??!
2 photos
Oppo R17

Oppo R17

4.0 from 23 reviews

Reviews

4.0

23 reviews
5
(13)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (19)
  • Battery Life
    4.6 (18)
  • Camera Quality
    4.0 (19)
  • Hardware
    4.1 (16)
  • Software
    3.8 (18)
Previous
Next
Sunshine

SunshineMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed

published

Purchased for A$499.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
olyonline

olyonlineSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very happy with purchase, would buy again!

published

- Battery Life is great, I get more than a day out of a charge and if I forget to charge overnight it only looses a few percent while in standby
- ColorOS updates often bringing new features. Android 10 update arrived fairly early too.
- Heaps of RAM so performance rarely dips, I don't play games but will load up many apps and browser Windows.
- Camera takes good shots
- Gorilla Glass means the screen doesnt scratch, no stupid screen protector required!
- Still has a 3.5mm socket for headphones if required :)

Purchased in April 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$499.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
gottalove

gottaloveSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews

Best phone I have ever owned

published

Love this phone. Never misses a beat.
It takes very good photos, is fast and relatively robust.
The speaker is good enough for my use and is better with headphones
My next phone will definitely be an OPPO

Purchased in September 2018 for A$349.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Mobile Phones

Find out how Oppo R17 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emilia H.

Emilia H.

  • 2 reviews

All you need in a phone!

published

Great camera, and features. Easy to use at a great price!! Totally impressed with the battery life and charging time! I have recommended this brand to many of my friends

Purchased in April 2018 for A$450.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Disgruntled

DisgruntledSydney, NSW

Don't buy if you like freedom

published

Don't bother buying this if you want to root/jailbreak it. It's racist and won't let you unlock the bootloader unless it's the Chinese version and the support (if you can call them that) are no help.

Purchased in January 2019 at Officeworks Physical store for A$753.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Tui Strickland

Tui StricklandSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love it

published

I love my phone. The camera is great as well as fast speeds in games and the internet I don't think I would change my phone anytime soon. I've had my phone for a while now and it's still in perfect condition

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Darciejo

DarciejoHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Better than an iPhone

published

oppos are absolutely by far so much better than an Apple iPhone.
I will love the fact that I get a fast charge in or less than an hour and it's 100% which is great for people on the go absolutely love all the different things that you can do with the Android operating system it's just great overall perfect

Purchased in February 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Arash

ArashGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Terrible hardware support. Only good if you live in chi

published

If you cant supply international markets with enough parts don't waste people's time & life with your fragile poor quality hardware!!! I had an oppo r17 and only for a simple smashed screen I had to wait for weeks with a lot of of inconvenience and disastrous ends...... Don't recommend any of oppo products at all. Na!

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$800.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Amazing phone for a great price

published

This phone has been the best phone I've used in a while. Good quality photos, easy operating system, amazing battery life. Other Oppos also have all these features. In love!

Purchased in March 2019 at Officeworks Physical store for A$597.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Mobile Phones

Find out how Oppo R17 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kelli

KelliGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Simple and smooth to operate

published

I have alternated between Oppo and another well known android phone in the last few years. I was gifted the Oppo R17 recently. I love the sleek purple design and the big clear screen. Takes great high quality clear pics, battery life is very good and the fact it's not full of pre installed bloatware is a bonus.

1 problem that im yet to google a remedy for is that some of my apps "Calendar and dosecast" that i rely on for important notifications get shut down either when the battery gets under 20% or a restart of the phone. In an earlier version i did find out how to add it to a safe list.
I do have slight problems holding the power button in until it finally shuts down.
All in all I'm very happy with my Oppo.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$499.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Didi

DidiSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Phone, Great price

published

Ive had the phone for 4 months and highly recommend it. If you can operate an android phone you will have no problems with this. It does everything that an iPhone or Samsung does at half the price. Takes great photos, comes with case cover and screen protector. And you can sync your iPod headphones to it also. I have also dropped it without damaging it.

