??!
4 photos
Mitsubishi Delica

Mitsubishi Delica

MK4 (1994-2007) and MK5 (2007-Present)
4.6 from 22 reviews

See the Best People Movers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1

Pete

PetePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family vehicle

published
BadgeChamonix
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Bill

Billmelbourne

  • 3 reviews

1995 V6 S1 Petrol

published

Have this Van for about 3 years now. Have not done serious offroad. Consumption of petrol is high but my is dual fuel so still ok about $1 for 10km when LPG is 50cts. Since having this van many issue, but can be solve . First is best to check the cooling system and is possible change all plug and lead. When changing the plug do your rocket cover gasket as it tends to leak.I enjoy this van as it spacious and can sit up to 7 people. I use this van as my weekender. Part can be source if you look hard enough, as for my 1995 I cannot get a scanner to scan for any code, this is a set back.

BadgeL400 Spacegear
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Wayside

WaysideKimberley, WA

Mighty Road Trek doing the lap of the Map(clockwise) via The Savanna Way from Broome to Cairns and n

published

Diesel blt noisy, get use to it...roof rack removed... too much wind noise! Otherwise brilliant

BadgeSpacegear
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Smiles per mile

published
BadgeSuper Exceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Perfect off road van!

published

I've had my d5 for 2 years now and it's given us NO pRobles at all. It spacious and comfortable and it goes alright off road. Literally a multifunctional family car that goes 4wd too! Love it! I recommend this car to anyone. Currently looking to buy the turbo diesel version now.

BadgeD:5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

BEST CAR EVER DRIVEN - PRETTY MUCH THE ONLY 4WD PEOPLE MOVER VAN OPTION U HAVE

published
BadgeL400 Spacegear
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014

samuay

samuaysydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

3rd Motor now blown up, do not buy!

published
BadgeL400 Spacegear
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012

Alexandre

AlexandrePerth, Western Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

So good it made us decide to drive all the way around the world

published

I bought a Delica 3 years ago to be a people mover while my family was over from South America. However, it turned out to be a lot more than I would have ever expected. It is an amazing car, extremely versatile, awesome to drive and great 4WDing.

We fell in love with it so strongly that we decided to spend 2 years driving it around the world. Literally!

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeExceed
Wombat

WombatSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

i have been given one Delica van, just needs an indicator switch and glow plugs

published

The van is 21 years old but very well kept. The AC does not work, and it has 2 dud batteries but generally looks very good. I will eventually turnit i to a camper van. At the moment i have 4 kids so need to carry heaps

BadgeExceed
3 comments
Wombat
Wombat

All good news. I put 2 new batteries in 610 CCA and the AC works, Glow Plugs work and DElicaSpares in Brisbane worked on the Switch, what a true Mechanic, got parts from 4 switches in and put it together. I have not tried it yet but looks very good

Wombat
Wombat

Delica is on the road and did 2500 km without a miss. Doing 110 lt/km and sits on 120 km easily

Wombat
Wombat

Should be 11km/lt

Karl S

Karl SAustralia

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Amazing 4WD van.. just make sure it's been looked after well

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeL400

SilverGhost

SilverGhost

  • 12 reviews
  • 17 likes

Great camper van

published

I fitted out our low roof SWB 1998 2.8 turbo diesel Delica with a double bed, fridge, gas stove, water tank etc. about three years ago. We've done some 40,000 km so far including parts of the Birdsville and Oodnadatta tracks. I'll be keeping this vehicle for quite some time yet. Its certainly more expensive both to run and repair than our previous campervan (Toyota HiAce) but the fact that it'll go almost anywhere is more than adequate compensation.
delicaclub.com is an excellent source of information on these vehicles.

BadgeL400
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2010

andydownunder

andydownunder

  • 20 reviews
  • 15 likes

Excellent

published

Love it. V6 on LPG is cheap to run. Articualtion is not as good as a regualar 4WD but the van is great for space. 2" lift is cheap n easy.
Easy to drive, comfortable and lotsa options. good 4WD ability and can trick it up. Parts OK to get. Are all Pajero /Triton and Starwagon bits. Highway cruising is great then just turn off onto the dirt and go anywhere. Superselect 4WD all from driver seat.
V6 3.0 is good but doesn't like long hard hills. Handles like a tall van because it is.


Great Family Car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
JanG
JanG

The Mitsubishi Delica is fitted with a Pajero engine. All Pajero engine parts should fit. Hope this is helpful.


Excellent

published
paulofthenauth

paulofthenauthAU

  • 16 reviews
  • 16 likes

Versatile - go almost anywhere

published
6 comments
keith06
keith06

im going to buy a95 delica &it is diesel the only problem is i need a right hand side step & cant get on to one can you sugest some one my email is keith1937@y7mail.com kind regards keith

Col of adelaide
Col of adelaide
Justine08
Justine08
Auto Academy - Paul

Auto Academy - PaulMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 12 likes

From a Delica mechanic's point of view.

published
6 comments
scoz
scoz

whats a 4m40

The 4M40 is a 2.8 Litre diesel motor used in various Mitsubishi vehicles. Was there a specific query you had regarding this motor???

Andrea41
Andrea41

I'm having a really hard time finding a website with the cargo capacity. I have to prove it's volume to the Canadian post office before I can use the Delica van for delivery. Do you know of any websites?


Excellent

published
BadgeL400
TransmissionAutomatic
2 comments

Depends where you look for parts www.delicashop.com is Australian based with the partscd and manuals


mysticpete

mysticpete

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

Excellent

published

I've had my Exceed 2.8TD for 5 years now and can't complain, good all rounder apart from already stated. Parts are not an issue (or expensive) if you know where to look and what equivalent manufacturer codes are. Def nothing in OZ to match it for a big family like mine (6) and the price. If I had the money would consider an i-Max as the replacement as I don't go off-road enough.
Kids can't kick you in the back from behind, lots of room, dual A/C, 4M40 engines rock!
Underpowered, soft ride, fuel consumption, getting parts, can't reach the kids to give them a slap when messing about at the back.

BadgeExceed

Excellent

published

Great Vehicle all in all. For serious four wheel driving; front clearance would be an issue for the series2 L400.Lifting ride height would have to be the solution. However getting into shopping centres is another issue. The delica is not a landcruiser or a hilux but it's there with them. I take it to stockton newcastle every year, no problems in the dune. Plenty of torque and power always gets you of trouble. Nothing ARB air lockers cant solve aye!
what i like about the delicas...capacity of a people mover..the space.. and the capability of a 4wd. i have an L400 series 2. Good ride height.
Difficult in sourcing Japanese exterior accessories such as roof carrier and Jaos bullbars.

BadgeL400
1 comment
Paul from Yamba
Paul from Yamba

Hi there, how does it go if you've got a full car and towing a trailer?


Excellent

published
BadgeSuper Exceed
1 comment
Allhotchocolate
Allhotchocolate

Looking at buying an eight seat vehicle. Didn't know much about this type of 4WD, found this site very helpful. TNX.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jim C.

Jim C.asked

How much weight can you carry in a 2007 delica d5

No answers

Kathi

Kathiasked

Delica MK4 (1994-2007)

Does the delica spacegear 1994 diesel have a timing chain or belt? Also does it need replacing and after how many klms please?

1 answer
Bill
Bill

diesel is chain drive, petrol is belt drive


Narelle J.

Narelle J.asked

2007 D5 Delica .. isles low to stalling computer says nothing is wrong with it.. stalling when stopped or reversing or if you rev it then drops to stall... any ideas ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.