??!
1 photo
Fantastic Furniture Modena Queen Bed

Fantastic Furniture Modena Queen Bed

1.7 from 9 reviews

Poorly made.

Poorly made bed! paper thin slats that break, and legs that just not vertical. After owning it for 3 years and only being in use for almost 2 years.. cheap quality for a cheap bed i guess. Do not recommend. Now broken and in the bin!

Purchased in April 2017 at Fantastic Furniture for $380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly

Looks nice but Squeaks awfully

Purchased the king single of this bed 4 weeks ago for a child. It Looks lovely but after night 2 it squeaks awfully loud. I did ask the store about this before purchasing it after reading a review on here and was assured this was not an issue. I contacted the store to discuss a fix or a return 2 weeks ago and have yet to be contacted back.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Hi Narelle, we are very sorry to hear about the problem you are having with your bed. So we can assist with this, would it be possible for you to send through your purchase details? Our email address is reviews@fantasticfurniture.com.au Regards Jessica and the Fantastic team

Broken in under 3 months

I bought this bed just over 3 months Ago and it's already completely unusable. The flimsy piece of wood holding the slats up has fell off the frame of the bed. Going to attempt to fix it but doubt it'll last long.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Hi Francis, I'm sorry to hear this. Please note you have a warranty for the product and happy to resolve this issue for you. You can contact the store of purchase or send us your order and contact details to reviews@fantasticfurniture.com.au

Great value, Great bed

We purchased this bed through Catch of the day and got it freight free. It was reasonably priced but had no instructions. The bed is just what we wanted and even has a lifter to put things underneath. We bought it because it is much easier to make than our previous one and it is lovely

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Hi Val, Thanks so much for choosing to shop with us! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your purchase and we appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with our company. We hope to see you back soon! Regards Fiona and the Fantastic Team

Love the look, but is not a quality product

I purchased this because I liked the look and the price was attractive for a rental home. My first red flag was with the delivery date- this kept getting pushed back, and even after multiple phone calls I was still being kept waiting. Very impractical when you need a bed to sleep on! When it came I was happy for the first few weeks- worked well with the styling of my room. Then like many other reviewers, the squeaking started. It drove me crazy and as much as I tried to tighten screws/adjust the legs of the bed/oil the legs, the squeaking did not stop. I ended up purchasing 3 replacement bed feet from Bunnings for around $5 each, removed the existing legs of the bed and replaced them with these. The squeaking finally stopped!!! If anyone has this issue and cannot return the bed, please look into this solution!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
3 comments
Hi El T, I am very sorry to hear that you have had some issues with your Modena bed. We would really like to offer assistance if you still require any help, would it be possible to email me your purchase and contact details? My email address is reviews@fantasticfurniture.com.au Regards Ryan and the Fantastic teamHi FF, I have only seen this comment months later. I resolved my leg squeaking issue myself as above. However, now the headboard creaks when get in and out of the bed, or move around in bed. Can you provide any solutions?Hi El T, I am sorry to hear of the issue you are now facing. I would recommend checking all bolts are tightly secured and not loose and using a product as WD40 in small amounts on the joints that are creaking, this should help the issue. Kind regards Ryan and the Fantastic team

Less than a month old!

I bought this bed excited by the style of it, however I am currently awake at 2:30am regretting buying this bed which is not even a month old! I cannot turn over as it lets out squeaking noises which keep me awake. I've tried tightening the bolts and putting oil on them but the noise seems to be coming from the legs ...
looks like other users have had the same problem and nothing has resolved it!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
3 comments
Hi Sin, I am sorry to hear about the problems you have had with your Modena bed. I would really like to assist with this, would it be possible for you to email me with your purchase details? My email address is reviews@fantasticfurniture.com.au look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards Jessica and the Fantastic teamHi - just wanted to update everyone reading this (I had forgotten to do so). Fantastic Furniture got in contact and sent a technician out to my house. The gentleman they said not only replaced the legs (which were the new ones anyway), but tightened and added padding onto the bottom of each leg to reduce the friction between the legs and my floorboards. This fixed it and haven't had a problem since. The technician even gave me his number to contact him if the squeaking ever happened again. Really happy with my product now and loved the customer service FF provided!!Hi Sin, thank you for providing your update, we are really happy to hear this has been fixed. If you require any assistance in the future please let us know. Kind regards Ryan and the Fantastic team

