??!
3 photos
Olimpia Splendid Piu

Olimpia Splendid Piu

Piu Cube 16, Piu Eco 12, Piu 14, Piu
3.7 from 138 reviews · View Statistics

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

A portable air conditioner is a great way to stay cool, but with the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (12)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.7 (10)
  • Portability
    3.9 (10)
Previous
Next
don

donWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Have 3 different mobile A/C, the other 2 are great, had this a year and already this is the third time for F1

published

It is used in summer only, and its been 3 times gone into this F1 mode. I had to leave it off for about a week for it to reset the last time.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$900.00.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
John k.

John k.Sydney, NSW

Broken within 24months

published

We have only used the unit a few times, but it has broken within 2 years. A lot of money for something that doesnt last. During operation it worked well in a small space, but poor in poor in larger spaces

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelPoor
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
azreal

azrealSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent!

published

Purchased for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelPoor
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Olimpia Splendid Piu compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

Paul

  • 2 reviews

The best portable aircon

published

Got this second hand and wow it is amazing cools down our small apartment even on Melbourne’s 40 degree days works best if you put it on early but definitely saved us last summer highly recommend.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area and Whole House
See all answers
david

davidSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 9 likes

Air conditioner

published

Very pleased with this air conditioner easy to install soon had working so nice @quiet have it auto also very well made a real quality product the manual is a little bafling all the languages still l would highly recommend this air conditioner stood quality italian design

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Millie71

Millie71Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed

published

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for A$849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
See all answers
Kelly T.

Kelly T.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

My Summertime best friend!

published

I have owned this portable air conditioner for 8 years now and it is just as good as the day I brought it home. It cools my lounge room very quickly and maintains that cool temperature even on the hottest of days. I have owned other portable aircons in the past and none come even close to this one. It's quiet, portable, fits in almost every space and if taken care of will last you over a decade. Only one thing I would like to add, I would much prefer to be able to adjust the way the air flows. Other than that I would recommend this to everyone that's looking to buy a portable air conditioning unit.

Purchased in January 2011 at The Good Guys for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers

Meets expectations, but too noisy in a small space

published

We had the PIU Cube 16 for just 24 hours before we returned it for a full refund as it was just too noisy in our small lounge room. The Good Guys explained to us that portable air conditioners are always noisy but that this model is in fact one of the most quiet to run. The baseline noise drowned out any TV volume so it may not be for everyone. However, it worked perfectly in generating large amounts of ultra cooled air and was a welcome addition in the heat so I would recommend it if you had a larger space that might dampen the running noise.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys Online store for A$780.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelNot sure
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
Nick

Nick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for a small room

published

I have been using this air conditioner for around 5 years and still works perfect. It is a little bit noise but you get used it. I dont have complaints

Purchased in January 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelNot Insulated
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Olimpia Splendid Piu compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Colleen Willis

Colleen WillisSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Too LOUD

published

No, too loud for me. False and misleading information on the description.When the unit is first turned on I was impressed with the noise level, just a mild humming noise, I thought great, yep, I can live/sleep with that. Low and behold after 3 minutes the unit kicks in and the noise coming from the machine is just like the rest of the portable air cons "loud".I was advised that Olimpia has the quietest air cons on the market that is why I went with that brand. Even the wording on the packaging the unit comes in won me over. On the box it states SILENT. Returned the air con back to the good guys for a refund.
Now, that is another review in itself and it is not a good one.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
Sirpa K.

Sirpa K.Canberra Central 2602, ACT

Satisfied.

published

This air conditioning unit is fabulous for our bedroom. Does exactly what it is supposed to! It does well on it's highest setting and does well on the lowest setting to maintain the cool.

Purchased at The Good Guys for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers

Awesome friend in summers

published

This aircon makes the room cool in minutes. The size best fits the place and is suitable. It is very nicely designed and fulfils the needs. However, the back pipe needs the place to keep the warm air out.

Purchased in April 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Nathanael G

Nathanael GSouth East Queensland, QLD

Awful

published

We’ve kept it on all day, sealed off a small area of room to survive the heat and it’s still sweltering in here. If you stand right in front of it, you feel a cool breeze (albeit weak at best on the highest fan setting) , if you move 1m away from it, you can easily sweat (32 outside 29 inside). Very disappointing to purchase the worst performing portable aircon I have ever owned. Please save yourself the disappointment, do not buy.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for A$799.00.

Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
Empressbat

EmpressbatQueensland, 4304

  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Saved us in the heatwave - highly recommend this portable air con

published

We bought this from The GoodGuys in Ispwich. It is a compact, quiet, easy to assemble portable air conditioner that can be used in portable mode or permanently placedby have holes created in wlals and the hose fixed in a permanent position.
It has been 35 - 39 degrees inside, however this portable air conditioner calls our loungerrom within 20 minutes making it a pleasant 22 degrees.
It has different modes which are easy to use and a remote control.
The model is quiet even in turbo mode.
Highly recommended

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Sue

SueMurray Region, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 24 likes

Perfect for small bedroom

published

My Evaporative cooler wasn't enough when the temperatures started reaching 44, 45 so my Son turned up this air conditioner. I am pleasantly suprised at how cool it gets my bedroom and how quiet it is.....compared to the evaporative cooler. It is light and easy to manouver and has more than enough exchaust pipe to reach my window. I live in a very dry area so perhaps that is why I havent had to drain any water like other users. I do however agree that fixed vents which point up toward the ceiling are rather annoying, also no swing function, which is why I gave it four stars.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Olimpia Splendid Piu compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
meagain

meagainJervis bay, Nsw

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good for defined rooms only.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Barely adequate

