??!
1 photo
Moccona Classic Medium Roast

Moccona Classic Medium Roast

1.1 from 861 reviews

Reviews

1.1

861 reviews
5
(13)
4
(8)
3
(5)
2
(24)
1
(811)
Previous
Next
Ali

AliGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

throw into the bin

published

disgusting,tyre taste,very very bitter,dont get sick,no crema at all, wasting money,

V8Snail

V8SnailWA, 6230

  • 35 reviews

I thought I was buying out of date coffee!

published

I have bought Moccona for many, many years and really enjoyed it. The last two jars of differing types tasted burnt and bitter with an aftertaste like off milk mixed with bitumen. I thought something must have gone wrong with the packaging in transit but having read what others have written, I must agree with the general consensus that the manufacturer has lost the plot. This coffee is expensive. It feeds a common addiction many have for caffeine and the truly exquisite taste of high quality coffee. Your blindness and arrogance have ensured you have ruined any chance I would buy your coffee again, along with others by the look of it. Congratulations on your top level barista, business and customer skills.

Maureen

MaureenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Moccona poor service

published

I agree with other contributors- Moccona Rich No 9 has apparently changed their formula, the coffee is undrinkable but the 1800 phone number (Andrea) refuses to reimburse or replace. Extremely poor customer service, actually non existence customer service

Purchased in February 2020 at Coles Supermarkets for A$16.00.

Instant Coffees

Find out how Moccona Classic Medium Roast compares to other Instant Coffees

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
K Douglas

K DouglasNorthern Region, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Rich 9 coffee is now disgusting

published

We have been buying Rich 9 for years. I keep buying more jars costing me a fortune everytime, just hoping the next one will be the same as normal. I even rang the company and left my number, they couldn’t even return my call.
I hope they go back to the original flavour, but as of now they have lost a customer. Very sad. Very disappointed

Purchased in March 2020 at Coles Online for A$15.00.

resqfire

resqfirePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Moccona Rich No. 0

published

Cannot believe what they have done to our coffee. Totally agree with All previous reviews. We have been buying, and loving Rich 9 for years, and thought we had bought a dodgy jar, so we bought another ! HUGE mistake, it tastes disgusting, just like the other jar! Premium price for this terrible tasting coffee. Another previously great product down the drain...
Who ever made this Clanger decision should be sacked !!!

Purchased in March 2020 at Coles.

Lil

Lil

  • 2 reviews

What have you done Moccona?

published

A loyal Moccona Rich Blend for years. I have just brought my next 3 jars and have just thrown it out. I don’t know what Moccona have done but obviously they have changed the recipe. It is now the worst tasting coffee I have ever tasted, it tastes burnt and leaves a foul aftertaste in your mouth. I tried to give Moccona a chance by letting them know first BUT obviously they don’t care as I haven’t had a response. I’m guessing they will start caring when their sales fall dramatically. From a line from the movie “Pretty Woman” “Big Mistake, HUGE”! Tetley extra strong tea for me now.

Purchased in February 2020 at Woolworths.

AWFUL

published

I have been drinking Moccona rich for years and now it appears they have changed the product. It is absolutely disgusting the worst coffee I have ever had! Why change something that was so good.
Lost me as a customer, if I could rate it zero stars I would

Purchased in February 2020 for A$16.00.

Matthew K

Matthew KWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

tastes like tar!!

published

I have drunk Moccona rich blend for years but its changed for the worst ! I wont be buying it again ever !!! it tastes burnt and is unpleasant matt kingaroy

Jacqui

JacquiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Moccona Rich Coffee flavour change

published

I’ve been drinking Moccona Coffee for years now. Started with Indulgence and moved to Rich. Always found it to be the best instant coffee but recently they have changed the product and it’s now utterly disgusting...I’m devo!! Judging by other reviews it sounds as though they’re changing all recipes....I’m gone

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles for A$16.00.

Instant Coffees

Find out how Moccona Classic Medium Roast compares to other Instant Coffees

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jennifer C.

Jennifer C.South East Queensland, QLD

Disgusting

published

I drank this for years and raved about it but the new blend is horrible. I changed to the Rich Moconna and now they have done the same to it. I don't know what to drink now.

Beth

BethNortheast, VIC

  • 8 reviews

Still crap.

published

I drank mocconna no5 for all my coffee drinking days. For years. I loved it. Then it changed to dirt. So I bought a coffee machine and bought every other brand of coffee. I since had to buy instant coffee and though I would give mocconna another try. sorry everyone ! Still tastes like absoulete crap. Black and gold tastes better so Ive heard. Turn away or you will be disappointed !

Purchased in November 2019 at IGA for A$6.00.

Dreadful. Would refund.

published

Sydney, Australia. Moccona classsic 5 coffee tastes so bad I assumed the milk had gone off or the lid had been kept off. Will avoid at all costs. It tastes bitter and hard to keep down without milk and sugar. Created this account just to neg the coffee.

