6 photos
Mazda MPV LW

Mazda MPV LW (1999-2006)

3.8 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best People Movers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Mazda

Reviews

3.8
13 reviews
    Previous
    Next
    Leelee4564
    Leelee4564Hunter Region, NSW
    • 3 reviews

    Piece of junk!!!

    published

    High fuel costs.
    Car looks like a pond whenever it rains (yes seals have been replaced).
    Mass air flow sensor replaced twice.
    Water pump replaced twice.
    Ball joints gone after 30000ks.
    Transmission is loud and clunky.
    Revs are all over the place whether driving or idle.
    I am not and erratic driver or a lead foot. Just a mum with 4 kids to get from A to B.
    My list goes on and on.
    Do not waste your hard earned cash on this.
    And we had owned it from new.

    Badge(No Badge)
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJune 2002

    Best 7 seater ever

    published

    I bought my MPV 2000/2001 model in 2011. We are so happy with it. You will not find a people mover which drives like a car, powerful V6 when you want power, space like a van, visibility like a bus. I wish they have the new version in Australia.
    When you have kids and if you like to travel , this is a very good vehicle to have.

    Badge(No Badge)
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedApr 2011

    Other People Movers

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    niloc79
    niloc79South Australia
    • 12 reviews
    • 4 likes

    Good family car

    published

    Have owned the MPV for the last 10 months. My wife wanted another Kluger but the rear leg room is only for little kids. The MPV Can seat 7 adults but middle row seat leg room is tight. All of the rear seats are removable, but they are heavy and a pain in the back to put back in. Has rear aircon vents in the roof which work really well. It handles well considering it's quite a tall car. Very easy to park and reverse especially if you lower the back of the middle seat when not in use. Fuel consumption is around 13L per 100kms which I expected from a V6. The most annoying and pretty dangerous is front wheel drive wheel spin especially on wet roads. Don't even think of trying to take off quick in the wet. It will just sit there and spin away!

    Badge(No Badge)
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJan 2016

    10 years young

    published

    We have 3 boys and had taken MPV to many road trips. MPV is a highly versatile car because it contains 7 individual bucket seats. Each seat is removable, great for those camping trips & transporting big items, book cases, beds etc. We never have any trouble our MPV, car always park out in the open yet the paint work still looks new. I found it hard to part with our MPV because no car in the current market offers 7 individual removable seats. it is a very roomy car but drives like a std station wagon, except better due to its height.

    People Movers

    Find out how Mazda MPV LW compares to other People Movers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    thomasmagill98
    thomasmagill98Sydney
    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    Mazda- Never Again

    published
    Transmission5 Speed Auto
    thomasmagill98
    thomasmagill98

    Also the cruise control is hopeless. Drops gears going up hills and goes into the red zone.

    nick11
    nick11AU
    • 2 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Love it!

    published
    TransmissionAuto
    fred
    fred

    Just paid over $1000 for 2001 MPV water pump. Beware!!! Buy a Toyota instead!!!

    Holly21
    Holly21

    what year model do you own?

    SJEDGE
    SJEDGE
    • 4 reviews
    • 11 likes

    Excellent

    published

    Related Articles

    Previous
    Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

    With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

    Clara V.
    Clara V.15 Nov 2021
    smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
    Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

    A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

    Cameron S.
    Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
    our-latest-expert-car-reviews
    How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

    Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

    Clara V.
    Clara V.30 Nov 2021
    how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
    Next
    shakir15
    shakir15
    • 34 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Good

    published

    Other People Movers

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    messyhouse
    messyhouse
    • 13 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Excellent

    published
    People Movers

    Find out how Mazda MPV LW compares to other People Movers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Charles_James
    Charles_JamesAU
    • 11 reviews
    • 11 likes

    Mazda MPV Engine issues

    published

    American Ford engine biggest weakness with this car. In 2011, the car was taken to the work shop twice at great cost to repair.First being a cracked PCV hose and the second was for a faulty coil. Both these items are located at the back of the engine, practically underneath the dash board so took a long time to locate and fix. Reading on the MPVClub website, this is a very common problem. Mazda Australia would not come to the party to fix the coil issue even though the car had not yet at that int covered 100,000kms. I would suggest check service history if buying used to see if these two problems have been addressed. Otherwise, steer clear.
    Spacious, easy removable seats.

    Transmission5 SPEED AUTO
    charlie_e
    charlie_eSydney, NSW

    Good

    published

    Looking at the service records for this vehicle, there appears to be few repairs on any major (expensive) parts, more like a series of small electrical problems. Time will tell if this continues.
    value for money buying price--$7000 from a dealer for a 1999 model with 104,000km. V. comfortable on the open road.
    Uncomfortable surge uphill in low gear in automatic setting--drops into high reving low gear then drops back quickly. V. annoying each time I leave home which is on a hill. High fuel consumption as mentioned in previous postings.

    tina23
    tina23

    Other People Movers

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)

    Excellent

    published

    have been absolutely pleased with MPV. I suspect though Mazda intends phasing out MPV at the end of 2006/7. They don't seem interested in getting a greater market share by introducing a new MPV which is updated. Take a look at the Japanese website & you will see what the Japanese have this year. Great styling, bose sound system, electric doors, GPS, the list goes on. What do we get? 5 years since the last major re-vamp. Wake up Mazda, Australia. things look good for the new Tarago!
    flexible seating, V6 power plant, Interior space.
    Dated Looks. Lacks Gizmos.

    People Movers

    Find out how Mazda MPV LW compares to other People Movers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    nosilla
    nosilla
    • 3 reviews

    Good

    published

    Exception drive experience, value for money and kids are happy when travelling long distances as there is plenty of room.
    Flexible seating, great for holiday travelling interstate.
    expensive to service

    Questions & Answers

    mel
    melasked

    I was just wondering if it is expensive to replace parts

    2 answers
    Charles_James
    Charles_James

    Depends on the parts. All genuine Mazda parts will be expensive but if you shop around and get second hand parts or parts from Supercheap, they would be reasonable. Labour charge is always the biggest cost if you decide to get parts replaced by a Mazda dealer.

    SJEDGE
    SJEDGE

    The above reply from charles jamed is spot my mechanic always tries to use genetic parts as in most cases they are no different

    Laz
    Lazasked

    Are computer problems common with the MPV. I have one and the garage is telling me i need a replacement. Are they avaiable and how much do they cost

    1 answer
    Charles_James
    Charles_James

    I've had no issues with my MPV however go to www.MPVCLUB.com as it contains a wealth of information and plenty of helpful members who maybe able to answer your question.

    rmzen
    rmzenasked

    I want to know where is location of Engine Serial number for Mazda MPV 2002

    1 answer
    SJEDGE
    SJEDGE

    I have heard it is below the oil filter

    Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

    Details

    CategoryPeople Movers
    Release dateJan 1999
    Discontinuation dateDec 2006

    Other People Movers

    See all People Movers

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.