??!
4 photos
Mitsubishi Delica
4.7 from 24 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.7

24 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next
mww

mwwHunter Region, NSW

Great car - even better than I thought it would be

published

After looking for some time, I have bought a 2011 petrol D:5 G-Premium Roadest. Great to drive and extremely versatile, being able to carry 8 adults in comfort or fold up/remove the rear seats for a camper or cargo carrier. I am very impressed with the Japanese build quality and standard features. Bought it in Sydney
and drove it home up the freeway to Newcastle. Not a rocket but gets fantastic fuel economy on the open
road and stayed on 120KM/H no problem, Very happy with it so far. The Delicaclub site is a great source
of info on these.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Manu

ManuRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Best ever

published

I use the Delica L400 TD every day.
Town/weekend/ 4x4
As a sober driver I can fit 7 friends no problem...
As a Surf vehicle it is quite simply the best you can get... It will take you over sandy beaches no problem.
If you look after it, it stays and mantain a good shape. There is plenty of specialised shops that sells Delica parts in Australia.
Warning... Once you have a Delica... you can not go back to any other veicle. No other veicle will make sence.

Purchased in August 2012 for A$7.50.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1996
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Pete

PetePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great family vehicle

published
BadgeChamonix
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
People Movers

Find out how Mitsubishi Delica compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill

Billmelbourne

  • 2 reviews

1995 V6 S1 Petrol

published

Have this Van for about 3 years now. Have not done serious offroad. Consumption of petrol is high but my is dual fuel so still ok about $1 for 10km when LPG is 50cts. Since having this van many issue, but can be solve . First is best to check the cooling system and is possible change all plug and lead. When changing the plug do your rocket cover gasket as it tends to leak.I enjoy this van as it spacious and can sit up to 7 people. I use this van as my weekender. Part can be source if you look hard enough, as for my 1995 I cannot get a scanner to scan for any code, this is a set back.

BadgeL400 Spacegear
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Wayside

WaysideKimberley, WA

Mighty Road Trek doing the lap of the Map(clockwise) via The Savanna Way from Broome to Cairns and n

published

Diesel blt noisy, get use to it...roof rack removed... too much wind noise! Otherwise brilliant

BadgeSpacegear
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Smiles per mile

published
BadgeSuper Exceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Perfect off road van!

published

I've had my d5 for 2 years now and it's given us NO pRobles at all. It spacious and comfortable and it goes alright off road. Literally a multifunctional family car that goes 4wd too! Love it! I recommend this car to anyone. Currently looking to buy the turbo diesel version now.

BadgeD:5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Timmascott

TimmascottGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

BEST CAR EVER DRIVEN - PRETTY MUCH THE ONLY 4WD PEOPLE MOVER VAN OPTION U HAVE

published
BadgeL400 Spacegear
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
samuay

samuaysydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

3rd Motor now blown up, do not buy!

published
BadgeL400 Spacegear
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012
People Movers

Find out how Mitsubishi Delica compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alexandre

AlexandrePerth, Western Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

So good it made us decide to drive all the way around the world

published

I bought a Delica 3 years ago to be a people mover while my family was over from South America. However, it turned out to be a lot more than I would have ever expected. It is an amazing car, extremely versatile, awesome to drive and great 4WDing.

We fell in love with it so strongly that we decided to spend 2 years driving it around the world. Literally!

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeExceed
Wombat

WombatSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

i have been given one Delica van, just needs an indicator switch and glow plugs

published

The van is 21 years old but very well kept. The AC does not work, and it has 2 dud batteries but generally looks very good. I will eventually turnit i to a camper van. At the moment i have 4 kids so need to carry heaps

BadgeExceed
3 comments
Wombat
Wombat

All good news. I put 2 new batteries in 610 CCA and the AC works, Glow Plugs work and DElicaSpares in Brisbane worked on the Switch, what a true Mechanic, got parts from 4 switches in and put it together. I have not tried it yet but looks very good

Wombat
Wombat

Delica is on the road and did 2500 km without a miss. Doing 110 lt/km and sits on 120 km easily

