??!
4 photos
Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security
2.0 from 106 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.8 (26)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    2.2 (26)
  • Night Vision
    2.7 (23)
  • Motion Detection
    2.5 (24)
  • Ease of Installation
    3.1 (24)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    1.8 (25)
Previous
Next
Bruce

BruceSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Got to be the worst camera system on the market

published

Fail continuously updates are a nightmare recharging is a joke had 2 cameras fail continuously one won’t switch to night vision after service sales doesn’t exist a wares of money

Purchased in February 2018 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Gardsie32

Gardsie32Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Unreliable and gets worse

published

Initially incredibly impressed with the system, but it is unreliable, drops out regularly and (most annoyingly) is now experiencing huge issues recharging batteries, telling me I am trying to recharge with a non-genuine charger (even though it's the one that came with the cameras). Their on-line "support" is also absolutely pathetic. DO NOT BUY THIS SYSTEM.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
homevale

homevaleBendigo

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Basically very good but requires perseverance.

published

The Arlo camera system is fundamentally very good, however in practice it can be very frustrating and clunky. Very slow to log in to accounts, very slow to connect to live feed from your camera and changing networks etc is very difficult. I think the product is designed to operate in areas that have very good high speed internet services, just be aware that it may not work like you think it will. After a few weeks of and becoming more familiar with the product, I believe it is basically a good package. The main issues are slow connection and no ability to set a unique alarm sound should the camera detected unwanted visitors. The Geofence capability works well but can be tricky to set up.

Purchased in October 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Wireless Surveillance Systems

Find out how Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security compares to other Wireless Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Total garbage as security because it’s unreliable

published

Goes offline constantly and you can’t access when traveling. What good is a security camera if you can’t access it? It works for aboub2 days. I have three cameras and the base, all garbage

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very average system - do not recommend

published

Purchased in April 2018 for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Raowriter

RaowriterLaunceston, TAS

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Consider this coming change carefully before buying an Arlo system

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Device Deal for A$898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Dee

Dee

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Arlo Ultra Home Security System - A Risk to your home & family’s safety

published

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Tim Sunshine Coast

Tim Sunshine CoastSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Quality but Expensive to maintain

published

Good quality product with easy setup, Short battery life when you get 10 or more activities a day from motion and noise, only 2 weeks and you need to recharge. Every activity gets a notification. Unless you pay a monthly subscription of $14.99AUD, you can only mute notifications for 24 hours. Originally muting was much better, then Netgear did an update and changed to 24 hours max, then introduced subscriptions to get more mute options. Very cheesy Netgear! You could do better.
Camera's have good definition and work well in most light conditions. Communication via microphones is 2 second delay on the internet and this can be a problem when answering the doorbell.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Sarah

SarahBrisbane

  • 20 reviews
  • 20 likes

Poor factionality

published

I purchased the arlo pro 3 based on reviews. Unfortunately it certainly doesn't live up to the standards.

It's battery powered and I have to recharge the batteries every 2 weeks, not 2 months like the reviews stated.

They are motion activated as well, yet it will turn on and record a leaf blowing, yet the same camera won't pick up and record my neighbour abusing me in front of the camera.

It takes forever to connect to the camera and watch it live when motion is detected.

The only good thing about the cameras is the wide angle. Apart from that I will be shopping for new camera.

Purchased in March 2020 at Catch for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Wireless Surveillance Systems

Find out how Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security compares to other Wireless Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg

GregSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute rubbish. Stay away

published

Stopped working after 2 weeks. Base station bricked itself. Been dealing with Arlo now for 8 months and still no replacement. Over 20 emails and same in phone calls. An absolute disgrace of a company. Should have bought Swann.

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers

Worst purchase I have ever made.

published

IF I had read reviews before purchasing this system for over $400, I never would have bought it. Most of what I read in the reviews pertains to us as well. Want to ask a question on Chat, everyone is busy! In the library 2/3 of the pictures don't appear - one has to download before able to look at them. I DON'T WANT to download every picture.
I am so disappointed.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Battery

BatteryVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Dont waste your money

published

Base station goes offline constantly when there is no internet disruption, I have done all the troubleshooting and there seems to be no fix. While off line the batteries are depleted. When it works its ok, but you cant rely on something that only works sometimes ....certainly not for SECURITY.

Purchased in June 2016 at JB Hi-Fi for A$530.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Sagar S.

Sagar S.

  • 5 reviews

Not reliable

published

What a scam! Sends notifications of wind blowing leaves but nil notifications when a car pulled up in driveway. Should come with 1 TB hard drive at this price. Absolute waste of money for very unreliable camera

Purchased in October 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Kim Harding

Kim HardingHunter Region, NSW

Worst Product ever purchased

published

Recording blank totally white. No images. Problems have been numerous and time consuming for several years. Would never recommend an Arlo product. Does not record centre of field at times

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$360.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
unhappy customer

unhappy customerSydney, NSW

Don't buy Absolute waste of money and poor quality system

published

The system is absolute rubbish. Expensive product where cheaper products must more reliable. The software is unreliable. The cameras drop out and stop working. The batter (for ultra) version only lasts for 2 weeks. I wish I had of read the reviews before I bought this product. Very angry with how poor this product is (and it is very expensive). BUYER BEWARE!

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Wireless Surveillance Systems

Find out how Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security compares to other Wireless Surveillance Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rhonda W.

Rhonda W.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Don't waste your money,!,!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers

Camera drop out

published

Sick to death of the cameras going off line constantly and when they are on they just record randomly with no movement triggering them , they just trigger themselves and wear out the batteries within a week. I live 1 and a half hour from work and can't be driving into work just to re activate the cameras. Waste of money arlo

Incentivised ReviewNo
Alex

Alex

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Terrible app experience

published

The cameras are good but the app makes this thing an absolute waste of money and effort. The app is a massive battery drainer, and geofencing does not work in the slightest. The customer have been decent when calling about issues but at the end of the day something this price should work a lot better. Avoid.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Peter

Peter

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Waste of money

published

Biggest feature “geofencing” has never worked on these cameras which have made them a very expensive paperweight. Constantly recording at home and wasting battery so they need to be recharged every couple of weeks.. look elsewhere

Purchased in January 2018 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Chris M.

Chris M.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Unreliable, don't work when needed

published

Purchased in July 2014 at Office works for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

camera247num

camera247numasked

Arlo VMS3130 (1 Camera System)

Motion zone settings have disappeared! How can I fix this?

No answers
camera247num

camera247numasked

Arlo VMS3130 (1 Camera System)

How do I enable or disable local storage of Arlo Go video recordings on an SD card?

No answers
Ed A

Ed Aasked

Arlo Smart Home Security

How do I get rid of a pink screen on my Arlo camera?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 5 Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security
CategoryWireless Surveillance SystemsWireless Surveillance SystemsWireless Surveillance SystemsWireless Surveillance Systems
Release dateFeb 2015Feb 2015Feb 2015Feb 2015
Compare all 5 Netgear Arlo Smart Home Security

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.