??!
5 photos
Nissan Navara D40

Nissan Navara D40 (2005-2014)

3.0 from 198 reviews

Reviews

3.0

198 reviews
5
(42)
4
(50)
3
(26)
2
(28)
1
(52)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.7 (3)
  • Handling
    2.7 (3)
  • Braking
    3.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    2.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (3)
  • Features
    2.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    2.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Svgtr

SvgtrPerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Smoky and sooty Navara

published

These are rolling piles of junk, timing chain issues cause the engine to smoke worse than an 80s rust bucket all the way up the road.
What an embarrassment for Nissan, a company that started with the cheap but reliable Datsun 120Y then onto the sporty 240Z then branded as Nissan made the Skyline, Silvia, GT-R and now these piles of junk D40 Navara (equally crap NP300) and crappy CVT Pathfinder, awful Altima....
What a slide into mediocrity for Nissan. I urge you never to buy a Nissan. Ever.

GaryG

GaryGLaunceston, TAS

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Third nissan dc ute

published

Purchased 2016 with 40 000k traded in at 80000k. Why? It developed the whistle in throwout bearing as predicted by local mechanic. Dealer strangly didnt notice whistle. Not waiting for clutch plate to go or the other problems RX routinely have. It had issues with 4Wlo not returning easily to 2wd. Had to reboot it a couple of times by turning ute off and restarting. Lost $11k in 40000 km over 3y. Happier in new Forester!

Purchased in February 2016 at Motors for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter Jellings

Peter JellingsSouth Australia

Not Built tough 4wd dont buy a Nissan

published

Nissan Navara D40 2011 - wish I read these reviews. Fire wall cracked around master cylinder = Nissan said my problem. Will never buy another Nissan and started a page issues with Nissan.
Just a crap four wheel drive.

Purchased in May 2014 for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D40 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bucket of crap

published

No good at all the Ute took off on my wife had a mind of its own . The car then reved out to the max and then shut itself down

Purchased in March 2012 at Nissan Dealers.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
1 comment
brendan c.
brendan c.

Nissan said not there problem $59 grand down the drain

Mhowell

MhowellNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Ute not Great

published

Had this car for 3 months now. Fuel economy was 13.7l when I picked it up and now is 11.1l. When doing 100kmh its doing 1600 revs in 7th gear. Radio reception is poor as is the bluetooth connection. Headlights are only adequate and I am looking at getting either a nudge bar or a bullbar to mount driving lights. The 3l v6 turbo diesel has similar power and torque figures as the Amarok and X Class yet it came it 8 years go but was phased out due not meeting the Euro 6 emission requirements.

jon r

jon rGippsland, VIC

130,000 km firewall cracked ,clutch broken weld

published

2012 d40 brought it new ,only used for private use,highway use 90% of time 130,00km clutch felt strange and gear change became notchie. Taken to local nissan dealer how inspected it and said it was a manufacturer fault . nissan head office claimed it was through fair wear and tear even still having original clutch in it .It is unable to be driven and nissan claim it will cost $20,000 to fit. The ute has been serviced as per log book ,and the last service was only 3 weeks earlier. It has only second set of tyres on it. And only second set of disc pads. so no help from nissan . thanks for nothing, never again

Purchased in January 2013 for A$36.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Too good

published

Had since new, faultless, really cant complain about anything, good price servicing, tows really well, good offroad, has great engine noise for a turbo diesel, i've done 136 in it and nothings gone wrong, still almost looks new. Locking lid is a good thing too, plenty of room inside and in tub

BadgeST-X 550
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L V6 Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013

Repairs

published

Hi guys is it a big/ costly job to fix a 4wd pin that won't engage in a 2006
I'm looking at buying one that needs work What do you think? It only for a tow tug won't use it much thanks for your thought can pick up fairly cheap and only need 2wd anyway

BadgeDX
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Lewi

Lewi

  • 5 reviews

First 4WD

published

I purchased my diesel 2010 dual cab Navara second hand. It is easy to drive, comfortable, functionally advanced, great for long drives, and incredibly fuel efficient. The only negative feedback I have is that the turning circle is terrible. U-turns are almost always 5 point turns. Additionally, they are quite low so you need a lift kit for serious off road driving.

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D40 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ralf

RalfCentral Coast NSW

  • 2 reviews

Drives great and a super multi purpose vehicle .

published

2014 6 speed manual Diesel. I am using it for private use and Uber driving in regional and suburban area . My Uber passengers love it very spacious and modern with satnav and reverse camera . Good economy for big 4x4 ute. 7.8l/100klm or 750klm plus per tank . Spanish built with climate control and its a fun car to drive with plenty of power . I have done a bit off road and its quite capable for what I want . It has 57000ks on it . I have done 5000ks with not one problem .

