??!
2 photos
Munns Emerald Kikuyu Lawn Seed Mix

Munns Emerald Kikuyu Lawn Seed Mix

2.5 from 15 reviews

Reviews

2.5

15 reviews
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(9)
Previous
Next
Elsie

ElsieChisholm 2905, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Rip off.

published

I wonder whether the reviews that recommend this product are genuine or whether they bought the same product as I did. My experience with Munns Emerald Kikuyu Lawn Seed Mix is similar to the most adverse reviews here and their help contact emails were also completely useless.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$23.00.

Matt A

Matt A

  • 4 reviews

Dont do it. 100% weed grass and NO kiyuku germination

published

Typical of the stuff bunnings sells. Pure junk. The weed grass invades everything in winter and its seeds profusely. Now I have to buy expensive herbicide to get rid of it

Purchased in January 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Accurate Shopper

Accurate ShopperMelbourne

  • 20 reviews

100% crap 0% Kikuyu seed mix

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Munns Emerald Kikuyu Lawn Seed Mix compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

1 kg outrageously expensive

published

What a ripoff! $49.95 one kg, WHY?? We didn't buy it. Have bought another brand - $11.45 1kg - which we have used a few times before, is shade, frost and heat tolerant and as far as we can see, does exactly the same job. We can't the point eh

Date PurchasedDec 2018
  • Verified purchase

100% Seed?

published

Have purchased kikuyu seed in the past but was unable to buy from my local supplier so I tried Bunnings and found this product. Kikuyu seed is very expensive, (at $67/ kg) at local rural supplier so when I saw this at $20/400g I thought, ok cheaper and “100% Pure Kikuyu seed” which would tend to mean there is only Kikuyu seed in the box.... smaller print then says “Mixed with natural wetting agent”.... hmmmm ok ... not sure why you need this when you water it constantly till it germinates. So I open the box and was so annoyed that it was a box wetting agent with a little seed thrown it. I’d estimate that the seed would be 15 -25% of the box. I will be returning this to the store. What a con!! Would rather pay $67 and get 100% seed!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
million

million

  • 2 reviews

Mums Seeds complaints

published

The worst seed that I have ever planted.
I thought that paying top dollar for this product that it would work even though I have watered it my whole lawn is dead.
Would not recommend this product to anyone.
Paying 70.00 per bag plus fertiliser was hoping for a great lawn I am so disappointed because now that it is summer I have a brown and dead lawn which has costed me in seed fertiliser and lots of water.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
2 comments
million
million

It is a terrible lawn seed would not recommend it to anyone

million
million

would not recommend it to anyone a shocking product

Love it!!

published

Really impressed with how fast we had beautiful grass!! After the first week we had grass already sprouting week two we were shocked to see the grass beautifully growing and minimal patches week three now and i have had to carefully trim the tips down as it was surprisingly long i have watered early morning and late at night and all I can say is WOW! Very impressed with this amazing product. It was well worth the cost and in 2-3 weeks we can mow it and use their recommended fertiliser. If you follow the steps and water it well you won't be dissapointed.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Ratu

RatuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Latest con with gardening seeds...

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$20.38.

Ben Mc.

Ben Mc.Frenchs Forest

  • 2 reviews

Munns Kikuyu is Excellent!

published

Great new lawn product. Sown in late August (Sydney) and result was lush within 6-weeks. We now have 250 m2 of thick green healthy lawn! Followed the packet direction (i.e. applied the seed in combination with Munns "Starter Mix" and watered everyday). Thanks Munns, great product! Highly recommended as an alternative to rolls of turf and MUCH cheaper.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Munns Emerald Kikuyu Lawn Seed Mix compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great for Schools

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
jeff

jeffMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very small amount for the price

published

I found for $20 you only got a few hand fulls of seed ,only enough to do about 3 meters then you got to keep it wet that means watering it 3 or 4 times a day in hot weather and you have do that even after it comes up for weeks all it dies. Better off buying real rolls of grass.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

I Love this grass

published

All I wanted was a fescue lawn, then my kids got a dog. I cannot believe how versatile and tough this emerald kikuyu is, colour is outstanding. Kikuyu haters all say it will invade. This is about on par with couch and has not been a problem for me. Munns have also been very helpful over the phone, great company.

gogs

gogsAU

  • 5 reviews

Crap Munns

published

Claims all big as they know that people will not complain as this is so subjective.
Never buy anything from them..

I tried few of their products and just got disappointed after waiting for long.

Cannot believe this ripper company is from SA, when I tried to call them they were trying to make it hard by asking me to email them.

Is there a way to take them legally?

Happy

HappyAdelaide

It's already sprouting!

published

I had two bare dusty patches in my front yard, not knowing what to do I threw down some of this seed only 1 week ago & it's already sprouted. Nothing special done with the soil first, just a rake and watering everyday. I have very boisterous kelpies so have temp fenced off with garden stakes and chicken wire. It's looking promising so far so fingers crossed in the months to come there is perfect lawn that is dog friendly. Recommend this to anyone!

Steve-gee

Steve-geeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 43 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just LOVE this Lawn!

published
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Munns Emerald Kikuyu Lawn Seed Mix compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Peter

Peterasked

I would lijke to know if Munns will give me compensation for all the hard work and expense I have incurred for nil result. I prepared the ground by rotary hoeing and top dressing then followed Munns instructions for sowing and maintaining soil moisture over the past two weeks. Not a blade of mother crop let alone Kikuyu in sight

3 answers
Jennie Y.
Jennie Y.

I'm having the exact result...$86 for "premium" grass seed and I have had better results with cheap home brand grass seed! Mine has been in for 2 weeks and still not a germinated seed in sight despite religiously watering!

Peter
Peter

And no response from Munns I assume

Jennie Y.
Jennie Y.

Of course not! I went and bought Brunnings seed and over-sowed as I have used that before and it delivers what it promises! Still can't get over the Munn's lawn seed claiming it germinates in 5-7 days...what a crock of lies!

Chris

Chrisasked

Can you tell me the correct product for weed control in Emerald Kikuyu? We have bindi, burrs and an assortment of other weed. Have tried weed and feed, not really successful, we would like to kill the weeds and then feed the lawn, any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

1 answer
Yvonne
Yvonne

Hi Chris,
We use weed 'n' feed it works well on our grass, we make sure we use it when there is no rain in the weather forecast or it washes it away. If you have a lot of weeds doesn't hurt to apply then re apply again after a full week should assist with ensuring none were missed in the first application.
Hope this helps

Bernie

Bernieasked

How much seed do I need to oversow approx 460 sq metres?

1 answer
Ratu
Ratu

Buy the Brunnings 100% seed instead. 4 small tubs would cover that area. I don't think they sell larger tubs, but you can ask. Here is the URL link:
http://www.brunnings.com.au/view-our-products/garden-care/lawns/lawn-seed/kikuyu-max-lawn-seed.html

As the tub is transparent, you can clearly see the Brunnings product has 100% seed content. This is what infuriated me about the misleading Munns product.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.