Purchased in November 2019.

hawki

hawkiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Sly change

published

Cannot believe there where changes and didnt know why It didnt taste as good. 15 years and now changing

Purchased in July 2019 at Woolworths for A$15.00.

Jono

JonoPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Vile. Buy Nescafe blend 43

published

We had Mocconna supplied to us years ago. Staff brought their own as they were displeased with the offerings. It's now nov 2019 and now dumped with 2 tins of " moccona smooth". Just simply horrible.

Our purchasing dept has just bought nescafe blend 43 at my request.

Everyone couldn't be happier.

Moccona, what a joke. 5 - one kilo tins about to go to waste.

Cheers

Godswill A.

Godswill A.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Tastes so bitter with no aroma

published

Bought this coffee for the first time at coles. Tastes unbelievably bad. its shocking. bitter with no aroma. i would not be buying this again. i guess its back to blend 43 for me

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles for A$18.00.

Instant Coffees

Find out how Moccona Classic Medium Roast compares to other Instant Coffees

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fair Go

Fair GoFair Suck, Of The Saveloy

  • 17 reviews
  • 246 likes

Has Moccona forgotten their 1980/90's TV Commercial ?

published

I would laugh if another coffee company did a send-up of Moccona's TV advert from the 1980/90's to show what people think of Moccona these days. If you have forgotten, people in the Moccona TV advert would run out of a home vomiting because they were served something other than Moccona. Seems Moccona has forgotten their own TVC given their latest offerings are best suited to drain cleaning.
As far as coffee goes these days, Moccona Classic should be taken off the shelves.

Purchased in September 2019 at Woolworths for A$12.99.

Lyndal Y.

Lyndal Y.

  • 3 reviews

Dishwater.

published

Vile, burnt, bitter and it leaves a horrible aftertaste. I don't believe for an instant Moccona carried out consumer testing. They decided to fatten their bottom line by going cheap on their ingredients. If they're smart they'll change it back, but after they scammed loyal customers by removing the "new richer aroma" label, while keeping the new inferior gross tasting flavour, I don't trust them at all now. Bye bye, Moccona.

Purchased in August 2018 at Coles Supermarkets for A$14.00.

LucaC

LucaC

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

WHAT HAPPEN

published

I now know why its so cheap bought it for half price, was always a Medium Roast lover for over 15 years Its was my morning pickup but now is taste burnt and just yuk and now switched over to another brand

Purchased in August 2019 at Coles for A$9.00.

Nithya V.

Nithya V.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Horrible and tastes like burnt plastic

published

Yuk,Horrible and Nasty..Was a Moccana lover and now it tastes like burnt.i would say horrible taste and leaves a bad taste and would never buy again if Mocanna wont return to its original taste.

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolworths for A$9.00.

Kay

KaySouth Australia

  • 2 reviews

Jars not able to be opened by older people

published

Since my husband passed away, I am unable to buy a jar of Moccona because I can’t get the lid off! There is just no way to grip it. I have reverted to another brand sadly

Purchased in August 2019.

Page 1 of 44

Questions & Answers

Gary P.

Gary P.asked

Is Moccona Classic 5 Medium roast Caffeinated? It is advertised on Google therefore answer on Google.

1 answer
Jacqui
Jacqui

I don’t actually drink the Classic 5 but it is definitely caffeinated. Moccona does do a decaf though which I think Coles and Woolworths stock

Greta

Gretaasked

What's the point of asking a question? It falls on deaf ears. You simply don't care. All about the money. The stuff is crap and you know it STOP lying to us all. Destroyed an icon. Bugger your french flavour. Angry furious over how we consumers have been jilted. Just another BIG company doing what they please. Disgraceful Moccona.

No answers
ann6666

ann6666asked

HI I've just opened a no 8 dark roast Moccona and its awful, did they change it too, expiry 18//12/2020, what a waste of so much money, any hints on making it palatable?

2 answers
Fair Go
Fair Go

Consider Moccona a drain cleaner these days !.
Best instant coffee's are: Natures Cuppa, 100% Arabica Freeze Dried Organic Coffee 100g $8 at Woolworths, Coles own brand Freeze Dried Organic 100g $4.50 or best of all, Aldi's Colombian Freeze Dried coffee 100g for $3.25 (when available). Nescafe has added a "Colombian" jar ($11 for 100g) to their range which is 100% Arabica and tastes great. The good thing is Nescafé does not make this coffee, its from the same people that made Carte Noire instant coffee. Hope this helps. bye

Adam
Adam

Wow, I am lucky that I don't drink Moccona enough to tell the difference between the old blend and the new, but I do notice that there is a distict aftertaste that reminds me of tobacco. That cannot be good. I don't understand the arrogance of the company to change what was working, to something that makes so many consumers unhappy. Moccona.....you stupid fools!!

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.