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$499.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Elsie Eggleston

Elsie EgglestonPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Like the phone, need problems sorted

published

The jack for the headphones doesn't fit, it is clearly loose and so headphones don't function. Anyone else have this problem? Also when contacting the website to deal with this, I was unable to proceed as the page with policy had no button to accept?

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys for A$499.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
SteveKaz

SteveKaz

  • 8 reviews

Great Phone

published

For the price paid this is a great phone. I have had both iPhones and Samsungs and this is better and easier to use than both those overpriced brands. I am so impressed I am buying one for my wife. The battery life is amazing.

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$500.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
honisah b.

honisah b.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Top shelf phone for third of the price

published

Best phone I have bought. Done my research and it lives up to its standard. Durability is unbelievable. I've dropped it, thrown it and it still works. Apps run smoothly and the battery life is fantastic

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$599.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Miallo

MialloMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing Phone For Price!!

published

Bought this OPPO R17 for my 11 year old daughter. Didn't want to spend a bomb buying an older model iPhone due to the lack of storage and price. Far too expensive for a child. So upon good advice I purchased the OPPO R17 for $499 from Officeworks. What a fantastic phone! We are an Apple family, but my daughter was able to negotiate the OPPO very easily.

Beautiful looking phone.
Camera has multiple options for photo enhancement.
Video feature brings room to brightness without bright light blinding people.
Finger print unlocking and Face Recognition is seamless. It has 128GB of storage. Usually you would be paying in the thousands for an iPhone with these features.

I will certainly be purchasing an OPPO for myself also.
Very impressed.

Purchased in May 2019 at Officeworks.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Mobile Phones

Find out how Oppo R17 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Easy to use

published

this oppo is amazing and fun its is very easy to use as well as the best sound quality you can hear. The phone is really smooth and a large display. and the camera is good

Purchased in October 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$999.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Goneftn

GoneftnSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

A Backward Step

published

I want to have the basic functionality of being able to set different notification tones for different apps, this is available on older Oppos and other brands.
But not on the Oppo R17 Pro! All alerts are the same
How crazy is it not having this basic functionality, their feedback from users is going ballistic about this and so am I.
It is a show stopper, what a waste of money!

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$899.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Software
Samantha R.

Samantha R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

good product minor issue

published

i bought this phone in jan 2019 and i think that it is a excellant phone, the only thing i can pick on is the camera wasnt as good as my old galaxy s6.

Purchased in January 2019 at office works.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Buckwheat

BuckwheatPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Impressive phone that does most of what the top-end icons do....sometimes even better....

published

Purchased in April 2019 for A$599.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Gabbi

GabbiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Love this phone

published

Purchased an oppo after having a Samsung for years and was hesitant but then convinced. Well... I'll never buy Samsung again... Love my oppo! Does everything the same and so much cheaper!

Purchased in July 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Software
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Michelle

Michelleasked

I love my Oppo R17 phone, but currently I am having an issue with the phone terminating phone calls. Originally I thought maybe my face was pressing the end button, but confirmed that the screen is black when held to my ear. I am starting to think there may be an issue with the phone, if nobody else had this problem.
Can anybody enlighten me.
Thanks

2 answers
Buckwheat
Buckwheat

We have two Oppo R17's now.....and no such problem with ours....But for what it's worth I did have a similar problem with my old Samsung when I first got it....It wasn't my face pressing on the END CALL....It was just me fidgeting with my fingers while holding it.....That also caused a couple other issues....

Miallo
Miallo

Hi Michelle. I don’t have this problem with the R17. Perhaps it’s worth contacting them to see if there is a glitch with your phone.

Lea

Leaasked

Hi I just purchased the OPPO R17
I'm trying to figure out how to set the phone up to take the photos when the phone is turned on its side also? What do I need to do to set this up please ?

1 answer
Miallo
Miallo

Hi Lea.
Just make sure your screen is unlocked and on landscape and the camera easily flipped on its side. You may have your screen locked in settings to be portrait.
Hope this helps

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.