??!
5 photos
Nescafé Gold

Nescafé Gold

Original, Smooth, Decaf, etc...
1.7 from 261 reviews

Reviews

1.7

261 reviews
5
(28)
4
(15)
3
(7)
2
(18)
1
(193)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
ssvge

ssvgeAU

  • 5 reviews

What happened to it??

published

I have been buying this coffee for years, & for the last 12 months or more it has been terrible!! The taste isnt the same & I hate the residue that is left in the bottom of my cup. I keep buying it hoping it'll change back to how it once was. I will no longer buy this product & have no idea what I'll replace it with. Why was it changed in the first place?!

Purchased in April 2020 at Coles.

What have they done to this product?

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Woolworths for A$18.00.

James D.

James D.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Terrible bitter sludge

published

Talk about unfair trade look at the way this company treats us as customers changing there recipe to a foul bitter taste putting profits first. I bet the CEO is rolling in it

Purchased in April 2020 at Coles for A$9.50.

Instant Coffees

Find out how Nescafé Gold compares to other Instant Coffees

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolutely terrible- after 30 years of enjoyment- never again

published

After 30 years of gold blend- always paying that bit extra but so worth it- I’ve now had to swop to kenco blue top for a similar taste. Even during the pandemic- poor gold blend is still sat on the fence- if anyone has the original I would be the first in line. What a catastrophe for Nescaf. Please sack the person with these awful changes- they must have cos you a fortune. In these challenging times, missing our daily brew from the coffee chains, you could have made a fortune

Purchased at Morrisons.

Thank the maker its not just me!

published

Purchased in January 2020 for A$10.00.

Nescafe Gold Coffee changed

published

I have noticed with the last few jars of Nescafe Gold Coffee that the taste has changed, there seems to be a lot of floating bit on top of the coffee, and after drinking there seems to be a lot of dusty sludge at the bottom of the cup. What has changed?
UK

Purchased in January 2020.

Bob

BobGreat Southern, WA

  • 2 reviews

Can I trust Nestles?

published

During the past 2 years Nescafe has produced this excellent coffee described 'Made with Green and Roasted Coffee Beans'. I've just bought what appears, repeat, what appears to be the same coffee but with a re-designed greenish label - the coffee now being described as 'Crafted with Roasted & Green Coffee Beans'. I am deeply suspicious of this subtle change and suspect that this coffee will be inferior to the original product. Nestles - you must think we're stupid!

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles for A$8.00.

Absolutely Awful

published

What on earth have they done, this is bitter and bland with an awful sludge at the bottom of the cup, used to love the original but won't buy now anymore, tastes just like cheap coffee now.

Purchased in December 2019.

WIneloverMK

WIneloverMKSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Noticed the difference immediately

published

This morning I opened a new 100g jar of Nescafe Decaf and noticed the disagreeable flavour change straight away, which prompted me to investigate and thereby discover I am not the only one. I detect vanilla overtones which I detest. I have been drinking and enjoying the original Decaf for over18 months but will not be purchasing it again unless I hear the flavour has improved. Batch use by Sep 2021 92623657 10:56. My opinion changed after the jar had been opened for a couple of days and the flavour improved.

Purchased in December 2019 at Woolworths for A$11.00.

1 comment
WIneloverMK
WIneloverMK
Instant Coffees

Find out how Nescafé Gold compares to other Instant Coffees

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bring back the old Nescafe Gold!!!

published

The previous Nescafe Gold was way better and was more well-bodied. This new recipe is bitter and acrid after taste. Also, there is sedimentation of coffee at the bottom of the mug which was not in the old Nescafe Gold. Nescafe!! please read the reviews on the new Nescafe Gold! If there's an option of offering both types to cater to 2 different groups, please do. But don't take away the old Nescafe Gold!! Have been using it for years and am now feeling lost on which other coffee brand to use.

Peter

Peter

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Gross. Unpalatable taste, foul smelling

published

I bought this expecting this to be their premium, finest coffee. What I have is something so gross, that a cheap no name brand is delicious by comparison. I bought a big jar but I wont be finishing it. Looking at the overwhelming stack of negative reviews and Nescafe's failure to listen, I will be changing brands entirely. Nescafe is a perfect example of how NOT to run a business.

Purchased in March 2019 at Coles Supermarkets.

Boris Yasminsky

Boris YasminskyNear You

  • 42 reviews
  • 186 likes

ABSOLUTELY THE BEST COFFEE NESCAFE NEVER MADE

published

This Nescafé Colombian coffee is 100% Arabica coffee from Colombia.
Having delved in to the actual Colombian manufacturers website that claims to manufacture this coffee for Nescafe, its obvious Nescafé has no participation in the manufacture. Hence, why its such a great cup of coffee. Its unfortunate that Nescafé cant pass on the correct price, considering Nescafe pays $1.47 per 100g jar landed on Australian docks. Aldi sells the same 100g jar with their own label for $3.50. Ummm, Nescafe greed..

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolworths for A$11.90.

Suzanne Hundric

Suzanne HundricHobart, TAS

  • 4 reviews

If only there was a campaign vote

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for A$10.00.

Saddened Bypassing

Saddened BypassingSouth East Queensland, QLD

So bad...bring back the original original

published

The new Barista Style consists of some extra ground up beans added to instant coffee. This turns into an ugly sludge at the bottom of the cup and a gritty texture throughout. They must be cheap beans because they make this coffee unpleasant. The original instant was aromatic and smooth....this stuff has no aroma and is anything but smooth.

