??!
3 photos
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

4.7 from 59 reviews · View Statistics

Air Fryers Buying Guide

Looking for a healthier way to enjoy delicious, home-cooked food? Read on for more information on the benefits of air fryers, plus important features to look out for when buying.

Read now

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

dead again after being fixed under warranty

published

for a xxl its very small.we use it to feed autistic child who is a very fussy eater. last night it died again after having been fixed under warranty once before..not happy ..once u jump through all the hoops you get to wait forever to get your unit fixed..i want my money back..

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Tom L.

Tom L.

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9861. Does a good job, hard to clean

published

After initially buying a Kmart $69 air fryer, which was returned due to poor fitting of the slide out pan, we decided after "you get what you pay for “ and purchased the top of the range Philips XXL air fryer.
The reason for 3 stars is because it is hard and cumbersome to clean. We fried some chicken legs and it was difficult to remove all the fat after use. Furthermore, when cleaning be careful not to scratch the non stick surfaces. All in all, a good air fryer albeit very expensive.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Tom L.
Tom L.
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Weerakoon

Weerakoon

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great kitchen appliances an unique product with lots of confidence

published

After having so many research I found Phillips XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99 is the best air fryer I have seen in the current market. Though it’s bit expensive due to its features and high quality, I still believe this product is fully worth for the money you spent. Cooking is easy and only you have to give a command and wait. It will do the job automatically and you don’t want to worry, and your meal is ready. I love this product and my wife hardly used her oven, since Phillips XXL Smart Digital Air Fryer occupied my kitchen.

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99 compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Irza S.

Irza S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

UTTER GAME CHANGER!!

published

I was really sceptical about the whole idea of AF before until I join some mums group about AF on Facebook even tho I didn’t own any until today. Did lots of research about it and I finally bought this one. And boy I was blown away! The fact that it has their own sensor feature made it even better so it can decide itself how long the food should be cooked for and at what temp. It’s very easy to use as long as you read the manual and it’s easy to clean too. I think I might retire my oven and use this AF everyday! TOTALLY WORTH IT!!

Purchased in August 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Nala

NalaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing

published

Took me a while to jump on the airfryer bandwagon as i am aware that it is just a jacked up convection oven.
I purchased it because I thought if i don't like it..i can always return it

But i looove it! It bakes quicker and allows me to have fried foods that are somewhat healthier

Easy to clean and use. You won't be disappointed..this appliance is totally worth the $$

I have found that philips appliances are generally very well made. I have two HD2237 AIO's and now this airfryer and i would be lost without any of them

Purchased in August 2020 at The Good Guys for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Nala, we're happy to hear that you're so keen on the Airfryer XXL Smart Digital and that you find the device so easy to use and clean. Thank you for your review and enjoy the rest of your week!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Bill42

Bill42South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified purchase

This is the best example of a great brand and this type of appliance.

published

Purchased in July 2020 at JB Hifi Home for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Jess

JessMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 21 reviews
  • 6 likes

my favourite appliance!

published

I was lucky enough to receive the Philips XXL airfryer for christmas from my husband. it was a great surprise as he knew i wanted one any boy did he choose well!
the size is perfect, we have cooked everything from pies, schnitzels, chips, spring rolls... even t bone steaks! but the list goes on
i did buy the double layer accessory tray which works well for our family. il often put chips down the bottom and hamburgers on top, less than 20 minutes later dinner is done
its a great product for a busy family, the size is great, it really is money we spend
i have recommended this to friends and will continue to recommend it

Purchased in December 2019 at David Jones.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

This is simply the best thing ever.

published

Very Satisfied.
Great for making quick meals - open grill sandwiches, baking veggies.
Great for reheating left overs - Pizza, French Fries or even a curry.
Like small fan forced oven, Very energy efficient.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Namu

NamuSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Convenient and Perfect

published

Loving our new air fryer. We no longer need to clean out our pot full of oil. It's easy to use and if you're unsure how long to leave it in, the air fryer has a few programs that sets it for you (as well as adjusts time/ temperature during cooking).

Love it~

Purchased in June 2020 at David Jones for A$579.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99 compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
thepersonwho

thepersonwhoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 41 reviews
  • 22 likes
  • Verified purchase

So much faster then an oven and tastes good!

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Myer for A$419.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
2 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
thepersonwho
thepersonwho

Thank you. I do love the product and hopefully my new one lasts longer.

Wayne S

Wayne SGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Excellent product

published

Cooked so well with the frozen food from supermarket. Quick and easy ,10mins you get your dinner ready. It’s like mini oven. But you need a dishwasher to clean it properly.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$406.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Sartina R.

Sartina R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Phillips... please add all accessories!

published

After spending $600 on a new airfryer you would think they would included all accessories to get the full use. Majority of their recipes on the Phillips air fryer app require you to purchase the ‘extra accessories’ very disappointing!!!!

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Air fryer

published

Philips, thank you so much for my amazing air fryer.... Highly recommend!!!! I use at least four times a week to cook delicious healthy meals. Also thanks for the App and the fantastic recipes.

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Paryse H.

Paryse H.

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Absolutely great!

published

I was unsure about getting an air fryer, but now that I have it, I can’t go back! Everything I cook tastes healthy and non greasy but is so crisp and even meat is tender. I love cooking pork roasts in it, the crackling is amazing with the inside being soft and juicy. Cleaning it is a breeze also. I bought this last year and haven’t used my deep fryer since. Love it and would 100% recommend!

Purchased in July 2019 at Kogan.com for A$205.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Raj K.

