??!
5 photos
Mitsubishi Triton MN (2009-2014)

Mitsubishi Triton MN (2009-2014)

3.3 from 196 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.3

196 reviews
5
(62)
4
(47)
3
(22)
2
(20)
1
(45)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (21)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (21)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.9 (21)
  • Handling
    3.1 (22)
  • Braking
    3.4 (21)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (22)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (21)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.4 (22)
  • Interior Design
    3.1 (21)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (17)
  • Features
    3.0 (21)
  • Comfort
    3.1 (19)
Previous
Next
Michael L.

Michael L.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

The lying Mitsubishi dealers

published

Got a 2012 4x4 triton Ute, I really hate how they said it can tow 3.5t what a lie, unless you get upgrades, especially suspension etc you might as well get out and walk along side it, 131kW, and 430Nm won’t get it done, DON’T BUY

Purchased in September 2013 at Peter James 4x4.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Richard

RichardCentral, SA

I have not made up my Mind, Good, Bade ore indifferent

published

Purchased for A$22,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew Compton

Andrew ComptonIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Been fantastic !

published

Purchased Dec 2018 with 150g km for 17g at Dealer. Now have 185g km not one single problem. Used to get 725 km until fuel light went on, fitted light bar and spot light on tub roof bar and it dropped to 680km When I fill up only takes 60 litres though. A great car to get around, very jumpy on the road over bumps, but very comfortable. My wife finds the passenger front seat uncomfortable for her back on long drives. Nothing has fallen off or stopped working. I am 54 and owned a lot of cars, this is a favourite for just loping along and chucking stuff in the back. I service it every 10g km through mechanic as I do all my cars. Hope this helps anybody looking at buying one. Cheers !

Purchased in December 2018 at harrigans for A$17,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton MN (2009-2014) compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Henry

HenrySydney, NSW

The biggest heap of junk you'll ever buy

published

We bought a Mitsubishi Triton only to be totally disappointed. It spent 91 days in its 1st year in Mitsubishi have multiple things fixed including a blown engine at 49000 km. The list is endless of problems it has had over the years. More recently it blew the new engine up so it has gone through 2 motors in only 170000 km. I would never recommend a Mitsubishi to anyone and have just forked out to but a new Isuzu which we certainly didn't plan after only 7 years owning the Triton. It was meant to last at least double that time but spent most of it on the back of a tow truck. It was always log book serviced etc.

Purchased in February 2013 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
See all answers
Rod

RodHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Has been a great ute

published

This Ute has been totally reliable for the 7 years of ownership. The only small issue was the usual turbo lag on take off (Which you get used to) and some rust in the roof, which Mitsubishi rectified for me. Otherwise very happy with the way it performed on road and off-road - so much that I bought a new MR 2020 Triton. Hope it’s as reliable!

Purchased in February 2013 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Gavin Buchholz

Gavin BuchholzWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Overhearing, dealer takes over 5weeks to repair

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bay city auto for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Max

MaxPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A reliable and effective Ute

published

Purchased in October 2012 at Western Wholesale Commercials.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Not happy jan

published

Got brand new , serviced regularly, looked after, never towed weight, only five years old and massive overheating problems, water pump , coolant, radiator cap. Viscous fan, thermostat all replaced and still overheating, in the end it was a cracked head and needs new motor, Mitsubishi didn't give a crap only said ohh we don't cover the motor, what an annoying poor company response especially when they knew it had overheating problems in that model and should have recalled them all. I'll never buy this brand again and will tell everyone that Mitsubishi dont really give a crap.

Purchased in May 2014 for A$26.90.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
coli60simmons

coli60simmonsPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

boiling

published

The MN 2.5 Triton had a casting problem in the block between the head and Mitsubishi know this and have motors sitting around Australia to replace defective motors but it has a lot to do with the dealer whether they want to rip you off or not and what sort of a repor they have with Mitsubishi Aust.
They have been great with my issue new motor all good no cost.

Colin

Purchased in March 2014 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$29,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton MN (2009-2014) compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
choc

chocVictoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Engines are boat ankers

published

All mn tritons should have been recalled due to having such engine problems never buy one all ways serviced and looked after also leaking suspension which was checked out by a dealer they told me they were weaping not leaking I told him I would be back to see him when I needed a roadworthy certificate

Purchased in January 2015 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Justin

JustinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never buy a triton

published

Rust discovered in doors after weeks of delivery. Countless warranty repairs later engine terminated at 60,000kms. Extremely limited assistance from Mitsubishi despite factory servicing. 1st new car, never again Mitsubishi

Purchased in July 2011 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$37,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Popeye

PopeyeGoulburn Valley, VIC

Very disappointed with this triton

published

3 call backs first 36k, radiator,power steering pump,indercators,42k clutch burn out had to go to v.cat , 110k injectors gone my cost to replace 3500 for the 4 of them .tow 17ft van 3 times a year and use for shopping weekly

Purchased in February 2014 at Car dealer shepparton for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John

JohnIllawarra, NSW

On going EGR issues.

published

Bought new, constant issues with EGR seal blowing out. Replaced in warranty.
Just out of warranty same symptoms have started again have been told it’s EGR pipe now. $1500 not happy.

Purchased in March 2014 for A$32,500.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013

carbon issues

published

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Davide A.

Davide A.Launceston, TAS

Great workhorse

published

I have owned my 2010 triton for the last 5 years. Purchased with 80,000 on it, It now has 290,000. The only things I have replaced are an air flow sensor common problem and replaced at 200,000 and shockys at 240,000. I service every 5000 and would highly recommend a triton to anyone. I tow a trailer regularly and drive long ks daily and the ute handles everything I have thrown at it.

Purchased in March 2014 for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton MN (2009-2014) compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good all rounder

published

Purchased in October 2009 for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Louise S.

Louise S.Sydney, NSW

BUYER BEWARE - customer service shocking

published

Purchased in June 2013 for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers
Mat

Mat

  • 2 reviews

Ordinary at best

published

2011 Triton was bought to tour Australia, bout it early to have it ready for the big trip it had done 20k Klms around town before we started the preparations to have it ready to go , by the time we left it had 60kKlms and now we are stuck in Alice springs with a blown motor and Mitsubishi have decided the diesel injector was the problem and as such there is no warranty , 98k Klms and all we have is a paperweight, and no way to get back to Brisbane

Purchased in September 2011 for A$48,750.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Matty G

Matty GDarwin, NT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Reliable Little Truck

published

Purchased in March 2009.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nigel

NigelIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap that’s it

published

Purchased in December 2013 at Gateway Motor Group for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 10
See all Mitsubishi Triton reviews

Questions & Answers

Tracy

Tracyasked

Triton MN (2009-2014)

Hi can some one please tell me how to brighten my 2011 triton dash board can not find a switch any where cheers tracy .

No answers
haydendavison732

haydendavison732asked

Triton MN (2009-2014)

HI all,
Just wondering if anyone has ever had problems with the chassis such as it bending or folding. it hasn't happened to me but i have been told it can happen. i own a 09 MN Triton GLX-R Turbo Diesel 2.5 liter. has anyone heard of this problem or even had this problem happen..
TIA

No answers
Mandy C.

Mandy C.asked

Triton MN (2009-2014)

Have 2010 diesel 4x4 triton
Having issues with intermittent overdrive Automatic)
When overdrive not working always takes off in 2nd gear, when It does work takes off in 1st gear and all gears are smooth changing up. We have another auto transmission installed and same problem we’ve had is still there. It’s been going on like this for 2 years
Sometimes it may not do it for 1 week - month but then comes back and does it every time
Anyone had any experience with this or know what we can look at next?
Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.