??!
13 photos
Makita 36V Mower

Makita 36V Mower

DLM380Z, DLM431Z, LM430DWB, etc...
3.0 from 31 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.8 (16)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (15)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (15)
  • Safety
    4.5 (15)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.8 (13)
  • Battery Life
    3.4 (16)
Previous
Next
Pete

PeteSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Grass Height Lever Broke First Time I used it

published

I purchased this as a Christmas present for myself. I wanted a battery-operated lawnmower and thought that this would be a great buy. The very first time I used it - The lever that controls the height broke - I spent a bit trying to resolve the problem but every time you went over a bump it would pop out again making it almost impossible to mow. You literally have to pull the unit apart and pop the gear stick into place. When I tried to contact Makita to let them know that this was faulty - there is no email address to send them your concern or complaint - Wow - This piece cost me quite a bit - It was faulty out of the box. Really disappointed. I Hope Makita Australia will read this and at least try and help me out. Really Disappointed

Purchased in January 2021 at Mitre 10 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Adrian F

Adrian FSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

DLM532 18Vx2 Brushless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower 534mm (21") Kit

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Online Store for $1,349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Paul

PaulHunter Region, NSW

Still needs work , its not a complete mower.

published

Ive owned one now for 2 years , the rear wheels constantly fracture around the axle entry points. This causes the mower to lower itself when the catcher get more cut grass , this causes the wheels to buckle therefore the cut gets lower at the back and the mower clogs up. Ive replaced the wheels thinking it was a one off issue , the new ones broke also.Ive since modified it myself , this has elevated the problem to some extent The original design is very poor in this area . Until they strengthen the wheel connectivity point, the mower is useless.

Purchased in June 2019 at gumtree for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Makita 36V Mower compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Commercial mowing

Commercial mowingSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Expensive Garbage

published

Waste of $1849. I could've bought a top of the line Honda for less than that.
Definitely not practical for use on a contractor level, as the rep at Sydney Tools told me it was. Nowhere near practical functionality as the deck is too long and the propeller wheels spin freely at the slightest bump.
You can't even cut low, because the deck sits much lower than the blades. You just get more free spinning.
As for running time, I had 4, 6amp batteries at full charge. And I'd be lucky if I got 40 minutes out of them combined.(both sets).
Oh and the cut was shocking, had to pull out the bits of grass that stuck out because it didn't even give me a clean cut.

Purchased in December 2020 at Sydney Tools for $1,849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Bandula

Bandula

  • 5 reviews

Really good product

published

Good quality, powerful, got 2x100 w panels charging my batteries, and on full renewable energy, does the same job previously done by Bushranger 650cc. No more smoke, no more loud noise.

puckel

puckelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 29 reviews
  • 18 likes

Great Cordless Mower

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
James C.

James C.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

Has no power

published

Do not waste your money , has no power. Just stops if grass is slightly thick or high. Catcher and ease of use is ok. Only buy if your grass isn't very thick at all.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
STX

STXIllawarra, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes

Not a toy plenty of charge to do the job

published

It takes a little adjustment to get your head around how the mower should be used.The active torque lags a little but nothing to deter it's performance.it feels like a petrol mower in build quality it also gives a great cut with 10 adjustment levels also very quiet to run.Great warranty once you become use to it you will love it.

Purchased in March 2020 at Total Tools for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sarah

SarahSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Easy to use

published

Good for small yards a little jobs. Not a big catcher so I have to empty quite frequently. It is ideal for me as I am a small framed you woman who does not have a lot of strength and can’t not start a petrol mower. It starts very easily and the batteries (we had to buy separately ) charge very quickly. Overall, it was quite expensive for what we got but it does the job.

Purchased in January 2019 at Mitre 10 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Makita 36V Mower compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roger

RogerSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Flimsy toy

published

Cuts ok, quiet but built like a toy and only lasted 8 uses before we had to ship it off for repair. At our cost. Not fit for purpose. Buy something cheaper and it will do the same job and can’t last any less time! Marital also never responded to correspondence.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
_shane

_shaneGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 22 reviews
  • 17 likes

Don’t waste your time or money on this

published

I use all of Makita tools and this is really el cheapo and not up to standard. The wheels are flimsy and bend around as you push it. They remind me of a toy mower we had as kids. This thing is $400, you can buy mowers with alloy base and ball bearing wheels for less. There are other battery mowers out there so save your money on this one and buy another brand

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sly Gryphon

Sly GryphonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointing from Makita, rear wheels keep failing

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Paul

PaulGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Overall Great Mower

published

Mower is used for medium sized lawn approximately 125 square metres. Two 6ah batteries never go under half charge. Very easy to use and cuts grass better than petrol mower. I have RTF tall Fescue grass which probably suits electric mower. Never going back to petrol. So easy to put batteries in and give the grass a quick cut. Low noise means can cut early morning and not annoy neighbours. Only downside is the handle does not easily fold down for storage. I'm now a convert with the blower and trimmer. Pay a little extra for top range and you won't be disappointed.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
lishylee

lishylee

  • 5 reviews

Awesome product

published

Very quiet, was sceptical that it could work as well being a battery operated mower but very impressed. Batteries last a decent amount of time to get the job done. The ease of starting it is worth the purchase itself, no more mixing fuel so I’m happy.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Made mowing enjoyable.

