??!
1 photo
Nescafé Espresso

Nescafé Espresso

1.8 from 29 reviews

See the Best Instant Coffees in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
22

What have you done to the coffee we loved?

published

We have noticed the coffee flavour has changed for Nescafe Espresso to something we cannot drink. Even a $12packet is headed for the bin! What have you done to the coffee we have enjoyed for many years. We are now searching for another brand that works for us. If anyone here has any recommendations for a coffee that tastes how the Espresso used to taste before someone made the really dumb decision to change it, then please let me know. We are in NZ and it looks like the Australian backlog of coffee has finally caught up with us. Nescafe you have lost customers over this change.

Purchased in September 2019 for $12.00.


Ruthie

RuthieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

I hate the change - it is no longer Espresso

published

I have always drunk Nescafé coffee - first of all, it was Blend 43, as that was the only product. As soon as Nescafé Espresso became available, I changed to that and have been drinking it ever since. Now, it has changed to "the taste Australians love". Well, this Australian hates it.
I was drinking about 10 mugs of coffee per day but have now cut right down as it's no longer enjoyable. It is bland, just like Blend 43. I have to use 2 teaspoons of this new blend to make the taste strong enough. However, that doesn't make it right, as it just tastes like too much coffee has been added.
Please will you bring back the original Nescafé Espresso and consign this latest product to the mistakes bin. Thank you.

Purchased in September 2019.

Robert

RobertSydney, NSW

Changed flavour

published

I opened a jar of Nescafe blend 43 espresso and the flavour is disgusting with a foul burnt after taste. Lucky I had another jar of the coffee before the change and that convinced me I wasn't imagining the new bad flavour. Why change something that everyone liked? It tastes like the bad coffee you get in the USA, makes you wonder if it was some new yank manager who instigated the change.

Purchased in August 2019.

Katrina

KatrinaHunter Region, NSW

Why change it? Not a fan of the new cheap and nasty taste

published

Like nearly all reviewers here, I am so disappointed with this change of recipe. We have been very happy consumers of nescafe espresso instant coffee for around 20 years - since around when international dust and moccona did the same thing. We usually buy a few jars when on special, so have only just noticed the change in smell and taste, and the really foul aftertaste. I am hoping there was just a bad batch sold in our region in June/July...

Purchased in June 2019 at Woolworths Swansea for $13.00.


Awful......my mornings are not the same

published

Was looking forward to my new bag of coffee....only to be totally disappointed. Tastes like horrible Gregg's powdered coffee......I'm now in search of a alternative.........Bad move guys....sack the new cook...bring back the old one...please.

Purchased in August 2019 at Pak n save for $8.99.


Not the same

published

We have enjoyed drinking your espresso coffee for years. However, I opened a jar this week and it was disgusting so I opened a second. It was terrible too. Has your company changed the beans or roasting process? The coffee tastes like something a quarter of the price for. It's very disappointing that Nestle is putting it's name on this product.

Purchased in July 2019 for $13.00.


what are Nestle/Nescafe thinking? This new taste is foul!!

published

We have been drinking this coffee for years but our new jars of coffee, purchased recently taste FOUL. We thought the beans might be off, or they perhaps were burned in the processing but it seems, reading these reviews, that we are not the only people complaining about the taste. It is frankly undrinkable.

Need a new coffee brand. Suggestions welcomed, as long as its not Moccona - another foul tasting coffee.

Purchased in July 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $13.00.


What have you done to Nescafé expresso ?

published

Nescafé espresso is the only instant coffee I drink but not anymore. I have thrown away 3 bags of coffee . Initially thought coffee was “ off” but I was wrong... Yuk.

Purchased in August 2019.

Julie T.

Julie T.Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

Something very wrong!

published

The latest jar of Blend 43 Expresso purchased from Coles tastes awful. If the change is permanent (I see I’m not the only critic of the change) I will not buy again.

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W.

Dale-Lyn S.

Dale-Lyn S.Sydney, NSW

change in taste

published

Have now wasted almost $30 on jars of coffee thinking it was just a bad batch (bought July 2019) Iplease bring back the old flavour this new flavour is awful,

Purchased in July 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $15.00.


What happened to Nescafe Expresso blend?

published

Why did Nescafe Expresso have to change its blend in the first place? This new blend is awful. Please bring back the the old blend tomorrow, it's an old friend missed, simply a taste not replaceable after all these years.

Purchased in July 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $10.00.


Nescafe Espresso change

published

I bought Nescafe Espresso Sunday 9 June. Tastes weak/insipid/bland. After drinking Expresso everyday for 20+ years I'm bitterly disappointed. Nestle, why do you continuously change recipes to inferior tasting products?!. This happens far too often and always a dismal fail. Hamilton NZ.

Purchased in June 2019 at countdown hamilton for $8.00.


Roger_Veal

Roger_VealAU

  • 2 reviews

The best instant coffee I have tried.

published

I don't know what the other reviewers are on about but I think the green label expresso is the pick of all instant coffees. I like strong coffee and think Maccona is bland and that Blend 43 Expresso is the nearest thing to a store bought coffee you can get. I have an expresso machine at home and it cannot match the commercial machines and full milk coffees are not fantastic for your health so Blend 43 is the best out there by far. I have not tasted 'the original blend' others are going on about but suspect they are going to be really disappointed when they try the alternatives.

Purchased in April 2019 at Coles for $9.40.


lookingout

lookingoutAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Not even close to the Original Espresso

published

The formula has been changed. Not even close to the original pictured on this site. The original was so much better. Please bring it back any reason for the change?

Purchased in March 2019.

SANDYRUT

SANDYRUTSydney, NSW

....and I thought it was my taste buds !

published

I'm in total agreement with 'Barb "REALLY DISAPPOINTING" and have tried other Nescafe' styles of coffee without acceptable satisfaction.

Closest is Nescafe' Dolce Gusto machine with two capsules of 'Expresso Intenso' ,unfortunately without enough caffeine.

Barb

BarbBrisbane

Really disappointing

published

This is just great.

published

Tried so many coffees but enjoy this so much .


kiwi

kiwiwauchope

Dont fix something that's not broke

published

After years of drinking green label espresso I am so annoyed nestles had to change it. I don't believe it is the same coffee. I will be finding a new coffee to have every morning.


Why oh why change something that's good

published

We love our Nestle Espresso. But since it changed to blend 43 its horrible. Will have to start looking at other coffees.


Brand Loyalty

published

I have been drinking Espresso for the last 20 years. Nescafe says the recipe has not changed, I strongly disagree, I think we are all drinking Blend 43 with a green label. Nescafe had the best instant coffee on the market. You have lost me. Multi Nationals are working over time to keep brand loyalty and Nescafe manage to destroy it by changing the recipe and then insult that loyal consumer, telling them nothing has changed.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Greg

Gregasked

What company sell this item?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Nescafé representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.