Purchased in February 2019 at IGA.

this is nothing like the original gold.. I'm very dissapointed

published

the original gold was so delicious.. This is just a big disappointment. I used to drink the original gold and absolutely loved it.. I was so sorry when it dissapeared off the shelves and when this came out I was thrilled till I tried it...

Purchased in June 2019.

Instant Coffees

Find out how Nescafé Gold compares to other Instant Coffees

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

If it's not BROKE don't FIX it

published

Have been drinking Nescafe Gold Original for many years then the new packaging arrived on the shopping shelves. Had no option but to buy this new product and it is disgusting to say the least. Complained to Nestle and they informed me that they have revamped their entire Nescafé Gold range, adding finely ground roast coffee to deliver a richer flavour. Well I'm sorry but they have failed miserably. Fortunately I've found a store that has about 10 jars of the Original Gold Coffee on their shelves so I have stock piled those. Once they run out I don't know what I'll do for my morning coffee.

Purchased in April 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for A$9.00.

Disappointed

DisappointedSydney, NSW

will not buy it again

published

This used to be the best coffee by far. I would not buy any other brand I would purchase multiple jars at a time.
Since the change I am disappointed, this added barista powder makes the taste disgusting. I have tried all of the Nescafe brands and I cannot find one I like. I will not be purchasing Nescafe anymore after years of being a loyal customer until I hear they have gone back to the original Gold recipe.
Not happy as I can't enjoy my coffee anymore.

Purchased in June 2019 at IGA for A$18.00.

Angus D.

Angus D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Without Doubt The Best Instant Coffee Available

published

Can't say that I can empathise with the one-star reviews. This is the closest I've come to long black coffee without the benefit of an espresso machine. Full, rich, robust.

Purchased in May 2019 at Coles for A$8.99.

Disgusting. Bitter residue. I used to love gold blend. Note any more

published

Disgusting. Bitter residue. I used to love gold blend and would never change brands. Now I'm looking for an alternative without the bitter disgusting rate of the new recipe. Nestle informed me they changed the recipe to increase the flavour and aroma. I think it's much worse. They are probably saving money by adding 3% of waste residue to what used to be an excellent product. Shame on you nestle

Purchased in May 2019.

Why (try to) fix what's not broken?!

published

I literally used to say to people that, if I were stranded on a desert island, the one thing I would want to have with me was my Gold Blend! Not anymore, it's just God-awful now! There is little I can add to what others have said. The full aroma has gone, along with the taste and even the look i.e there is now filthy sediment floating in the bottom of my mug. Nestles tried to change the formula previously but ended up switching back. Hopefully, this will happen again. They could even base a marketing campaign on the back of it, along the lines of Classic-Coke, if they had any sense. Though, going by their decision to change in the first place, sense is in very short supply at that company.

Purchased in June 2019.

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Jazzy

Jazzyasked

Gold

Why did they change the
Original Gold Blend? I am guessing it was cheaper to produce the new version.
I am now using Dou Egbert. It is. Much better than any of the Nescafe coffees and we have tried most of them!

3 answers
Boris Yasminsky
Boris Yasminsky

Nestle closed down the Australian manufacturing and packing division because the government closed the tax loophole in the form of "large international companies not paying taxes in Australia", hence why all but one of Nescafe's coffee's are cheap Robusta beans grown in Vietnam and packed in the Netherlands, China and Korea..
In the end, its great news for Australia because Billions of tax dollars are essential to the nation however, employment and product manufacture suffer. In the end, we'll all be eating and drinking Chinese/Asian crap.

Jazzy
Jazzy

That does not apply to UK but I do realise it is to use cheaper beans but why not give us the option to pay more and see how that goes before depriving us of a decent cup of coffee? I am sick and tired of companies making OUR MINDS UP, we are the consumer respect us?

Boris Yasminsky
Boris Yasminsky

I agree with you and in fact it doesn't apply to NZ either. For some unexplainable reason, product managers/buyers in Australia - no matter what company they are employed by, believe Australian's want the cheapest product we can get our hands on. I'm the first to admit I'll have a go at a company charging prices I consider too high for the quality, however consumers must have a choice in the end.

Diana B.

Diana B.asked

Gold

For the third time - why are you not paying heed to the multitude of customer complaints? I just posted two questions/comments (two because I thought the first one had gone off into the ether). Following this I found Nescafe's reply to one customer who - like most people - had assumed he was buying the original Nescafe Gold. It stated that "Nescafé Original is the brand name, rather than it being Original Nescafé". Good grief - how utterly devious and unscrupulous is this. Please clean up your act Nescafe - for your own sake as much as for your customers.

No answers
Diana B.

Diana B.asked

Gold Original

Why isn't Nescafe heeding the complaints of its customers about the new bend of Nescafe Gold? The old brand was a saving grace in my life but of late I've found it verging on foul. I just assumed the problem was with me, that perhaps I was going off coffee. So it came as a surprise to just discover that along with the smart new jar was a new recipe and, that there are many others who share my experience. The blind study on the new and old brand is questionable because aside from the fact that opinions were virtually 50:50 it didn't reveal if the participants were long time drinkers of the old recipe. So to reiterate, why isn't the company heeding the complaints of it's faithful customers?

1 answer
Boris Yasminsky
Boris Yasminsky

Good question Diana B. Nestle closed down the Australian manufacturing and packing division because the government closed the tax loophole in the form of "large international companies not paying taxes in Australia".
In the end, its great news for Australia because Billions of tax dollars are essential to the nation however, employment and product manufacture suffer. In the end, we'll all be eating and drinking Chinese crap.

Get an answer from our members and Nescafé representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.