??!
8 photos
Mitsubishi Verada

Mitsubishi Verada

KH, KJ, KL and KW
4.7 from 14 reviews

See the Best Wagons in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

smok

smokLaunceston, TAS

  • 76 reviews
  • 78 likes

Fantastic Car.

published

I brought a used 2002 KJ Verada XI Series II from a minister here in Tas in December 2018 for $1900. It had just over 230,000k's on the clock. And condition wise, it's honestly immaculate barring a few stone chips and minor scratches which i haven't tended to as yet. As for the car itself, well, options wise, it's amazing. Leather interior, sunroof, electric seats as with almost electric everything else. It's almost 17 years old and there is no noise whatsoever, so squeaks, or anything. It is like a new car. The power in the 3.5 engine is amazing. I couldn't recommend this car enough. Comfortable to drive, with all of the options, it's like the Magna of a Mercedes so to speak.

Purchased in December 2018 for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

JLG

JLGMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Awesome car!

published

Honestly the best car I've ever owned. My only complaint would be the headlights yellowing from the sun & some clear coat peel. But thats minor. Its very comfortable, reliable and affordable. Excellent family car. Overall, i'm very impressed with my KL Verada AWD and would highly recommend this car.

BodySedan
BadgeAWD Ei
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
James Carter

James CarterMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Loved It!

published

One of the best cars i've ever owned. Full of features. Smooth to drive. Powerful and very economical V6 Engine. The build quality was excellent. Materials used throughout were top quality. Has always been reliable. Loved every bit of it and miss it ever since i sold it. Hope the current owner is loving it as much as I did.

BodySedan
BadgeGTV Ei
TransmissionAutomatic
carlossamigos

carlossamigosAU

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

5 STAR VERADA -IT IS MITSUBISHI

published

This is my 4th Verada and my last one as I intend to keep this for as long as possible.
Has only 92000kms and is petrol- lpg converted.
These cars are solid,powerful and extremely comfortable to drive.
These models and the previous models were of a high build except for paint issues which I experienced on a previous model.
Keep them serviced and they will go on forever
Interior materials especially the leather are of high quality.
Simply love these cars.
Those were the days when you could distinguish a base model from a luxury model.
If you get the chance, try the series 2 which had a 5 speed trans fitted,nothing wrong with the 4 speed tippy but the gear ratios are slightly better.

BodySedan
BadgeXi
TransmissionAutomatic

Gumball

Gumball

  • 4 reviews
  • 13 likes

One of the best cars I have owned

published
BodySedan
BadgeGTVi

Hendo900

Hendo900Canberra

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Gonzo is a great car for touring in Australia

published
BadgeXi

rivella

rivellaAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

2005 Verada xi

published

Bought my Verada in 2006 when 9 months old. Has given no problems whatsoever, and still on original brake pads @ 103000km. Just put new Bridgestone tyres on even though similar original tyres still had life left in them. It is a great touring car and I would average around 10L per 100km. It is just as happy around the city although the car is a bit longer than normal when pulling in to parking spots. I am expecting to get a lot more trouble free years ahead. A great car.
Reliability, quietness, fuel economy, touring.
A bit long for parking. Instruments sometimes not easy to see in daylight.

TransmissionAutomatic
BodySedan
BadgeXi

Excellent

published

My ex demo kl verada awd has been an excellent car for the money. I t does everything an Australian built car should do.As long as you service them, treat them nicely they will look after you. I average 10.1 litres per 100 kms. I don't have to add oil between services which are done by an onsite mechanic/friend. At 100000 kms it's still seems like a new car. If you can get one. You wont be sorry.
Great value. Goes well, handles well, stops well. I put michelin primacy lc's on and it is magic.
They should have made the wagon awd as well, and a ute too. When the time comes for another car I want to keep this one and turn it into a ute, with a supercharger conversion. Weeee!!!!

