??!
3 photos
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

4.9 from 29 reviews

Air Fryers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of air fryer would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(27)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (27)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (26)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (27)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (27)
  • Product is used
    • Several times a week (14)
    • Weekly (7)
    • Daily (4)
    • Monthly (1)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Zearah McCracken

Zearah McCrackenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Quick, easy and great results!

published

Cannot live without it! And can cook almost anything in half the time of an oven. Chips, potato gems and chicken nuggets come out golden and crispy. Great for a busy parent!

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for $399.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Natalie

NatalieSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Not what I hoped for

published

To be honest I've struggled with using this machine.
It seems very hit and miss especially with chips.
I purchased this product for a healthier cooking style, for essentially deep fried food for my family
& even know it's the largest of its kind I haven't been able to fit things like roasts or a chicken because they hit the top elements.
On a positive note crumbed chicken tenders came out spectacular.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for $386.36.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
craven

cravenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

now have 3 they are super efficient

published

i am very satisfied with the crispness and speed of cooking
from chips to eggs and frozen foods
very easy to clean in the dishwasher easy to take apart or hand wash

Purchased in May 2019 at TVSN (TV Shopping Network) for $399.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99 compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BayTreckers

BayTreckersHunter Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great product

published

What a great substitute for my deep fryer this is. Very little oil needed. Can bake as well as fry and grill. Very compact for what it does. Even makes muffins. The old fryer is gone and I don’t need to keep bottles of oil for use.
Very easy to use.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $499.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Monthly
See all answers
ChKa2618

ChKa2618Victoria

  • 4 reviews

Great air fryer very easy to use

published

Had this air fryer for a while now and love it. It is very easy to use and food comes out great. It is very easy to clean. We have cooked steaks, frozen chips, homemade zucchini chips, dim sims, dumplings and much more in this machine and they all came out great. Would definitely recommend.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Dan. L.

Dan. L.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews

The best gadget in my kitchen

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
Georgia

GeorgiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Using it daily

published

Im very satisfied with this air fryer. It crisps food up perfectly and I love how easy and quick it is to use. I have made wings, crumbed fish, chips, roast chicken etc. The only thing I can fault is that it is a pain to clean if you dont soak it in water first. But apart from that I absolutely love it and will continue using it daily

Purchased in September 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

We're glad to hear this and thanks for sharing Georgia! :) We hope that you can use the appliance for a long time to come.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Jedaking

JedakingGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

This is perfect! Cant live without it!!!

published

I love the convenience of this air fryer! Prepping kids lunch in the morning is so easy and a lot quicker than using the oven. Works perfect for nuggets, sausage rolls, burger, chicken strips and so much more! Definitely my favourite kitchen appliance!

Purchased in July 2019 at Costco.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, awesome to hear your AirFryer has made your life so much easier. Thanks so much for sharing this here and happy frying. :D

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Alana

AlanaPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

I have been taking this too many bbqs!

published

This has been such an amazing machine to have. Ive taken it with me to so many bbqs recently so all my friends can see and test it out with their food! Its been amazing

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99 compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Scarlet  N.

Scarlet N.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

This is an honest review. I bought cheaper airfryer from other brand. I tried with frozen chips. No crispy at all. I returned it and decided to buy Philips. It was a right decision. It works great.

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
See all answers
nickimat

nickimat

  • 2 reviews

Love it.

published

Had this for just one week and so far have cooked the following; crispy belly pork, smoked salmon & ricotta tarts, sweet potato fries, salmon fillets, pork chops,, chicken pieces, bacon, lemon cheesecake, steak, halloumi...

Absolutely love how easy it is to use, how well the auto feature works and how easy it is to clean.

I am not a fan of having appliances on the bench top, but this is too large to fit in the appliance cupboard. Not a problem though as it looks so stylish, and I use it every day.

This was a birthday present that my husband and son are extremely happy they got me!