published

Manoeuvrability - Light and easy to turn/ push into awkward positions.
Battery life (5 amp) - 30 mins on long wet grass.
Catcher - Average size, has problems filling, grass needs to be pushed deeper in by hand occasionally.
Terrain - Perfect on my suburban block. Also works well beyond my expectations on my rough rural acrage.
This mower may look and feel flimsy but has put up with rough terrain without issue. If you are looking for a quiet, light, easy to use and clean mower for a regular lawn than this one will be perfect.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Makita 36V Mower compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Swine

SwineSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Greatest waste of money no guts useless not worth a pinch

published

Can’t mow a lawn with it jams up not a tool it’s a toy not buy one especially from Sydney tools greasiest waste of money
Plastic cheap useless

Purchased in November 2018 at Sydney Tools Online Store for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kirk

KirkSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Cheaply made, but i still love makita

published

Chassis is a bit flimsy. Front wheels bend easily if bumped. Catcher holds a decent amount of clippings, however, can be tricky to mount.
Mower struggles with thicker grass.
I'm now hunting a replacement set of blades as they bent when they bent.
I love Makita, but this mower is poorly built for anything other than a hobby lawn.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
jason b

jason bNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Quiet and clean

published

Good if your yard is small and not overgrown. Struggles with some types of grass(even when it is short) but if you have the right grass it is quiet and literally vacuums up all the mess. No good if you have a big project. You need lots of batteries to do a whole yard but two 6ah should be ok.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Daveat97

Daveat97Central Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Only for very light conditions and small cottage garden lawns

published

Construction is light - almost toy-like as per earlier criticism and the steel struts for the wheels bend very easily - not sturdy at all. Cuts well and with Makita stable I have lots of batteries to keep going.
The catcher has poor mounting ability and is difficult to position - and is small.
Looking at a changeover deal from Makita for the larger cut width (460) and sturdier - better engineered? DLM460 steel chassis and thicker struts for the wheels.

Still waiting for Makita

Purchased in November 2017 at Mitre 10 for $634.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Eco Living

Eco Livingbrisbane

  • 6 reviews

I love my Makita

published

I had to choose a mower that I could rely on and after 6 months; I do feel that I made the right choice!
I never use a mower before and it was easy to understand and use it after a basic info got from the seller.
I have not yet made any maintenance and use it in a regular base - I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

erika-rohde

erika-rohdeasked

36V Mower

is this mower self propelled?

2 answers
Bandula
Bandula

not the self propelled version it is a bit expensive

puckel
puckel

There are several 18V models that have the metal deck that are available as a tool only or in a kit:
NOT SELF PROPELLED:
1). the $549 DLM461 model uses 2x18V batteries and has a 460mm cut width. It has 2 cutting blades.
2). the $749 DLM531 model uses 2 sets of 2x18V switchable pairs of batteries and has a cutting width of 534mm and a side chute. I think it has 4 cutting blades.
IS SELF PROPELLED:
1). the $999 DLM533 model uses 2 sets of 2X18V switchable pairs of batteries, and has a cutting width of 534mm. I think it has 4 cutting blades.

Lee W.

Lee W.asked

36V Mower

do they come with a mulcher

2 answers
lishylee
lishylee

Yes they do. It works great.

Swine
Swine

Do not get one waste of money go for a proper lawnmower if the grass is the slightest bit wet these things jam up

Susanne

Susanneasked

36V Mower

In which country or countries is this lawn mower manufactured?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 10 Makita 36V Mower
Makita DLM431PT2

Makita DLM431PT2

No reviews yet
Makita DLM380PT2

Makita DLM380PT2

No reviews yet
CategoryBattery Lawn MowersBattery Lawn MowersBattery Lawn MowersBattery Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $400.00$499.00$699.00$599.00
Power SourceBattery (Removable)Battery (Removable)Battery (Removable)Battery (Removable)
FeaturesBattery Life Indicator, Blade Brake, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorMulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorFoldable Handle, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorMulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidCollapsibleCollapsibleRigid
Catcher Capacity40 L50 L50 L40 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlasticPlasticPlastic
Cutting Width380 mm430 mm430 mm380 mm
Height of Cut25 mm to 75 mm20 mm to 75 mm20 mm to 75 mm25 mm to 75 mm
Number of Blades22
Noise Level 93 dB80 dB81 dB81 dB
Weight15 kg18.3 kg18.3 kg13.8 kg
Voltage 36 V36 V36 V36 V
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Name36 V (18V x 2) Motor36V (18V x 2) Lithium-Ion Motor36V (18Vx2) Lithium-Ion MotorLithium-Ion Battery
Engine TypeLithium-Ion BatteryLithium-Ion BatteryLithium-Ion BatteryLithium-Ion Battery
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 10 Makita 36V Mower

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.