BodySedan
BadgeAWD Ei
Customer101

Customer101Melbourne

  • 38 reviews
  • 28 likes

Good

published
BodySedan
BadgeEi
vinpav

vinpavNSW, 2082

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good

published
BodySedan
BadgeGTVi AWD

tony_meszaros

tony_meszaros

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good

published
BodySedan
BadgeEi

superview

superview

  • 3 reviews

Excellent

published

An excellent car with all the features of a more expensive euro car. ABS brakes air bags etc. Resale value is poor but i intend to keep till it dies. parts are cheap as well as tyres and servicing as it is a `standard` car.
Luxury - comfort - power - perfect for our family who just got a little child - very cheap to but second hand - got an 04 with 65km for $15000 in SA
Front wheel drive but what can you do

BodyWagon

Excellent

published

Have done over 200,000 trouble free klms and the Verada is still "tight". The 9th and the best car we have ever had. We also have an excellent dealership in town. Absolutely all positive.
Economy. Looks. Comfort levels. Quietness
Cleaning the front of locusts.

BodySedan

Good

published

Seriously Magnas are the bargain of the century, I got a 2003 Verada with electric everything that opens and shuts for just under $10000, this car was nearly $50,000 7 years ago!
Comfortable, powerful and easy to drive. Interior design is fantastic, beats falcons and commodores of the same era hands down.
Not much really, except a little bland looks with the base models.

BodySedan

Questions & Answers

Carol  E.

Carol E.asked

Lost fob car now car won’t start with the blank spare

No answers

Debra B.

Debra B.asked

I just bought a 2003 verada and want to know what is the worst problem these cars have pls it has a new battery, but had to jump start it the other morning after two days of not starting it pls help and what's fuel consumption like also pls thanks

2 answers
smok
smok

Fuel consumption can vary depending on age of vehicle etc. As for common problems, they can vary like any other vehicle. it all comes down to how the vehicle has been looked after through it's age. however I would recommend doing a Google search on "common issues with Mitsubishi verada 2003". This would lend you a few forums and sites of people who have had experience with this. I know transmissions tend to go in the Mitsubishi after a certain period of time if they are not maintained correctly. Sometimes you may even have issues with the ECU. As for your current issue of having to jump start your vehicle over numerous days, it sounds like you may have a crook alternator. I would assume that there is no charge getting to the battery upon starting the vehicle. I recommend taking your vehicle to an auto electrician for further inspection or if you are in roadside assistance ask them to test the vehicle for you. I hope that helps Debra.

dean r.
dean r.

The wave spring in the transmission can be an issue, my 2003 Verada with only 98,000 k's on it had to have a broken wave spring replaced at a cost of $1800. Fuel consumption around town can be heavy if driven hard, drive careful and it will be ok, on the highway its ok at about 9litres/100 k's


Sujan R.

Sujan R.asked

Verada KJ

Hi all,
My verada is real good in all sector but the fuel consumption is freaking me out ..... sometimes its shows/ gives like 18L/ 100km ... that's way much for me...
Is this similar problem for any one of Verada users...???
Can anyone help me what should I do for not to consume too much fuel....
I don't want to sell my car for that reason...
HELP ME !!

1 answer
smok
smok

Mine uses approx 15L/100km around town and 9-10/100km out of town. the more kilometres you have on your car the more fuel it will use due to the motor getting older and more tired. There could be a number of reasons why it's using more fuel. Do you have a hole in your exhaust? You could also have a crook oxygen sensor or air flow metre. I would suggest taking your car to Supercheap Auto and asking for a full diagnostic check. It will cost you $28 for a printout which will give you any errors or problems with your car. I hope that helps.


Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

Mitsubishi Verada KH
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Verada KH (1999-2000)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Verada KJ
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Verada KJ (2000-2003)

7 reviews
Mitsubishi Verada KL
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Verada KL (2003-2004)

3 reviews
Mitsubishi Verada KW
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Verada KW (2004-2005)

3 reviews
CategoryWagons and SedansWagons and SedansWagons and SedansWagons and Sedans
Starting Price $38,500$40,990$46,990$47,490
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy
Doors4444
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption12.3 L/100km13 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L68 L71 L65 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Max Power147kW @ 5000rpm155kW @ 5250rpm163kW @ 5200rpm154kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque3000Nm @ 4000rpm316Nm @ 4000rpm317Nm @ 4500rpm310Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 1999Jan 2000Jan 2003Jan 2004
Discontinuation dateDec 2000Dec 2003Dec 2004Dec 2005

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.