?
? !
4 photos
Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security
1.9 from 114 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (34)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (33)
  • Ease of Use
    2.1 (34)
  • Night Vision
    2.5 (29)
  • Motion Detection
    2.4 (30)
  • Ease of Installation
    3.1 (30)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    1.8 (32)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Ryley T.

Ryley T.South Australia

Device appears offline. Tried all trouble shooting. Nothing works.

published

Does not synch. Does not connect. Does no pair. Do not waste your money. There is no fix or this issue. Absolute rubbish and such a waste of money! Do yourself a favour and don't buy this product. There is also no actual tech support either. Save yourself the trouble

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hifi Home for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pedro

pedroSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Unbelievably Bad

published

We can have someone walk in the front gate and out again with no detection or recording.. sensitivity set to high. We were told that this was due to power saving so we plugged them in and no better.. we invested over $1200 for junk.. we are very disappointed, especially when a friend has a system that works and only cost $300..

Purchased in July 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter T.

Peter T.Sydney, NSW

Dont know their products

published

Asked the Arlo online chat if their outdoor charging cable could connect the solar panel to the Pro 3, THEY confirmed that it could. It CAN'T!!
Won't refund, won't take back the product, Customer (NON)-support couldn't help with anything. Just said "we cant help you".
Worst (non)support ever

Purchased in January 2021 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wireless Surveillance Systems

Find out how Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security compares to other Wireless Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible product

published

Do not waste your time. Custom service is horrendous, technical support even worse. They cant even offer a simple solution to activating your smart plans. overpriced and underdelivered. Trust me

Purchased in November 2020 at Device Deal for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dee K.

Dee K.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Stupid system. Batteries only last 1-2 days.

published

Battery only last 1 day from the start.
It takes a long time to charge and sometimes it won't charge. Support is painful and won't help. Waste of money, don't buy.

Purchased in November 2020 at Harvey Norman for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike

MikeVictoria

  • 20 reviews
  • 11 likes

Disinterested company

published

Cameras work very well but are in effect useless since the alert sound can't be changed and the default alert can't be differentiated from eg a Facebook alert. Netgear, who sell this product, seem to have no interest in doing anything about it since they completely ignore requests from their customers -on their own message boards- to fix the issue. What's the point of having a security system if it can't notify you effectively? Buy something else. This is a waste of your money, and Netgear support is a waste of your time. A real pity since the cameras are of good quality and very easy to install and use.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Motzie

MotzieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Total rubbish

published

To start with I was quite happy however as time has passed I’ve noticed the following: Misses obvious movements
Slow
Very buggy
I’ve no recorded video playback with no after sales support

Do not waste your money!!

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $649.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geo

GeoSydney, NSW

Arlo Base Station

published

My Arlo Base station dead just after 1 year of purchase ( June 2019) from Amazon. Have been emailing support on this issue but so far they have not even offered to reimbursed me for the cost of the base station. They said product is just out of warranty. Only lasted just over an year.
Arlo you need to stand behind your product and help your customer who purchase your badly made products which failed just after 1 year. Offer some reprieve for the customer instead of saying the product is out of warranty and do nothing.

Purchased in June 2019 at Amazon for $160.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bruce

BruceSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Got to be the worst camera system on the market

published

Fail continuously updates are a nightmare recharging is a joke had 2 cameras fail continuously one won’t switch to night vision after service sales doesn’t exist a wares of money

Purchased in February 2018 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wireless Surveillance Systems

Find out how Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security compares to other Wireless Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gardsie32

Gardsie32Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Unreliable and gets worse

published

Initially incredibly impressed with the system, but it is unreliable, drops out regularly and (most annoyingly) is now experiencing huge issues recharging batteries, telling me I am trying to recharge with a non-genuine charger (even though it's the one that came with the cameras). Their on-line "support" is also absolutely pathetic. DO NOT BUY THIS SYSTEM.

