??!
3 photos
Numatic Henry
4.2 from 57 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (11)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (9)
  • Pet OwnerYes (5) · No (6)
Previous
Next
Sambo

SamboPerth, WA

New house cleaner

published

Hi my wife has been using Henry for over six years cleaning new houses of brick construction and it has copped an absolute hammering but continues to operate exceedingly well it has had a replacement cord fitted and been through two sets of wheels and two on off switches that just wore out over time but the motor keeps going i am so impressed I bought another Henry for our home and a hetty for when Henry finally dies but it refuses to don’t know what the knockers are on about they probably sell other brand vacuums

Purchased in July 2014 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Thanks for the great review, Sambo - love hearing about customers getting the most out of their Henry vacuums!

Reviews can help

Reviews can helpGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love our Henry

published

Going strong after ten years.

Simple no fuss design, does the job. Came with a number of attachments to get to those hard to clean spots. Good for wooden /tiled floors and carpets. Blag replacement is easy. We keep talking about getting an upgrade, but We can not fault our Henry, it's part of the family, we love it.

When we brought it, it did seem rather expensive having been bought over from the UK, but happy with our purchase. May it live long and prosper. ..

Purchased in July 2011 at Godfreys for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Thanks for the great review of your Henry. Henry vacuums certainly are built to last, as you have discovered. Wishing you many more years of good service from your Henry!

Macca

MaccaIllawarra, NSW

An excellent choice for commercial and home vacuuming!

published

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Hi Macca, so happy to hear that you are loving your Henry! I'm sure you will have many years of excellent performance from him! Thanks for your review!

Commercial Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Numatic Henry compares to other Commercial Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Janet P

Janet PAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

This vacuum cleaner sucks but not in a good way!

published

The only good thing is the long cord & the smiley face! Suction minimal, clunky machine, I really regret buying it. All the reviews were so good so I thought I'd give it a try, big mistake! Who's writing these great reviews? I wish I could return it, so very, very disappointed with it that I had a duty to warn others. If you want a vacuum with good suction then give this brand a miss, what a waste of money! Cost me just under $400 & I've only used it twice, it is a complete waste of money. I ended up purchasing the Miele Complete C3 from Amazon a week later for $403 & it is perfection compared to Henry. This is 100% an honest & true review!

Purchased in June 2020 at My Henry Australia for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
2 comments
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Hi Janet, still haven't heard from you - we are quite keen to resolve this for you, please do reach out to us on support@myhenry.com.au when you get a chance. Thanks!

Carol Downing

Carol DowningCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Tough and relieable

published

Not the lightest hoover on the market but very effective and gets the job done really well. Has 2 settings and the bags last for ages. I would not go back to any other as it really does the job. Who needs a vaccum that looks gorgeous but does not do the job. I would get another if I had to. Only thing is it is not that light if you need to move it around but you can pull it on wheels which works well and the extension cord is nice and long. Go Henry go!

Purchased in August 2018 at eBay for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeTiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Hi Carol, happy to hear that your Henry is performing well. Henry vacuums are built to last, so I am sure you'll be happy with him for years to come!

Helen

HelenPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

great machine

published

have been using a 'Henry' at work vacuuming carpeted and tiled flooring. I love these machines as they do a thorough job on all surfaces, I have since bought my mother 'Henry' for her new carpet and she is really happy with it also

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
1 comment
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Hi Helen, glad to hear that you are happy with your Henry!

Noelle

NoelleCarrara

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love this little guy!

published

I’ve had Henry for about 5 years and I love him. No gimmicks, just a vacuum cleaner that works. Nice long cord, good range of onboard tools. The bags are big. I’ve been using the same bag for 5 years- we empty it out when full and I’ve washed it once (even though I have 10 new bags that came with it!).
Will never buy anything else- best vacuum cleaner I’ve ever owned.

Purchased for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Thanks so much for your review Noelle, great to hear your Henry is still going strong!

Tilly187

Tilly187Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

I love this little guy!

published

This is the most underrated Vacuum. My Dyson died and wasn't convinced it was that great with the amount of money spent on it so I tried out Mums Henry and decided to buy one! It's a great little Vacum. It's got good suction and the bag space is huge so your not emptying it as often as other vacuums.

Purchased in October 2018 at Capital equipment machienery sales for $395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Numatic
MyHenry AustraliaNumatic

Hi Tilly, thanks so much for your great review! Glad you love Henry as much as we do!

Stefano_K

Stefano_KSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Henry - my best cleaning buddy!

published

Purchased in April 2007 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
See all answers
1 comment
Numatic
MyHenry AustraliaNumatic

Hi Stefano, thanks for the review! Henry sure is a great cleaning buddy!

Commercial Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Numatic Henry compares to other Commercial Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mirry

mirryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love the Henry.

published

Robust and do a very good job. Quite heavy but wheels help. I would always buy one over other brands.use on wooden floor boards and rugs. The bags seem to last for ages.

Purchased in April 2018 for $398.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeWood
See all answers
1 comment
Numatic
MyHenry AustraliaNumatic

Hi mirry, thanks for your review! Glad to hear you love your Henry as much as we do!

James

JamesSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Henry sucks... extremely well!

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2016 at Multi Range for $385.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeTiles
See all answers
T G

T GMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

The workhorse option

published

Have had this vacuum cleaner for over 4 years for cleaning carpets in my apartment, quite reliable. Be mindful to regularly check it over and replace the parts when issues are encountered. I've recently had to order a new filter for it, for example. Also it tips over if you pull by the cord, I've found it easier to extend the cord first and push/lift it into position. Both the cord and the hose have a lot of reach.

