??!
3 photos
Magimix 5200 / 5200 XL

Magimix 5200 / 5200 XL

5200 XL and 5200
3.4 from 29 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
6
3 star
11
2 star
3
1 star
2

Lornagolf

Lornagolf

  • 3 reviews

Great but too many many bits and pieces to wash!

published

Great and powerful machine but having to use different size bowls that sit inside one another for grating and slicing is really annoying. My old Breville Kitchen aid in my opinion was comparable and I had it for 10 years it was easier to clean, only 4 bits to wash and one size fits all.

Purchased in February 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Used for: Dough
See all answers

TWE

TWEAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

A powerful kitchen asset

published

Excellent build quality and effortlessly processes lots of foods consistently and quickly. On the counter, the unit stands out a premium piece of kit and as you'd expect is pretty heavy. My only frustration is using the mini chopper - dry ingredients fly out into other chambers and there are lots of parts to have to clean. As a recommendation, I bought my unit from Amazon UK - it's considerably cheaper than buying in AUS and simply requires a UK plug adapter.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Suzie

Suzie

  • 2 reviews

Good machine

published

This machine worked perfectly until last week when I was mixing a heavy mix and apparently stripped the spindle. My 5200 is about 4 years old. I was surprised at this because of the reputation these processors enjoy. It is at the approved technician being fixed. It needs a new spindle, different to mine so it means a new chopping blade as well at a cost of $175. My other blades probably won’t fit either. I also agree with other posters that the wash up after processing is substantial due to many parts getting soiled during processing. I also have scratch marks on my bowls, which are always hand washed.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
Elli

Elli

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Several years and still going strong!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015

NZSmoothie

NZSmoothieAuckland, NZ

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

OLD ONE HAD BETTER BOWL DESIGN

published

The old model had one bowl, a simple oval funnel and a variety of blades. The new model involves washing bowls that get dirty simply because they have to fit inside one another to operate. There are now 2 funnels to wash - the machine simply doesn't work without the insert which has "wings" - just stupid. The old, simple model should be reintroduced with the motto 'if it's not broken, don't fix it.'

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Kylie

KylieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Seems we all have the same issues...

published

Love this machine and the work it does, powerful and effective. However my bowls have cracked ($200 each to replace out of warranty which is just obscene) and I’ve had a problem with one of the discs, which the customer service people were very disinterested in - in the end I gave up. Unfortunately I therefore wouldn’t recommend it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2010

Moongold

MoongoldAU

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

No worries so far!

published

I found the Magimix 5200XL has a really good performance with grating, chopping onions, mixing, making spreads or butters etc. Cleaning can become a bit of a chore if you prefer hand-washing your dishes, as it has many parts that are affected when used (although all can be cleaned in a dishwasher). The dicing attachment is terrific for making vegetable or fruit chips/slices. It's a very quiet machine and I've had no particular problems. Purchased about six months ago and going well.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

S.T

S.TSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not bad

published

I thought this product was quite good overall..save me a lot of time and work, although cleaning wise I still feel a bit hard to clean, takes longer to clean I should say, otherwise chopping granting, were excellent, I don't use it that often only when it comes to big party and stuff which I will need it to assist with my chopping. Overall not bad

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Good one

published

Chop, grind, mix and purée with easy to use. Compact in size, it features a dual blade which is sharp on one side for chopping and puréeing, and blunt on the other for grinding. The product includes Bladelock system technology which keeps the high grade, stainless steel blade securely in place for easy pouring with no fuss. Other features include easy to clean controls and dishwasher safe removable parts for easy cleaning.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Susiq

SusiqJohannesburg

Disappointing Service

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016

oldsword

oldsword

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

So far so good.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Nar

NarAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best thing ever

published

This is absolutely the best food processor ever. I absolutely love it, it makes fast work of many laborious tasks such as grating and chopping. The dicing attachment is great for making chips. All of the parts are easy to clean. A very versatile machine that I use on a daily basis. This is one thing I could not be without.

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Nicole

NicoleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Poorly constructed

published

I have had my Magimix for under two years and the lock mechanism on it has broken twice.
Very weak plastic - it had a fine crack appear initially and then just fell apart in my hands.
Went through a lot of drama to get the part replaced under warranty and now it has happened a second time - despite handling it with kid gloves. The motor and everything else works well, but I feel the finish and quality of the plastic are appalling considering the price.
I bought this machine thinking I was buying quality... next time I'll be going back to Sunbeam. VERY disappointed.