Absolute joke

Purchased this bed a few months ago and noticed the creaking straight away, looked at online forums and they said to replace the legs which I did through fantastic. After this still had the same issue so went to fantastic and they replaced the bed for me. I re-assembled the bed using wax on every joint and fitting to find 2 weeks into use the creaking came back. Just had them pick it up and will go to get my refund later this afternoon very disappointed in this product

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Modena Queen Bed

Purchased the Modena Queen Bed from Fantastic Furniture in October, 2016. Unfortunately the legs squeak. Really squeak with any little movement. We have tried everything to fix it by using sprays to replacing washers nothing works. Do disappointed as the purchase was for my daughter who loved the look of the bed.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Worst purchase ever

Purchased the Modena Queen Bed from Fantastic Furniture just over a month ago. Absolutely gorgeous bed, but unfortunately within the first two days, the legs had to be replaced twice due to squeaking. And I mean squeaking that would happen even if you were fitting a sheet on the bed, or moving in your sleep and it waking you. Their leg replacements were from their showroom bed and they had admitted that all these beds legs were like this. Now the headboard is sounding like a squeaky old floorboard in an old house. It's absolutely horrible! I also have a friend with the same bed and exact same problems.
We have resorted to sleeping on a mattress on the floor and will be returning this bed. Do not recommended purchasing!

Questions & Answers

Hi i just purchased the modena queen bed online today and am a little worried if i made a mistake after reading the reviews about the squeaking. Has this issue been resolved?
3 answers
Hi there Jodee O! The first batch of the Modena bed did have an issue which was rectified quickly with replacement legs available for those beds affected. The issue has been resolved so you can be assured your new Modena bed shouldn't have any issues. Kind regards Ryan and the Fantastic teamWe bought our bed on line as well and it is a fantastic bed but it does squeak a bit when you get off and on the bed. It is really not a huge problemThankyou kindly Val and Fantastic Furniture

Hi im having trouble with putting the legs on to the bottom of the bed as it is not placed right and keeps falling. Any help?
2 answers
Hi there Mari, I am sorry to hear you are having trouble. I would recommend giving your local store a call and they will be able to talk you through the assembly process. Kind regards Ryan and the Fantastic teamThe best thing you can do is go back to the supplier. Let them know what is happening and it is their problem to fix it Good Luck

I have heard that the Modena Queen Bed is super squeaky. I would really love to purchase the Modena Double Bed but I was wondering if the Double Bed version is squeaky as well or if its a fault in the Queen Bed or if everyone who I've heard that from just didn't make it properly ?
3 answers
Hey from what I’ve heard they’re all bad! I purchased another similar looking one online from my deal called the Palermo double and I haven’t had a single problem since purchasing it. Personally I like the look of it better too! The Palermo was on sale when I purchased it not sure if it’s the same now!Hi Lulu, thanks for your question! Very early on when the Modena bed was first introduced we did have an issue with some squeaky legs. This was however quickly resolved and replacement legs were made available for those who received beds affected and you can be assured all new stock today and for the last 2 years is squeak free! The Modena bed also has a 3 year warranty so should any issues arise, we will be happy to assist. Kind regards Ryan and the Fantastic teamI bought one less than a year ago in a package so the comment that they are all squeak free is false. The problem are the legs at the bottom of the bed in-particular the round metal tubular section which is welded to the cross bar corner supports. It doesn't matter how much you tighten the bolts or screws as it is nothing to do with them. I'm about to return the faulty ones that I have so I hope Fantastic Furniture replace them without any dramas.

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.