Date PurchasedFeb 2014

i hate him

published

I hate Henry the vacuum cleaner. I hate everything he stands for and i disagree strongly with his values and morals.
He is a disgrace to the community and should not be sold at any shops from today and going forward. I will personally be boycotting any stores I see Henry in and i cant wait to live in a Henry free world. Suction? Terrible. Power? My sister could slurp through a straw harder than Henry. He fails time and time again to complete the simplest of tasks and should be ashamed to call himself a vacuum. I am deeply disappointed in Henry and he will not be getting a second chance from me.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Glen G

Glen GAdelaide

  • 6 reviews

Solid workhorse

published
Date PurchasedMar 2013
P.Shrestha

P.ShresthaSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Angry Henry

published

Henry does the job. One of the best in the commercial line. I was used to Nilfisk GM80 for my job and worried nothing else would replace it until I got my hands on Numatic Henry. It blew me away with it’s performance. Very light and easy to manoeuvre. Works on all surfaces. Recommend!

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Commercial Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Numatic Henry compares to other Commercial Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Galaxy9

Galaxy9melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great Long Lived Vacuum

published

Obviously this vacuum has a hilarious face which my kids love but its all abut cleaning. Its small but boy does it pack a punch! this is a serious vacuum and we bought it because of Numatic's fantastic reputation these last up to 20 years and I am hoping for that kind of life from it. Suction and cleaning power are fantastic and it comes with a comprehensive suit of tools. A serious vacuum despite the funny face.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Laura

LauraMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

I wish it was better

published

I was very excited to get this vac, it wasn't cheap, and was great for about 12 month - now i have to say it very average - not good at picking up fluff on floor - hair etc and seems to push large "bits" around on hardwood floor - its massive to store and the around the house - but for that money you cant just get rid of it!

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Tim

TimPerth

Henry Sucks!

published

It's a bad joke but it's true. I think these are terrible vacuum cleaners and have been waiting for mine to blow-up so I can get away from it all together. The truth is Henry doesn't suck enough! Eco mode is pointless and full mode is not much better.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Noelle

NoelleCarrara

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best vacuum cleaner ever. It totally sucks!

published

I’ve had Henry for about two years now and he’s honestly the best vacuum cleaner I’ve ever had. No gimmicks, no bells and whistles, just a really sturdy, well-built little unit that you can rely on to do his job!
You can use him bagless, or do as we do and just empty the bags. Last week I finally threw out the first bag after two years of emptying it.
Really manouverable, long cord, plenty of storage for tools on board.
Buy Henry, you won’t be disappointed!

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Vegemum

VegemumNSW, 2484

  • 28 reviews
  • 14 likes

I love Henry :)

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Linda D.

Linda D.asked

Henry

What is the difference from the hvr henrry 200 and the 200 / 11

2 answers
Macca
Macca

The HVR is a great home vac with a smaller capacity at 6 litres as opposed to 9 litres for the Henry Commercial vac.

Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Hi Linda, all Henry vacuums have an HVR model number. The 200 series relates to the drum size - these are all 9 litre commercial models. The 200-11 is the current commercial model with a 620 watt motor that has been on sale in Australia for the last 5 or so years. If you see a model with 200-12, it will be an older commercial machine with a different motor.

The HVR160 is the slightly smaller domestic model with a 6 litre capacity. Hope this helps.

Teresa

Teresaasked

Henry

Could I please ask if this vacuum cleaner is suitable for outdoors? I have harsh surface paving (unsealed granite) that I need to clean having ongoing construction next door, there is large amount of sand on the paving and windows seals.
Thank you.
Kind regards,
Teresa

1 answer
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Hi Teresa. Henry is okay for using indoors and outdoors (as long as he isn’t exposed to the elements such as rain) and be aware that he is suitable for dry vacuuming only – not for any wet vacuuming. For use on rough paving, be sure to use the supplied floor tool with the brushes down to avoid damaging the floor tool. After using on the pavers, it would be advisable to check for any wear and tear before using the tool on more delicate surfaces later. You can also purchase a specialty hard floor tool (https://myhenry.com.au/collections/accessories/products/henry-hard-floor-tool?variant=36164667539615) that is ideal for use on all hard surfaces. Hope this helps and please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any other questions.

Nikki Voakes

Nikki Voakesasked

Henry

The foot won't come off a friend's Henry and the tubes won't come apart. Do you have any suggestions?

2 answers
Numatic
Numatic AustraliaNumatic

Hi Nikki.

Over time, the wands and floor tool can become stuck together. If possible, it might help to have two people to work with each other to help pull the individual components apart. Try to twist the floor tool and the tubes apart rather than just trying to pull them off. If you can do this to break the seal, you should be able to slide them apart ok. Try this and let me know how you go. SK

Nikki Voakes
Nikki Voakes

Thank you, will pass that advice on to the person.

Get an answer from our members and Numatic representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Numatic Henry
CategoryCommercial Vacuum CleanersCommercial Vacuum CleanersCommercial Vacuum CleanersCommercial Vacuum Cleaners
Power620W620W620W620W
Bin Capacity9L9L9L9L
Cord Length10m10m10m10m
HEPA Filter YesYesYesYes
TypeBaggedBaggedBaggedBagged
Release dateAug 2006Aug 2006Aug 2006
Replaced byNumatic Henry HVR200A
Compare all 4 Numatic Henry

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.