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L V6 Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Vivek

VivekNSW, 2041

  • 2 reviews

Not a bad car for the price

published

Quite reliable with good power for a 4x4 which is not an expensive hilux or ranger. Handled some real turf 4x4 driving and a great car for domestic use with lock of room to through anything you want and at the price of any family car.
Fuel is not the best but again I am driving a big car

BadgeSilverline SE
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Drive4WD

Worst vehile I've ever owned

published

Never again will I buy a Nissan. Our D40 has Constant diesel flow problems, causing it to go into limp mode. I've replace the scv 3 times.EGR valve also clogs and requires cleaning every 12 months. $7500 to fix the timing chain after useless mechanic revved the motor after we had it trucked to him. "Testing" he said. No making the repair go from $1000 timing chain replacement to new cylinder head and camshaft( s) etc. Axle tramps sideways on uphill dirt roads. Our Jag even handles the same road better. This was ment to be the 4wd to see us out for towing etc., now I don't know if it will last. $55000 wasted in 2007.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2007

Beautiful to drive and tough.

published

Cheap to run, handles like a dream on and off-road. Kids have so much room in the back and the ability to store things under the back seat is design genius! You need the on car storage because this models one fault is the hard back. When off road lets all the dust and water in making our first camping trip in her a learning experience.
Lots of fun 4WDing, great on the beach and the ranges.

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
SirCam

SirCamSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good car, with a few faults.

published

Good all around Ute. Not the best out of the bunch, but for me it was a no brainer the Hilux/Ranger etc weren't worth the extra $10,000+.
Good fuel economy on the 4 cyl diesel. I get around 7.8 to 8 litres per 100km mixed between M5 and city traffic.
Good ride height and rather decent handling, though a bit washy and prone to understeer if you turn too fast, and oversteer if you get on the gas too early in the wet.
CD Unit screen fades in and out during hot weather and can't read it at all in summer. Also the orange bar is too bright and reflects on the rear window which is annoying.
Very happy with my purchase and wouldn't hesitate to buy another.

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2012
Amber

AmberGoulburn

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

TERRIBLE

published

I wish I had never bought it. It cannot tow to save its life. I was conned into buying this ute because it was economical and would tow my horse and float. It struggles with a tiny horse float. EMPTY. Yes it is very economical however whats the point when I have to hire a car to tow my float.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D40 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Edmond

Edmond

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic and Functional

published

No complaints. Gets the job done whether you move house many times, help your friends move out, or just go to the tip many times.

The only downside is that if you are with Suncorp insurance you will be charged a 46% increase compared to one for a Toyota Hilux.

If you want to stay with suncorp insurance get a different car.
If you like your Navaras change insurers to something like NRMA which only has a difference of 1% between a Navara & a Hilux.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Drive4WD
Gug

GugMid North Coast, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hope the new model is better than some of the older models

published
BadgeRX
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014
Drive4WD
Breannon

Breannon

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Drives Very Well

published

Recently my partner and myself purchased a 2010 Nissan Navara together. It's so easy to drive. Very smooth! Spacious inside. Very nice good looking car all around. Great purchase. Great on Diesel. Very cheap to run. Petrol lasts. Very quiet engine.and within our budget. Great car for the price.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.7L Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Daisy Kate

Daisy Kate

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it!

published

Great Ute, best I have had. For the money. Being a woman. I feel safe and secure. drives great and have had zero issues with mine. I looked at the Hilux but it was beyond my budget. Very happy and would recommend to anyone for their first 4x4. Was great on diesel and tyre wear- I have just hit 70000 k's and have had a tyre check and they will be good for another 20!

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014
Drive4WD
RMM

RMMBrisbane

Nissan Narvara

published

I was a mechanical supervisor on a pipeline project west Qld. the majority of our fleet were Nissan's, the fire walls developed cracks including the areas around the tow bars also the bonnet latches failed. It was of major concern re safety. the Nissans were built in Spain. We sent the lot back to Nissan. I wouldn't buy a Spanish built Nissan

BadgeDX
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Page 1 of 10
See all Nissan Navara reviews

Questions & Answers

Leon B.

Leon B.asked

Navara D40 (2005-2014)

I have a 2006 d40 which needs a new engine as head gasket has blown. Will a 2011 d40 engine fit my 2006?

No answers
Paddy M.

Paddy M.asked

Navara D40 (2005-2014)

Can I drive my D40 Nissan navara without the turbo....or do I have to replace it...it has started to squeal as I accelerate

No answers
Tim N

Tim Nasked

Navara D40 (2005-2014)

2014 D40 lost power. Will free rev to 4-5k revs but when driving struggles to get to 3k revs. Only 90k on it. Changed fuel and air filters, turbo arm moves freely when boost actuator is removed, all connections look good, no recent work done apart from routine servicing, no vacuum leaks, all hoses checked including inter cooler, no splits or leaks, no blockages in airflow, MAFS has been cleaned and wasn't dirty. , I've read a lot of blogs regarding the Suction Control Valve, the Boost Actuator and Boost Control Valve. There are no code registering, thinking a mechanical issue rater than an electrical? Am pulling my hair out!

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.