??!
8 photos
Makita 36V Mobile

Makita 36V Mobile

DLM380Z, DLM431Z, LM430DWB, etc...
3.3 from 18 reviews

See the Best Battery Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
4

lishylee

lishylee

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Awesome product

published

Very quiet, was sceptical that it could work as well being a battery operated mower but very impressed. Batteries last a decent amount of time to get the job done. The ease of starting it is worth the purchase itself, no more mixing fuel so I’m happy.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Made mowing enjoyable.

published

Manoeuvrability - Light and easy to turn/ push into awkward positions.
Battery life (5 amp) - 30 mins on long wet grass.
Catcher - Average size, has problems filling, grass needs to be pushed deeper in by hand occasionally.
Terrain - Perfect on my suburban block. Also works well beyond my expectations on my rough rural acrage.
This mower may look and feel flimsy but has put up with rough terrain without issue. If you are looking for a quiet, light, easy to use and clean mower for a regular lawn than this one will be perfect.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
Swine

SwineSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Greatest waste of money no guts useless not worth a pinch

published

Can’t mow a lawn with it jams up not a tool it’s a toy not buy one especially from Sydney tools greasiest waste of money
Plastic cheap useless

Purchased in November 2018 at Sydney Tools Online Store for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
Kirk

KirkSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Cheaply made, but i still love makita

published

Chassis is a bit flimsy. Front wheels bend easily if bumped. Catcher holds a decent amount of clippings, however, can be tricky to mount.
Mower struggles with thicker grass.
I'm now hunting a replacement set of blades as they bent when they bent.
I love Makita, but this mower is poorly built for anything other than a hobby lawn.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

jason b

jason bNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Quiet and clean

published

Good if your yard is small and not overgrown. Struggles with some types of grass(even when it is short) but if you have the right grass it is quiet and literally vacuums up all the mess. No good if you have a big project. You need lots of batteries to do a whole yard but two 6ah should be ok.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Daveat97

Daveat97Central Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Only for very light conditions and small cottage garden lawns

published

Construction is light - almost toy-like as per earlier criticism and the steel struts for the wheels bend very easily - not sturdy at all. Cuts well and with Makita stable I have lots of batteries to keep going.
The catcher has poor mounting ability and is difficult to position - and is small.
Looking at a changeover deal from Makita for the larger cut width (460) and sturdier - better engineered? DLM460 steel chassis and thicker struts for the wheels.

Still waiting for Makita

Purchased in November 2017 at Mitre 10 for $634.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Eco Living

Eco Livingbrisbane

  • 6 reviews

I love my Makita

published

I had to choose a mower that I could rely on and after 6 months; I do feel that I made the right choice!
I never use a mower before and it was easy to understand and use it after a basic info got from the seller.
I have not yet made any maintenance and use it in a regular base - I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Iqbal

IqbalMelbourne

  • 12 reviews

Excellent

published

i am very much happy with the mowers cutting results it i easy to maneuver the mower easy to operate and maintain is has 5 different heights for cutting easy to handle just one thing in any heavy cutting it turns off for sometime may be it get warm or take sometime

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Daniel

DanielBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

A good product but may not be for all. Read for detail

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
hts7

hts7Blaxland

  • 4 reviews

Amazing mower and petrol free!

published

Incredible mower and so easy to use... perfect for anyone who's sick of having to mix oils, petrols and deal with their smell too.

Makita have done a great job brining this out, it's a lot quieter compared to petrol mowers too.

Great buy and lookout for the deals that come with batteries as it usually aren't included...

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Sue

SueDarwin

Easy as, love it

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Just not what it should be

published

Batteries don't last long.
It hasn't got enough to Grint to mow.
You won be able to do your whole lawn in one hit.
Love Makita but this is just not up to par with the price 160 dollars max you should pay for this, I also think you need to maintenance it quite a bit.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

RonnyCraven

RonnyCravenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 40 reviews
  • 22 likes

Fantastic for us . . . but probably not everybody

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
RonnyCraven
RonnyCraven

Nearly two years old now and it has not skipped a beat. Probably one of our best buys.


money pit

published

Before I decided to purchase it , I discovered , you would need 2 batteries, at a cost of $ 300 when you buy it and every year because the batteries dont last . you then have to charge it regularly even you are not using it because it can not stay in the shelf flat, so expenses there and time consuming. Wonder why 2 batteries? i believe no much power with one. Is all cheap poor quality plastic, which unlike others are stronger. The blades are of poor quality , very thin , so another wear much faster. iT reminds me of toy mower the , a pretend mower, of the quality . another reason that is why is so light , everything is poor quality materials. money down the pit.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

not up to scratch

published

I have a couch lawn this mower will not mow on the lowest setting, it gets stuck and because the construction of the mower is so flimsy it will break. On next setting it will cut but very slowly. I have many Makita tools including a line trimmer. Afraid im very disappointed with this product but must stress that this is the only Makita product that I have been unhappy with. Glorified toy!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Cassie

CassieMill Park

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

No guts

published

Bought this to mow a 10m x 2m nature strip with short grass and it struggled. Took 30 mins to mow nature strip. Had to lift up after every push to get the blades going. Batteries also drain quickly. Very very disappointed. The lawn mower is extremely quiet which is a plus.


Very happy with this product, 100 out of 100

published

Roger65

Roger65SOUTH GIPPSLAND

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Not up to scratch

published

Went ok on manicured lawn when first purchased but as grass grew longer during wet periods weaknesses appeared. Power drain on batteries soon affected the life of the batteries , hard to push hard to empty took about 3days in short sessions to mow average lawn. would not recommend for Aussie lawns lot of money down the drain
great appearance, quiet, no emissions
hard to push miniscule battery life grass wont throw into catcher if damp

Questions & Answers

Lee W.

Lee W.asked

do they come with a mulcher

2 answers
lishylee
lishylee

Yes they do. It works great.

Swine
Swine

Do not get one waste of money go for a proper lawnmower if the grass is the slightest bit wet these things jam up


Susanne

Susanneasked

In which country or countries is this lawn mower manufactured?

No answers

Mark

Markasked

What is the warranty period?

Is it replacement warranty?

1 answer
jason b
jason b

I am old it is 3 years for repairs.


Get an answer from our members and Makita representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.