??!
1 photo
Nestle Allens Chicos

Nestle Allens Chicos

1.8 from 55 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.8

55 reviews
Previous
Next

Horrible

published

The texture is completely different now. They arent soft and chewy any more and taste like a cheap knock off of original chicos. I jave no idea why they changed the recipe of such a classic lolly. I wish they put a warning on the packet showing that they have changed the recipe. So disappointed.

Purchased in February 2021 for $2.50.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Laurie

Laurie

  • 3 reviews

Not the same

published

Not as good as they were ,taste a lot different, very bland flavour. Not going to be on my favourite list from now on . Need to get back to basics .

Purchased in December 2020 at Coles for $2.90.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Rhee L.

Rhee L.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Change(s) for the worse!!!

published

The recipe & name change were both entirely
unnecessary, won't be purchasing this product again.

Purchased in April 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Confectioneries

Find out how Nestle Allens Chicos compares to other Confectioneries

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wayne

WayneNortheast, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

These are terrible

published

They do not the same taste they do not have the same softish texture. I have bought my last packet. I used to eat these on road trips and all the time but no more. Change the name (for no good reason) but they are not the same lolly

Incentivised ReviewNo
Wayne T

Wayne TSouth East Queensland, QLD

A name change to Chico due to racial overtones!

published

I reckon it's stupid to change the name of a Lollie, it's been called Chicko's since it was first invented leave them the way and the name we know them as. The only thing I see that needs changing is the minds of some of these stupid uneducated snowflakes.

Purchased in July 2020 at Woolworths for $3.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Name change due to racial overtones???

published

What is racist about the Spanish word for boy - Chico. If need to change name consider BLM

Purchased at Woolworths.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Great lolly, about time the name changed.

published

A perfectly balanced flavour between sugar and cocoa.
I will personally eat more of these to make up for all the boomers. I ask for no recompense, except perhaps bariatric surgery in 5 years' time.

Purchased in March 2020 at Coles for $5.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Rue

RueSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Chico’s and red skins

published

Discussed to hear that Chico’s and red skins are changing their names. Won’t be buying the name changed lollies. Screw you nestles

Incentivised ReviewNo

Ewwwwww!

published

Terrible - The texture is now like a cheap jelly baby!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Confectioneries

Find out how Nestle Allens Chicos compares to other Confectioneries

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Totally Ruined

published

Chicos were probably my favourite lolly growing up. I hadn't had them for a number of years and bought a pack on a whim. I was excited to try them again after so long. The new formula are terrible. Totally ruined. Have gone from a 10/10 to a 1 out of 10. There is no way product testers tried these and said they were better. By 'product testers', Nestle clearly mean 'our desire for lower input costs'. Your customers are your number one product testers and they have spoken.

Purchased in November 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Quinn

QuinnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

disappointed

published

Killer Pythons- What the hell happened to the size of them :/ you have shrunken them so much
Party Mix- You put way too many bananas in them and the teeth are so small now, I used to love your lollies but now they aren’t as good as they were, very disappointed

Purchased in April 2019 at Coles for $5.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Horrible and Bitter!!

published

I was so disappointed and angry. I used to LOVE chicos. Bought two bags and threw the first one out because I thought I got a bad batch. Some tasted good then I’d hit one that tasted like soap!! Super bitter and disgusting. Opened the other bag thinking they’d be fine and ran into the same thing. What the hell is going on with them?? They should all taste the same! Never buying them again. Tasted like some have been laced with something toxic.

David P

David PMelbourne

This is perfect! Can’t live without it.

published
Witchy

WitchyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 16 likes

Chicos gone bad

published

i haven't had chicos since allens wrecked them. Then i was given a packet and sadly they still wrecked. Bit sad when a product is changed for the worse.

Kath

KathBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Chico’s are Dead to me

published

I have love love loved Chico’s forever but today is a sad day because I have eaten my last. Allen’s have changed the taste so much that they don’t taste like chocolate but nasty soap. I feel like I’ve had my mouth washed out but didn’t do anything wrong to deserve the punishment.

Confectioneries

Find out how Nestle Allens Chicos compares to other Confectioneries

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
superking

superkingMelbourne

New flavour NEW LIFE in this old favourite.

published

Never really been a big fan of Chicos, but after buying some on sale the other month I'm now addicted! The new product is nice and firm, with a lot of flavour, the texture is solid, but breaks apart nicely when chewed, with just a little bit of stickiness. The old flavour was ok, and I know a lot of people are upset about the change, but if you weren't a big fan before then perhaps try them out now.

So sad...

published

My son came back to Canada today (from Australia) the only thing I asked him to bring was 3 bags of Chicos, I was so disappointed , the taste texture are lousy, why did you do this, they were fabulous before, why ruin suck a good product?

Ian Downs

Ian DownsAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Why change good to bad?

published

I bought a bag of.chicos today. Half price. No wonder. they appear to be jelly babies with slight chocolate taste. Never used to be like that. Used to have a flavour like nothing else. Now they are disgusting. Why do companies change products?

pberrett

pberrett

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Go back to riginal flavour before its too late

published

Please go back to the old flavour. The new Chicos have the taste and texture of a barely chocolate flavoured escargot (snail).

Please sack the chico taste tester and return to the original taste and texture before Chicos go the way of Dick Smith.

Bel hill

Bel hillGold coast

You killed the chicos

published

Nestle who did you get as a chicos taste tester to allow you to put out this bland product. I hope you didn't pay them there work is substandard to agree this is an improved flavour. They should be sacked and where would you like me to send my resume to get on this panel of taste testers. Bring back the original flavour

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Truffs

Truffsasked

Do chicos contain gelatine?

No answers
bobgardner

bobgardnerasked

As i am 52years old i still remember the powder coated jelly babies as a young boy they were so nice.Are they ever going to make a comeback?

1 answer

I remember them too and wish they would bring them back, not just because of the flavour though. I have recently become aware that Allens use palm oil in their confectionery to prevent it from sticking together as do other sweet manufacturers I'm sure. The use of palm oil is destroying orang-utan habitat and therefore driving them to extinction. Perhaps the powder they once used for this purpose would be less destructive.

Get an answer from our members and Nestle representatives

Details

CategoryConfectioneries
Release dateFeb 2011

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.