??!
9 photos
Makita 36V Mower

Makita 36V Mower

DLM380Z, DLM431Z, LM430DWB, etc...
3.1 from 23 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(7)
(3)
(4)
(4)
(5)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (8)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (8)
    • Occasionally (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (9)
  • Safety
    4.7 (9)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.0 (7)
  • Battery Life
    3.8 (9)


Sarah

SarahSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Easy to use

published

Good for small yards a little jobs. Not a big catcher so I have to empty quite frequently. It is ideal for me as I am a small framed you woman who does not have a lot of strength and can’t not start a petrol mower. It starts very easily and the batteries (we had to buy separately ) charge very quickly. Overall, it was quite expensive for what we got but it does the job.

Purchased in January 2019 at Mitre 10 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Roger

RogerSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Flimsy toy

published

Cuts ok, quiet but built like a toy and only lasted 8 uses before we had to ship it off for repair. At our cost. Not fit for purpose. Buy something cheaper and it will do the same job and can’t last any less time! Marital also never responded to correspondence.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers
_shane

_shaneGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 18 reviews

Don’t waste your time or money on this

published

I use all of Makita tools and this is really el cheapo and not up to standard. The wheels are flimsy and bend around as you push it. They remind me of a toy mower we had as kids. This thing is $400, you can buy mowers with alloy base and ball bearing wheels for less. There are other battery mowers out there so save your money on this one and buy another brand

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
Sly Gryphon

Sly GryphonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Disappointing from Makita, rear wheels keep failing

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Paul

PaulGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Overall Great Mower

published

Mower is used for medium sized lawn approximately 125 square metres. Two 6ah batteries never go under half charge. Very easy to use and cuts grass better than petrol mower. I have RTF tall Fescue grass which probably suits electric mower. Never going back to petrol. So easy to put batteries in and give the grass a quick cut. Low noise means can cut early morning and not annoy neighbours. Only downside is the handle does not easily fold down for storage. I'm now a convert with the blower and trimmer. Pay a little extra for top range and you won't be disappointed.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

lishylee

lishylee

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Awesome product

published

Very quiet, was sceptical that it could work as well being a battery operated mower but very impressed. Batteries last a decent amount of time to get the job done. The ease of starting it is worth the purchase itself, no more mixing fuel so I’m happy.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Made mowing enjoyable.

published

Manoeuvrability - Light and easy to turn/ push into awkward positions.
Battery life (5 amp) - 30 mins on long wet grass.
Catcher - Average size, has problems filling, grass needs to be pushed deeper in by hand occasionally.
Terrain - Perfect on my suburban block. Also works well beyond my expectations on my rough rural acrage.
This mower may look and feel flimsy but has put up with rough terrain without issue. If you are looking for a quiet, light, easy to use and clean mower for a regular lawn than this one will be perfect.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Swine

SwineSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Greatest waste of money no guts useless not worth a pinch

published

Can’t mow a lawn with it jams up not a tool it’s a toy not buy one especially from Sydney tools greasiest waste of money
Plastic cheap useless

Purchased in November 2018 at Sydney Tools Online Store for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
Kirk

KirkSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Cheaply made, but i still love makita

published

Chassis is a bit flimsy. Front wheels bend easily if bumped. Catcher holds a decent amount of clippings, however, can be tricky to mount.
Mower struggles with thicker grass.
I'm now hunting a replacement set of blades as they bent when they bent.
I love Makita, but this mower is poorly built for anything other than a hobby lawn.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
jason b

jason bNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Quiet and clean

published

Good if your yard is small and not overgrown. Struggles with some types of grass(even when it is short) but if you have the right grass it is quiet and literally vacuums up all the mess. No good if you have a big project. You need lots of batteries to do a whole yard but two 6ah should be ok.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Daveat97

Daveat97Central Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Only for very light conditions and small cottage garden lawns

published

Construction is light - almost toy-like as per earlier criticism and the steel struts for the wheels bend very easily - not sturdy at all. Cuts well and with Makita stable I have lots of batteries to keep going.
The catcher has poor mounting ability and is difficult to position - and is small.
Looking at a changeover deal from Makita for the larger cut width (460) and sturdier - better engineered? DLM460 steel chassis and thicker struts for the wheels.

Still waiting for Makita

Purchased in November 2017 at Mitre 10 for $634.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Eco Living

Eco Livingbrisbane

  • 6 reviews

I love my Makita

published

I had to choose a mower that I could rely on and after 6 months; I do feel that I made the right choice!
I never use a mower before and it was easy to understand and use it after a basic info got from the seller.
I have not yet made any maintenance and use it in a regular base - I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Iqbal

IqbalMelbourne

  • 12 reviews

Excellent

published

i am very much happy with the mowers cutting results it i easy to maneuver the mower easy to operate and maintain is has 5 different heights for cutting easy to handle just one thing in any heavy cutting it turns off for sometime may be it get warm or take sometime

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Daniel

DanielBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

A good product but may not be for all. Read for detail

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
hts7

hts7Blaxland

  • 4 reviews

Amazing mower and petrol free!

published

Incredible mower and so easy to use... perfect for anyone who's sick of having to mix oils, petrols and deal with their smell too.

Makita have done a great job brining this out, it's a lot quieter compared to petrol mowers too.

Great buy and lookout for the deals that come with batteries as it usually aren't included...

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Sue

SueDarwin

Easy as, love it

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Just not what it should be

published

Batteries don't last long.
It hasn't got enough to Grint to mow.
You won be able to do your whole lawn in one hit.
Love Makita but this is just not up to par with the price 160 dollars max you should pay for this, I also think you need to maintenance it quite a bit.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

RonnyCraven

RonnyCravenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 41 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic for us . . . but probably not everybody

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
RonnyCraven
RonnyCraven

Nearly two years old now and it has not skipped a beat. Probably one of our best buys.


money pit

published

Before I decided to purchase it , I discovered , you would need 2 batteries, at a cost of $ 300 when you buy it and every year because the batteries dont last . you then have to charge it regularly even you are not using it because it can not stay in the shelf flat, so expenses there and time consuming. Wonder why 2 batteries? i believe no much power with one. Is all cheap poor quality plastic, which unlike others are stronger. The blades are of poor quality , very thin , so another wear much faster. iT reminds me of toy mower the , a pretend mower, of the quality . another reason that is why is so light , everything is poor quality materials. money down the pit.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

not up to scratch

published

I have a couch lawn this mower will not mow on the lowest setting, it gets stuck and because the construction of the mower is so flimsy it will break. On next setting it will cut but very slowly. I have many Makita tools including a line trimmer. Afraid im very disappointed with this product but must stress that this is the only Makita product that I have been unhappy with. Glorified toy!

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Lee W.

Lee W.asked

do they come with a mulcher

2 answers
lishylee
lishylee

Yes they do. It works great.

Swine
Swine

Do not get one waste of money go for a proper lawnmower if the grass is the slightest bit wet these things jam up


Susanne

Susanneasked

In which country or countries is this lawn mower manufactured?

No answers

Mark

Markasked

What is the warranty period?

Is it replacement warranty?

1 answer
jason b
jason b

I am old it is 3 years for repairs.


Get an answer from our members and Makita representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.