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
2017april

2017aprilEarth

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Olimpia Splendid Piu16

published

Keeps the caravan cool and saves taking out a window to fit a box A/C. This is a refrigerated A/C (not evaporative) and it produces real cooling power with reasonable electricity use. The narrow air flow creates a good cycle of air around the room, as it's designed to do. It has wheels so it's easy to roll out of the way. The expandable hot air exhaust tube is long enough when it's set up near a sliding sash or casement type window. Does not interfere with insect screening. To keep it running efficiently, use dish washing detergent to wash the air filter and then spray it with Glen20 (to stop bacterial growth). Get one and sleep well this summer. 3 Year warranty. Just brilliant.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Poppy

Poppysouth australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worth getting if you have no other options

published

This certainly does what it's supposed to which is cool a room. Bear in mind it isn't designed to cool large areas. I've only ever used it in a bedroom and it may take half an hour to an hour to get the room to cold but once it does it gets icy cold and stays that way. It can get a little loud on certain settings but if the choice is to sleep in a 40+ degree room that is quiet or a 20 degree room that is a little noisy, I'll take the latter.
Yes, it is heavy and awkward to move around, messing around with the window kit and filling gaps is annoying and it costs a lot to run, but if you have no other options to cool your place then this is still an excellent option to get through an Australian summer.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Fuzza

FuzzaBallarat

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's not perfect and the first one packed up on me

published

Got one of these for our small shead out the back. The first one lasted a week and had to be returned because it stopped blowing cold air. The second one has faired itself in the heat but at 40 degrees or fails big but when cooling lower temperatures it dose well.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

goody

goodyasked

Olimpia Splendid Piu Cube 16

what is code 3

No answers
david

davidasked

Olimpia Splendid Piu Cube 16

where can i get a new filter from the original looks like its burnt

No answers
Chia

Chiaasked

Olimpia Splendid Piu 14

HI everyone,
We bought Piu 14 on marketplace recently, want to ask how to drain the water since there’s watery sound when it’s running. There’s only 1 small black hole at the bottom, there’s no lid on it. Also what’s the capacity when it’s full and we need to drain the water? Thank you!

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

The Olimpia Splendid Piu is available in three models, all suited to different room sizes. To find out a room's size in square metres, you can multiply the length and width.

  • Olimpia Splendid Piu Eco 12: With a cooling power of 3.52 kW, the Eco has the lowest coolest capacity of the three. It's suitable for rooms around 30 square metres
  • Olimpia Splendid Piu 14: Features a cooling power of 4.1 kW, which makes it ideal for rooms 30-40 sqm.
  • Olimpia Splendid Piu Cube 16: Suitable for cooling larger rooms up to 40-50 sqm.

Features

  • 3 variable speed settings for temperature control
  • Auto mode: allows the AC to respond to its surroundings and automatically adjust settings for optimum temperature, ventilation and dehumidification
  • Fan mode, which lets you use the portable AC (with its compressor and refrigerant) as a regular fan
  • In-built dehumidifier, especially handy for sticky climates
  • On/off timers, which are handy if you like going to sleep with the AC on, or you're prone to forgetting to turn off your AC before the room turns into an icebox.

Review summary

The Olimpia Splendid Piu features mainly positive reviews, with plenty of reviewers recommending this portable AC to prospective buyers. Happy customers appreciated the Olimpia AC was small and compact, yet powerfully effective at cooling a room. Another point of praise was that this AC was quiet, even in turbo mode. All models have a maximum noise level of 48dB, which according to audiologists falls somewhere between the volume of moderate rainfall and a normal conversation.

This portable air conditioner is available exclusively at The Good Guys.

Compare all 4 Olimpia Splendid Piu
Olimpia Splendid Piu Cube 16
  • Discontinued

Olimpia Splendid Piu Cube 16

3.9
(53)
Olimpia Splendid Piu
  • Discontinued

Olimpia Splendid Piu

4.0
(7)
Olimpia Splendid Piu Eco 12
  • Discontinued

Olimpia Splendid Piu Eco 12

3.3
(39)
Olimpia Splendid Piu 14
  • Discontinued

Olimpia Splendid Piu 14

3.4
(22)
CategoryPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air Conditioners
Features Dehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlDehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlDehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote Control
Cooling Power4.7 kW3.52 kW4.1 kW
Reverse Cycle NoNoNo
Cooling Capacity16,000 BTU12,000 BTU14,000 BTU
Weight30 kg29 kg29 kg
Dimensions 760 x 460 x 395 mm760 x 460 x 395 mm760 x 460 x 395 mm
Maximum Noise Level48 db48 db48 db
Auto Restart FunctionNoNoNo
Duct Length1,500 mm1,500 mm1,500 mm
Max Room Air Flow 400 m³/h400 m³/h400 m³/h
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateDec 2010Dec 2010Dec 2010Dec 2010
Replaced byOlimpia Splendid AirProOlimpia Splendid AirProOlimpia Splendid AirProOlimpia Splendid AirPro
Compare all 4 Olimpia Splendid Piu

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.