyres again.
I feel the Continentals were superior in every aspect.

Purchased in October 2018 at JAX Tyres.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tyre Mileage 3,000 km
Car ModelHyundai i30 GD
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Sue

Sueasked

How long should these tyres last please?

4 answers
Dennis b
Dennis b

I’ll say 40k easier style driving 50k. I’ve done 4500k on my set and I’m impressed don’t over inflate them.

Sue
Sue

Oh, I’ve only done 32,000 on the set I have and I already need a new set
My last set lasted at least 55k
Bit disappointed as they cost me $1200

Daniel H.
Daniel H.

There is promotion atm and you can try to do some more bargaining and price matching

Dino

Dinoasked

I have a 2012 WRX that currently has Pirelli Dragon Sports on them . I am looking to replace with Pilot Sport 4. Has anyone done the same and what has the main difference been. Thanks

1 answer
Daniel H.
Daniel H.

Dragon sports are budget tyres. You should buy P7 or Sport Contact 5

Moorey

Mooreyasked

I have a Clubsport 5.7 Gen3 and am running Toyo Proxes T1 Sports.A fantastic tyre especially in the Wet. Treadwear is 240 and I got 25,000 ks out of them.They don't make em amymore so after a seach I've decided to try Michelin PS4s .Should they perform as well as the tredwear rating is 300 I think???

1 answer
Russell
Russell

I have had the Pilot Sport 4s on a Toyota V6 Aurion sedan (Now called Camry again in the new models) and after driving across Australia and back on them, about 8,000 kms, which included some mountain roads, I found them really smooth and grippy enough. The road noise is a little bit more than the discontinued Pilot Spot 3s, but overall they are a fantastic value for money tyre. On cold days they take about 3 minutes to warm up then are smooth again. I would recommend them not as a track tyre but as a reliable every day work horse.

Get an answer from our members and Michelin representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.