Monika

MonikaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Makes cooking easier

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Diary_of_a_daddy

Diary_of_a_daddySouth East Queensland, QLD

Amazing! Perfect results every time.

published

Ive used my air fryer with multiple food types and Im consistently amazed with the results. Whether its a pork roast, nuggets and chips or the amazing wings Ive been experimenting with they always come out cooked just right. The food retains the moisture and doesnt come out dry like if I were to cook it in a conventional oven.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Michelle

MichelleCentral Queensland, QLD

Yummy food every time

published

Such a great machine I love that you can do literally anything in it! The food comes out so tasty and no yuk oil taste! One big thing you can bake in it too! AmAzing

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
Zahra

ZahraGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Perfect absolutely love this

published

So satisfied at how perfectly cooked the food is in this air fryer
I have been using it for chips both Frozen and fresh and also sausages , burgers . Chicken. Nuggets - happy world far with how everything has cooked
I find the unit very easy to clean and use

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99 compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mel

MelGippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

My new bff in the kitchen !!

published

It Cooks to perfection and perfect for busy familys
Able to cook a huge variety of food- love the ideas on the app!
So easy to use and clean, just pulls apart!
Love it

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MDonato

MDonatoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Cant live without !

published

Its so super easy to use and most importantly for me as a busy mum easy to clean making delicious healthier meals we really cant live without the air fryer

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Larissa R.

Larissa R.Sydney, NSW

Skeptic turned lover!

published

I was such a skeptic, but we have made loads of dishes in our airfryer and it just keeps impressing!
so quick and easy - pretty much set and forget and food comes out perfectly every time!
would highly recommend to friends and family (or anyone who will listen!)

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

C_L

C_LMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Smart cooking technology with great results

published

The Philips XXL Airfryer is a healthier way of cooking. We can fry, bake and grill with minimal oil. The smart technology makes it easy to use. It's also easy to clean.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sharynreviews

SharynreviewsPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I’m never using my oven again

published

The Philips XXL smart Airfryer uses hot air to fry and cook your favourite foods with little or no added oil . You can make meals for the whole family . It can cook a 1.8kg whole chicken , frozen or handcut chips to serve six , pork belly that is so crispy and I even have cooked the most perfect salmon using the smart tech to decide long to cook it for .quick clean basket with most pieces being able to go into the dishwasher . Highly recommend and will be buying the baking dish add on to bake bread .

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

christie

christieasked

do you need any oil at all or can it cook entirely without oil?

3 answers
BayTreckers
BayTreckers

generally about a tablespoon of oil.
I use Australian Olive Oil from Mount Zero Olives in South Australia

Natalie
Natalie

You do need oil otherwise it tastes blah. Only a small amount though. The best for you is avocado oil but it's $xx pricey.

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Christie, thank you for your question. We recommend using a small amount of oil when using your Airfryer. You can use any kind of grilling/baking/roasting or frying oilr. You can also use animal fat.

Note: Please do not use cold-pressed oil as it burns at high temperatures.

If you want to add oil to your food, you need to add it to the ingredients before you start air frying. Do not add oil into the Airfryer itself.

If you have any further questions, you can reach our product team directly on 1300 363 391 (Australia), or 0800 658 224 (New Zealand) from Mondays to Saturdays: 7:00 am - 7:00 pm EST. They'll be happy to help.

Kind Regards
The Philips Australia Team

Aryan J.

Aryan J.asked

how many liter is inside bowl?

2 answers
BayTreckers
BayTreckers

It’ll cook a whole chicken or 1.4kg of fries. Hope this helps.

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Aryan, thank you for your question. This model has a capacity of 1.4 KG. You can find more information on this page: https://www.philips.com.au/c-p/HD9861_99/premium-airfryer-xxl.
Hope this helps.

Kind regards,

The Philips Australia Team

Leonie

Leonieasked

Hi there, can you cook freshly battered food or is it just suited for frozen .

2 answers
BayTreckers
BayTreckers

I think most recipes refer to crumbled fish. The fresh batter may cause a clean up problem I think, although if you put them on foil in the basket it could be OK.

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thanks for your question on here. We would like to recommend against using a wet batter altogether. Even if you freeze it, it'll liquefy again when it heats up.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.