Wombat
Wombat

Should be 11km/lt

Karl S

Karl SAustralia

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Amazing 4WD van.. just make sure it's been looked after well

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeL400
SilverGhost

SilverGhost

  • 17 reviews
  • 18 likes

Great camper van

published

I fitted out our low roof SWB 1998 2.8 turbo diesel Delica with a double bed, fridge, gas stove, water tank etc. about three years ago. We've done some 40,000 km so far including parts of the Birdsville and Oodnadatta tracks. I'll be keeping this vehicle for quite some time yet. Its certainly more expensive both to run and repair than our previous campervan (Toyota HiAce) but the fact that it'll go almost anywhere is more than adequate compensation.
delicaclub.com is an excellent source of information on these vehicles.

BadgeL400
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2010
andydownunder

andydownunder

  • 20 reviews
  • 18 likes

Excellent

published

Love it. V6 on LPG is cheap to run. Articualtion is not as good as a regualar 4WD but the van is great for space. 2" lift is cheap n easy.
Easy to drive, comfortable and lotsa options. good 4WD ability and can trick it up. Parts OK to get. Are all Pajero /Triton and Starwagon bits. Highway cruising is great then just turn off onto the dirt and go anywhere. Superselect 4WD all from driver seat.
V6 3.0 is good but doesn't like long hard hills. Handles like a tall van because it is.

Great Family Car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
JanG
JanG

The Mitsubishi Delica is fitted with a Pajero engine. All Pajero engine parts should fit. Hope this is helpful.

People Movers

Find out how Mitsubishi Delica compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Excellent

published
Paul C.

Paul C.AU

  • 17 reviews
  • 16 likes

Versatile - go almost anywhere

published
6 comments
keith06
keith06

im going to buy a95 delica &it is diesel the only problem is i need a right hand side step & cant get on to one can you sugest some one my email is keith1937@y7mail.com kind regards keith

Col of adelaide
Col of adelaide
Justine08
Justine08
Auto Academy - Paul

Auto Academy - PaulMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 16 likes

From a Delica mechanic's point of view.

published
6 comments
scoz
scoz

whats a 4m40

The 4M40 is a 2.8 Litre diesel motor used in various Mitsubishi vehicles. Was there a specific query you had regarding this motor???

Andrea41
Andrea41

I'm having a really hard time finding a website with the cargo capacity. I have to prove it's volume to the Canadian post office before I can use the Delica van for delivery. Do you know of any websites?

Excellent

published
BadgeL400
TransmissionAutomatic
2 comments

Depends where you look for parts www.delicashop.com is Australian based with the partscd and manuals

mysticpete

mysticpete

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

Excellent

published

I've had my Exceed 2.8TD for 5 years now and can't complain, good all rounder apart from already stated. Parts are not an issue (or expensive) if you know where to look and what equivalent manufacturer codes are. Def nothing in OZ to match it for a big family like mine (6) and the price. If I had the money would consider an i-Max as the replacement as I don't go off-road enough.
Kids can't kick you in the back from behind, lots of room, dual A/C, 4M40 engines rock!
Underpowered, soft ride, fuel consumption, getting parts, can't reach the kids to give them a slap when messing about at the back.

BadgeExceed
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Bear C.

Bear C.asked

Delica

what about parts in the usa, i live in washington state and everyone says dont get one u cant get parts. howboutit

No answers
ladyem10

ladyem10asked

Delica

Whats the average km's lifespan for a 2004 Delicia automatic? We are considering buying one for campervan around Aus but it already has 235K, so is it going to last if it's been serviced and repairs done and so on?

No answers
Melissa

Melissaasked

Delica

Could u please tell me how to switch doors back on to being auto

3 answers
mww
mww

On the D:5 model, there is a door switch under the right hand side of the dashboard. The power sliding doors
are disabled when this is in the off position.

Melissa
Melissa

It is a 2011

Melissa
Melissa

We having promblems finding it there's 2 buttons for open and close its a white 1

Get an answer from our members

Other People Movers


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.