No Longer Simple To Use

published

The old model had one bowl, a simple oval funnel and a variety of blades. The new model involves washing bowls that get dirty simply because they have to fit inside one another to operate. There are now 2 funnels to wash - the machine simply doesn't work without the insert which has "wings" - just stupid. I'm sorry I ever bought this machine. The old, simple model should be reintroduced with the motto 'if it's not broken, don't fix it.'

Leber

Leber

  • 2 reviews

Good but they don't make 'em like they used to.

published
Bassett

Bassett

  • 26 reviews
  • 22 likes

Use it regularly

published

Mike

MikeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Use it every day. It's amazing

published

This machine is the ducks nuts of food processors, does everything required and with minimum fuss and noise. Every component is so easy to clean and store and the operation of the unit could not be any easier. The recipe books that accompany the Patissier are fantastic and have everything you would need. Yes, it's a big investment, but the motor warranty coupled with the power, the accessories, the ability to do just about anything makes it all worth it. It's a lifetime investment not like a Breville which needs replacing after 4-5 years. Highly recommend.


B Leyser

B LeyserNew Zealand

Magimix Patissier...still needing a lot of tweaking of materials.

published

Very impressed so far

published

Did a lot of ready before taking the plunge, magimix is French made and the home cook version made by Robot coup who seem to have the commercial market cornered. Anyway I had 6 kg of beef and 3 kg if fatty lamb to blend up together with vinegar and spice mix for jerky. It needed some power and I brought it home last night and worked my way through the meat about a kg at a time and it handled it which is impressive. Early days but that was a tough ask and it coped. The big container helped and it's super sturdy on the bench. I got it from David jones in Melb who price matched with an online Aussie store so got a decent deal.


Not built for making breads or doughs

published
2 comments
JJ
JJ
JJ
JJ

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Christine L.

Christine L.asked

My Magimix 5200xl just stopped working. No matter what I do it just won't turn on. No power or sound, just dead! Not even a year old! What should I do? How can this be fixed?

4 answers
Magimix
Magimix A.Magimix

Hi Christine, sorry to hear you are having problems with your Magimix.

You are welcome to call our office on 1300 624 469 and one of our team members can assist.

You can also find your nearest service agent by following this link: https://www.magimix.com.au/page/Service-agents/

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

Christine L.
Christine L.

Thank you for the response. I am in the US and did contact them but have not heard back. My husband discovered it was with the power contact when you put the bowl on and the little button to make it go on does not get contact with the power, Any advise? Thank you!

Magimix
Magimix A.Magimix

Hi Christine, if you could email a photo of your machine setup as you would usually and send it to info@magimix.com.au we will have a look as perhaps something my not be locked in properly. Otherwise we will offer some further advise through email. Thanks.


Wadiaa

Wadiaaasked

5200 XL

I purchased magimix 5200 xl recently. It is very good but it stop working after maybe 30 or 40 minutes when the motor becomes hot.
Is this normal? Or does it have a problem?
Because I should wait a long time to do other things

No answers

oldsword

oldswordasked

5200 XL

I've recently purchased the Magimix 5200xl food processor. I have been looking on youtube for ideas
for use. To date only used it for grating carrots, chopping nuts & breadcrumbs, so atm all ok.
Just curious though I checked out the Magimix Patisier 6200 XL which has a Stainless steel bowl and what looks like the same transparent bowls from the 5200xl. Would the Stainless steel bowl from the Patisier for the 5200?

1 answer
oldsword
oldsword

Revision to above question. Question is, would the stainless steel bowl from the 6200xl Patissier fit the 5200xl as the 5200xl transparent bowls
(3.6 litres, 2.6 litre, 1.2 litre) look the same as the bowls for the 6200xl.


Get an answer from our members and Magimix representatives

Details

Magimix 5200 XL

Magimix 5200 XL

21 reviews
Magimix 5200
  • Discontinued

Magimix 5200

1 review
CategoryFood ProcessorsFood Processors
Price (RRP) $949
Capacity3.6L
Power1100W
Height455mm
Width260mm
Depth210mm

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.