Raj K.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great product

published

This product is really great and we really liked it cause it cooks the food without oil which is really good for heath in these days and great quality by Philips

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$420.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Raj, great to hear that you're happy with your Airfryer. You can find more delicious recipes with the NutriU app! Feel free to visit this page: https://www.philips.com.au/c-e/ho/nutriu-app.html.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99 compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bonnie

BonnieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

AMAZING

published

I can not believed how much I love this airfryer. I use it at least 6 times a week. I artfully feel better my food taste better and i can put almost everything in it, Even my sunday roast goes in there. If mine ever dies i will be purchasing one the next day.

Purchased in October 2019 at Myer for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thanks, Bonnie. Great to hear 6/7 days the Airfryer is making cooking a lot easier for you. Happy frying!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Sammy Y.

Sammy Y.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

BEST AIRFRYER EVER

published

seriously the best airfryer on the market. so easy to use and cooks allmy meals evenly every time! they are are little more expensive but worth it. you cant go past this fryer!

Purchased in February 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thank you very much for writing this review. It's great to hear the Airfryer has been so kind to you. Happy frying!

Lorraine_Khan

Lorraine_KhanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes

Phillips Twin TurboStar XXL

published

Just love this Air Fryer I have tried 2 different Air Fryers and found this Phillips fantastic. Very easy to use and clean. Only disappointed with the fact that it doesn’t come with the heavier grill pan (like the American Model which is the same as this) Why? But on the whole, a great machine! I even cooked crumpets in it this morning which were great except I cooked them a little bit too long lol. Definitely worth buying.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
sharyn59

sharyn59Mandurah

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fantastic

published

Very fast cooking. Lovely fat free frying. Great to look at and an absolute hit with family and friends. So many have bought one after having chips from mine. Thanks heaps

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman Big Buys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
2 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Glad to hear this and thanks for sharing! :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

sharyn59
sharyn59

Just saving up now to upgrade. Literally can’t live without it.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sudha

SudhaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Better than expected

published

Even though Philips Air fryers are expensive compared to the other brands, I decided to go ahead with them since I like quality appliances. I have prepared fried chicken, cakes, pizzas, french fries, etc on this and everything has come out very well. It is super powerful and gets cooking done very quickly. So far its been easy to clean up as well. I purchased this from Myer during a sale, so no complaints.

Purchased at Myer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Glad to hear this and thanks for sharing Sudha! :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Kathy

Kathyasked

From what I can see, the only difference between this model and the HD9650/93 is the Smart Sensing Technology. What confuses me with that though is the HD9650/93 also has 5 preset cooking programs which appear to do the same thing. Can you explain the difference so I can choose between the two models? Thanks, Kathy

2 answers
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Can you get someone to contact them directly for an immediate answer?

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there Kathy, thanks for your question.
The five preset cooking programs serve for one-touch cooking of frozen fries, meat, fish, whole chicken and chicken drumsticks. A QuickControl dial sets both temperature and cooking time. We hope this helps, but please know that our colleagues are always happy to assist.
You can reach out to them directly at 1300 998 851 (Australia) or 0800 836 761 (New Zealand), from Mondays to Saturdays: 7:00 am - 7:00 pm EST. Hope to hear from you soon!

Kind regards,

The Philips Australia Team

Anne S.

Anne S.asked

With the sensor to do a whole chicken, can you also use this button to do a leg of lamb or do you have to manually do time /temp?

2 answers
Weerakoon
Weerakoon

Please go through this and you will get all information you need.

General specifications

Product features
Automatic shut-off
Cool wall exterior
Dishwasher safe
On/off switch
Ready signal
Temperature control
Power-on lightGeneral specifications
Product features
Automatic shut-off
Cool wall exterior
Dishwasher safe
On/off switch
Ready signal
General specifications

Product features
Automatic shut-off
Cool wall exterior
Dishwasher safe
On/off switch
Ready signal
Temperature control
Power-on light
Quickclean
Cancel button
Integrated cord storage
LED display
Patented Rapid Air
Preset cooking function
Time control
Prefix programs
5General specifications

Product features
Automatic shut-off
Cool wall exterior
Dishwasher safe
On/off switch
Ready signal
Temperature control
Power-on light
Quickclean
Cancel button
Integrated cord storage
LED display
Patented Rapid Air
Preset cooking function
Time control
Prefix programs
Power-on light
Quickclean
Cancel button
Integrated cord storage
LED display
Patented Rapid Air
Preset cooking function
Time control
Prefix programs
Quickclean
Cancel button
Integrated cord storage
LED display
Patented Rapid Air
Preset cooking function
Time control
Prefix programs

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there Anne,

Thank you for reaching out to us. We would like to get you in contact with our product team. Therefore we would like to invite you to contact colleagues at 0800 658 224 (NZ) from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm and 1300 363 391 (AU) Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Sue

Sueasked

Can I put the try’s in the dish washer

2 answers
Weerakoon
Weerakoon

Yes, no issues for using dish washer. I used only quick washing cycle, but very easy to clean manually as well.

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thanks for your answer, as it is absolutely right!
Should you have any further questions, you can always reach out to our team at 0800 658 224 (NZ) from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm and 1300 363 391 (AU) Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST.They will be happy to help.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

Details

CategoryAir Fryers
Price (RRP) A$599.00
Capacity1.4 kg
Capacity7.3L
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
TimerYes
Weight8 kg
Power2,225 W
Colour / FinishBlack
Cord Length0.8 m
Dimensions 316 x 322 x 433 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateAug 2019

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8710103916475

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.