Purchased in September 2018 for $995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
homevale

homevaleBendigo

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Basically very good but requires perseverance.

published

The Arlo camera system is fundamentally very good, however in practice it can be very frustrating and clunky. Very slow to log in to accounts, very slow to connect to live feed from your camera and changing networks etc is very difficult. I think the product is designed to operate in areas that have very good high speed internet services, just be aware that it may not work like you think it will. After a few weeks of and becoming more familiar with the product, I believe it is basically a good package. The main issues are slow connection and no ability to set a unique alarm sound should the camera detected unwanted visitors. The Geofence capability works well but can be tricky to set up.

Purchased in October 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Total garbage as security because it’s unreliable

published

Goes offline constantly and you can’t access when traveling. What good is a security camera if you can’t access it? It works for aboub2 days. I have three cameras and the base, all garbage

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very average system - do not recommend

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Raowriter

RaowriterLaunceston, TAS

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Consider this coming change carefully before buying an Arlo system

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Device Deal for $898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dee

Dee

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Arlo Ultra Home Security System - A Risk to your home & family’s safety

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wireless Surveillance Systems

Find out how Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security compares to other Wireless Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim Sunshine Coast

Tim Sunshine CoastSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Quality but Expensive to maintain

published

Good quality product with easy setup, Short battery life when you get 10 or more activities a day from motion and noise, only 2 weeks and you need to recharge. Every activity gets a notification. Unless you pay a monthly subscription of $14.99AUD, you can only mute notifications for 24 hours. Originally muting was much better, then Netgear did an update and changed to 24 hours max, then introduced subscriptions to get more mute options. Very cheesy Netgear! You could do better.
Camera's have good definition and work well in most light conditions. Communication via microphones is 2 second delay on the internet and this can be a problem when answering the doorbell.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarah

SarahBrisbane

  • 22 reviews
  • 21 likes

Poor factionality

published

I purchased the arlo pro 3 based on reviews. Unfortunately it certainly doesn't live up to the standards.

It's battery powered and I have to recharge the batteries every 2 weeks, not 2 months like the reviews stated.

They are motion activated as well, yet it will turn on and record a leaf blowing, yet the same camera won't pick up and record my neighbour abusing me in front of the camera.

It takes forever to connect to the camera and watch it live when motion is detected.

The only good thing about the cameras is the wide angle. Apart from that I will be shopping for new camera.

Purchased in March 2020 at Catch for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Greg

GregSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute rubbish. Stay away

published

Stopped working after 2 weeks. Base station bricked itself. Been dealing with Arlo now for 8 months and still no replacement. Over 20 emails and same in phone calls. An absolute disgrace of a company. Should have bought Swann.

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst purchase I have ever made.

published

IF I had read reviews before purchasing this system for over $400, I never would have bought it. Most of what I read in the reviews pertains to us as well. Want to ask a question on Chat, everyone is busy! In the library 2/3 of the pictures don't appear - one has to download before able to look at them. I DON'T WANT to download every picture.
I am so disappointed.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Battery

BatteryVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Dont waste your money

published

Base station goes offline constantly when there is no internet disruption, I have done all the troubleshooting and there seems to be no fix. While off line the batteries are depleted. When it works its ok, but you cant rely on something that only works sometimes ....certainly not for SECURITY.

Purchased in June 2016 at JB Hi-Fi for $530.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

camera247num

camera247numasked

Arlo VMS3130 (1 Camera System)

Motion zone settings have disappeared! How can I fix this?

No answers
camera247num

camera247numasked

Arlo VMS3130 (1 Camera System)

How do I enable or disable local storage of Arlo Go video recordings on an SD card?

No answers
Ed A

Ed Aasked

Arlo Smart Home Security

How do I get rid of a pink screen on my Arlo camera?

No answers
See all Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security questions

Get an answer from our members

Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security

Details

Compare all 5 Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security
CategoryWireless Surveillance SystemsWireless Surveillance SystemsWireless Surveillance SystemsWireless Surveillance Systems
Release dateFeb 2015Feb 2015Feb 2015Feb 2015
Compare all 5 Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.